12.02.2014
19
1209
PhotoReady BB Cream Skin Perfector SPF 30
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $10.99
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

PhotoReady BB Cream scores points right off the bat for its fragrance-free formula blended with mineral and synthetic broad-spectrum sunscreen, but you must apply it liberally to get this benefit, something not everyone is willing to do with a foundation-like product. The lightweight, creamy liquid texture meshes well with skin for easy, smooth blending. Its dewy finish is ideal for normal to dry or combination skin, assuming that the oily areas of combination skin are only slightly oily.

There are three flattering neutral colors, all of which go on sheer and stay that way, so this isn't the product to choose if you want more than minimal coverage.

The hydrating formula does contain some skin-repairing ingredients, and although these are present only in small amounts, that's better than none at all. The opaque squeeze-tube packaging has a small, see-through window that lets in a bit of light, which isn't the best for keeping the beneficial, light-sensitive ingredients stable. In this case, the window is so small that it's not much cause for concern, but if you're concerned, you can limit exposure to light by keeping this in a drawer or closed makeup bag to maintain the stability. While this is a good BB cream option, don't get too caught up in their hype (see More Info).

Pros:
  • Fragrance-free, hydrating formula that provides broad-spectrum sun protection.
  • Texture meshes well with skin and blends easily.
  • Sheer coverage and dewy finish is ideal for a soft, natural look.
  • Flattering colors for light to medium skin tones.
Cons:
  • Not enough coverage to hide flaws.
More Info:

For the most part, BB creams are little more than tinted moisturizers, often with sunscreen. Most include some beneficial ingredients that may or may not be present in tinted moisturizers, but that's where the excitement stops. BB creams hold no advantage in terms of multi-tasking beyond what the best tinted moisturizers with sunscreen provide. And despite their names, they're not particularly beneficial for blemishes (think acne, red marks, white bumps, etc.). BB creams from east Asian brands tend to be thicker and offer more coverage, but again there's nothing particularly special about their formulas.

Claims
Ingredients

Active: Octinoxate (7.5%), Octisalate (5%), Titanium Dioxide (6.5%) Other: Water, Dimethicone, Neopentyl Glycol Diheptanoate, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Phenyl Trimethicone, Glyceryl Stearate, Tridecyl Trimellitate, Isotridecyl Isononanoate, Isostearic Acid, Boron Nitride, Alumina, Zinc Gluconate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Hydrolyzed Algin, Hydrolyzed Glycosaminoglycans, Hibiscus Sabdariffa Flower Extract, Morus Alba Bark Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Seed Extract, Lecithin, Stearic Acid, Polyacrylamide, Steareth 2, Tromethamine, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Steareth 21, Methicone, Xanthan Gum, Laureth 7, Simethicone, Sorbitan Laurate, Polysorbate 20, Propylene Glycol Laurate, Propylene Glycol Stearate, Glyceryl Polymethacrylate, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben. May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxide

Brand Overview

Revlon At-A-Glance

Strengths: Superior foundations with sunscreen and each of them provide sufficient UVA protection (though one has a disappointing SPF 6); several outstanding concealers and powders; one of the best cream blushes around; great cream eyeshadow and liquid eyeliner; a beautiful selection of elegant lipsticks, lip gloss, and lipliner; some worthwhile specialty products.

Weaknesses: Average eye and brow pencils; inaccurate claims surrounding their Botafirm complex; mostly average to disappointing mascaras.

It may surprise some of you to know that Revlon has been around since 1932, when the company launched a unique nail polish that used pigments instead of dyes. Lipsticks followed years later, and then a full line of cosmetics, which is how we know Revlon today. Although the company has had its continual share of ups and downs over the years (largely due to out-of-control debt coupled with aggressive spending), the line has recently made numerous improvements, especially in the realms of foundations, powders, eyeshadows, and mascaras. It is quite a feat that Revlon products earned more Paula's Pick ratings per category than any other drugstore line reviewed. If their goal was to close the competitive gap between themselves and L'Oreal, for the most part they have succeeded. Revlon definitely has the edge for foundations with reliable sunscreens. But despite Revlon's attempt to improve their mascara range, L'Oreal remains the clear winner (as well as L'Oreal-owned Maybelline New York).

