12.17.2014
8
1260
Sheer Color Tinted Moisturizer Oil-Free SPF 20
Rating
1.7 fl. oz. for $34
Category:Makeup > Foundations With Sunscreen > Tinted Moisturizer w/ Sunscreen
Last Updated:12.17.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

This is a great fragrance-free tinted moisturizer for all skin types but particularly for sensitive skin. The active ingredients are gentle minerals titanium dioxide and zinc oxide, so this is unlikely to cause stinging or be a problem for use around the eyes.

The soft, lightweight cream texture glides over skin, providing sheer to light coverage and a soft, satin-matte finish that looks perfectly natural. Even better are Stila’s mostly neutral shades, with good options for fair to medium skin tones. The darker shades are trickier, but Deep and especially Bronze are worth an audition by those with dark skin. Neither shade looks too copper or ashen.

As much as we applaud this tinted moisturizer with sunscreen, it must be said that the product is extremely similar to Paula’s Choice Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30. The Paula’s Choice option doesn’t have the extensive shade range Stila does, but it also costs significantly less money ($14.95 per ounce vs. $20 per ounce).

Note:Although this foundation provides broad-spectrum sun protection on its own, you must apply it liberally and evenly to get the stated level of protection. A sheer or spot application will not provide the amount of sun protection the label indicates. If you’re not likely to apply this foundation liberally, we recommend applying it over a moisturizer with sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater and setting your foundation with a pressed powder rated SPF 15 or greater.

Claims
Ingredients

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 5.0%, Zinc Oxide 5.0%. Other: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Propylene Glycol, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Dimethicone, Cyclohexasiloxane, Phytantriol, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Tocopherol, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Aluminum Hydroxide, Stearic Acid, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Boron Nitride, Glycerin, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Palmitic Acid, Dextrin Palmitate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Butylene Glycol, Panax Ginseng (Ginseng) Root Extract, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract, Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Flower Extract, Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Magnesium Chloride, Potassium Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Zinc Chloride, Lysine, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides

Brand Overview

Stila At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive for a department-store/boutique line; the foundations are remarkable in most respects, especially shade selection and texture; bronzing powder with sunscreen; very good options for blush and eyeshadow; the Brow Polish and Lip Shine are standouts; several attractive, versatile shimmer products; great makeup brushes.

Weaknesses: Convertible Eye Color and Kajal Eye Liner have too many weaknesses; some problematic lip glosses; the lip pencils are average at best. Skin care that means well but contains fragrant irritants.

Makeup artist Jeanine Lobell has been at the helm of Stila since its inception in 1994, and her creations have an impressive history of blending innovation with eye-catching, fun packaging. Of course, this innovation is not without its price, and you will find some rather ordinary products where the packaging or dispensing method is the only thing that's exciting. Where Lobell struck gold is with her superlative collection of foundations. We’ve examined hundreds of makeup lines for this and previous editions of this book, and Stila has had and continues to maintain one of the best collections of truly neutral foundation colors. For anyone confused about what we mean by "neutral tones," you need look no further, though we are pleased that more mainstream lines (including L'Oreal, Revlon, Clinique, and even Cover Girl) are now creating wonderfully neutral foundation colors. Stila's foundations aren't inexpensive, but it's critical to get a foundation that's right for you, and that may mean splurging. Other stellar categories include concealers, blush, eyeshadows, brushes, and much better mascaras than in years past.

Once an independent brand with a first-to-market approach to clever cardboard packaging that was sleek, urban, and utilitarian at the same time, Stila's presence and product lineup and distribution expanded (with mostly favorable results) when it was acquired by Estee Lauder in 1999. It was a bit perplexing when Lauder announced in late 2005 that it would sell Stila to "optimize our portfolio of brands" and put more attention (read: financial resources) into their M.A.C. and Bobbi Brown brands (Source: The Rose Sheet, April 17, 2006, page 4). Ironically, of those three brands, Stila has the most compelling collection of products. M.A.C. and Bobbi Brown are no slouches, but Stila always had a slight edge, at least in the complexion-enhancing categories.

