Healthy Skin Enhancer SPF 20

by Neutrogena  Healthy Skin
Price:
$10.49 - 1 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Makeup > Foundations With Sunscreen > Tinted Moisturizer w/ Sunscreen
Last Updated:
3/24/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

Healthy Skin Enhancer SPF 20 combines an in-part titanium dioxide sunscreen with retinol and a hint of color, all of which enhance skin due to their respective qualities. Moreover, there is more than just a dusting of retinol in this product, which makes it unique! It has a light, creamy texture and a satin finish appropriate for those with normal to dry skin. If an oily T-zone is an issue, this product should be set with powder to reduce the sheen it leaves on skin. The six sheer shades are great and include options for fair (but not very fair) to tan skin tones. In addition—and this is again unusual for a foundation—plenty of antioxidants are included. This product proves that Neutrogena is capable of setting new makeup benchmarks for their drugstore contemporaries to strive for, rather than just keeping up with their competitors.

Due to this product's translucent bottle packaging it is necessary to make sure you protect it from excess light exposure. For best results, store in an opaque makeup bag or drawer/cabinet.

Note:Although this foundation provides broad-spectrum sun protection on its own, you must apply it liberally and evenly to get the stated level of protection. A sheer or spot application will not provide the amount of sun protection the label indicates. If you’re not likely to apply this foundation liberally, we recommend applying it over a moisturizer with sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater and setting your foundation with a pressed powder rated SPF 15 or greater.

Active: Octinoxate (7%), Octisalate (3%), Titanium Dioxide (5.1%), Other: Water, Isopropyl Isostearate, CyclopentaSiloxane, Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Retinol, Arginine, Olive Fruit Extract, BHT, Silica, Polysorbate 20, Sclerotium Gum, Tetrasodium EDTA, Erythorbic Acid, Isostearyl Palmitate, Polysilicone-11, PEG-100 Stearate, Ammonium Polyacryloyldimethyl Taurate, PEG-75 Stearate, Ceteth-20, Steareth-20, Ethylparaben, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance, May Contain: Iron Oxides, Lauroyl Lysine

Johnson & Johnson–owned Neutrogena has been around for over 50 years, and they've come a long way since they launched their first transparent, bronze, detergent-based bar soap (it also contains tallow). The bars are still sold, and while we still don't recommend them (they are too drying for all skin types), the good news is that Neutrogena has come a very long way from where they started. In fact, several of their products represent truly state-of-the-art options.

Strolling the skin-care aisles of any drugstore or mass-market store reveals that Neutrogena vies for shelf space and prominence with only one other brand, Procter & Gamble's Olay. For the most part, both companies offer a similar assortment of products, with Olay being slightly more focused on anti-aging products and Neutrogena going for broader appeal, offering a nearly equal amount of antiwrinkle and anti-acne products. Regrettably the latter category presents few viable options.

Where Neutrogena really excels (and has for years) is with water-soluble cleansers, AHAs, retinol, and sunscreen products. Their Healthy Skin lineup offers some beautifully formulated moisturizers with glycolic acid, and the sunscreens offer something for everyone, including some ingenious options for those with oily skin (or anyone who finds the texture of high-SPF products as unappealing as slathering your skin with Crisco).

A recent self-proclaimed advance in sun protection came with Neutrogena's Helioplex complex. It is not the superior breakthrough Neutrogena makes it out to be. It's a good system to keep avobenzone stable for longer, but Helioplex isn't the only way to get the most out of this important UVA sunscreen. If it were, why didn't Neutrogena scrap all of their other sunscreens that don't use Helioplex technology? And why do they still offer a handful of SPF-rated products that leave skin vulnerable to UVA damage? Although they offer a proportionately greater number of sunscreens that provide excellent UVA protection, it's hard to unequivocally deem them a sun-care leader when they still sell inadequate sunscreens.

