RapidLash Eyelash & Eyebrow Enhancing Serum

by RapidLash  
Price:
$49.95 - 0.1 fl. oz.
Average Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Specialty Products > Lash Growth/ Lash Conditioners
Last Updated:
9/30/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

RapidLash is a cosmetic product claiming to grow lashes. Like many companies with their version of lash-growing products, RapidLash seems in to compete with Allergan’s expensive prescription-only version called Latisse, which costs considerably more. Most of these Latisse-wannabes are nothing more than colorless liquid eyeliners with some peptides or plant extracts thrown in even though these have no research showing they can affect hair growth.

The original formula of RapidLash stood apart not only because it costs considerably less than Latisse but it did, at least in theory, work to grow lashes. Sadly, a legal threat from Allergan led to the company changing RapidLash's formula, and the new version no longer contains the potentially effective ingredient found in the original, as we discuss below.

A serious distinction between Latisse and original formula RapidLash is Latisse, as a prescription-only drug, is subject to intense scrutiny, proof of safety and efficacy by the FDA that RapidLash is not. Rocasuba, the company that distributes RapidLash, has done some amount of their own testing, but it pales in comparison to the level of testing Latisse went through to prove what it can and can't do and what risks accompany its benefits.

Claims for RapidLash are carefully worded so they remain strictly cosmetic and not like a drug but here's the difference: the original formula of RapidLash contained an ingredient that quite possibly allows it to work like Lattise. However, as mentioned above, the current formula does NOT contain this ingredient, which is why we no longer recommend RapidLash.

Back to the original RapidLash formula: The active ingredient in Latisse is bimatoprost. Bimatoprost is the active ingredient in the prescription medication Lumigan used to treat glaucoma. Patients with glaucoma who used Lumigan noticed their eyelashes really grew and got darker. Allergan owns Lumigan and so they took advantage of this side effect and obtained FDA approval to sell the active ingredient as a lash growing treatment.

RapidLash's original formula contained an ingredient called isopropyl cloprostenate, which has some distant molecular similarities to bimatoprost. While there is no published research showing isopropyl cloprostenate can grow lashes, its relation to bimatoprost clearly exists.

This association is the likely explanation behind RapidLash original formula's effectiveness. Given the original formula worked similarly to Latisse, it was also possible that the same side effects associated with Latisse could occur when using original formula RapidLash, yet those concerns don't exist for the current formula.

So should you consider trying the latest RapidLash formula for longer lashes and fuller eyebrows? Sadly, no. The Paula's Choice Research Team has used the original formula with much success, though some of us also got a bluish-red discoloration along the lashline. The current formula replaced the isopropyl cloprostenate with a blend of peptides and plant extracts that do not have any substantiated research proving they effect lash growth, volume, or color, and this is the version the majority of online and in-store retailers are selling now.

NOTE: A pricier version of RapidLash is sold as Neulash. These lash-enhancing products are nearly identical and neither is all that effective, so there's no need to spend almost twice as much on Neulash (you may see it on cosmetic counters at Neiman Marcus department stores).

Current formula Ingredient List (this is the version we do NOT recommend): Water, Butylene Glycol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Glycerin, Myristoyl Pentapeptide-17, Rhizobian Gum, Sodium Hyaluronate, Biotin, Panthenol, Pantethine, Hydrolyzed Glycosaminoglycans, Allantoin, Cucurbita Pepo (Pumpkin) Seed Extract, Maris Aqua/Sea Water, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Octapeptide-2, Copper Tripeptide-1, Sh-Polypeptide-1, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Black Sea Rod Oil, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Sorbic Acid.

Original formula Ingredient List (this is the version we recommended when it was available): Water, Rhizobian Gum, Sodium Hyaluronate, Butylene Glycol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Biotin, Panthenol, Pantethine, Hydrolyzed Glycosaminoglycans, Allantoin, Cucurbita Pepo (Pumpkin) Seed Extract, Sea Water, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Alcohol Denatured (and) Isopropyl Cloprostenate, Octapeptide-2, Copper Tripeptide-1, Glycerin, Glycine Soja (Soybean Oil), Phosphatidylcholine, Polypeptide-23, Phenoxyethylene, Chlorphenesin, Sorbic Acid.

