12.02.2014
14
1081
Oil-Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment (Discontinued)
Rating
59 ml for $10.79
Category:Skin Care > Sensitive Skin Products
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:No
pH:3.40
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Oil-Free Acne Stress Control 3-In-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment proves Neutrogena can get the formulary nuances of a BHA product right! Most of their previous BHA products either contained irritating ingredients (particularly alcohol and menthol) or had a pH that was too high for effective exfoliation to take place. This version contains 2% salicylic acid at a pH of 3.4, and comes in a nearly weightless silicone base that includes antioxidants and anti-irritants. Although the inclusion of fragrance and coloring agents is a slight disappointment, it’s a relief that Neutrogena omitted menthol or its derivatives, making this an all-around ideal BHA lotion for skin of any type battling blemishes.

Tip:
For a similarly-effective acne-fighting BHA product without the fragrance or coloring agents, we recommend Paula’s Choice 2% Beta Hydroxy Lotion , CLEAR Regular Strength Targeted Acne Relief Exfoliating Toner or CLEAR Extra Strength Targeted Acne Relief Toner (for severe acne).

Claims

Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment with powerful MicroClear technology works around the clock in 3 different ways: treats acne even before it emerges, hydrates and softens skin, and reduces redness and irritation.

Ingredients

Active: Salicylic Acid (2%) ; Other: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, PEG-8, Dimethicone, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Sodium Polyacrylate, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Cocamidopropyl PG Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Cucumber (Cucumis Sativus) Fruit Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Glycerin, Panthenol, Butylene Glycol, C12-15 Alkyl Lactate, Cetyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetyl Lactate, PEG 75 Stearate, Ceteth-20, Steareth-20, Trideceth-6, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Sclerotium Gum, Laureth 23, Laureth-4, Disodium EDTA, Benzalkonium Chloride, Potassium Hydroxide, Green 5, Yellow 5, Blue 1, Parfum

Brand Overview

Neutrogena At-A-Glance:

Strengths: Inexpensive; some superior water-soluble cleansers; good topical scrubs; effective AHA and BHA products; several retinol options, all in stable packaging; vast selection of sunscreens, most of which offer excellent UVA protection; good variety of self-tanning products; several fragrance-free options; most Healthy Skin products are state-of-the-art; almost all of the foundations with sunscreen provide sufficient UVA protection; the Moistureshine Gloss.

Weaknesses: An overabundance of overlapping anti-aging products that is perennially confusing for consumers; Bar soap; most of the toners are irritating or boring; a handful of bland moisturizers and eye creams; some sunscreens lack sufficient UVA protection or contain too much alcohol or problematic preservatives; most of the Deep Clean products are terrible; no effective skin-lightening products; jar packaging; mostly disappointing concealers and eyeshadows; most of the lip balms with sunscreen provide inadequate UVA protection; mostly poor mascaras.

Neutrogena is one of few brands that have an equally large presence in both the U.S. and in Canada. Unfortunately, many of the formulas and product names that Neutrogena uses are not interchangeable between the two countries, a fact that has been brought to our attention by our astute Canadian readers (who make up about 10% of our Beautypedia readership). In an effort to clear up a lot of the confusion surrounding Neutrogena Canada products, The Cosmetics Cop Team has done research in Canadian drugstores to determine the ingredients and product names as they appear on Neutrogena's Canadian packaging.

Please note that if a product does not appear on this list, it means that, to the best of our knowledge, that product has the same name and formula in the U.S. as it does in Canada. You'll find the reviews for such products under the main Neutrogena brand. That overlap means Canadian readers may find they have to switch between both Neutrogena and Neutrogena Canada to locate the product review they're seeking, and we apologize for any inconvenience.

In some cases the differences between the U.S. and Canadian version of a Neutrogena product is only an ingredient or two, and in other cases the entire formula is different. Despite The Cosmetics Cop Team best efforts, there are no doubt products that have been overlooked on this list. As much as we would like it to be comprehensive, we are restricted by what is on store shelves at the time we conduct our research. If you have any additional information about Neutrogena Canada products, we encourage you to contact us using the link at the bottom of the product's review page.

For more information about Neutrogena Canada, please reference our complete Neutrogena Brand Summary or visit www.neutrogena.ca.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.28.2015
I can't believe

I can't believe that Neutrogena is doing this again. I have been using your products for years There was acne moisturizer that you use to make that worked so well and you guys discontinued that now this one to..who does that..My question to neutrogena don't you guys want to make money..why make these great products that work sooooo well for so many and then stop making it..are you asking people to go to another company it just does not make sence..