It's common to see commercials and magazine ads for Neutrogena's plethora of products designed to combat breakouts and blackheads. It's nothing short of amazing that, after all these years, the majority of these products, while well intentioned, still don't get it right. Far too many of them contain irritating ingredients such as alcohol, witch hazel, and menthol, none of which are the least bit helpful for someone struggling with breakouts. If your dermatologist recommends these products for acne without reservation, definitely consider a second opinion! Even Neutrogena's on-the-spot benzoyl peroxide product contains some potentially problematic thickening agents. Despite this, if you choose carefully, there are some great products (including a BHA lotion) that can make a positive difference.

What's most frustrating and, frankly, surprising, is that Neutrogena's enormous assortment of products represents both the best and the worst the cosmetics industry has to offer. Given their worldwide distribution and research capabilities, they really should be offering a consistent range of effective, irritant-free products to address a variety of skin types and conditions. As things stand now, healthy, protected skin is only assured if you know which Neutrogena products to look for and which ones to never put in your shopping cart.

For more information about Neutrogena, owned by Johnson & Johnson, call (800) 582-4048 or visit www.neutrogena.com.

Neutrogena Makeup

Neutrogena's "beautiful and beneficial" pronouncement is a great tag line, but most of their makeup doesn't live up to that assertion. This line was lacking in several key areas when it first hit store shelves in 1999, and although some things have improved, the number of problematic products is a bit startling. (I'm not aware of any cosmetic line that uses menthol or its derivatives as often as Neutrogena.) Each product carries on about the vitamins it contains, yet compared to the leading roles played by cosmetic staples like silicones and thickening agents, the vitamins have mere cameo roles, and as such have little to no impact.

There are a few key items to seek out, especially if you're looking for makeup with excellent sun protection. We also found their lip gloss to be one of the best at any price, and a few of their foundations successfully bridge the gap between skin care and makeup.

The most frustrating aspect of this line is that almost all of it is packaged so you cannot see the color. Even worse, the color swatch on the box is a poor representation, not only of how the color looks in the compact, but also how it looks on your skin. What would truly be beneficial is for Neutrogena to offer more revealing packaging or provide testers or offer trial sizes. Their overall collection and in-store displays aren't nearly as tempting as most other drugstore makeup lines, so in most cases they're relying on their constant magazine and television ads to drive shoppers to explore the world of Neutrogena makeup, or they're relying solely on those who don't mind guessing what color they are really buying. It's obviously working, because despite the problematic elements, this is a line that has survived and is very well distributed.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 04, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    TERRIFIC
    • Truly an excellent product. This is LIGHT coverage! If you need lots of coverage get something else. It is best applied with a foundation brush, remarkable results!

  2. LL
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 28, 2014
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Follow up to last review
    • After wearing several times, Not as impressed as my initial review...definitely worth a try but I won't be repurchasing even I were needing something as a temporary back-up to my regular face base. It fades unevenly.

  3. LL
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 05, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Adding to the positive reviews
    • It is always worth trying a good to best (Paula's rating) easy to find product (no more than $15!) so when you don't like you don't have to feel bad about the $ you spent... even better when it delivers the results conducive to Paula's review. I've been using this for a week & like other's comments the texture is really great for a drugstore product. It is whipped without being marshmallowy or too airy...applies fantastic & leaves a really nice skin-like finish that lasts.

  4. Deb H.
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 24, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Fragrance added
    • Not noted in this review is the inclusion of fragrance in this foundation. Disappointing for an otherwise innovative formula. I rated all 1s, but really, I can't use it due to the fragrance'll I'll have to keep looking :( .

  5. Sabrina Q.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    "Healthy Skin" Enhancer = Light Coverage
    • A lot of people complain about the lighter coverage this product has, but that's somewhat it's intention. It's a product meant for people who only *need* light coverage. It's supposed to enhance your already healthy skin. (Or so they claim). Personally, I always finish my make up with a light loose powder, which combined with this produce gives just the right coverage and keeps my skin from being too oily or too dry. I wouldn't use this product alone unless my skin was near flawless.

