Nearly Naked Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 20

by Revlon  
Price:
$9.99 
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Makeup > Foundations With Sunscreen > Liquid Foundation w/ Sunscreen
Last Updated:
9/16/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

Kudos to Revlon for getting the broad-spectrum sun protection right! This liquid foundation's in-part titanium dioxide formula is right in line with protecting the skin from the #1 cause of wrinkles and dark spots: sun damage. Our compliments don't stop there: This fragrance-free, lightweight foundation goes on sheer, but is buildable if you desire more coverage, and it wears well throughout the day. "Nearly Naked" is an appropriate name for the soft, natural-matte finish that is neither too matte nor too shiny, making it ideal for all skin types.

The color range is extensive, with several flattering options for fair complexions as well as for darker skin tones, and everything in between. Not every color is a slam dunk (watch out for pinkish undertones in some of the lighter shades and for orange undertones in a couple of the deeper shades), but there are enough colors that you should be able to find one that suits you.

We only wish the glass bottle was outfitted with a pump because it can be messy to pour this fluid makeup out of its open-top bottle. Otherwise: Bravo Revlon!

Pros:
  • Natural-matte finish is ideal for all skin types.
  • Reliable broad-spectrum sun protection.
  • Extensive shade range for light to deep skin tones.
  • Goes on sheer, but is buildable if you desire more coverage.
  • Holds up well throughout the day.
Cons:
  • Bottle without a pump is trickier to use and makes this spill-prone.

Active: Octinoxate (3.5%), Titanium Dioxide (1.9%) Other: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Glycerin, PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Boron Nitride, Phenyl Trimethicone, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Niacinamide, Hydrolyzed Oat Flour, Lecithin, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Phytosteryl Canola Glycerides, Palmitic Acid, Oleic Acid, Phytosphingosine, Ceramide 6 II, Cholesterol, Linoleic Acid, Ceramide 3, Tocopherol, Ceramide 1, Triolein, Sodium Lauryl Lactylate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Alumina, Silica, Sodium Citrate, Dipropylene Glycol, Laureth-7, Sodium Chloride, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Methoxy Amodimethicone/Silesquioxane Copolymer, Methicone, Stearic Acid, Xanthan Gum, Carbomer, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Tetrasodium EDTA, Potassium Sorbate, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol. May Contain: Mica, Iron Oxides, Titanium Dioxide, Zinc Oxide.

It may surprise some of you to know that Revlon has been around since 1932, when the company launched a unique nail polish that used pigments instead of dyes. Lipsticks followed years later, and then a full line of cosmetics, which is how we know Revlon today. Although the company has had its continual share of ups and downs over the years (largely due to out-of-control debt coupled with aggressive spending), the line has recently made numerous improvements, especially in the realms of foundations, powders, eyeshadows, and mascaras. It is quite a feat that Revlon products earned more Paula's Pick ratings per category than any other drugstore line reviewed. If their goal was to close the competitive gap between themselves and L'Oreal, for the most part they have succeeded. Revlon definitely has the edge for foundations with reliable sunscreens. But despite Revlon's attempt to improve their mascara range, L'Oreal remains the clear winner (as well as L'Oreal-owned Maybelline New York).

Revlon's vast selection of makeup is divided into three main brands: Age Defying for the forty-something and older woman concerned about wrinkles, ColorStay for the teen to mid-thirties woman concerned about keeping oily skin in check and making sure her makeup stays put, and PhotoReady for women of all ages. These brands present some outstanding options and include products for all skin types (although the range of skin tones is not as well-represented here as it is by L'Oreal).

An intriguing fact is that the longevity claims for ColorStay are quite accurate: this collection of products really does offer extraordinary staying power. Conversely, Revlon jumped on the works-like-Botox bandwagon with their Age Defying range, going so far as to name their antiwrinkle complex Botafirm. Is there any confusion about what that term is supposed to relate to? Despite the claims, Botafirm won't reduce expression lines or control the muscles that cause them, though the products themselves do have many impressive qualities.

