Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup

Price:
$39 
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Makeup > Sensitive Skin Products > Foundations without Sunscreen > Liquid Foundation
Last Updated:
12/26/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup achieves the barely there look beautifully because the thin liquid texture of this product is concentrated enough to be lightweight, while still providing medium to full coverage. The texture—albeit a bit watery—is still easy to blend, and quickly sets to a powdery demi-matte finish that will work well for normal to oily skin. Those who don't like the sensation of foundation on their face will appreciate that Naked Skin feels like you have next-to-nothing on and it's fragrance-free to boot! This foundation mimics the appearance of smooth, healthy skin, keeping your face as natural-looking as possible while wearing makeup—as long as you don't need to cover redness or an uneven skin tone. It wears well throughout the day, lasting approximately eight to ten hours.

As for the shade range, we haven't been this impressed in some time. The extensive selection boasts multiple options for fair to very dark skin tones. All shades ending in .5 have cool undertones, and all shades ending in .0 have warm undertones (there are slightly more warm shades). The distinction is helpful, but, as with any foundation, the real test is applying it to your face and checking the results in natural (not store) lighting.

One more comment: The "nourishing ingredients" this foundation is said to be "packed with" are a nice addition but there are not a lot of them in here, and this foundation's clear plastic packaging demands careful storage away from light in order to keep those ingredients stable.

Pros:
  • Extensive selection of shades with options for fair to dark skin tones.
  • Easy to blend.
  • Quickly sets to a powdery demi-matte finish.
  • Lightweight and natural-looking medium to full coverage.
  • Fragrance-free.
Cons:
  • Pricey; there are other great foundations for less.
Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Butylene Glycol, Silica, Cyclohexasiloxane, Dimethicone, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract, Litchi Chinensis Pericarp Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Tribehenin, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, Sodium Hyaluronate, Glycerin, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Polyglycerin-3 Crosspolymer, Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate, Polysorbate 20, Disodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Propylene Glycol, Carbomer, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol. All shades may contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides

From its unconventional beginnings in 1996 with the debut tagline of "Does Pink Make You Puke?" Urban Decay has been at the forefront of the ongoing trend toward unconventional colors. Their approach to beauty is still rooted in steering clear of the norm, but for those creative, unconventional folks who want the opportunity to express themselves with well-formulated, edgy products, this is the line to look to.

Now representing itself by the decidedly tamer "Beauty with an Edge" slogan, the line still offers several shiny options (which excel by virtue of how well they cling to skin), but the items that really deserve your attention include some of their mascaras, bronzing powder, blush, and brow products. The brush collection is highly recommended and priced on the low end when compared to other department-store lines, and Urban Decay counters (as opposed to Sephora stores, where the line is typically sold) offer helpful literature about how to design a complete makeup look. The colors may be unconventional and more clownish than classy, but their placement advice is right-on.

Shortcomings of this edgy line include the lack of lipsticks and some glittery products that apply terribly. Those who appreciate products that make a statement (though it may not always be one that puts you in your most flattering light) should explore the best of what is offered here, as should those whose makeup concepts occasionally lean toward the adventurous side.

For more information about Urban Decay, call (800) 784-URBAN or visit www.urbandecay.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 2 Next »
  1. NancyE
    Reviewed on Friday, October 24, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    I *thought* I'd found my perfect foundation
    • I thought my search was finally over; I loved the texture, the lightness, the color. But when I got home the first day I noticed a big, peeling strip under my bangs and some flakiness around my mouth. Undeterred, I exfoliated really well and put on my usual mineral sunscreen (I'd worn a Resist moisturizer the first day) - and when I got home my ENTIRE face was peeling, very slightly itchy, with some pinkness in places. My skin is not usually sensitive. Back to Sephora - yet again!

  2. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 17, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Like the product, Hate the packaging
    • The product works fine, but the packaging is awful. First, the "chrome" paint is flaking off, and I have to be very careful not to get it in the foundation. Second, I knocked it onto the padded bath mat twice; the first time the nozzle came off and foundation sprayed all over the bathroom, and the second time the seal between the outer container and the inner container leaked. I could live with the lack of impact resistance, but the flaking paint is a deal-breaker. Not buying this again.