  6. Janean
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 05, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    So far best tinted moisturizer/BB cream yet
    • Loved this product. It goes on similar to Lancôme but for a fraction of the price. The color was spot on and worked well and seemed to adjust when I put on self tanner underneath the product.

  7. APRIL H.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 13, 2014
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Be aware this product has fragrance
    • I wish the Beautypedia review mentioned this product's very potent fragrance. Yes, ingredients are listed, but in the past, you could assume that products earning Paula's "best" rating either had no fragrance, or had a small amount of fragrance that was duly noted in the review. Apparently that is no longer the case, which is disappointing.

  8. Peggy F.
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 10, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Back it went
    • After reading not only Paula's review but other members as well I was looking forward to trying this. Prepped my skin with moisturize as well as a foundation primer. This product couldn't even cover the pores on my nose. I let it dry and tried to apply another layer to no avail. Since I'd already applied my eyeshadow etc I wasn't about to start over so I took another tinted moisturizer I had and tried to fix the best I could. This product was promptly returned! Now back to the drawing board.

  9. Cath P
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 06, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Best tinted moisturizer with sunscreen I've used
    • I have used this product for 2-3 years now,absolutely the best! I've tried others but always came back to this one. It is perfect for what I want - The coverage is not too sheer and not too thick, the shades are beautiful, the texture is wonderful, not dry and not greasy, and my skin looks great wearing it and seems to be improved by it as well. I don't understand the comment re retinol can only be used at night, if that were true, should eliminate AHA/BHA during the day as well? Doubt it.

  10. Chelsey E.
    Reviewed on Friday, September 20, 2013
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Retinol not meant for daytime
    • I haven't purchased this product because I don't understand why you would want to put retinol on your face during the day. Isn't it an ingredient that makes skin sensitive to the sun? The description sounds great, and obviously I love the idea of putting a great ingredient on my skin... but from my understanding, retinol is a product best used at night.

  11. AMY M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 10, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Perfection!
    • For me, this is the perfect tinted moisturizer and even provides more than a little coverage. Maybe it's because the shade is so perfect. I have medium skin tone and use Neutral to Tan 40. I discovered it thanks to Paula's favorable review. You can apply it like a moisturizer and not worry about using too much. It's truly a "me only better" product.

  12. Liz B
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 09, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    No Difference
    • This product is terrible. You couldn't tell I was wearing anything. This has very sheer coverage and personally sheer coverage is completely pointless. I'm returning it.

  13. pavlova
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 06, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Been using it for years, good product
    • I am a male who likes to use a light foundation to even out skin tone. This one has worked great for me since Neutrogena introduced it. It has served its purpose, and I do wear an SPF moisturizer underneath to get maximal protection, as I am not going to apply this liberally or it would look odd on the face and the product gone in 2-3 weeks. I have enjoyed using this product, but I think I am moving on to something different now, such as Paula's new Resist foundation.

  14. Pat
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    My very fave
    • I am almost 72 and this is my very favorite foundation/sunscreen/moisturizer/retinol treatment. I hope Neutrogena never discontinues it. I love it.

  15. Cyndawg
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 01, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Great product with light coverage
    • As far as tinted moisturizers go, this one has a generous tint that goes beyond just sheer coverage. It goes on like a foundation: thick, creamy, smooth, and blends effortlessly. I use the fair to light shade and I consider myself pretty fair. I apply liberally to get the sunscreen benefits, but there is enough product in the bottle to last a long time. At less than $11, it is a great beauty bargain.

  16. BRIANNA J.
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 02, 2012
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Love it!
    • Now that my acne scars are fading, this product works so well as a light foundation for every day wear. I have an oily forehead, so I apply Paula's Choice Shine Stopper before putting on the tinted moisturizer. I only need one pump to cover my face and for the price, it works great and lasts several months!

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.344 10/20/2014 8:27:39 AM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.