06.19.2015
22
5665
City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector Broad Spectrum 25 SPF
Rating
1.4 fl. oz. for $22
Last Updated:06.19.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector protects skin from sun damage with its actives of titanium dioxide and zinc oxide. The lightweight but still moisturizing base (yes, it really does moisturize so you don't need a separate product unless your skin is very dry) is best for normal to dry or sensitive skin, including those dealing with rosacea. Clinique included a very good blend of antioxidants and cell-communicating ingredients, so this is highly recommended for those seeking a gentle sunscreen. It is slightly tinted to offset the whitening effect from the amount of mineral sunscreens it contains.

Some Clinique consultants insist this product isn't a moisturizer. Don't believe it: this may not be labeled or positioned as a moisturizer per se, but it absolutely contains moisturizing ingredients. Unless you have very dry skin, you will not need to pair this with a separate moisturizer, so save your money!

Note: This product was recently downgraded from our top rating to three stars, which is considered good. The reason for the change is due to the prevailing recommendation that your daytime sun protection product be rated SPF 30 or greater. This revised recommendation is due to the fact that most people are not applying sunscreen liberally enough to earn the stated level of protection on the label; therefore, a higher SPF rating will be more advantageous. See the More Info section for additional details.

More Info:

Sunscreens Rated SPF 25: A growing body of current research has demonstrated that it's better to use a sunscreen rated SPF 30 or greater to ensure adequate defense against the sun's aging UV rays. SPF 25 is an option, but only if you’re willing to apply liberally and your skin will be seeing five hours of daylight or less. While this sunscreen will provide the SPF number on the label and has UVA-protecting ingredients. Applying an SPF 30-rated sunscreen under a foundation, tinted moisturizer, or BB cream that offers broad-spectrum SPF 30+ will take far better care of your skin. Plus, this layering approach ensures your skin gets sufficient sun protection even if you’re not applying liberally. For a list of UVA sunscreen actives, see the Cosmetic Ingredients Dictionary entry on PaulasChoice.com.

Claims

Scientists believe 80% of all skin damage before age 60 is sun related. Make new City Block Sheer Oil-Free Daily Face Protector SPF 25 your urban necessity. Sheer, high-level broad-spectrum UVA/UVB daily sun protection. Lightweight formula helps wick away perspiration, absorb excess oil so makeup looks fresher, longer. Perfect alone, or as an invisible under-makeup primer. No chemical sunscreens. Appropriate for eye-area, sensitive skins.

Ingredients

Active: Titanium Dioxide (7.3%), Zinc Oxide (6.9%), Other: Water, Trioctyldodecyl Citrate, Butylene Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Steareth-2, Stearyl Heptanoate, Silica, Lecithin, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Gentiana Lutea (Gentian) Root Extract, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Hordeum Vulgare (Barley) Extract, Betula Alba (Birch) Bark Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Saccharomyces Lysate Extract, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seedcake, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sorbitan Tristearate, Linoleic Acid, Polyquaternium-51, Caprylyl Methicone, Sorbitol, Sodium RNA, PEG-40 Stearate, Caprylyl Glycol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Phytantriol, Stearic Acid, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Cellulose, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Stearyl Dimethicone, Ascorbyl Tocopheryl Maleate, Nordihydroguaiaretic Acid, Linolenic Acid, Pantethine, Bisabolol, Ceteth-2, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-6 Polyricinoleate, Steareth-20, Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate, Propylene Glycol Dicaprate, Sodium Stearate, Nylon-12, Citric Acid, Aluminum Hydroxide, Nylon-6, Hexylene Glycol, Xanthan Gum, Disodium EDTA, BHT, Phenoxyethanol, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides

Brand Overview

Clinique At-A-Glance

Strengths: A few excellent moisturizers and serums; excellent sunscreens; very good cleansers and eye makeup removers; unique mattifying products; impressive selection of foundations, good concealers; some remarkable mascaras; much-improved eyeshadows, lip colors and blush formulas.

Weaknesses: Bar soaps (which can clog pores and dull skin); alcohol-based toners; unfortunate choice of jar packaging for antioxidant-loaded moisturizers.

Estee Lauder-owned Clinique launched the concept of cosmetics being "allergy-tested," "hypoallergenic," "100% fragrance-free," and "dermatologist tested." Of those marketing claims, the only one with significance is "100% fragrance-free," which, for the most part, Clinique maintains (although it does add some fragrant extracts to a few products). Unfortunately, terms like “hypoallergenic” and “dermatologist tested” aren’t regulated by the FDA and can mean anything—thus, you still need to rely on the ingredient list to tell you whether their product contains any ingredients with the potential to irritate skin.

That inconvenient fact aside, Clinique is leading the way with cutting-edge, state-of-the-art moisturizers and serums, plus some formidable makeup and more than a few excellent sunscreens. While Clinique has some products that we see as missteps for reasons discussed in their reviews, more than ever, what they offer is quite good (just have realistic expectations, as some of their claims go beyond what their products are capable of).

