Color Elixir by ColorSensational

Price:
$8.99 
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Makeup > Lip Glosses > Lip Gloss
Last Updated:
3/24/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

This hybrid lip stain/lip gloss is one of the best available at the drugstore, and holds its own against other comparable options from designer lines, proving you don't have to spend a lot to get great makeup.

This buttery, richly pigmented lip product does it all, and does it well! As claimed, Color Elixir does indeed provide the color of a lipstick, the moisture of a balm, and the shine of a gloss. The doe-foot applicator is perfectly shaped for coloring inside the lipline, and because the texture doesn't have the slip of traditional gloss, there's less risk of color bleeding. Actually, this gloss does a great job of staying put!

The hydrating formula relieves dryness and softens lips with continued use. As with most creamy lip products, the rich glossy finish doesn't stay on the lips quite as long as the moisturizing ingredients do. You'll need to touch up after about two to three hours to keep the color looking glossy; however, Color Elixir does provide a gorgeous stain so when the gloss fades, the color doesn't.

Color Elixir is available in a generous selection of shades, and the range includes everything from nude peaches to bold berry red and purples. The wet shine finish does not include any shimmer or glitter.

Pros:
  • A beauty bargain.
  • Buttery, hydrating gloss texture.
  • Moist, glossy finish.
  • Generous shade selection.
  • Fades evenly to a lip stain.
Cons:
  • None.

Maybelline is one of the best-known and most recognized mass-market makeup lines in the world—it's available in 90 countries. Throughout its long history, which began in 1915 when T. L. Wilson founded the company and named it after his sister, Mabel, and Vaseline (which he combined with coal dust to concoct a mascara for her), the company has prided itself on bringing innovative products to the marketplace. L'Oreal purchased the company in early 1996 and that's when things really started getting much better. Both companies specialize in offering a large selection of lipsticks, nail polishes, and mascaras, and many of their foundations have the same strengths and weaknesses (smooth textures and finishes plus the inclusion of sunscreens that are often without much-needed UVA-protecting ingredients).

The powders, several mascaras, pencils, matte-finish concealers, and Superstay Lipcolor are impressive and inexpensive. Although L'Oreal remains the more sophisticated and refined of the two lines (and now they have credible products, not just sleek ads, to back this assertion), Maybelline's latest urban image is a positive step, as many of their latest launches have been innovative without resorting to "been-there, done-that" gimmicks. Price-wise, Maybelline is the least expensive of the L'Oreal-owned cosmetic lines (which also includes Lancome, Biotherm, Vichy, and Kiehl’s), and smart shoppers will note the similarities among brands that, with conscientious shopping, can really save you money without sacrificing quality or performance.

For more information about Maybelline New York, owned by L'Oreal, call (800) 944-0730 or visit their interactive Web site at www.maybelline.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. Vanessa B
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 13, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    The Nose Knows
    • I'm very surprised that there was no mention of the horrible smell which accompanies this lip product. It is so strong, it actually gave me a headache. As for the colors, Rose Redefined is beautiful but doesn't last, and Vision in Violet is ugly but doesn't come off. That particular color really felt and smelled like paint. It doesn't matter if there is an ideal shade in 20 shades, the smell is awful. I will be returning it :(

  2. Katie W.
    Reviewed on Monday, July 14, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    It was irritating :(
    • This was irritating to me, too (tingly, stinging). It was not as bad as some reactions I've had, but it was definitely noticeable so I won't wear it anymore. I did like the texture and the colors are very so I would recommend it to someone who doesn't have a reaction to it.

  3. KT L.
    Reviewed on Friday, January 31, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Color Elixer
    • While it does have decent opacity, it is very sticky and thick feeling on my lips. I wouldn't repurchase.

  4. Jenn, C
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 14, 2014
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Stings Lips
    • I have relied on Paula's research based ratings for years, and she's usually dead on. So I was so surprised when I bought 2 shades of this lipgloss and a few seconds after I put them on, my lips started to sting and feel tingly. I was surprised Paula doesn't list ingredients for lipsticks, I'm wondering why this got a Best rating from her, not usual for a product that clearly has an irritant in it. I realize some people react differently to different ingredients, but the stinging was so blatant

  5. Linda R
    Reviewed on Monday, January 06, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Not a favorite
    • I was expecting it to be similar to yves st. Laurent lip stain at a much better price point. That's probably why I was disappointed ! This felt very thick and sticky! The color (berry?) was very pretty though it did NOT stay on any better than any other ordinary gloss. I'll stick to my two favorites - the yves one I mentioned & color fever by Lancôme.

  6. Katie M
    Reviewed on Monday, January 06, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Great Lip Product
    • I was really impressed with this product. Great feel on the lips, good staying power and really good color selections. Very luxurious feel, but less than half the price of department store products. I saw the comment about Duane Reade; price is $6.94 at Wal-Mart and $7.99 at Target. I plan on buying several in different colors.

  7. Alexandra M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 02, 2014
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Migrates into lines around the mouth, but very emolient
    • This feels and looks wonderful, but it does migrate into the lines on my lips and around my mouth after 3 or 4 hours. This is a great improvement over most lip glosses though . This was a great disappointment because the Nude Illusion color is a fantastic light nude skin tone without any pink or peach undertones. This is not a total loss though because it left my lips incredibly soft and moisturized, so I'm going to wear this at home and maybe even overnight as a lip moisturizer.

  8. TARA B.
    Reviewed on Monday, December 30, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    As good as Paula says (for me)
    • I really like this. Just note that the one color I tried was much more faint than it seemed from the packaging, so I will also get a bolder one, and that despite the price here of $6.99, it was $9.49 at my local Duane Reade. Ouch. Also the smell when it first goes on is pretty strong but seems to fade fast.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.335
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Everything | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.