11.26.2014
32
311
RapidLash Eyelash & Eyebrow Enhancing Serum
Rating
0.1 fl. oz. for $49.95
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

RapidLash is a cosmetic product claiming to grow lashes. Like many companies with their version of lash-growing products, RapidLash seems in to compete with Allergan’s expensive prescription-only version called Latisse, which costs considerably more. Most of these Latisse-wannabes are nothing more than colorless liquid eyeliners with some peptides or plant extracts thrown in even though these have no research showing they can affect hair growth.

The original formula of RapidLash stood apart not only because it costs considerably less than Latisse but it did, at least in theory, work to grow lashes. Sadly, a legal threat from Allergan led to the company changing RapidLash's formula, and the new version no longer contains the potentially effective ingredient found in the original, as we discuss below.

A serious distinction between Latisse and original formula RapidLash is Latisse, as a prescription-only drug, is subject to intense scrutiny, proof of safety and efficacy by the FDA that RapidLash is not. Rocasuba, the company that distributes RapidLash, has done some amount of their own testing, but it pales in comparison to the level of testing Latisse went through to prove what it can and can't do and what risks accompany its benefits.

Claims for RapidLash are carefully worded so they remain strictly cosmetic and not like a drug but here's the difference: the original formula of RapidLash contained an ingredient that quite possibly allows it to work like Lattise. However, as mentioned above, the current formula does NOT contain this ingredient, which is why we no longer recommend RapidLash.

Back to the original RapidLash formula: The active ingredient in Latisse is bimatoprost. Bimatoprost is the active ingredient in the prescription medication Lumigan used to treat glaucoma. Patients with glaucoma who used Lumigan noticed their eyelashes really grew and got darker. Allergan owns Lumigan and so they took advantage of this side effect and obtained FDA approval to sell the active ingredient as a lash growing treatment.

RapidLash's original formula contained an ingredient called isopropyl cloprostenate, which has some distant molecular similarities to bimatoprost. While there is no published research showing isopropyl cloprostenate can grow lashes, its relation to bimatoprost clearly exists.

This association is the likely explanation behind RapidLash original formula's effectiveness. Given the original formula worked similarly to Latisse, it was also possible that the same side effects associated with Latisse could occur when using original formula RapidLash, yet those concerns don't exist for the current formula.

So should you consider trying the latest RapidLash formula for longer lashes and fuller eyebrows? Sadly, no. The Paula's Choice Research Team has used the original formula with much success, though some of us also got a bluish-red discoloration along the lashline. The current formula replaced the isopropyl cloprostenate with a blend of peptides and plant extracts that do not have any substantiated research proving they effect lash growth, volume, or color, and this is the version the majority of online and in-store retailers are selling now.

NOTE: A pricier version of RapidLash is sold as Neulash. These lash-enhancing products are nearly identical and neither is all that effective, so there's no need to spend almost twice as much on Neulash (you may see it on cosmetic counters at Neiman Marcus department stores).

Claims
Ingredients

Current formula Ingredient List (this is the version we do NOT recommend): Water, Butylene Glycol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Glycerin, Myristoyl Pentapeptide-17, Rhizobian Gum, Sodium Hyaluronate, Biotin, Panthenol, Pantethine, Hydrolyzed Glycosaminoglycans, Allantoin, Cucurbita Pepo (Pumpkin) Seed Extract, Maris Aqua/Sea Water, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Octapeptide-2, Copper Tripeptide-1, Sh-Polypeptide-1, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Black Sea Rod Oil, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Sorbic Acid.

Original formula Ingredient List (this is the version we recommended when it was available): Water, Rhizobian Gum, Sodium Hyaluronate, Butylene Glycol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Biotin, Panthenol, Pantethine, Hydrolyzed Glycosaminoglycans, Allantoin, Cucurbita Pepo (Pumpkin) Seed Extract, Sea Water, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Alcohol Denatured (and) Isopropyl Cloprostenate, Octapeptide-2, Copper Tripeptide-1, Glycerin, Glycine Soja (Soybean Oil), Phosphatidylcholine, Polypeptide-23, Phenoxyethylene, Chlorphenesin, Sorbic Acid.

Brand Overview

RapidLash At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive compared to prescription lash-growth product Latisse; works on eyelashes and eyebrows.

Weaknesses: Given that the "active" cosmetic ingredient in RapidLash bears a chemical similarity to the drug ingredient in Latisse, it is possible, though not proven, that RapidLash could have the same side effects. Those side effects include stinging or burning along the lashline, redness at application site, and potential discoloration of the iris. Again, these side effects are potential issues based on how RapidLash is suspected to work. They should not be construed as a given or as a recommendation to avoid using RapidLash; rather, they are something to watch out for and, should they occur, discontinuing usage of RapidLash is advised (something the company behind RapidLash states in their product brochure).