An affiliate of Sun Capital Partners (naming itself Stila Corporation) bought the brand from Lauder in spring 2006 and has been at the helm since. Lauder's no longer owning Stila led to the brand's hasty exit from department stores, a move that left many shoppers wondering what the heck happened (and, at least in the stores we visited, the sales associates were vague about the line's future). Luckily, Stila still has a home in Sephora stores worldwide, and is randomly distributed in select department stores. That's great news, because there is much to love about this line, and the most recent crop of products proves that Stila has every intention of remaining a competitive player in the compelling game that is the cosmetics industry.

For more information about Stila, call 866.784.5201 or visit www.stilacosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
08.28.2014
Revision to last review

I wrote that review too soon....revise to total sparkles & feels heavy (tacky/sticky) on skin. Yes, wears well, but it doesn't compete with other products in same category.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
LL
08.11.2014
Great coverage & texture

Got samples from Sephora. In tone & medium... They are really close in color until seeing in natural light... Id choose more neutal beige Tone over the Medium as the medium has 'orangey' rather tan golden overtones... But it still blended out well so i didnt look like a pumpkin. I may consider purchasing... Really nice finish... I didn't detect any sparkles from my samples.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
LL
08.08.2014
Awful Glitter Galore

The texture of this moisturizer was fine, but unfortunately once I held a mirror to my face I could see sparkles everywhere very much like Edward Cullen. The glitter settled into my pores, into everything. Apparently this used to be available without shimmer, but now is only available with shimmer. So disappointed, because I used my ulta rewards to purchase this, and because I had to return it, I lost the discount I earned. Such a shame this was so sparkly, because I really liked the feel of it.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Val
12.24.2013
always a favorite

When I want a bit of a change from my laura mercier tinted moisturizer, I switch to this. Have used stila foundations for years and still love them. This goes on smooth, blends easily and never changes color or looks cakey. I use my finger tips to apply then smooth with a damp makeup sponge. I have older, dry to normal skin with a few age spots. I don't need heavy coverage so love the tinted moisturisers and lightweight foundations.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
PAMELA D.
11.13.2013
PC Sheer Tint no longer $14.95

I was doing some research on tinted moisturizers and noted that this page still says what a good value the PC sheet tint is versus the Stila. Now that PC is $17/1 oz, they are much more comparable in pricing and PC is not the value that it once was.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jill
05.11.2013
Nope, this is the product I have Maya

I can assure you without a doubt that this is the product I own Maya. And I can also assure you that there are definitely sparkles left on my palm when I am done. There are also reviewers at mu alley who complain about this. Also, I used Fair as I am cool toned, not warm toned, and it definitely has a pinky undertone which many porcelain skinned people do not want. Glad it works for you but not everyone is the same!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.19.2013
EXCELLENT BB!

Being obsessed with BB Creams, I've tried a bunch of them, and this one has by far the most natural look and feel. Finally a sunscreen that is not too dewy for oily skin, doesn't burn the eyes or look white on the face, and evens out the skin tone a bit. I am super pale but also "warm" toned, and the shade BARE is perfect on me, having no pink undertone to it! There are no "sparkles" in this product whatsoever, nor even any shimmer, so I think the other reviewer has a different product. LUV!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Maya
01.03.2013
Not bad but not the best

Tried this in the lightest color - looked a bit pink on my hand but when I put it on it blended quite well, not super pink. It was thick and creamy and blended very smoothly. I noticed afterwards that I had sparkles on my hand but on my face, it didn't look overly sparkly, just very subtle. This was quite moisturizing - but not greasy - so I put powder over top my t-zone as I have combo skin. PC says this is similar to thier's but I like PC's better - no pink undertone, no sparkles and higher spf.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to Beauty.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.379 3/27/2015 8:13:30 AM