Turning to makeup, Clinique continues to offer a vast palette of colors and textures, especially with their enormous selection of foundations—many of which feature effective sunscreens. Without a doubt, the numerous formulas offer something for every skin type and almost every skin color—though the blushes, eye makeup and lip colors are frequently not pigmented enough for deeper skin tones.

The bottom line is that, despite a few shortcomings, Clinique is one of the most comprehensive (and comparably affordable) department-store makeup lines, and it is completely understandable why they enjoy such broad appeal.

Note: Clinique is categorized as one that tests on animals because their products are sold in China. Although Clinique does not conduct animal testing for their products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brand’s state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law”. Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Beautypedia Team.

For more information about Clinique, call (800) 419-4041 or visit www.clinique.com

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.04.2015
new formula??

I have just bought another tube after getting along so well previously, but upon looking at the ingredients, I think they're different to before! Water is now the first, titanium dioxide is now Nano particles, and zinc oxide (also Nano) is now the last ingredient on the box! I hope this product still suits my skin but I'm just not convinced it's as good - worth revisiting the review?

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Katie
07.10.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  Thanks for your feedback.  We reached out to Clinique and they sent us the most recent ingredient list which matches what we have here on Beautypedia.  Interestingly enough, however, in our quest, we found out that the formula for the SPF 40 version did change a bit, so we'll work on getting that review updated to reflect it.

—Admin
05.26.2015
Lightly moisturizing, good for sensitive skin

I really like this sunscreen. I wish it had a pump to control the quantity. Lightly moisturizing, the tint doesn't seem to affect my coloring, and is not greasy. As it is a mineral sunscreen, simply rinsing it off with a little cleanser may not be adequate; the remaining minerals make my skin feel very dry after washing. Occasionally scrubbing with a washcloth seems to remove any buildup. A little pricey for the size, but for face only it's a good product. Doesn't make my eyes sting... a godsend

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.10.2015
Too greasy, irritating

This contains rosmarinus officinalis extract. How can beautypedia give it such a high rating?I thought this ingredient was an irritant. I can no longer use it on my face, so I'll apply it to my arms, legs, and chest.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.14.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  Rosemary EXTRACT is far less problematic than rosemary OIL and is unlikely to cause irritation.  Thanks for your inquiry!

—Admin
05.02.2015
Wonderfully moisturizing formula

This is the ultimate in gentle, moisturizing, yet functional sunscreens. I wear it under my Clinique Super Moisturizing foundation and together they make my skin feel both calm and moisturized. I will never need another sunscreen for my face.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
El
11.06.2014
Clogged my pores

I didn't mind the finish or the sun protection this provided for day I wasn't spending too much time in the sun. However, months after discontinuing use I am still trying to clear up the closed comedones it caused. (Haven't developed any new ones since discontinuing this.) Although it never caused true acne, I wouldn't recommend for anyone who struggles with clogged pores.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
08.29.2014
Greasy feel

I purchased a sample size of this product from eBay and was also disturbed that there is no way of determining how old the product is. I doubt whether I'll purchase this again. I too found it greasy on the skin. Did not sink into the skin. I suppose I could get used to the tint, but the greasy feel is the deal-breaker. Will probably use this on my neck, as one other reviewer does.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jill Z.
08.09.2014
Not On My Face

It looks and feels greasy, has an unpleasant smell, but worst, my eyes become watery and my eyelids feel heavy as long as I’m wearing it. But while I can’t put it on my face, I have no problems using it on my neck and chest but that's not enough to buy it again. (By the way, there is no expiration date on the tube. I called Clinique because I thought sunscreen products must have an expiration date on the product itself but the Customer Service representative didn’t know what to tell me.)

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Maria F
08.08.2014
Would recommend

I've been using this product for years now. I find it is the ultimate BB or CC cream, although it's not labelled as such. Only thing I would perhaps change is to make the colour a bit lighter, or offer it in more shades. As this tends to go on a bit dark on me, I have to blend very diligently to avoid getting something similar to a foundation line. At least the SPF is a 25, so as to minimize compromising the benefits of the sunscreen with all the blending.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
SABINA T.
06.08.2014
Best for sensitive skin

With other sunscreens that are not mineral my eyes sting and water even if I don't put it near my eyes. I must have a sunscreen like this one that has only mineral sun blocks. I find the light tint and light coverage of this sunscreen just right for me. I use concealer on my age spots (I'm 69) but I don't wear any foundation. Try this if what you want is a natural look. I notice other's comments about it making you look pasty but I'm pretty fair so it works fine for me.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
KERRY k.
04.24.2014
Made my look pasty

Bought this as it was so highly recommended on this site & in Paula's book. However, I was very disappointed in the product & returned it to the department store where I bought it. The slight tint did not disappear when I put it on my face, but instead made my face look pasty/pale. Not what I had in mind! I bought this to use on days when I wasn't putting on make-up but wanted a sunscreen - for example, when I go out for a run. I don't know how well it works but I hated how it made me look.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
LouiseF
04.05.2014
love it..but it's too pink for my yellow skin

i love evrything abt this product except for its tint which doesn't match my skincolor.my honey skin has yellow undertone..and it is a bit drying for me because of my dry skin..hope they can make it a bit more moisturizing and introduce a shade or tint more compatible to honey skin complexioned like me with yellow undertone.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
elai
03.14.2014
Long time favorite!

