Full ’n Soft Mascara

Price:
$6.89 
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Makeup > Mascaras (regular) > Regular Mascara
Last Updated:
3/24/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

Full ’n Soft Mascara ranks as Maybelline’s best mascara for those desiring equal parts impressive length and thickness. The balanced application sweeps on without clumps, separates lashes evenly, and wears all day. Marvelous!

Maybelline is one of the best-known and most recognized mass-market makeup lines in the world—it's available in 90 countries. Throughout its long history, which began in 1915 when T. L. Wilson founded the company and named it after his sister, Mabel, and Vaseline (which he combined with coal dust to concoct a mascara for her), the company has prided itself on bringing innovative products to the marketplace. L'Oreal purchased the company in early 1996 and that's when things really started getting much better. Both companies specialize in offering a large selection of lipsticks, nail polishes, and mascaras, and many of their foundations have the same strengths and weaknesses (smooth textures and finishes plus the inclusion of sunscreens that are often without much-needed UVA-protecting ingredients).

The powders, several mascaras, pencils, matte-finish concealers, and Superstay Lipcolor are impressive and inexpensive. Although L'Oreal remains the more sophisticated and refined of the two lines (and now they have credible products, not just sleek ads, to back this assertion), Maybelline's latest urban image is a positive step, as many of their latest launches have been innovative without resorting to "been-there, done-that" gimmicks. Price-wise, Maybelline is the least expensive of the L'Oreal-owned cosmetic lines (which also includes Lancome, Biotherm, Vichy, and Kiehl’s), and smart shoppers will note the similarities among brands that, with conscientious shopping, can really save you money without sacrificing quality or performance.

For more information about Maybelline New York, owned by L'Oreal, call (800) 944-0730 or visit their interactive Web site at www.maybelline.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Stephanie.s
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 27, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Holy grail product!!
    • As my title explains this is my HOLY GRAIL product. I have been using it for at least 5 years (trying other brands in between) but always going back to my full n soft. I use the waterproof as the original can smudge and doesn't keep the lashes up for as long. The waterproof give me length and volume without clumping and they stay up on my eyes all day! The formula doesn't irritate and I would recommend to anyone looking for volume and length in one mascara. You can also layer it up. LOVE IT!!

  2. Kelsey A.
    Reviewed on Friday, April 04, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Smudges...
    • This mascara looks great on my lashes and is enticingly cheep, but it smudges. I have slightly oily skin and long lashes and that makes finding a good mascara that doesn't flake or smudge is an ongoing battle. This would be great for someone who doesn't have problems with smudging.

  3. Lindsay F.
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 06, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    My go to cosmetic I wear every day
    • I have naturally long lashes and this is the best applicator I have found on the market. Standard wire type brush, "grabs" lashes to apply mascara and separates them nicely. I have used this mascara for five years and stay active surfing, mountain biking, snowboarding and play beach volleyball, it has withstood all those elements. I use the very black color and find it removes easily. Strangers ask me all the time what type of mascara I use and this is it.

  4. Melinda J.
    Reviewed on Friday, February 28, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    My Go-To Mascara
    • I can't believe I waited so long to try this mascara. It is simply the BEST drug store mascara out there. I use the Full 'n Soft in Very Black. It is my go-to for daytime mascara. It provides volume, separation, and dark pigmentation; without smudging or flaking. It can take a minute to set, so be careful when applying. Users looking for a mascara for a dramatic, nighttime look should look elsewhere. This is intended for a more natural, daytime look.

  5. LL
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Not impressed
    • Barely coated my lashes, an almost 'no mascara' look...no likey.

  6. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 05, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    This is the best ever
    • I was spending a lot of money on Dior, but this is way better. It does not clump and it's not dry. Easy to apply too w/o getting all over your under eye. Adds fullness and length, but still natural. Doesn't smudge, but comes off without a struggle. I have very sparse lashes and they have never looked better. Even one that fell out on the bottom and is growing in looks lengthened matches better. This is the HG of mascaras.

  7. Mary R
    Reviewed on Friday, March 08, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    No clumping
    • I am picky about mascaras. I have long eyelashes, and hate hate hate clumps. I also don't want to spend my makeup fund on mascara. This is a great price for a very good mascara. It goes on thin and I can easily lengthn with a quick 2nd coat. It does not smell and comes off very easy with a good eye makeup remover and cleanser. It lasts long enough- 10 hours or so. Does not irritate my eyes. I hope they dont discontinue it. Often it is place at the bottom of the rack.

  8. J
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 06, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    No longer care that discontinued in Canada
    • I was so bummed when this was recently discontinued in Canada as it was such a good mascara; it made my lashes full but not brittle and it didn't flake. But when I was researching Beautypedia looking for a new one I saw that Maybelline tests on animals. I had no idea! So I decided to check out the mascara from the companies that don't do that instead and discovered one that is just as good.

  9. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, December 03, 2012
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    All that a mascara should be
    • This is a stupendous all purpose mascara! It is equally great at lengthening and thickening, clumps nil, and leaves lashes looking fantastic! A great beauty buy!

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.315
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.