Resist BHA 9 for Stubborn Imperfections

Price:
$40 - 0.3 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Skin Care > Sensitive Skin Products > Blemish/Acne Treatments > BHA
Last Updated:
6/10/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

Paula's Choice Resist BHA 9 is a first-of-its-kind spot treatment specially formulated to address stubborn skin imperfections. The technology behind BHA 9 is indeed unique, allowing for a controlled, sustained release of salicylic acid (BHA) without diminishing any of its effectiveness. BHA 9 works to unclog pores, diminish white bumps, minimize enlarged pores, refine skin texture, minimize the skin condition sebaceous hyperplasia, smooth dry, rough patches, help balance oily skin, fade red marks from breakouts, and, in general, help reduce persistent breakouts.

Resist BHA 9 is formulated for all skin types. It is suitable for acne-prone skin, eczema, rosacea (assuming you know your rosacea-affected skin can tolerate salicylic acid). It may be applied to trouble spots or, if needed, applied to larger areas once per day (in the evening). This concentrated formula requires only a very small amount of product to work its magic!

Resist BHA 9 is a salicylic acid-based spot treatment designed for anyone who has struggled with stubborn skin imperfections or wants enhanced results over and above the treatments they've been using. It is compatible with any other skin-care products, including skin lighteners, prescription retinoids, over-the-counter anti-acne or retinol products, and regular skin care such as moisturizers and serums. Works to improve skin in numerous ways, and may be used once daily or less often (depending on your concerns).

Propylene Glycol (solvent/penetration enhancer), PEG-75, PEG-8 (thickeners), Water, Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritant), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Boerhavia Diffusa Root Extract (antioxidant plant extract), Sea Whip Extract, Arginine (amino acid/skin-conditioning agent), Polysorbate 20 (stabilizer), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent).

Disclosure: In addition to reviewing thousands of cosmetic products from hundreds of brands over the past 30 years, Paula also has her own line of products called Paula's Choice. Paula and her team's goal is to help you find the best products possible for your skin whether they are from Paula's Choice or some other product line. Paula's commitment to this is so strong she is the only cosmetics company owner in the world that recommends products other than her own. Paula and the Paula's Choice Research Team formulate our products to meet or exceed the criteria we use to review products from every other brand on this site. We review all products the same way using the same research, objective comments, and praise no matter whose product it is.

Paula's Choice was created in 1995 in response to the many readers who asked Paula to develop her own products. Given Paula's unique overview of the cosmetics industry, 30+ years of research, and earnest desire to help people find the best products for their skin-care needs, creating her own products was a natural extension of her work. Paula's Choice range of products are designed to meet the needs and preferences of just about every skin type and concern imaginable using only proven ingredients substantiated by published research.

Paula's Choice products provide:

  • State-of-the-art formulas based on reliable, published skin-care research
  • Proven effective solutions for wrinkles, acne, rosacea, and sensitive skin
  • Gentle yet effective products for those seeking a natural skin-care routine
  • Fragrance-free formulas (because it is what's best for your skin)
  • Cruelty-free formulas: Paula's Choice does not test on animals during any stages of product development—nor do we contract with third parties to conduct animal testing on our behalf
  • Environmentally-friendly products that feature minimalist packaging that ensures product efficacy
  • 100% Customer Satisfaction Guarantee from our world-class Customer Service Team

Paula's Choice products and Paula's work is routinely praised by noted dermatologists and other professionals. New York-based dermatologist Dr. Debra Jaliman stated that "I have a lot of respect for Paula Begoun and the way she thoroughly researches her subject. Her recommendations about cosmetics and skin care are deservedly influential." Eminent Seattle-based dermatologist Dr. Brandith Irwin concurs: "She takes a complex subject and makes it easy to understand!"

For more information about Paula's Choice, call (800) 831-4088 or visit www.paulaschoice.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. MT
    Reviewed on Friday, July 18, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Miracle - Thank you!!
    • Face went crazy with acne a couple of years ago in my early 30's and nothing would help. Got a Paula's Choice sample, I think a differenct product, with Birchbox, which led me here to learn more and try this serum. Results the same week and have just one or two blemishes a month instead of one or two NEW ones/day like before. Working slowly on the acne scars, but I am seeing progress. Otherwise, my skin is glowing. Am so grateful to find this. Thank you, Paula!

  2. Mary B.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 31, 2014
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Nothing, yet
    • I added this to a regimen of Retin-A & B/AHAs for my sebaceous hyperplasia. Maybe, I'm not using it properly or often enough, but there's no change. I hoped it would prevent more but new ones have emerged. After a year of treatment for sebaceous hyperplasia, nothing works on mine, including this. The amount of product that shoots out uncontrollably with mild pressure on the dispenser is irritating, but I've figured out a way to dispense one drop with minuscule pressure. I need directions.