Note:Revlon is categorized as one that tests on animals because their products are sold in China. Although Revlon may not conduct animal testing for their products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brand’s state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law”. Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Paula’s Choice Research Team.

Suffice it to say, Revlon has more commendable products than ever before, and although they rely heavily on celebrity spokespersons, their best products ably speak for themselves.

For more information about Revlon, call (800) 473-8566 or visit www.revlon.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. Rebecca M
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 16, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Great for very fair skin!
    • I was blown away by how flawless my skin turned out--I'm a very fair blonde (porcelain) and I can hardly ever find affordable foundation for my combo/slightly sensitive skin. I really like the gentle matte finish and buildable coverage. $7.48 for a bottle at our local walmart!

  2. Tobey P
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 01, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Love it
    • I love this foundation. It has nice coverage which you can easily build to cover any areas that need it just by adding another layer. I don't even use concealer with this during the day. It is a nice matte finish that isn't dry looking so you end up with a healthy looking glow and I just dab a bit of Paula's Shine Stopper on my nose and my face looks great!

  3. Jennifer K
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Greasy Goo
    • I normally wear Clinique's Even Better but was running out and I don't live near the mall to purchase more. I decided to purchase Revlon's NN based on Paula's "Best" rating. It's available everywhere and the price couldn't be beat. Well, I thought it went on nicely was a flattering sheerness. I set it with powder but was a shiny greasy mess by lunch time. I tried it for a week but always felt like I needed to blot my T=zone and repowder several times a day which makes for a cakey finish.

  4. Emily P.
    Reviewed on Friday, April 11, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Feels greasy
    • I have combo/oily skin, and this foundation goes on nicely. But after just a couple hours it starts to feel really greasy. It doesn't look super greasy, though, just a bit dewy. I felt that multiple powder touch ups were necessary. This was much worse for me in more humid environments, but even in the dry winter time my skin just felt greasy with this. I like the light coverage. It evens out skin tone and does look quite natural. The price is great. I just can't get over the greasy feel.

  5. Carly H.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 02, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    PERFECTO!
    • GOOD GOSH! Do you know how long I have been looking for a good foundation? FOREVER. I literally had given up. But I've found it! Hallelujah! Beautiful finish, looks just like radiant skin. Doesn't settle into my pores, and in combination with everything else Paula recommends (BHA, retinol etc) I look fabulous. By the way I buy the second lightest shade and it matches my skin tone perfectly. Much thanks to Paula and her team!

  6. Marguerite M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Holy Grail
    • Nearly Naked is the only foundation I really like. I love how natural it looks and feels. I also enjoy the light but buildable coverage it offers. And yes, I have horrible skin- acne, scarring, large pores and rosacea. This evens out my skin tone nicely without looking made up. It can be hard to find something with this natural of a finish that works for my oily skin. If you're looking for total blemish coverage, this isn't it, but I dislike that much coverage, it never looks completely natural.

  7. April
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 09, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Great for mixing
    • This foundation has minimal coverage, which is not really a bad thing because it does look natural. I like to use it with a powder foundation because it gives something for the powder to latch onto. I also use it to mix with heavier, fuller coverage foundations to kind of sheer them out a bit so they aren't so heavy. It's a good foundation to throw on when I'm just going to be running errands around town. I don't use it for nights out or events where I want to look flawless.

  8. Julia
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Doesn't Last All Day
    • Definitely does not wear well throughout the day - I have tried several powders to see if it makes a difference but it does not. I have combo skin, in my early 30's.

  9. Jennifer
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Terrible
    • I'm honestly suprised this product made the best list as it was horrible. I purchased it and CVS and tried it. I ended up returning it immediately. I was expecting really good results as it received a good review on this site, but the product seemed to have sunk in every pore and exaggerated every skin flaw!