For more information about RapidLash, call (877) 760-6677 or visit www.rapidlash.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
Next »
08.20.2015
I beg to differ,, it works for me.

I have used RapidLash and RapidBrow, both with great results recently. No adverse side effect, just regrowth of brow hair and fuller eyelashes. I'm 52 and have used Latisse my Dermatologist recommended and it made my eyelashes fall out in clumps! This is noted in "side effects" and occurs in 1% of users. The RapidLash/Brow products performed as advertised and I will stick with them. I also have very sensitive skin, and these products worked well. To each their own.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Robin
08.09.2015
This didn't work for me either!

I really was hoping that this was going to work, especially since my lashes have almost completely disappeared over the past several years. They used to be very long and thick, but now, I have hardly any lashes at all. This didn't do much of anything to improve on the thickness or the length of my lashes. I see the advertisement's, and I can't believe that it's the same product. I think that it should be taken off the market, at least until it is redeveloped or made w/original ingredients.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Kari S.
08.05.2015
I beg to differ

I noticed one day a good friend had awesome eyelashes and asked how they got that way since they had never stood out before. She told me she'd been using Neulash. I asked my aesthetician about it, and she highly recommended Rapid Lash. It absolutely works! And to clarify, that would be the new formula. In 2 months time I have grown lashes that overlap my eyebrows. I never had that length before. Another friend just asked me what mascara I use. NONE!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Stephanie k
08.04.2015
It s not working-wasted money and time!

I had 3 tubes of Rapid Lush. I applied every single night but.....there is zero result. I think tis product should be taking off the market.Now I see that I can buy at Coctco Rapid Lush. Do not buy it - you will be sorry.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Ludmila D.
07.22.2015
Hola

It dont work

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Meganh
06.28.2015
This works

I have to disagree with this review. I have been using Rapidlash for a couple of months, and my lashes have grown exponentially! Seriously, I had to stop using it every day because my lashes were getting weird-long and family members were commenting. So, while I have no doubt that Rapidlash removed the "proven" ingredients, the unproven ingredients that they are currently using have worked wonders for me!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Vanessa
06.15.2015
Rapid lash reveiw

I just bought Rapid lash on Amazon 7 days ago.. It DOES HAVE IC in it.. To early to see results. Some said theirs doesn't have IC?

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Kimber w
06.03.2015
my experience

My lashes are so long! I've only been using it one month. My only question is do we have to keep using it? Can we just stop when it runs out and will the length stay?

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.25.2015
Why this and not Revitalash?

I used the original formula of this and it worked amazingly. I bought it again last December and after having zero effect whatsoever, I looked it up and found out about the formula change. My question is, why was the synthetic prostaglandin in this banned, but not the one in Revitalash? Are they not the same thing? I'm genuinely asking, if anyone knows, because if Revitalash works like the original RapidLash did, I'll definitely try it.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Sarah
05.26.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there! Both brands have been forced to remove the ingredient, but the maker of Revitalash is acting much, much slower than the developer of Rapidlash has. We can't say for certain when the new Revitalash will have completely replaced the old version, so with that in mind, you will want to ensure you can compare the ingredient list before buying!

—Admin
05.16.2015
Can the original formula be purchased overseas? Or anywhere at all?

This product was completely amazing when I started using it in 2010! I ws losing chunks of eyelashes and eyebrows due to thyroid disease and was very depressed ! I noticed a huge difference within a month and so did everyone else! I even had friends using it! Since the active ingredient was removed it doesn't work at all and I'm back to where I started. Is it for sale in its original form anywhere outside USA? In USA? I loved that it didn't change eye color.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Debra Perry
05.09.2015
Rapid lash review

I've been using it for 7 months with no results.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Missy m
04.29.2015
Rapid Lash Worked for Me

Well, I don't know if the batch I got has the IC or not. It was purchased in December 2014. I've been using it since January 2015, and my lashes are much longer! People actually comment on them. Doesn't seem to help my eyebrows, though. I love it so far and it's been 4 months. I was skeptical at first, but stuck with the nightly applications. No adverse effects for me.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Laura, N.
03.19.2015
When did formula change?

Bought in December and my lashes have grown.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Susan B.
02.15.2015
Worked a bit TOO well!

My lashes got so long that I had to cut some because they were curling. Seriously.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
12.23.2014
Didn't see promised results.

