12.16.2014
8
228
Miracle Skin Transformer SPF 20
Rating
1.7 fl. oz. for $48
Category:Makeup > Foundations With Sunscreen > Tinted Moisturizer w/ Sunscreen
Last Updated:12.16.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Although this is a very good, fragrance-free tinted moisturizer with an in-part zinc oxide sunscreen, it isn’t a miracle and it won’t transform your skin, despite what you may have heard on television talk shows and the like. This enhances skin while it’s worn, just like most tinted moisturizers. We all need to stop being seduced by yet another promise of wrinkle-free, 100% perfect skin.

This product’s best traits include its silky, silicone-enriched texture, super-smooth application, and soft, slightly powdery but non-drying matte finish that help improve your skin’s texture while adding a subtle glow (from the mineral pigment mica). Coverage is definitely sheer, so this is not a replacement for your foundation, assuming you’re seeking to cover more obvious flaws or you have an uneven skin tone.

There are several excellent sheer shades plus a Colorless option, which would function well under your regular makeup. Miracle Skin Transformer's shade range presents options for fair to dark skin tones, which is great.

The original formula was called out due to a low amount of zinc oxide. This sunscreen active is the only ingredient present that is able to cover the entire spectrum of the sun’s UVA (think aging) rays, and the previous version contained a paltry 0.85%. The current formula contains 1.5%, which is better and enough to propel this product to “Best” status.

There’s a lot to love about Miracle Skin Transformer. Its blend of silicones noticeably smooths skin’s texture (just like most silicone-based serums), the company included some good antioxidants, and they packaged the product in an opaque tube to help keep them stable during use. What you need to keep in mind is that the ingredients it contains won’t transform your skin in a miraculous way; most of the effects are strictly cosmetic. Although the antioxidants will provide some benefit, you’ll get greater benefits by using a serum or moisturizer that is loaded with antioxidants and other beneficial ingredients.

Note:Although this foundation provides broad-spectrum sun protection on its own, you must apply it liberally and evenly to get the stated level of protection. A sheer or spot application will not provide the amount of sun protection the label indicates. If you’re not likely to apply this foundation liberally, we recommend applying it over a moisturizer with sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater and setting your foundation with a pressed powder rated SPF 15 or greater.

Claims
Ingredients

Active Ingredients: Octinoxate 7.5%, Octisalate 5.0%, Oxybenzone 2.0%, Zinc Oxide 1.5%. Ingredients: Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Caprylyl Methicone, Cyclohexasiloxane, Water, Dicaprylyl Ether, Boron Nitride, Octyldodecanol, Passiflora Edulis Seed Oil, Glycerin, Dimethiconol, Ubiquinone, Tapioca Starch, Mica, Physalis Angulata Extract, Phenoxyethanol, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Caprylyl Glycol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Polysorbate 80, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Potassium Sorbate, Hydrated Silica, Serenoa Serrulata Fruit Extract, Hexylene Glycol, Silica, Isoceteth-10, Retinyl Palmitate, Benzyl Alcohol, Phytonadione, Cholecalciferol, Tocopherol, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides.

Brand Overview

Please refer to the product reviews for details on Miracle Skin Transformer products. For more information,  visit www.miracleskintransformer.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment that Paula Begoun, founder of Beautypedia and Paula's Choice Skincare made over 30 years ago-to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
09.05.2014
Fabulous product

This is my go-to product for a flawless, natural looking face. It does provide light coverage, but since I don't need full coverage, this works perfectly! This 5 in 1 product saves me so much time in the mornings, which makes me love it even more! I apply it with my Sigma flat kabuki brush and I end up with an airbrushed look. Every time! This product has been especially nice this summer. It's light and makes my skin feel soo smooth. I just ordered another bottle.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Danielle L.
08.22.2014
This works great for my oily acne prone large-pored SKIN!

I use this instead of foundation. It smoothes over my face beautifully, filling in pores and covering imperfections. Keeps my oily skin from greasing up throughout the day. I apply my Paula Choice products and sunscreen and then this. Feels light and yet provides an air-brush effect. I love this product and my skin looks better on the days I use it!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
GeoC
02.01.2014
Better as a primer

I purchased Miracle Skin Transformer at Costco, which is much more affordable. This works great as a primer for under makeup. It's way to sheer to be a "tinted moisturizer". I like the silky consistency and it works great when mixed with foundation.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Stacy C.
12.21.2013
Smells like Coppertone to me

I also got it at Costco & was not influenced by any hype. It does have a wonderful silky texture & can function as a very light foundation. I am very sensitive to smell & don't care for the smell, which reminds me of Coppertone.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
DOROTHY H.
09.02.2013
Nice, but doesn't live up to hype

I heard two women RAVING about this in the store so I thought I would try it. It feels wonderful on your skin, but it does not cover/conceal anything. Extremely sheer, which is fine for me some days. It would not replace a regular foundation and I would even wear this under my foundation.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Mary D.
08.05.2013
I like it

I got this at Costco for $29 & never saw a commercial, so I wasn't influenced by the hype. I had been using Erno Laszlo tinted treatment and felt like trying something new. I love this product! It doesn't give much coverage, but foundation gets into my wrinkles under my eyes and makes me look older, so I rarely use it anyway. What this is great for is in the morning before the gym! Living in Florida I use sunblock to walk out the door and I can slather this on without a mirror and look decent.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Lisa R.
06.05.2013
Too sheer!

After seeing such good ratings for this product I was eager to try it. Unfortunately, the coverage is so sheer it is like wearing nothing at all. Isn't that the point of a good BB cream -- to provide not only SPF and other skin benefits but also to provide some tinted color coverage? If I just wanted an SPF or skin treatment product, there are plenty of excellent non-BB products out there that aren't nearly as expensive. I wasn't expecting a miracle, but this was a total waste of money.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Jinx
03.29.2013
Didn't Work!

I thought that the product was sheer and didn't cover any blemishes or discolorations like the infomercial stated on tv, I do not know how anyone could state that it contains any make-up like qualities. It was basically a moisturizer for your face. I do not see have anything good to say about the products except for their treat and conceal. Otherwise I think that everything else is a joke and worse off expensive.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Lindsay
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to Nordstrom.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.392 5/6/2015 11:31:36 AM