12.23.2014
11
894
Volum’ Express The Falsies Mascara Black Drama
Rating
$6.99
Category:Makeup > Mascaras (regular) > Regular Mascara
Last Updated:12.23.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

This excellent mascara demands careful application to avoid getting excess product above and below your lashline, but it produces big, long lashes with decent thickness. You’ll see some slight clumping but it’s easily combed out. The results are made more dramatic because the “black drama” color is so inky-dark. Although this doesn’t replace the effect false lashes can have, it comes close—and is much easier to apply and remove than falsies!

Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Maybelline New York At-A-Glance

Strengths: At least one excellent product (if not several) in almost every category; many excellent foundations; superior mascaras; inexpensive makeup brushes; some terrific concealers, powders, blush, and lip color options.

Weaknesses: Some of the foundations with sunscreen lack the right UVA-protecting ingredients; disappointing lip balms; the Great Lash mascaras tend to be mediocre to downright bad.

Maybelline is one of the best-known and most recognized mass-market makeup lines in the world—it's available in 90 countries. Throughout its long history, which began in 1915 when T. L. Wilson founded the company and named it after his sister, Mabel, and Vaseline (which he combined with coal dust to concoct a mascara for her), the company has prided itself on bringing innovative products to the marketplace. L'Oreal purchased the company in early 1996 and that's when things really started getting much better. Both companies specialize in offering a large selection of lipsticks, nail polishes, and mascaras, and many of their foundations have the same strengths and weaknesses (smooth textures and finishes plus the inclusion of sunscreens that are often without much-needed UVA-protecting ingredients).

The powders, several mascaras, pencils, matte-finish concealers, and Superstay Lipcolor are impressive and inexpensive. Although L'Oreal remains the more sophisticated and refined of the two lines (and now they have credible products, not just sleek ads, to back this assertion), Maybelline's latest urban image is a positive step, as many of their latest launches have been innovative without resorting to "been-there, done-that" gimmicks. Price-wise, Maybelline is the least expensive of the L'Oreal-owned cosmetic lines (which also includes Lancome, Biotherm, Vichy, and Kiehl’s), and smart shoppers will note the similarities among brands that, with conscientious shopping, can really save you money without sacrificing quality or performance.

For more information about Maybelline New York, owned by L'Oreal, call (800) 944-0730 or visit their interactive Web site at www.maybelline.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment that Paula Begoun, founder of Beautypedia and Paula's Choice Skincare made over 30 years ago-to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
02.17.2015
Flakes got in my eyes!

Not sure how this got a great rating but this mascara flakes!!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Judith M
08.29.2014
Figured out how ti use this mascara

Not wanting to use a waterproof mascara, I have been using Cover Girl's Clump Crusher water resistant but wanted more oomph. I use CG on my lower lashes first and then it's my "base coat" on top lashes. Then I go over my upper lashes with the Black Drama, pushing my lashes up, holding my finger there for a five to ten seconds as this mascara is wetter than CG's. But it's a super black nascara and my skimpy, short lashes are visible, with curled lashes that hold up all day! Love it! Try it!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
JOANN K.
08.12.2014
Looks cheap

It is messy, it clumps and flakes. Couldn't wait to get back home to wash it off. It is cheap and it looks cheap!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
LGW
07.28.2014
doesn't work for me

This mascara begins chipping off when I am applying it. By the end of the day, I have flakes of mascara all around my eyes. Even though it makes my lashes look fairly thick, the mess it makes is not worth it.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
K. T.
03.15.2014
Good product

While it gives appreciable length and volume, the inky black color is the icing on the cake. The only minor caveat is that you have to apply it with

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
MarinaD
02.25.2014
I take back my last review

Don't know what they did to the formula (even the brush feels more stiff/plastic like), did not give the high drama falsie look...& worse, it was a smeary mess within 2hours. Boo hoo:(

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
LL
02.12.2014
Flakes off

I had high hopes for this mascara, but I have to agree with the reviewer who complained about the product clumping and flaking off during the day. I wiped the brush quite a bit before applying, but it still clumped and left residue on my face throughout the day. I loved the Full n Soft, which I think is discontinued. Hate to say it, but I think I'm giving up on drugstore mascaras. Clinique makes great mascara, and at $16 it's really not that expensive.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Aimee M.
04.06.2013
Bad Mascara

I review BEFORE I buy..........I agree with most product reviews. Unfortunately, I do not think the mascara is worthwhile. FIRST of all, the brush is loaded with the product, the mascara goes on clumpy and throughout my day - the mascara flaked. I only used one coat. I would not recommend this mascara and I will buy another BEST product today. I really appreciate this site and all the research that has been done. I am done buying products that do not work.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.20.2013
Great results, but inconsistent.

i used to love this mascara, but lately every tube clumps and flakes within a few weeks of opening. I've tried various iterations of the Falsies line, and they all seem to do the same thing of late. However, this is a recent development, and prior to that, I LOVED this mascara - seriously nothing like it. If you can find a tube that doesn't dry out/flake, it's worth it. The most dramatic lashes I've ever seen without false lashes added.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
SARA
01.24.2013
Awesome False Eyelash look!

Wow--Pleasantly Surprised...I buy Trish McEvoy High Volume but when in a pinch, this is definitely my go-to..it gives extraordinary lush ong big fat lashes that last all day. I'd use it more often but I hate bothering w/ eye makeup remover..& although removes easily, definitely needs the help of a remover.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
LL
12.23.2012
Love it

This is the only mascara I have repurchased over and over again. For me, it gives my lashes length and volume. The thing I think is cool about it is it starts to get thick after three months, which is when you should replace it. I seriously recommend this to all of my friends. For some reason, nothing else comes close. However, I should say that my lashes are naturally long so I don't really need a lengthening mascara. If you have lashes like me, and just want some luscious volume so your lashes don't get lost in your dramatic eye looks (or even on it's own without eyeshadow), this is absolutely perfect. MY FAVE!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Savvy
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.389 4/18/2015 3:52:07 PM