Natural Very Emollient Sunscreen Natural Protection Lip Care SPF 25

by Alba Botanica  Very Emollient
Price:
$2.99 - 0.35 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Lip Products (Including Lip Exfoliators) > Lip Balm With Sunscreen
Last Updated:
6/17/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

This is a very good lip balm with sunscreen whose subtle tint helps offset the white cast that comes from the amount of zinc oxide the formula contains. The zinc oxide provides reliable UVA protection while the other sunscreen actives kick in varying degrees of UVA plus good UVB protection, making for a broad-spectrum benefit.

The twist-up stick is convenient for taking anywhere you go, and treats lips to a conditioning blend of natural, non-fragrant plant oils, waxes, and butters. All of the plant oils provide an antioxidant boost, and the price makes this an all-out beauty bargain! Although the formula is fragrance-free, it contains a small amount of flavor.

One last comment concerning the hypoallergenic claim: "Hypoallergenic" is little more than a nonsense word meant to make products sound safer or somehow better for sensitive skin. There are no accepted testing methods, ingredient restrictions, regulations, guidelines, rules, or procedures of any kind, anywhere in the world, for determining whether or not a product qualifies as being hypoallergenic. Any company can label any product "hypoallergenic" because there is no regulation that says they can't, no matter what proof they may point to—and what proof can they provide given there is no standard against which to measure? Given that there are no regulations governing this supposed category, which was made up by the cosmetics industry, there are plenty of products labeled "hypoallergenic" that actually contain problematic ingredients and that can indeed trigger allergic reactions, even for those with no previous history of skin sensitivity. The word "hypoallergenic" gives you no reliable understanding of what you are or aren't putting on your skin (Sources: www.fda.gov; Clinical and Experimental Dermatology, May 2004, pages 325–327; and Ostomy and Wound Management, March 2003, pages 20–21).

This hypo-allergenic SPF 25 lip balm provides natural sun protection for your delicate lips. Made with preferred sunscreen ingredients combined with Aloe Vera, Cocoa Butter and Sunflower Seed Oils, this balm keeps lips moisturized, soft and supple. Vitamin E provides the rich antioxidant protection needed after a day in the sun.

Active Ingredients: Octocrylene 10 %, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate 7.5 %, Zinc Oxide 3.9 %, Ethylhexyl Salicylate 1.0 %; Other Ingredients: Beeswax, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Flavor, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter , Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Echinacea Purpurea Extract, Allantoin, Ammonium Glycyrrhizate, Tocopherol, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Iron Oxides (CI 77491)

Alba Botanica is part of the Avalon Natural Products group, which is owned by natural product marketer Hain-Celestial. In addition to owning the Jason Natural and Zia Natural brands, Hain-Celestial also owns Avalon Organics, of which Alba Botanica is a part. Although Alba Botanica is not any thinking person's definition of an all-natural line—they use plenty of synthetic ingredients, including sunscreen actives and preservatives—they shine in comparison to the mostly disappointing products offered under the Avalon Organics name, but that's not saying a lot. 

As far as the "natural" visage Alba Botanica portrays—while they do use plenty of natural ingredients, for the most part it's the non-natural ingredients that contribute to each product's texture and function; but then highlighting those ingredients isn't going to attract attention from consumers seeking natural products, is it? Because there are no established standards for use of the word "natural," any cosmetics company can take advantage of the term, as Alba Botanica does. 

Despite not being an all-natural line (which isn't a bad thing), much of what they offer, while not state-of-the-art spectacular, is still worth considering. The prices are competitive with those of drugstore and health food store brands, and they offer some very good options in the categories of cleanser, scrub, sunscreens for face and body, lip balms without sunscreen, and a self-tanner.

It is also worth mentioning that Avalon Products (remember, Alba Botanica is part of this master brand) is commendable in that it uses environmentally conscious business practices, including solar-powered offices and warehouse and relying on organic farming for several of their ingredients. Their environmentalism may or may not correspond to good skin care, but it is admirable. As we have said many times before, just because an ingredient is organic doesn't make it safe or effective for skin (and there's no proof that an organic ingredient is preferred to a synthetic ingredient when it comes to skin care), but the practice of organic farming is a positive step toward creating products that reduce negative environmental impact.

Turning to what Alba Botanica needs help with, you'll see they fall short of being a comprehensive line. There are no reliable exfoliants such as AHAs or BHA products, and those struggling with blemishes or any type of skin discoloration are out of luck. Also, not every sunscreen (especially those for lips) makes the grade in terms of providing sufficient UVA-protecting ingredients, and some of the toners have truly boring, antiquated formulas. Other less impressive products include the enzyme scrubs, masks, and a few of the jar-packaged moisturizers. 

Overall, these products aren't the most advanced around, but comparatively speaking they best many other products from brands with a natural angle (Lauder-owned Origins comes to mind).

For more information about Alba Botanica, call (888) 659-7730 or visit www.albabotanica.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 16, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Tastes like sunscreen
    • This $2.99, SPF 25 lip balm is soothing and goes on very smoothly BUT has a very strong taste of sunscreen which other SPF lip balms do not have. I liken it to applying sunscreen inside your mouth; it is a taste I can't get used to and have stopped using it.

  2. CHRISTINE L.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 06, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Strange granular-like texture...
    • I, also, purchased this product because it was a "best" product. Although the lip balm is a great value and protects my lips, the texture was really strange. Applying it felt like I was putting cookie crumbs on my lips, however, once applied my lips felt smooth.

  3. Jen
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 26, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Awful, do not buy
    • I bought this because it received a best rating on this website. However, it has the most awful after taste that I had to throw it away. I NEVER do that with lib balms, because I always need one in my purse, nightstand, car, etc. I love Paula's Choice invisible lip balm and that is my go-to for lips now.

  4. Gail
    Reviewed on Friday, October 18, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Not Tasty
    • I ordered this from Alba Botanica's site back during the summer. I agree it is very emollient and leaves no detectable white cast. However, an objectionable taste will register a little while after it's applied. If you can somehow avoid eating, drinking, or other activities which transfer the product inside your mouth, you may like it.

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 01, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Finally found it!
    • I finally found this at my local Whole Foods. This has no detectable fragrance, is moisturizing, and I love that it has sun protection. It doesn't leave behind a white cast on my lips either. This is very affordable, and I highly recommend it.

  6. Carla
    Reviewed on Friday, July 05, 2013
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Not listed on website
    • I went to the Alba Botanica Website and could not find this product. Am still looking for a good lip balm since Paula's Choice discontinued them.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Friday, July 05, 2013

    Hello, and thanks for your comments! We were still able to find it on the Alba Botanica website at this link: http://www.albabotanica.com/sun/lip-protection/lip-care-spf-25.html. We hope this helps you out!

    —Paula's Choice Research Team

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.326
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.