  3. Mary B.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 31, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Not sure, yet.
    • I added this to a regimen of Retin-A & B/AHAs because of my sebaceous hyperplasia. Perhaps, I'm not using it properly or often enough, because there's no change. I hoped this product would prevent more but new ones have emerged. Any progress on sebaceous hyperplasias will take time, but nothing works on mine, including this. The product shooting out with a mild compression of the dispenser is irritating, but I've figured out a way to get a drop at a time with minuscule pressure.

  4. RH
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 05, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    good results so far
    • I've used my sample for about 6 days. I have a very small skin-toned growth under my eye that appeared about 2 years ago, that I suspect is sebaceous hyperplasia, but I don't know for sure. After the first use, I noticed that it didn't feel as high. The change seems slow, but steady. Also, this sped up my acne cycle: emerging bump to flat red mark in 2 days, so maybe 1/2 the time. Reserving judgement on pores, dark and dry red spots for now; I'll update after a longer trial. Its a bit spendy

  5. ANN P.
    Reviewed on Monday, February 17, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Took some time but great results
    • This is the only product that has been able to successfully reduce stubborn blackheads on my nose. I've had them for years and used at one time or another all of Paula's top picks for blackhead reduction. It took a tube and a half of use but then the blackheads began to disappear. Over time most have disappeared. I use this twice a day and have been maintaining noticeable results. The container is small but lasts several months for me. I recommend BHA 9 wholeheartedly.

  6. Eliza F.
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 26, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Try it for your Cystic Acne
    • Nothing helps my cystic acne as much as oral antibiotics or/and a cortisone shot from my dermatologist; the shots drain the wallet, and it is not good for your stomach to be on antibiotics long-term. Enter: the BHA 9% treatment! I recommend this to everyone suffering from cystic acne. Get the sample first and see if it does anything for you. :)

  7. Tara S.
    Reviewed on Friday, July 26, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Marvelous!
    • Love it! My husband used it for a stubborn lump that wouldn't go away. I have used it on my nose, and pores which were damage in my 20s have gotten smaller and! I'm 40 with normal skin on my nose, and this doesn't make me break out or make me irritated at all. It is expensive, but try the sample size. I just keep reordering those, so I don't waste any. It is a spot treatment. I wouldn't spread it all over my face. Marvelous, I only wish this was around in my teens and 20s when I had acne

  8. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, April 08, 2013
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Good product
    • This product does help my acne prone skin. I like the gel consistency...it glides onto the skin as opposed to feeling sticky like other gel products I have used. However, I think the pump on the bottle needs to be redesigned. It's hard to control pumping out the product...usually it ends up squirting out like a bullet and ending up on bathroom counter or on my mirror or in the sink! Maybe I just got a defective bottle.

  9. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, February 22, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Defied Regulations
    • Paula complained in her review of Spa Teen Blemished Skin Blemish B-Gone that the product defied regulations because it included to many anti acne medicines in one product. However, it is well known that the FDA has set the upper limit at 2% for salicylic acid in skin care products. This product seems to defy FDA regulations.... perhaps a FDA task force should be taken on this?

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, February 26, 2013
    Thank you for your comments, and we'd be happy to address your concerns. The full quote referenced from the Beautypedia Team's review of Pevonia Botanica's Spa Teen Blemished Skin Blemish B-Gone is,"This product defies FDA regulations for over-the-counter drug products because it contains three active ingredients: salicylic acid, benzoyl peroxide, and sulfur." This is accurate, as acne-treatment products are regulated as OTC drugs and have specific regulations regarding the number of actives and percentages used. Only in OTC drugs is there an "active ingredient" indicated as this is an OTC drug term. RESIST BHA 9, like our Skin Perfecting BHA exfoliants, are not acne-medications or treatments (unlike our CLEAR collection). Thus, there is a higher level of salicylic acid permitted (and the reason why these exfoliants do not have their percentages listed as "actives"). Paula's Choice, of any brand, would not develop a product that wasn't in accordance with FDA regulations. We hope this helps clear up any confusion, and please let us know if you have any additional questions.
    —Customer Care Team
  10. P.P.
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 13, 2013
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Misleading affordability rating
    • Ounce for ounce, this is by far the most expensive product in the "best" BHA product category. How could Paula not indicate $$$ for this product other than the obvious reason this is from her own product line. I've been criticizing that the $$$ rating is not based on price for equal volume, time to make a change and be truthful to us customers please!

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, January 15, 2013

    On Beautypedia the '$$$' is only used to indicate if a product is more expensive than other options that are similarly formulated and yeild similar results Although there are other BHA spot treatments, BHA9 is the only product of its kind currently on the market. BHA9 is unique from other BHA products because of its potency, efficacy and outstanding results.

    —Paula's Choice Research Team Response

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.344 10/20/2014 4:15:18 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.