Revlon's vast selection of makeup is divided into three main brands: Age Defying for the forty-something and older woman concerned about wrinkles, ColorStay for the teen to mid-thirties woman concerned about keeping oily skin in check and making sure her makeup stays put, and PhotoReady for women of all ages. These brands present some outstanding options and include products for all skin types (although the range of skin tones is not as well-represented here as it is by L'Oreal).

An intriguing fact is that the longevity claims for ColorStay are quite accurate: this collection of products really does offer extraordinary staying power. Conversely, Revlon jumped on the works-like-Botox bandwagon with their Age Defying range, going so far as to name their antiwrinkle complex Botafirm. Is there any confusion about what that term is supposed to relate to? Despite the claims, Botafirm won't reduce expression lines or control the muscles that cause them, though the products themselves do have many impressive qualities.

Note:Revlon is categorized as one that tests on animals because their products are sold in China. Although Revlon may not conduct animal testing for their products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brand’s state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law”. Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Beautypedia Team.

Suffice it to say, Revlon has more commendable products than ever before, and although they rely heavily on celebrity spokespersons, their best products ably speak for themselves.

For more information about Revlon, call (800) 473-8566 or visit www.revlon.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
06.09.2015
Love it

I love it....perfect coverage...love the color..my skin looks and feels so nice I have oily skin and it has worked perfect for me. It gives me a natural look...I just need to know of its an oil free product?

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
GR
06.15.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  It is oil-free :)

—Admin
05.18.2015
Way off and Way Left Field

I've tried to give this a go and like this product.I don't like mixing colors as it is.I purchased both the light medium and light colors.Neither of them matched or lasted at all.In fact the shade light medium left me orange like and oompa loompa and the light white as casper.Mixed together lets not go there.I returned this immediately and went with cover FX.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.15.2015
something is wrong with this BB cream

Something is wrong with this BB cream. I'm not an expert chemist but it feels like the cream contains ingredients that just aren't compatible. It separates no matter what, but, oddly enough, shaking it to mix everything back together only makes matters worse and oily stuff comes out of the tube with almost no pigment in it. Go figure...

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
LL
05.10.2015
Worst product ever

One of the worst products I've ever had a misfortune to use. I thought it would be okay for my dry skin, but the product rolls off my face together with everything I used before it. Absolutely impossible to apply over moisturisers, let alone over any other products I use before my moisturiser (such as serums). The make up is ugly, uneven, grainy even after removing the pieces (yes, pieces) of the product. At the same time there's barely any coverage at all. So much for a natural look...

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anna
03.11.2015
Sheer, dewy coverage for dry skin

This provides sheer, slightly correcting coverage with a dewy finish on dry skin. It's somewhat hydrating but I still wear a moisturizer underneath. It evens out light redness and doesn't sink into fine lines or go patchy by the end of the day. Blends nicely with fingers. A great budget find-- I will be purchasing again!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
09.05.2014
Really oily

I am looking for a good BB cream with sunscreen. At first, I really liked this product, but as time went on, I found it was way too oily. I do not have oily skin, but I am powdering my entire face after I apply this, which I never do. I am too stubborn/cheap to throw it out, otherwise I would.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Dusty
08.05.2014
Only for extra dry skin

Blends great, decent skinlike color, holds well throughout day, & sheer/medium coverage....but feels heavy on skin. I would only recommend for the driest of skins. Otherwise, it just doesn't play well when applying powder (definitely necessary to tame the shine...the consistency is more moist than a radiant dewy). the BB cream residue will stick to your brush strands...thereby marring the even application of any powder. I am glad I tried it but I definitely will not repurchase.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
LL
04.26.2014
Definitely not for oily skin

Not suitable for even moderately oily skin. This product had a very nice consistency but left my skin profoundly shiny. I had to use blotting papers before going any further with my makeup. It also turned an unattractive orange color on my skin.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
MARY W.
03.05.2014
Oil slick on my face

This product went on streaky and made my face shiny like an oil slick. I gave it to my mom. With her older skin she likes how it worked with her drier skin. And, the coverage was terrible.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Janean
02.24.2014
Great BB but for the finish

