Define-A-Brow Eyebrow Pencil

by Maybelline New York   Define-A
Price:
$6.99 
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Makeup > Eyebrow Fillers & Shapers > Brow Pencil
Last Updated:
3/28/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

Define-A-Brow Eyebrow Pencil is an ultra-thin, automatic, non-retractable brow pencil that comes in a terrific range of shades, including two options for blonde brows. Even better, this does everything a stellar brow pencil should, while offering an exemplary texture and long wear. The component includes a useful brow comb for tidying the results. This is definitely one of the better brow pencils at the drugstore!

Maybelline is one of the best-known and most recognized mass-market makeup lines in the world—it's available in 90 countries. Throughout its long history, which began in 1915 when T. L. Wilson founded the company and named it after his sister, Mabel, and Vaseline (which he combined with coal dust to concoct a mascara for her), the company has prided itself on bringing innovative products to the marketplace. L'Oreal purchased the company in early 1996 and that's when things really started getting much better. Both companies specialize in offering a large selection of lipsticks, nail polishes, and mascaras, and many of their foundations have the same strengths and weaknesses (smooth textures and finishes plus the inclusion of sunscreens that are often without much-needed UVA-protecting ingredients).

The powders, several mascaras, pencils, matte-finish concealers, and Superstay Lipcolor are impressive and inexpensive. Although L'Oreal remains the more sophisticated and refined of the two lines (and now they have credible products, not just sleek ads, to back this assertion), Maybelline's latest urban image is a positive step, as many of their latest launches have been innovative without resorting to "been-there, done-that" gimmicks. Price-wise, Maybelline is the least expensive of the L'Oreal-owned cosmetic lines (which also includes Lancome, Biotherm, Vichy, and Kiehl’s), and smart shoppers will note the similarities among brands that, with conscientious shopping, can really save you money without sacrificing quality or performance.

For more information about Maybelline New York, owned by L'Oreal, call (800) 944-0730 or visit their interactive Web site at www.maybelline.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. Karen
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 21, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Too Brittle, just breaks off
    • The crayon is too thin and brittle. Just the slightest pressure drawing it on your eyebrow and it snaps off. Complete waste of money and has wrecked my carpet!

  2. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 20, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Why did they discontinue Dark Brown
    • I used to love this pencil for years until they discontinued the dark brown color. Now I'm the only colors available are for light skin tones. Therefore I gave up with Maybelline on pencils altogether now I use Almay, who makes a thin dark brown eyebrow pencil, they are just hard to find.

  3. Darlene
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 14, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Two Thumbs UP
    • I have been using this brow pencils for years, since you recommended it and I absolutely love it. Since this is a thin penicl I have more control on applying. The trick is not to be too heavy handed. I lightly fill in my brows so they still look natural and I can control how dark my brows are. I have never had the pencil lead break on me, not once in years. You just twist it up a bit at a time. Over the years I have tried others just to see and always come back to this pencil

  4. JULIA E.
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 08, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    HG
    • I've used this for over 10 years. Dark blonde is perfect for my dark blonde brows, and this color seems not to exist in any other brand. I've tried Anastasia brow products, which are supposed to be the best, but I always come crawling back to this. Pretty much the only product from a major drugstore brand I still use.

  5. Lindsay F.
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 06, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Loved the Light Blonde Pencil
    • This was my go to eye brow pencil. The light blonde 647 was perfect for a natural looking color. However this color has since been discontinued and sells on amazon and eBay for something like $25. I loved the twist to sharpen feature and the thinness of the actual color. It provided ease of use with no pencil shavings and percision color that went on smooth.

  6. Stacy S.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 27, 2013
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Disappointed
    • This pencil was so fragile more broke off than I was able to use. It is too thin & dry/hard. It was difficult to find the balance of using enough pressure to actually get the product to show up on the brows without breaking it. More often than not it did break. This was very wasteful & the product was "gone" too quickly. Prior I was using Smashbox's Brow Tech To Go, and although it cost more, it lasted 6 times as long. Considering that, the higher end products cost me less money in the end.

  7. ANNE M.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 28, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Disappointed, Pencil Broke
    • Disappointed in this product, esp after the very high rating it received. The pencil broke while applying with a light hand. Did not press hard, of course. Thinking that was a fluke, I bought more in the same color and had the same problem.

  8. ANETA D.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 24, 2013
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Good product, but not a good value for the money
    • This is a good eyebrow pencil. The lightest color looks very neutral on my almost blond brows. It is very similar to Clinique's or MAC's brow pencils. However, it is less than a third of the product you get from other brands, so unfortunately, it's not a good value for the money. Luckily, I always do my own math and make sure I compare sizes of products from different brands before purchasing.

  9. Peggy
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 05, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Not for me
    • The best part of this pencil for me was the thinness of the pencil. On me it matted/clumped and did not wear well at all. This one went in the trash after about a week of using it.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.351 11/24/2014 6:16:02 AM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging   |   FREE Shipping on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.