I have been using this product for at least 20 years. It's protected my fair skin in the Caribbean and at home equally well. I currently have normal to dry skin. Despite what Paula claims about the moisturizing properties of this product, she is wrong. I don't need any extra moisturizer in the summer, but in the winter City Block alone leaves my skin uncomfortable, and I don't have dry, flaky skin. That said, City Block is outstanding and I'm able to go w/out foundation thanks the slight tint.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
SusanG
01.25.2014
love this stuff

This is a fabulous product. It doesn't feel heavy or greasy on my skin and there's no distracting fragrance or weird minerally odour, either. It provides just enough tint to conceal slight redness. I use it all summer long, when I switch up to the higher sunscreen value from Clinique's Even Better Makeup SPF 15. I'm 54, and people tell me I look 10 years younger-- I credit good genes & the regular use of this product.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
alix v.
01.21.2014
Awesome sunscreen!

I am super finicky about feeling anything on my face, that's why I haven't use sunscreen on my face (although I know I should). If I feel product on my face or if it goes on thick or feels slightly oily or sticky, I will not use that product. I tried City Block and was blown away! It feels smooth going on your face, like a super light foundation. It blends in beautifully, leaves no residue and dries super quickly. Face glows and feels smooth. I LOVE this product, I wear it everyday!!!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
CT
10.19.2013
Still The Best

I started using this in the 80s when Clinique introduced it. I always go back to it. It's a bit pink for my very yellow skin and some days I am too flaky to use it (I use Tazorac). Thank you, Clinique, for this great product. I started using sunscreen regularly in my 20s, but we all know that most of the sunscreen sold in the US lacks UVA protection. Thanks to City Block, I'm one of the lucky ones who got broad spectrum protection for all those years.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Lynne C.
09.09.2013
The Best

I use this product everyday! It also makes my skin smooth as a primer would. It doesn't make my skin oily and dries quickly.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Chris
05.27.2013
Excellent!

This is an excellent sunscreen. I've been using it for years, but have also tried others as well. This one still remains a favorite. It is not heavy or greasy feeling and isn't sticky. I like to wear foundation, but, honestly, this product makes your skin look lovely all on its own. I don't need foundation with this sunscreen. All I do is powder over top, and my skin looks great for the day. I would highly recommend it if you're having trouble finding a sunscreen you like.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Michelle K
05.23.2013
Clinique City Block Sheer SPF 25

When I first started using this product, I loved that it serves as an SPF, has a light tint, and even acts somewhat as a primer. I noticed, however, it does make my face a bit shiny. I prefer a matte finish with all my products. Also, I am combination oily skin so I don't know if this was the best recommendation for me by the Clinique consultant. The product is reasonably priced and is a physical sunblock vs. a chemical one so I would still recommend it.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Sue W
04.30.2013
Good Stuff

One of the best facial moisturizers I have found so far for my normal-dry skin! I use this on top of my SR toner and Resist AOX serum. It's slightly tinted so it does give a little bit of colour to your face, but it doesn't cover much. This dries to give a natural satin finish and I don't feel like I have a tacky film on my face once it dries. I don't find this to be quite hydrating enough during the winter so I may try the Skin Recovery SPF for then.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
K.N.
02.17.2013
Breakout

Since using I have broken out in acne. Backing off product and tryng again in a week to rule out if it is this or the other Cinique suncream "Repairwear Uplifting Firming Cream Broad Spectrum SPF 15, Very Dry to Dry Skin" (an unnecessary mouthful) I have been swapping depending on sun. I tried the repairwear because it came in a bonus set. Overall not too happy with Clinique as it seems to be making my skin very reactive since using it.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Melissa
01.24.2013
Fabulous!

This is the best sunscreen for my face I have found. It is definitely moisturizing, so I don't need anything additional under it in the summer. In the winter I use it with Skin Recovery moisturizing toner. It includes a high percentage of mineral sunscreen which makes the sun protection stellar, but since it is slightly tinted there is no white cast on the skin. It even gives the skin a slight, natural-looking glow. Surprisingly, it offers a light coverage as well, so most days I just wear it with some powder on top, but it can be worn under foundation as well. The Clinique sales person told me it could be used as a foundation primer and it really works great that way! I hope Clinique won't discontinue this product!!!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
ANETA
12.10.2012
good stuff

This stuff makes my skin look great... most of the time. Sometimes (depending on the weather) it can be a bit flaky looking (also may be due to the mineral sunscreen). But it never irritates my skin and really does leave a nice finish. I love that it's tinted too. Hides some minor imperfections while protecting against sun damage - which is a major plus for me since I rarely wear makeup. Because my cheeks tend to be slightly tight and dry, I started using Paula's Choice Skin Recovery hydrating toner underneath this and the combo works pretty well. Just the right amount of moisture.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.411 8/4/2015 10:52:39 AM