11.26.2014
17
2154
Moisturizing Lotion
Rating
12 fl. oz. for $12.99
Category:Skin Care > Retinol Products > Body Lotions/Creams/Balms/Butters
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Moisturizing Lotion is the lotion version of CereVe’s Moisturizing Cream, and other than having a lighter texture and smoother dry-down, the same formulary comments apply: The blend of glycerin, ceramides, cholesterol, and hyaluronic acid will help normal to dry skin look and feel very good. However, even better performance would be possible if CeraVe had added antioxidants. Other than that, every other aspect of this fragrance-free formula should make your skin very happy, even if it’s extra-sensitive.

Claims

Provides all-day moisturization with a single application and is clinically proven to increase skin hydration. Uniquely formulated to increase the skin’s ability to attract, hold, and distribute moisture. It penetrates deep into the stratum corneum (the skin barrier) to restore the balance of essential lipids. This helps keep the skin barrier intact so it can protect against outside irritants. CeraVe Moisturizing Lotion also forms a protective layer over the skin’s surface to help prevent moisture loss.

Ingredients

Purified Water, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20 and Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-II, Ceramide 1, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Dimethicone, Polysorbate 20, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Potassium Phosphate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Cetyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Phytosphingosine, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum.

Brand Overview

CeraVe At-A-Glance

Strengths: Affordable, gentle, and fragrance-free; some excellent moisturizers and facial cleansers; a well-formulated eye cream; products provide broad-spectrum sun protection; remarkably gentle baby care; good (but small) assortment of anti-aging products.

Weaknesses: SPF products would do better with the inclusion of antioxidants and more elegant textures; the Renewing SA products aren't as adept at treating keratosis pilaris as they could be.

This small-ish (but expanding( collection of skin-care products keeps things gentle and effective with fragrance-free formulas, many of which are more state-of-the-art than any other product in its price range or pricier versions at the drugstore. In short, this line is a real find!

CeraVe uses a delivery system the company refers to as Multivesicular Emulsion Technology, which releases key ingredients such as ceramides and hyaluronic acid over a period of several hours. Although this technology is undoubtedly helpful, such time-delayed delivery systems aren't unique to CeraVe, and the fact remains that most of the ingredients they use are very helpful on their own, no matter what delivery system you use.

The important point is that ongoing, consistent use of this kind of moisturizer designed to repair the skin's barrier function will result in smoother, softer, healthier skin. An interesting element for this product is the inclusion of phytosphingosine. It is an ingredient that research shows is effective in regulating damaged or diseased epithelial cells. It seems this ingredient can be a cell-communicating ingredient, albeit one that is best for compromised skin. However, given CeraVe is positioned for those struggling with psoriasis, eczema, or rosacea, that's a great addition. (Source: Journal of Investigative Dermatology, October 2003, pages 1135–1137).

It is for these reasons that all the CeraVe products are definitely worth considering, especially at this price. You'll find a options for moisturizing, cleansing, baby care,broad spectrum sun protection (though many of the SPF products don't feel or look so great on skin), and baby care.

For more information about CeraVe, call 866-819-9007 or visit www.cerave.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.10.2015
cereve lotion.

This is the only lotion that really does what it claims. Last a good while so well worth the price. Not bad at Walmart about the best price for this lotion. About between 11 to 12 USA dollars. Everywhere else as far as store's goes between 13 and up. I always check Paula's reviews.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
sherrie h.
05.06.2015
Great Simple Moisturizer

This is my daily moisturizer after cleansing my face with their Hydrating Cleanser. The moisturizer is very light and soaks in quickly. In the winter when my skin is more dry I do have to follow up with a heavier cream at night time, but other months when my skin is more normal I can get away with using just this and a heavier eye cream. It's a great non-irritating moisturizer! What more can you ask for?

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Morgan S.
04.18.2015
Saved my skin

I have fair sensitive dry skin with mild excema on my arms and legs. The only lotion that has ever been moisturizing enough for me is Jergens Shea butter. I've been looking for a facial lotion for so long and kept going back to Jergens. Finally This is light weight which scared me Thinking it wouldn't be moisturizing enough. It's not greasy doesn't clog my popes and has replaced Jergens I use it daily on my face and body and love it. Those little bumps on my arms and thighs are almost gone.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Jolene, G
02.08.2015
Cerave changed their formula

Used to be an amazing product, they updated the packaging...and altered the formula as well without letting their customers know. The product is not the same. My sister too has noticed it is not the same. Do not understand why they ruined a good thing. There is no other lotion I can use. Disappointed in this dishonest company.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.16.2015
Gave me cystic acne

I don't have sensitive skin and have only reacted to a couple of products in my life (and i've tried a lot!) I only break out maybe once a year and it's usually one small pimple not even serious enough for me to buy acne product. Loved my skin the first few days using this but within the first week, got a giant, painful, pimple under my skin. I stopped using it for a couple of weeks and my skin was fine. Started it again, and got another giant pimple. Won't use this again for my face.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jennifer
07.15.2014
It's Fantastic!