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
ToniH
07.29.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  Thanks for your feedback.  Beautypedia has no affiliation with Neutrogena but we encourage you to reach out to them as they'd love to hear your comments!

—Admin
06.25.2015
Bring it Back! Or send me everything that's Left

I can't believe you guys discontinued this product. I love it and it doesn't hurt my face or over dry it. Send me all that you have left over please!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Toni
06.02.2015
Best product ever

Does anyone know why this fabulous product was discontinued ??? It worked so well, it makes me very suspicious as to why it was discontinued.. also has anyone found a good substitute I have tried so many with terrible results!!!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.25.2015
what product is closest to this

Since this product left the market, I can't figure out what product to use instead. Admin or anyone, can you advise?

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
12.06.2014
So sad...

I started using this product about 3 years ago based on your "Best Product" recommendation. It proved to be so effective and non-drying. I am sorry to tell you that despite what Neutrogena may have told you it is becoming impossible to find in Canada also. I just went to Neutrogena's Canadian website and it is full of reviews decrying the discontinuation of the product.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
10.05.2014
Wow

I started using this based on beautypedia's recommendation of adding a BHA exfoliator to my skin care routine. I'll be honest, I bought this based on the rating but also because it's one of the least expensive. I don't have severe acne but using a BHA product as totally improved my skin and made it more even and soft. It does NOT disappoint. They don't sell in stores in the United States but amazon sells it on their prime. I hope neutrogena changes their mind and brings it back!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
10.04.2014
No Longer Available

I really like this product, but sadly cannot find it at any Shoppers Drug Mart, Wal-mart, Target, etc. in Toronto. Looks like it was discontinued, and that there aren't any other effective, exfoliant 2% BHA products in this price range. Should have stocked up.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Ashley M.
07.16.2014
Highly recommended

Feels soft and silky on skin, only a small amount is needed so the tube lasts for months! Has a slight filling effect on pores due to the silicones and makes skin appear smoother. Wonderful!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Shelley d.
07.14.2014
MY FAVORITE PRODUCT

My Clean and Clear oil-absorbing treatment finished and I couldn't find it anywhere to buy. So, I switched to Neutrogena 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment. Boy, it is lightweight and sinks in fast. It gives good exfoliation on my face so much so that I had to start using it on my body. I have been getting compliments on how smooth my skin is. My skin is very oily so this is just perfect hydration for me; without the grease of course. I have 2 extra tubes; enough to last me for a long time.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Ifeoma I.
06.21.2014
Made Me Break Out!!!

I have moderate acne, and am sensitive to fragrance. This product has a pleasant and light cucumber scent but it doubled bow many zits i was getting (I used this daily for over 3 weeks, nothing changed)! Naturally, it did not help my skin whatsoever.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Danielle E.
02.12.2014
Possibly too drying

I bought this product because I needed an AHA exfoliant to replace the scrub that I am 'withdrawing' from my skin care regiment. It does what it says on the bottle. The consistency is light and goes on smoothly, but stays tacky for awhile making it hard to put your head on the pillow. Question for the experts - I find it too drying (but it works!) on my cheeks. Can I layer a moisturizer over it on my cheeks as part of my night-time routine or does this reduce the effectiveness?

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
denise a.
01.28.2014
good product

Switched to this product from Clinique's Mild Clarifying Lotion about 1 year ago, and I seem to have fewer whiteheads (also am not throwing away as many makeup pads!). Am dismayed to see that another reviewer is having difficulty locating this product. As of January, it's still available in Canada, but I plan to buy a couple of additional tubes in case it's discontinued here as well.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
alix v.
06.24.2013
Like it - But not providing enough exfoliation

Trying to switch from a scrub-based exfoliant to a BHA exfoliant and I find using this does not provide enough exfoliation around my nose, chin and forehead. I am still having to scrub those areas. I have large pores in this area and produce a bit of oil (classic combination skin). Just wondering if anyone has any suggestions

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
CB
03.01.2013
Great product!

LOVE LOVE LOVE this product! it works well and is under $10. However, it's getting much more harder to find...it's never stocked! Is this product getting discontinued?

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.01.2013
Beautypedia Team Response

Unfortunately, this product has been discontinued. It may, however, still be available in Canada.

—Admin
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.405 7/30/2015 8:02:05 PM