Moisturizing Lotion

by CeraVe  
Price:
$12.99 - 12 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Retinol Products > Body Lotions/Creams/Balms/Butters
Last Updated:
3/28/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

Moisturizing Lotion is the lotion version of CereVe’s Moisturizing Cream, and other than having a lighter texture and smoother dry-down, the same formulary comments apply: The blend of glycerin, ceramides, cholesterol, and hyaluronic acid will help normal to dry skin look and feel very good. However, even better performance would be possible if CeraVe had added antioxidants. Other than that, every other aspect of this fragrance-free formula should make your skin very happy, even if it’s extra-sensitive.

Provides all-day moisturization with a single application and is clinically proven to increase skin hydration. Uniquely formulated to increase the skin’s ability to attract, hold, and distribute moisture. It penetrates deep into the stratum corneum (the skin barrier) to restore the balance of essential lipids. This helps keep the skin barrier intact so it can protect against outside irritants. CeraVe Moisturizing Lotion also forms a protective layer over the skin’s surface to help prevent moisture loss.

Purified Water, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-II, Ceramide 1, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Dimethicone, Polysorbate 20, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Potassium Phosphate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Cetyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Phytosphingosine, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum.

This small collection of skin-care products keeps things gentle and effective with fragrance-free formulas that can be considered more state-of-the-art than any other product in its price range or pricier versions at the drugstore. CeraVe uses a delivery system the company refers to as Multivesicular Emulsion Technology, which releases key ingredients such as ceramides (they actually include three different ceramides: I, III, and VI, which is rather unique and great for skin) and hyaluronic acid over a period of several hours. Although this technology is undoubtedly helpful, such time-delayed delivery systems aren't unique to CeraVe, and the fact remains that most of the ingredients they use are very helpful on their own, no matter what delivery system you use. The important point is that ongoing, consistent use of this kind of moisturizer designed to repair the skin's barrier function will result in smoother, softer, healthier skin. An interesting element for this product is the inclusion of phytosphingosine. It is an ingredient that research shows is effective in regulating damaged or diseased epithelial cells. It seems this ingredient can be a cell-communicating ingredient, albeit one that is best for compromised skin. However, given CeraVe is positioned for those struggling with psoriasis, eczema, or rosacea, that's a great addition. (Source: Journal of Investigative Dermatology, October 2003, pages 1135–1137).

It is for these reasons that all the CeraVe products are definitely worth considering, especially at this price.

For more information about CeraVe, call 866-819-9007 or visit www.cerave.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    4 / 4 Best
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Andrea H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    It's Fantastic!
    • I bought this to use for dry knees and hands from gardening. It is incredibly good and I am using it everywhere, including the dry areas of my face (combination skin type). It actually changes and improves the quality of my skin overall. It's perfect.

  2. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 07, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Nice light moisturizer
    • This is perfect when my face is more normal than dry. It soaks in easily and doesn't feel greasy or heavy AT ALL!

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 15, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    gentle and very moisturizing but not greasy
    • Silky and quite light consistency for how moisturizing it is. Absorbs quickly, doesn't feel greasy OR tacky. Can be used on the body as well. The price is right. Doesn't clog my easily clogged pores. Fragrance free. NEVER bothers my very sensitive skin. Contains hyaluronic acid and ceramides. I don't mind that it doesn't have retinol and vit c. I apply those products separately anyway.

  4. DEBORAH D.
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 16, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    This gave me hives!
    • When Paula's Choice discontinued Slip into Silk I tried this lotion. Two days after using it I broke out in hives all over my body. I took a week break, and then tried it again, the same result. I do have incredibly sensitive skin (so this might not necessarily be a reflection on the lotion itself), and I recommend if you do as well, buy this product at a place where you can return it, just in case the same thing happens to you. I purchased mine from CVS and will be returning it ASAP.

  5. Annette D.
    Reviewed on Friday, January 31, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    I agree with Paula
    • Like Paula I wish this product had antioxidants, retinol, and or peptides. But, it's a decent moisturizer. I was given a sample of this product from my dermatologist. When I told him what I was using at night.

  6. Tilde C.
    Reviewed on Friday, November 15, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    I might buy it again
    • I've been using CeraVe's "Moisturizing Lotion" (together with PC's "RESIST Weightless 2% BHA Body Treatment" and "RESIST Retinol Body Treatment") for about a month now. It has a light texture, absorbs instantly, and makes my skin soft and silky. For the size and the price and ingredients - I'm sold. If CeraVe could just come out with this product with SPF 30 or higher I'd be a loyal CeraVe customer...

  7. Teasha S.
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 27, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Love it for face but not for body
    • I have oily skin on my face/back/chest Summer, Spring, & Fall. Combo in Winter. When seasons change, or its really windy, I'm dry. The rest of my body's normal, aside from typical dry feet & elbows. I LOVE this lotion for my face/neck/back when I'm oily & combination. Not in love with it when my face is dry, not enough moisture. Not in love with it for the rest of my body at any time, not enough moisture. I prefer the CeraVe in the tub for the rest of my body & when my face is dry.

  8. Rebecca M
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 15, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Amazing Find
    • The perfect moisturizer for combination/normal skin. I've been using this for about a month on my face and I love it. I've tried other brands that are more expensive, but nothing sinks in so well and doesn't leave my face feeling oily. Great packaging in a pump bottle is a plus. Very affordable!

  9. CHERYL B.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Best hand and body lotion!
    • CeraVe is my everyday lotion. I use it all over from the neck down after getting out of the shower and slather it on my hands at night. I love that it absorbs completely and doesn't leave a greasy or tacky film. I also love that it's fragrance free (I get to decide what I smell like) and seems to really help my sensitive skin behave more normally. I'm prone to dermatitis and this is the best lotion I've ever used. I've recommended it to friends and they end up using it.

  10. Jay P
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 29, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Best plain & simple moisturizer out there!
    • I love this light lotion & have been continously purchasing it for years. It is completely non-irritating, light & gentle, but extremely effective. A little of this on damp skin will make your skin look & feel like silk. I always put this on after my Retin-A, and then I layer an antioxidant cream over it (PC earth sourced moisturzer). I definetely notice a difference if I leave this out. It's seriously so much better than fancy products that cost 5X as much. I doubt I'll ever NOT have a bottle!

  11. Amy Gatta
    Reviewed on Friday, March 15, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Used as a facial cream for very sensitive skin
    • I have had a very hard time finding a product that would not break out my mature, sensitive, skin after using it for more than a week. I've spent countless money on high-end products to no avail, and this drugstore bottle is the one that I've been using on my face for the past 5 months with no problems. My dermatologist also recommended it, too. Just a heads-up that when all else fails, a 'body' lotion can also be used as a face lotion.

  12. alexia p.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 04, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Love it, love it, love it
    • This cream is great. I purchased it hoping that it would help clear up a rough patch under my chin and it worked like a charm. The bottle lasts forever and the cream is light enough for the face yet still works everywhere else as well. I will be buying it again, if I ever run out ;-)

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.351 11/23/2014 1:17:09 PM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging   |   FREE Shipping on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.