Multi-Correxion Night Treatment (Discontinued)

by RoC  Multi-Correxion
Price:
$27.99 - 1 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer without Sunscreen
Last Updated:
9/25/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

This light, silky moisturizer treats skin to an impressive amount of vitamin C (ascorbic acid) along with the cell-communicating ingredient retinol. It definitely deserves consideration if you’re curious to see what a well formulated retinol product will do for your skin. This moisturizer is best for normal to slightly dry skin. The texture is a bit too emollient for oily skin, but if your skin is dry to very dry you will want to pair this with a separate moisturizer or serum.

Note: It does contain fragrance, but the amount is not likely to pose a risk of irritation.

Provides a comprehensive anti-aging solution to diminish the look of the most noticeable signs of aging and reveal, new, younger looking skin.

Water, Isononyl Isononanoate, Glycerin, Steareth-2, Ascorbic Acid, Dimethicone, Cetyl Palmitate, PEG-8, Sorbitan Stearate, Butylene Glycol, Cetyl Alcohol, Steareth-21, Cyclopentasiloxane, Retinol, Copper Gluconate, Magnesium Aspartate, Zinc Gluconate, Panthenol, Shea Butter, Caprylyl Glycol, Methylparaben, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Bisabolol, Fragrance, Disodium EDTA, Propylparaben, Xanthan Gum, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Sucrose Cocoate, Squalane, BHT, Tocopherol, Polysorbate-20, Chlorhexidine Digluconate, Polysorbate-60, Lactoferrin, May also contain: Sodium Hydroxide

Originally the brainchild of a French pharmacist, RoC does its best to convince women concerned with wrinkles that using RoC products will erase those pesky lines and, of course, that RoC is the only company that keeps its promises. That doesn't bode well for the other J&J product lines Aveeno and Neutrogenawouldn't that mean they must be lying about the promises they make for their products? Regardless, the promises RoC makes, including all of the same old same old "you will look younger too" rubbish, aren't viable and don't hold up under closer scrutiny. None of what they assure you their products can do is possible beyond a cosmetic extent, and moreover the majority of RoC's U.S.- and Canada-sold formulas are either boring or one-note. They don't even come through with distinctive or interesting moisturizers.

For example, RoC is big on retinol, and includes it in products with and without sunscreen in the United States. Retinol is a cell-communicating ingredient as well as an antioxidant, and its benefits for skin are many (Sources: Archives of Dermatology, May 2007, pages 606–612; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, March/April 2005, pages 81–87; and Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, December 2005, pages 237–244). However, for the most part, the amount of retinol in RoC's U.S.-sold products is barely a dusting, and so your skin won't receive much, if any, benefit from it. Ironically, although RoC promotes retinol much more than Neutrogena and Aveeno (all are J&J-owned companies), the latter two lines sell better retinol products! Several of the moisturizers with retinol sold by RoC in Canada also have much better formulations.

Another ingredient RoC has been touting lately is DMAE (dimethyl MEA). This ingredient is described in detail in the reviews below, but suffice it to say that DMAE isn't a panacea for wrinkles or skin that has lost firmness. Lastly, soy is promoted by RoC as an anti-aging powerhouse. Soy has antioxidant and anti-inflammatory benefits for skin, but once again RoC shortchanges the consumer by including barely any of it. And it's probably no surprise that sister company Aveeno (and, to a lesser extent, Neutrogena) offers better (and less expensive) options if soy is what you want to try.

Taken together, isn't it interesting how all of these Johnson & Johnson brands offer similar products to different target audiences? Neutrogena is the all-encompassing line, going after consumers battling acne and wrinkles; Aveeno stresses its "Active Naturals" and plays on its oat heritage; RoC is made to appeal to consumers who want to take a serious, more clinical-minded approach to fighting the signs of aging. None of these lines have all the answers, but all of them have a few worthwhile products. It's just that with RoC, those looking for state-of-the-art options beyond retinol have the fewest choices—and that's a promise made clear by the reviews that follow!

For more information about RoC, call (800) 762-1964 or visit www.rocskincare.com. And for a better selection of state-of-the-art retinol products from RoC, see the reviews for RoC Canada.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, September 27, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Kate
    • It looks like RoC started using a jar packaging for their creams. What a shame! and I don't see a Vitamin C in it anymore.

  2. Noelle P
    Reviewed on Monday, September 23, 2013
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Not available anymore?
    • Could you please check into this? I went to buy this yesterday and was told it's been discontinued. Thanks!

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, September 25, 2013

    Hi, and thanks for your comments! We'll definitely check this one out and see if it has indeed been discontinued - thanks for letting us know!

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  3. Anthony L.
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 28, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Was it reformulated?
    • I was excited when I read this product's ingredients list because of the impressive amount of ascorbic acid (ingredients being listed in order of concentration) in addition to the cell communicating retinol and other antioxidants present. When I went to purchase the item at a CVS, however, the list on the package showed many of the beneficial ingredients listed well after fragrance toward the bottom of the list. Reformulated? Where can I find a tube with the list shown on Beautypedia?

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Monday, July 29, 2013

    Hi, and thanks for your comments! We've checked out the ingredient list on RoC's website, which is still the same as what we have listed, though that certainly doesn't mean it's the most current version! We'll head out in store to check it out for ourselves, and adjust the review accordingly. Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention!

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  4. bruno.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 06, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Could be better.
    • This is good enough but it's rather greasy, and it is fragranced.Really you'd be better off with Paula's own stuff than this.

  5. VainCrain
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 12, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    4 weeks and I forgot why I started using it
    • I decided the other night to stop using it on my forehead because I was wasting the product, the skin there didn't need it. Then I remembered that 4 weeks ago I had begun using ROC MCNT precisely because I had noticeable pock-marks there from a bout of chicken-pox 6 years ago. I had to really tilt in the light to see where the scars are now. While not completely gone, the skin has "filled in" or perhaps regrown - I don't know. Either way, this is all I've been using at night for 4 weeks. I had been using expensive French cremes for 30 years but recently they just weren't doing their job. Having found beautypedia and the damning review that my brand had very little quantities of age-reducing product in there I realised it was time to change. I'm 50, my skin was looking it yet now it is shinier, smoother and looking a little like a baby's bottom! Oh, and also, the wrinkles under my eyes have reduced, now have shiny smoother skin there too. I have a darker skin spot I'm hoping will lighten more than it has already. The lines around my mouth have filled in a bit; must admit I was hoping for a bit more improvement, but I still have that aged saggy-stretch thing there. The improvement in 4 weeks is really interesting and I'm pleased so far. I'll check in again in a few months. By the way, I'm now using selected Olay products for the rest of my routine (according to the beautypedia reviews). Huge change - in face and wallet.

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.