I have been using it for three months, I haven't noticed any changes or growth in my eyebrows or eyelashes. Contrarily, I have actually seen negative side effects of this product. My eyebrows are overplucked from middle and high school, which is why I got RapidLash; however, since using the product, I feel that my eyebrows have actually gotten thinner. There are new empty spaces and patches that didn't use to be there. This product has reversed my progress and was so expensive!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
08.12.2014
RapidLash on Amazon contains IC

To Missy: I just bought RapidLash from Amazon and it does contain Isopropyl Cloprostenate. Just received it today and can't say how it works; I am going to use it for eyebrow growth.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Heidi L
08.11.2014
IC containing version is now NeuLash

I've been looking online and in stores... It appears the IC is not in RapidLash anymore, but is in NeuLash. Bummer because NeuLash is twice as expensive.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Missy
08.03.2014
Disappointed

Ordered and used two tubes of Rapid Lash, and while there may have been slight improvement in my lash growth, it was barely noticeable. I then began using Revitalash Advanced, which is way more expensive ($150 per tube) and was thrilled with the results! My lashes were clearly longer and fuller within a week, and they just keep growing! And while it's pricey, you only use it once per day, rather than twice as with Rapidlash, so a tube lasts longer.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Machell G.
08.03.2014
Just buy the generic Lattisse

I've tried this and the original Lattisse and now I buy the generic form of Latisse off the internet for $25. Works the same as Latisse but you can only buy it from outside the USA because Lattise holds the patent for now in the U.S. The generic is called Careprost.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Deb H
08.02.2014
Question, not a review: product change?

What I found for sale today is "Enhancing Serum" not "Renewal Serum" and it does not contain the active ingredient described in your write up. This product is marketing as containing something called Hexatein 1 Complex. Their official website no longer lists a "Renewal Serum" as a product. I can't list all the ingredients in this replacement (?) product as there isn't enough room in this comment section. Can someone from Paula's Choice provide feedback? Thanks.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Carol M.
08.04.2014
Beautypedia Team Response

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. It appears that there has been a name change and we will make changes accordingly to our review. The Hexatein 1 Complex  you referred to is simply a trade name for a blend of ingredients rather that a specific ingredient itself. All of the ingredients that are listed are correct, however the Hexatein 1 Complex is just a name for ingredients that are already in the product. We agree that this can be a bit misleading on their part.

—Admin
08.02.2014
no isopropyl cloprostenate in product

I can't find this product with the isopropyl cloprostenate in the US. I found it with the correct ingredient on CVS Pharmacy website but when I went to the actual CVS store all they had is the product w/out the iso. cloprostenate. Still they were charging $50 for it. I did not buy it. I will not order it from the online store because even though they state it has the ingredients I want, I just don't believe that is so. Maybe Paula's Choice can consider developing this as a new product.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Paula W.
06.21.2014
RapidLash works for me (way better than Latisse)

I used Latisse regularly for almost 2 years. I had to discontinue my use of Latisse due to the terrible side effects. Complete strangers on the street remarked on my lashes, which got really old. I had extremely dry eyes with Latisse, but when people at work started commenting on how severely bloodshot my eyes were (one guy even asked me if I was high), I knew I had to stop using it. RapidLash gives me thicker, longer, fuller lashes with zero side effects. I will continue using RapidLash!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Rosie G.
05.20.2014
Works for me

I used Latisse several years ago with great results but just couldnt justify the cost any longer. I started using Rapid Lash about 2 years ago (6 months after stopping Latisse) and have had very similar results that I had with Latisse. My lashes are definately longer and thicker than not using it and I have had no adverse side effects with it.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Susan
04.15.2014
NOT recommended

I've used Latisse with great results for the past 2 years (I see my eye doc every 6months for a quick check to be sure it's not effecting the pressure on my eyes). Since it's quite pricey, I decided to try RapidLash Eyelash Renewal Serum. I only paid $29. on a special and ordered directly from the company. Much to my disappointment, even if I got a teeny bit near my eyes - even if it didn't get in my eyes, it burned like crazy. Burned my eyes and didn't work at all. Save your $$.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Christina
03.14.2014
Not as good as old formula

I've used this for years with good results. Recently I've noticed it doesn't seem to work as well. When I went to purchase a new tube, the stores that I used to buy this from (Ulta and Bed Bath and Beyond) no longer carry the serum which contains isopropyl cloprostenate. I guess taking that ingredient out did make a big difference in my results. Results took much longer and eyebrows aren't as thick. I believe Paula's Choice says you can still find it in the U.S., but I haven't been able to.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.411 8/29/2015 11:58:36 AM