I bought this to use for dry knees and hands from gardening. It is incredibly good and I am using it everywhere, including the dry areas of my face (combination skin type). It actually changes and improves the quality of my skin overall. It's perfect.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Andrea H.
06.07.2014
Nice light moisturizer

This is perfect when my face is more normal than dry. It soaks in easily and doesn't feel greasy or heavy AT ALL!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.15.2014
gentle and very moisturizing but not greasy

Silky and quite light consistency for how moisturizing it is. Absorbs quickly, doesn't feel greasy OR tacky. Can be used on the body as well. The price is right. Doesn't clog my easily clogged pores. Fragrance free. NEVER bothers my very sensitive skin. Contains hyaluronic acid and ceramides. I don't mind that it doesn't have retinol and vit c. I apply those products separately anyway.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.16.2014
This gave me hives!

When Paula's Choice discontinued Slip into Silk I tried this lotion. Two days after using it I broke out in hives all over my body. I took a week break, and then tried it again, the same result. I do have incredibly sensitive skin (so this might not necessarily be a reflection on the lotion itself), and I recommend if you do as well, buy this product at a place where you can return it, just in case the same thing happens to you. I purchased mine from CVS and will be returning it ASAP.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
DEBORAH D.
01.31.2014
I agree with Paula

Like Paula I wish this product had antioxidants, retinol, and or peptides. But, it's a decent moisturizer. I was given a sample of this product from my dermatologist. When I told him what I was using at night.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Annette D.
11.15.2013
I might buy it again

I've been using CeraVe's "Moisturizing Lotion" (together with PC's "RESIST Weightless 2% BHA Body Treatment" and "RESIST Retinol Body Treatment") for about a month now. It has a light texture, absorbs instantly, and makes my skin soft and silky. For the size and the price and ingredients - I'm sold. If CeraVe could just come out with this product with SPF 30 or higher I'd be a loyal CeraVe customer...

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Tilde C.
10.27.2013
Love it for face but not for body

I have oily skin on my face/back/chest Summer, Spring, & Fall. Combo in Winter. When seasons change, or its really windy, I'm dry. The rest of my body's normal, aside from typical dry feet & elbows. I LOVE this lotion for my face/neck/back when I'm oily & combination. Not in love with it when my face is dry, not enough moisture. Not in love with it for the rest of my body at any time, not enough moisture. I prefer the CeraVe in the tub for the rest of my body & when my face is dry.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Teasha S.
09.15.2013
Amazing Find

The perfect moisturizer for combination/normal skin. I've been using this for about a month on my face and I love it. I've tried other brands that are more expensive, but nothing sinks in so well and doesn't leave my face feeling oily. Great packaging in a pump bottle is a plus. Very affordable!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Rebecca M
09.07.2013
Best hand and body lotion!

CeraVe is my everyday lotion. I use it all over from the neck down after getting out of the shower and slather it on my hands at night. I love that it absorbs completely and doesn't leave a greasy or tacky film. I also love that it's fragrance free (I get to decide what I smell like) and seems to really help my sensitive skin behave more normally. I'm prone to dermatitis and this is the best lotion I've ever used. I've recommended it to friends and they end up using it.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
CHERYL B.
05.29.2013
Best plain & simple moisturizer out there!

I love this light lotion & have been continously purchasing it for years. It is completely non-irritating, light & gentle, but extremely effective. A little of this on damp skin will make your skin look & feel like silk. I always put this on after my Retin-A, and then I layer an antioxidant cream over it (PC earth sourced moisturzer). I definetely notice a difference if I leave this out. It's seriously so much better than fancy products that cost 5X as much. I doubt I'll ever NOT have a bottle!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Jay P
03.15.2013
Used as a facial cream for very sensitive skin

I have had a very hard time finding a product that would not break out my mature, sensitive, skin after using it for more than a week. I've spent countless money on high-end products to no avail, and this drugstore bottle is the one that I've been using on my face for the past 5 months with no problems. My dermatologist also recommended it, too. Just a heads-up that when all else fails, a 'body' lotion can also be used as a face lotion.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Amy Gatta
03.04.2013
Love it, love it, love it

This cream is great. I purchased it hoping that it would help clear up a rough patch under my chin and it worked like a charm. The bottle lasts forever and the cream is light enough for the face yet still works everywhere else as well. I will be buying it again, if I ever run out ;-)

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
alexia p.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.394 5/29/2015 3:45:02 PM