For more information about RapidLash, call (877) 760-6677 or visit www.rapidlash.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. Heidi L
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 12, 2014
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    RapidLash on Amazon contains IC
    • To Missy: I just bought RapidLash from Amazon and it does contain Isopropyl Cloprostenate. Just received it today and can't say how it works; I am going to use it for eyebrow growth.

  2. Missy
    Reviewed on Monday, August 11, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    IC containing version is now NeuLash
    • I've been looking online and in stores... It appears the IC is not in RapidLash anymore, but is in NeuLash. Bummer because NeuLash is twice as expensive.

  3. Machell G.
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 03, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Disappointed
    • Ordered and used two tubes of Rapid Lash, and while there may have been slight improvement in my lash growth, it was barely noticeable. I then began using Revitalash Advanced, which is way more expensive ($150 per tube) and was thrilled with the results! My lashes were clearly longer and fuller within a week, and they just keep growing! And while it's pricey, you only use it once per day, rather than twice as with Rapidlash, so a tube lasts longer.

  4. Deb H
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 03, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Just buy the generic Lattisse
    • I've tried this and the original Lattisse and now I buy the generic form of Latisse off the internet for $25. Works the same as Latisse but you can only buy it from outside the USA because Lattise holds the patent for now in the U.S. The generic is called Careprost.

  5. Carol M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 02, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Question, not a review: product change?
    • What I found for sale today is "Enhancing Serum" not "Renewal Serum" and it does not contain the active ingredient described in your write up. This product is marketing as containing something called Hexatein 1 Complex. Their official website no longer lists a "Renewal Serum" as a product. I can't list all the ingredients in this replacement (?) product as there isn't enough room in this comment section. Can someone from Paula's Choice provide feedback? Thanks.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Monday, August 04, 2014

    Hello,

    Thank you for your feedback. It appears that there has been a name change and we will make changes accordingly to our review. The Hexatein 1 Complex  you referred to is simply a trade name for a blend of ingredients rather that a specific ingredient itself. All of the ingredients that are listed are correct, however the Hexatein 1 Complex is just a name for ingredients that are already in the product. We agree that this can be a bit misleading on their part.

    —Admin
  6. Paula W.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 02, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    no isopropyl cloprostenate in product
    • I can't find this product with the isopropyl cloprostenate in the US. I found it with the correct ingredient on CVS Pharmacy website but when I went to the actual CVS store all they had is the product w/out the iso. cloprostenate. Still they were charging $50 for it. I did not buy it. I will not order it from the online store because even though they state it has the ingredients I want, I just don't believe that is so. Maybe Paula's Choice can consider developing this as a new product.

  7. Rosie G.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 21, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    RapidLash works for me (way better than Latisse)
    • I used Latisse regularly for almost 2 years. I had to discontinue my use of Latisse due to the terrible side effects. Complete strangers on the street remarked on my lashes, which got really old. I had extremely dry eyes with Latisse, but when people at work started commenting on how severely bloodshot my eyes were (one guy even asked me if I was high), I knew I had to stop using it. RapidLash gives me thicker, longer, fuller lashes with zero side effects. I will continue using RapidLash!

  8. Susan
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Works for me
    • I used Latisse several years ago with great results but just couldnt justify the cost any longer. I started using Rapid Lash about 2 years ago (6 months after stopping Latisse) and have had very similar results that I had with Latisse. My lashes are definately longer and thicker than not using it and I have had no adverse side effects with it.

  9. Christina
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    NOT recommended
    • I've used Latisse with great results for the past 2 years (I see my eye doc every 6months for a quick check to be sure it's not effecting the pressure on my eyes). Since it's quite pricey, I decided to try RapidLash Eyelash Renewal Serum. I only paid $29. on a special and ordered directly from the company. Much to my disappointment, even if I got a teeny bit near my eyes - even if it didn't get in my eyes, it burned like crazy. Burned my eyes and didn't work at all. Save your $$.

  10. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, March 14, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Not as good as old formula
    • I've used this for years with good results. Recently I've noticed it doesn't seem to work as well. When I went to purchase a new tube, the stores that I used to buy this from (Ulta and Bed Bath and Beyond) no longer carry the serum which contains isopropyl cloprostenate. I guess taking that ingredient out did make a big difference in my results. Results took much longer and eyebrows aren't as thick. I believe Paula's Choice says you can still find it in the U.S., but I haven't been able to.