  3. Mel
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Good for oily skin
    • Unfortunately when the sales lady recommended this foundation to me, all she took into account was the natural look and not that I have dry skin. On dry skin (even with a primer and moisturizer), you can see the pores and some skin flakes are accentuated. It is very "liquidy" for a foundation. It does diffuse light like it says. Your skin looks like it has this healthy glow to it after application. I would buy again if the formula was remade for people with dry skin.

  4. Heather
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 17, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    breakouts and irritation
    • Looked nice at first and wore it for a few days. Thats when I started to notice my skin was red, looked irritated, and my skin was getting little bumps on my forehead and chin. I usually dont breakout unless a product clogs my pores really bad. This product i dont recommended to acne prone skin! Atleast try a sample first at sephora

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, March 07, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Disappointing
    • This foundation while light and available in a lot of shades, really did not work for me. It felt light ,but looked heavy on. It sat on top of my skin and accentuated my pores. The colors are distinctly either pink or yellow and I am truly more neutral, so a lot of issues with a color match. Thought that based on Paula's review and others on other sites that it was for me, but returned it. So unfortunately, not good for me.

  6. nads
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 05, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Great Foundation and CHEAP!
    • UD was acquired by Loreal and I prayed they wouldn't downgrade ingredients. This foundation is stellar especially for a color focused line. My #1 foundation is Armani Silk $60 so this is relatively cheap- they both have buildable coverage and feel quite natural. I have acne prone oily skin at 35; I haven't experienced irritation of any kind. I reco using beauty blender sponge for best application.

  7. Annette D.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 19, 2013
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    U get your money's worth
    • Powerful peptides, antioxidant green tea. Light-diffusing. Matte finish. Not cheap. But, worth it.

  8. SAMANTHA M.
    Reviewed on Friday, November 29, 2013
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Not that great...
    • I wish I'd read the member comments here before I purchased this foundation! I haven't noticed a breakout problem yet, but I do notice that it makes areas where I have larger pores look worse instead of better. Definitely not a "naked skin" look. This foundation may work for someone who has normal skin with no visible pores or lines as it does have a nice sort of glow to it, but that's about it. Not worth the price.

  9. JESSICA O.
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 06, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Just amazing
    • This foundation come is a perfect shade for my very fair skin with yellow undertones (shade 1.0), a very uncommon find since most fair shades run pink. It feels weightless and soft on my skin, and it actually plays well with my very sensitive, highly reactive skin! The coverage is natural and beautiful. It is also gluten free, which is very important to me because I have to avoid it in my food and personal care products.

  10. JANE M.
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 22, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Not for me
    • I wanted to like this product, but most definitely don't. I'm 49 & started to notice that my light layer of powder was settling into my fine lines so I did some research and apparently I'm "too old" to wear powder. I need a light evening out of my skin tone, nothing heavy and read the reviews of Naked Skin. It sounded like just what I needed - light coverage, good color, and no animal testing. It settles into my lines worse than my powder! And it looks fake, even w/ a brush & light touch. Ugh!

  11. katherine e
    Reviewed on Monday, September 09, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    liked it
    • Pricey but I liked it. Received compliments that my skin glowed. No breakouts. I am 47 and on the drier side.

  12. BRENDA s.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    The finish is beautiful, but....
    • I love the finish but every time I wear it, I break out and I'm 58 years old. I've tried putting a primer underneath and that helps a bit. Is it the sodium chloride or another ingredient that causes this?

  13. Teri T
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Caused skin to breakout
    • I was looking for a foundation for sensitive skin (I have slight Rosacea). I loved the way it looked on my skin UNTIL it caused terrible breakouts on my cheeks. I returned it to Ulta where I purchased it, and they entered reason for return "changed mind." That's unfortunate since Urban Decay might want to know that their product has some issues! It was also pricey, but I'm willing to pay for a good foundation.