This is one of several tinted moisturisers/BBs I use, and it's second only to the PC's RESIST Super-Light Daily Defense SPF 30. I like that it's SPF 30 and considering the high SPF the finish is quite good. The colour is excellent and the coverage is about medium. The single main issue with this product for me is the thickness/creaminess. It takes a bit more effort to blend in and the formula tends to shift during the day, getting into my eyes and settling in the creases of my neck.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Cassandra P.
12.04.2013
Amazing Foundation

I have normal, medium skin, T-Zone Shine. This is the ONLY regimen that helps my FOUNDATION last throughout my 12 hour work shift! I use this Cream as a Foundation. It's thick enough for full coverage & great COLOR. Regimen may seem extensive, but makes a flawless base! -CG BB Cream SPF 15 (Tint is very thin - moisturizer & SPF), makes great base -Concealer: blemishes, eyes -Foundation: Revlon PhotoReady BB Cream (shiny, needs powder to set) -Age Def Powder: Tzone & Eye-lids to set

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Misty S.
10.29.2013
Thought it would work

Initially I was pleased with the texture, slip, and finish of the product. The color was flattering in its minimalist fashion - which was exactly what I wanted. Then in less than a week the scent "changed" to something very off or almost spoiled. I thought perhaps since the purchase was made in NOLA , well, that's just the breaks and purchased another in my Virginia hometown. The same stinkiness in less than a week! Truly so rotten that I could not bear it near my face - so sad.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Jennifer K.
10.07.2013
Not a natural tint!

The shades of this product are not natural, it's very obvious that one is wearing a tinted moisturizer. Also, it does not give you a dewy finish - it's more like a greasy, oily finish! Very disappointed in this product since their photo ready foundation is wonderful, I just wanted something lighter for summer, the search continues........sigh

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
09.16.2013
A Better BB

When I plan on being out in the sun for more than a few minutes at a time, I like to use a thin layer of this product under a powder that has a good SPF. What I like most about it is that it provides a little more coverage than most BB creams, but it's still very sheer. The only thing I don't like is the fragrance, but I think that's unavoidable because of the suncreen ingredients. Side note: I put a piece of duct tape over the "window" on the bottle to prevent light exposure after I bought it.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Amber
08.08.2013
Would not recommend

I tried this makeup for a week as I was looking for a makeup to quickly apply before work. It felt very heavy and oily and made me break out terribly. I will not be using this product anymore, which is a shame since I spent almost $11.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.15.2013
would not recommend

I have never had this reaction before with any product, so I felt the need to leave this review to warn others with sensitive skin. I don't know what is in this product, but as soon as I got to work (about an hour after applying) my eyes began to burn. The next day I applied the product and specifically avoided my eye area, and again my eyes burned all day at work. I have tried somewhere around 30-40 different facial products in my lifetime and I have never had this issue before.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Des D
03.21.2013
Very nice

I tried this product because of the good reviews and I was pleasantly surprised at how much I like it. I'm 62 years old and very often am told how I look 10 years younger. That's a combination of good genes and taking excellent care of my skin including use of PAula's Choice 8% glycolic acid, cera ve moisturizer and now this BB cream, mixed with MAC strobe cream.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Wendy d
02.19.2013
Smooth and Hydrating

I do apply a moisturizer with sunscreen under the product during the day . I'm very pleased with this product. I had been using a Neutrogena tinted moisturizer, which I liked, but I like this one a little better in terms of it's coverage and texture. Smooth, flawless finish. I top it with a bit of powder and for me, it's enough coverage and doesn't look or feel like I'm wearing much or any makeup. Areas I want a bit more coverage I simply tap on a bit of concealer.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Adie W.
02.17.2013
Great all purpose product!

While this product doesn't have full coverage (I have other foundation for that) it's great for times when I don't want to spend a lot of time "fixing up". Gives a nice glow and finish in a hurry with sunscreen a bonus. When my regular foundation runs out, I may just use this with a little powder for extra coverage. Feels great on the skin too. I love it.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Lavonne L.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.411 8/4/2015 4:59:28 PM