Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm

by Almay  
Price:
$5.99 
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Makeup > Lip Glosses > Lip Gloss
Last Updated:
3/24/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

Almay's a brand mostly known for its foundations, concealers, and eye products – but its Liquid Lip Balm is something that should get mouths talking! The name's a little bit deceptive, as this is more of a sheer moisturizing gloss than a balm, but the misnomer doesn't take away from its performance.

Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm comes with a doe-foot applicator and glides on easily and evenly. The color is sheer, but definitely noticeable, and it has a soft shine that's very attractive. This gloss is moisturizing without being too sticky or too slick, and feels very comfortable the whole time you're wearing it. Better still, lips feel softer even after the gloss has worn off!

Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm comes in a small but well-edited range of shades, including some great brights. It does have a faint scent of vanilla when it's first applied, but that fades quickly. All in all, this is a great gloss and a winner from Almay with a price that's just right!

Pros:
  • Sheer but noticeable color that applies evenly.
  • Attractive, soft-shine finish.
  • Moisturizing formula that isn't too slick or too sticky.
  • Lips feel softer even after the gloss has worn off.
  • A beauty bargain!
Cons:
  • None.

Long a standby for those with sensitive skin seeking hypoallergenic products (though that term is unregulated and can be applied to any product, regardless of ingredients), Almay continues to refine its comprehensive makeup line. In early 2006 the company repackaged its old favorites, and also relaunched several new makeup items. Everything now has a sleek new look and color-coded packaging. We admit, the makeover is effective, not just product-wise but visually too.

Shopping this drugstore line is now much easier because of the clearly defined product and color family groupings. Lamentably, testers and trial sizes of the makeup are still scarce regardless of where you shop. Almay has always been a reliable line for foundations, powder, and mascara. Within its current lineup you'll find that remains true. Their foundations are better than ever, and still offer full, broad-spectrum sun protection and a mostly neutral palette. We also found their concealers and mascaras have improved, as have the pencil options. When it comes to shopping for makeup staples with state-of-the-art formulas, Almay has many winners, and some innovative surprises that its competitors would be wise to learn from.

For more information about Almay, owned by Revlon, call (800) 992-5629 or visit www.almay.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 27, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    strong flavor
    • The vanilla flavor/scent is way too strong for me. I had to throw it out.

  2. L O.
    Reviewed on Friday, July 25, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Excellent
    • Absolutely LOVE this Balm! It has plenty of color and smells light and fresh. Will totally continue to buy this it is so smoothing and my lips feel great afterwards. Tons of colors too! GO ALMAY!!!

  3. Beeyes
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 17, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Excellent!!
    • One of the best i have ever used, I would put this at the top of my list for any lip product, IT IS that good. :)

  4. susan r.
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 09, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    love it!
    • Natural, yet pretty results. Smells great, good colors, and feels refreshing - not oily!

  5. Erin G.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 27, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Feels great, lousy colors
    • Consistency, texture, and hydration are great but the color selection leaves a lot to be desired. Colors do not look anything like the tube or color description once applied. The colors as to bright and juvenile. I would buy it again of they offered more sophisticated colors.

  6. Elaine c
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    A beauty deal
    • Paula is so great for sharing this beauty secret. This is a great deal for a great product Walgreens out these on sale all the time (buy one get one). Just bought some for 3.99! A nice gloss you can keep in the car and have one in purse, one in desk, etc. If it rolls away you aren't out fifteen bucks! I highly recommend this and woukd never have bought almay without Paula's review!

  7. Bethany
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 17, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    best gloss/balm product
    • I adore this and bought every shade! It's so flattering, leaves a sheer hint of color and keeps lips soft and natural looking. I hate thick goopy glosses that have so much color - it only ends up making me looking cheap, bleeding all over the lips, getting stuck on teeth etc. This is the perfect hint of color thats not high shine but rather sophisticated, subtle and perfect for every day. I always have at least 2 in my purse, about 10 in my bathroom, wouldn't want to be without this.

  8. Vanessa C.
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 14, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    I returned this
    • I returned this and did not care for it. Seems slightly sticky.

  9. Lori
    Reviewed on Monday, June 24, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    great balm-gloss
    • This is great gloss for the money, I have many of the colos. Like them all! It seems to be a small wee bit drying.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.326
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.