  10. VictoriaW
    Reviewed on Monday, January 06, 2014
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Nice, sheer, silky coverage
    • This is so light, coverage is sheer but it is called nearly naked. My skin has a nice glow and I've gotten many compliments about how beautiful my skin is & how young I look. I do have healthy skin, but I'm also 46. I have dry skin & wear an alpha-hydroxy moisturizer w/ spf 15 underneath. I set w/ a transluscent powder around my nose to prevent any t-zone issues. Very affordable, very natural looking.

  11. Joanna
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 21, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    very irritating to my skin and eyes
    • I tested NN on one cheek and my old foundation on my other cheek trying to get a comparison of the coverage and color match. Right away I felt irritation to my eye on the NN side, which was soon followed by a stinging sensation to my skin. The burning increased and the skin reddened. The irritation lasted long after the product was washed off. I wish I knew which ingredient I reacted to so I can avoid it in the future.

  12. Giselle H.
    Reviewed on Monday, September 30, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Not good at all
    • This foundation has very, very light coverage, all of my imperfections were visible after i applied this, although I didn't use the matching powder, I used one of my own, but I would have imagined it still worked. Besides the bad coverage, this foundation made my oily skin even worse. I applied it before work, after work (only 4 hours later) my face was so oily, it was disgusting. Also I compared the color with the foundation I use now, and it looked the same but this one went on darker & orange

  13. Chelsey
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 18, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Natural coverage, good product
    • I've been using this for several months, and I think it's a good pick. I previously used one of Revlon's ColorStay liquid foundations, and before that, a Bobbi Brown liquid foundation. I use one of the lighter shades, and I find it to be blendable, with a nice finish throughout the day. This is not a super thick coverage foundation, but then again, the name is Nearly Naked. I use it over a BB cream, and I use a bit of loose powder to set it. My skin is combination. Good choice for the price!

  14. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, August 16, 2013
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    foundation
    • I already research on this foundation for my mom. My mom has very dry skin, she liked the foundation but she rather stick to a mouse foundation than liquid. But when i used it for myself it worked great! I have combination to dry with moderate acne skin. It blended well,stays on my face the whole day, and I got this $7, great price.

  15. SUSAN A.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 27, 2013
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Agree with Paula's Choice review, but...
    • I tried the product in Ivory. I'm very fair with very dry skin and rosacea. The Ivory is very light, almost too light for my skin, and I've never tried a foundation before that was too light. I may try it in the next darkest shade, Vanilla. Also, I had some trouble blending it. I don't think it's the greatest for dry skin, even with moisturizer under it. It may work a lot better for other skin types. Very sheer coverage.I probably need more coverage to cover redness from rosacea.

  16. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 02, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Natural Finish
    • This is a very lightweight product that blends seamlessly on the skin and has the best color match of any foundation I've ever used. I have extremely dry skin with an oily nose. With moisturizer this wears well on my dry skin and is long lasting on my oily area with only a little shine coming through. I've nearly used the entire bottle which has never happened to me with a foundation.

  17. Shani A.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 12, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Nearly Greasepaint
    • With the exception of the sunscreen, I don't like anything about this foundation. It has uneven, streaky coverage, it feels heavy, and it gets greasy-looking in record time. In addition, I was unable to find a color match for my skin, so the streaks and slips are obvious, and make me look like my skin is injured or severely discolored. The color "Natural Tan" in Colorstay has heavy beige undertones, and "Warm Golden" makes me look washed out, so in Nearly Naked I purchased "Sun Beige" because it seemed to be the shade in between both of those. Like most of Revlon's foundations, this is definitely too "French beige" (gray-pink) for my medium skin. (My undertones are golden/peachy, so they're "Tuscan beige" according to my son, who is majoring in Graphic Design and studying color theory.) Anyways, even though this is an inexpensive foundation, it wasn't worth the cost for me. I tried using it as a primer because I love the sunscreens in this foundation, but it's just too heavy.

  18. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Not that great!
    • I thought this product had a very unflattering dry finish on the skin and the lightest color is still too dark. The only good thing about this product is the sunscreen, but that's it. Pass this one up unless you want to look like you are wearing a mask!

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.344 10/21/2014 5:16:04 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.