  11. Laura
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 15, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Rapid Lash
    • Didnt work for me one bit. Purchased at Shoppers Drug Mart. (CANADA) followed instructions carefully..didnt see any signs of growth at all.

  12. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 01, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Is this review still valid?
    • I did not notice at first but I looked at the package and I had the Enhancing Serum which does not contain isopropyl cloprostenate (IC). I realized that I needed the Renewal serum and IC.I have hunted high and low and cannot seem to find a rapidlash product that contains IC anymore. I did find the FDA warning. I have always loved and relied on Paula's reviews and this review state it was recently updated, but do they even make this product anymore? Looks like none contain the desired IC anymore

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, February 05, 2014

    Hello, and thank you for your comments! Which country are you purchasing RapidLash from? The U.S. and Canadian versions have different ingredient lists, with isopropyl cloprostenate only available in the U.S. version.

    —Paula's Choice
  13. Linda S.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 06, 2013
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    great results, then almost nothing
    • After a few weeks of use, I had amazing, long beautiful lashes - for a while. Then I noticed that they weren't so amazing, and wondered if this was just part of a regrowth cycle. I then started on my second tube of Rapidlash, and have had very, very little improvement. It's nothing close to the great results I had previously. I'm very disappointed, as I had no side effects at all from what must have been the ingredient that has been eliminated from the formulation. I will not buy this again.

  14. Mermaid
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 15, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Love Rapidlash
    • Love this stuff! I have seen a noticeable difference in my lash length within a month's use. I put it on after I have washed and moisturized my face at night.

  15. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 30, 2012
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Good results!
    • I started using this product about 5 weeks ago. I noticed some growth after four consistent weeks of use (about 1/4 of an inch). Do I need to keep using it to maintain the results? I think that it could add up...especially considering that it's a beauty product that produces minor results.

  16. Susan
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 23, 2012
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Changed Formula?
    • I purchased a tube of Rapidlash in Canada early 2012, and it worked very well and very quickly. A tube purchased at the same store late 2012, shows no results whatsoever. My new growth lashes have fallen out and the lash length has gone back to the original state. I have noticed the Isopropyl Cloprostenate is missing in the ingredient list. I believe this is the ingredient responsible for the initial product's impressive results.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Monday, December 24, 2012
    Thank you for your comments. It appears RapidLash has undergone a reformulation, in part due to a warning letter sent by the FDA last year about Isopropyl Cloprostenate. You can find the FDA's letter detailing its concerns about this ingredient here: http://www.fda.gov/ICECI/EnforcementActions/WarningLetters/ucm251951.htm?sms_ss=email&at_xt=4db10c8089a4ed56%2C0
    —Admin
  17. MICHELE
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 01, 2012
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    RapidLash works!
    • I began noticing thinning eyelashes and brows a few years ago, due to a combination of hypothyroidism and immunosuppressive drugs I was (am) taking for rheumatoid arthritis. I'd seen the ads for Latisse and very much wanted to try it, but found it cost prohibitive. After researching a bit online, I decided to give RapidLash a try (Drugstore.com offers the best price). I applied it nightly as recommended, and almost from the start I experienced the itchy, red eyes listed as possible side effects. It was frankly annoying, and I took to using OTC allergy eye drops to relieve the issue. As the weeks wore on, the itchiness gradually disappeared, and I was able to discontinue the drops. The second side effect I experienced was a very slight darkening (a "browning", one could call it) of the skin on my upper eyelid, immediately above the lash line). Since I often wear eyeliner anyway, this hasn't been a serious problem for me. Most people say that haven't even noticed any change on me, other than eyelash growth...which is the best part, of course! RapidLash claims results can be seen in as little as 4 weeks. Let me state here that it took nearly a full 6 months to see results in my case. Whether that's due to my personal health issues, I can only assume, but I'm very glad that I didn't give up hope too early on and stop using the product altogether as many other discouraged women have. Around the 6 month mark, my lashes started coming in like gangbusters, and they haven't stopped since. Oddly, it didn't work on my eyebrows...go figure. At any rate, it's been nearly 2 years now and I'm still using RapidLash and will continue to do so. On average, a single tube lasts anywhere from 2-3 months, and at ~ $25 per tube it's a bargain. Be patient, it does work!

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.348 10/31/2014 3:41:15 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.