  14. MELISSA J.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Beautiful finish
    • I am mid-50s, have oily/combination fair skin that's easily irritated. Love the natural demi-matte powdery look of this foundation. Color (I use 3.0) is beautiful. It provides medium coverage and looks great for about 8 hours. It doesn't enhance my fine wrinkles but it does seem to sink into my pores, even if I use a primer - I find I need to re-blend with my fingers half-way through the day, and this seems to work. Overall, I am pleased in comparison to the many other foundations I've used.

  15. Lesley L.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    broke me out :-(
    • Like other reviewers, I wanted to love this foundation because it made my skin look great -- until the next day. I had broken out horribly. Not sure the culprit ingredient but I ended up taking it back. If you don't have skin that breaks out easily, this is a great foundation to try, but I would get a sample first. If you are prone to even the occasional break out, I would skip it. The shade selection is impressive.

  16. Miira A
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    great product
    • I always had a problem finding a good match for my skin tone. No problem with Naked Skin. I like the nice light coverage and natural finish. I am older and it does not settle in fine lines. I hope they will decide to make matching concealers to the foundations.

  17. Sharon L.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Wish it wore longer
    • At first I loved this, the color match was superb. Every day I would notice, however, that it settled into my lines, sort of faded as I got more oily and generally looked not great. Also started to settle into pores in my more dry areas. I think this will work well for me as a special occasion foundation - especially if there are photos and I only need it for a few hours - but am having much better luck with PC sheer matte tint and a touch of All Bases covered where more coverage needed.

  18. anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    flawless finish
    • This was recommended for my 14 year old daughter by a sales person at Ulta because she doesn't like the feeling of makup on her skin. She had been wearing clinique acne solutions on occasion. The Naked gives her a flawless look to her skin and has not caused her breakouts. She likes it because it is lightweight weight. This is a beautiful foundation. She wears color1 on her light skin and doesn't wear foundation on a regular basis. She still alternates it with the acne solutions as well.

  19. Jane K
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Tests on animals
    • Urban Decay unfortunately now tests on animals which should make this product unacceptable for EVERYONE.

  20. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 28, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    sodium chloride = pore clogger
    • I absolutely love the way this foundation looks on my skin but it can't handle the major pore-clogger (sodium chloride) that's listed 9th of 35 ingredients. if you look up websites that list cosmetics ingredients that clog pores (which can break you out big-time), every single one lists sodium chloride and gives it the max rating for pore-clogging. i wish beautypedia considered pore-cloggers along with alcohol, fragrance and no-spf when they review/rate products.

  21. sara s.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 03, 2013
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Wanted to LOVE
    • I think this foundation is amazing for alot of people. I am not one of them. I have ISSUES with my skin and this caused ITCHY Irritation. I honestly was bummed because I really wanted to like it, but NO....it didn't work out for me. So I am exchanging for my fav. MAKEUP FOR EVER HD. I wanted it for the summer because it was lighter, well it freaked my skin out. :( WAH

  22. Sneha
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 30, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Great color and finish, BUT....
    • I loved this foundation and that Urban Decay does not test on animals. They generally make really good products, however, this foundation broke me out like crazy for some reason. I don't typically have a lot of issues with breakouts caused by foundation but once I stopped using it, my skin went back to normal and I didn't change anything else. The coverage, texture, longevity, and color match were all great, but just watch out for changes in your skin!

  23. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 23, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Lightweight and natural
    • Love this! Lightweight, ultra blendable light to medium, natural, demi-matte coverage. Colour range is impressive (compared to what you usually get in Asia). I use it with the Optical Blurring brush and finish with Guerlain's Meteorites loose powder to frequent compliments. I've not tried it with a primer yet as I find it relatively long wearing but will probably experiment with that one of these days. As for the nourishing ingredients, can't attest to that, if true it's an added bonus I guess.

  24. Darla
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 05, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Flawless and Lightweight
    • Skin looks flawless after application. Lightweight and comfortable. I've been sampline foundations for months and this is the one I bought full sized.

  25. Darla
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 05, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Lightweight and Flawless
    • Skin looks flawless. This foundation is lightweight and comfortable. I've been samping foundations for months and this is the one I bought full sized.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.348 10/31/2014 3:19:32 AM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.