12.02.2014
6
2036
Daily Replenishing Moisturizing Lotion
Rating
13.5 fl. oz. for $6.99
Category:Skin Care > Retinol Products > Body Lotions/Creams/Balms/Butters
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

This is an excellent fragrance-free body lotion for dry to very dry skin. The concentrated formula is a bit on the greasy side, but does a great job of hydrating skin and preventing moisture loss. Unlike most of Eucerin’s body lotions, Daily Replenishing Lotion contains an impressive mix of emollients, fatty acids, and skin-identical ingredients. There’s even a small amount of antioxidant vitamin E included, though other body lotions (such as those from Olay Quench or Paula’s Choice) offer a broad range of antioxidants. Still, this body lotion deserves our top rating for its overall formula and value.

Claims

Eucerin Daily Replenishing Lotion repairs dry skin with a formula that's ideal for everyday use – fast-absorbing, yet very effective.

Ingredients

Water, Helianthus Annuus Seed Oil (Sunflower), Petrolatum, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Octyldodecanol, Capric/Caprylic Stearic Triglyceride, Stearic Acid, Dimethicone, Cetearyl Alcohol, Lanolin Alcohol, Panthenol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Cholesterol, Carbomer, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, BHT

Brand Overview

Eucerin At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive and widely distributed; fragrance-free cleansers; some good body washes and body moisturizers; widely available.

Weaknesses: Anti-redness products that added questionable ingredients instead of increasing the anti-inflammatory agents; nothing for acne-prone skin; jar packaging; some standard body lotions that are OK for dry skin but "OK" isn't good enough.

This drugstore staple line claims to be dermatologist-preferred skin care, but any dermatologist who recommends this line in its entirety without reservation needs a crash course in what skin really needs to be protected and look its best.

There are some basic products that a dermatologist would want to consider, but Eucerin falls short in products to address acne. Further, their latest facial skincare products aren't keeping pace with what industry frontrunners are doing in an effort to create elegant, effective products. For example, serums from Olay, Neutrogena, and Aveeno have much more interesting formulations, while moisturizers from many other drugstore lines (including Nivea, which is owned by Eucerin parent company Beiersdorf) include a greater complement of antioxidants and ingredients that mimic the structure and function of healthy skin. Eucerin is making some strides here, though, which is an encouraging sign.

A major pro for this line is that all of the products are fragrance-free. Although that's helpful for all skin types, it certainly isn't compelling enough for dermatologists to green-light this line without cautions about which products to avoid.

For more information about Eucerin, call (800) 227-4703 or visit www.eucerin.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment that Paula Begoun, founder of Beautypedia and Paula's Choice Skincare made over 30 years ago-to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
11.25.2014
Eucerin misinformation

I've been enthralled by Paula's choices until I read about Eucerin. One of my most painful realizations, which I'm realize the web site knows, is the fact that several people said verbatim: "thinking it must be safe for me to use, as it was a "best" product. On a whim, I decided to read the ingredients". This was repeated over and over. That means it was actually a single review that Paula wanted to reiterate so that everyone would believe it. After seeing this... I no longer trust Paula.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Tannya, S
11.26.2014
Beautypedia Team Response

Hello, and thank you for expressing your concerns - which Eucerin product was this about? It is possible that a single review duplicated; if so, we can certainly delete the duplicate review.

—Paula's Choice Research Team
09.24.2014
Concerning ingredients

After reading that this product had a "Best" rating, I trusted that this would be a great product to purchase. I purchased it without even checking the ingredients, thinking it must be safe for me to use, as it was a "best" product. On a whim, I decided to read the ingredients, and found quite a few alarming ingredients including BHA, parabens, and sodium hydroxide (lye!). Although it seemed to feel alright on the skin, with these types of ingredients, I just can't say it's the "best".

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
09.17.2014
Concerning ingredients

After reading that this product had a "Best" rating, I trusted that this would be a great product to purchase. I purchased it without even checking the ingredients, thinking it must be safe for me to use, as it was a "best" product. On a whim, I decided to read the ingredients, and found quite a few alarming ingredients including BHA, parabens, and sodium hydroxide (lye!). Although it seemed to feel alright on the skin, with these types of ingredients, I just can't say it's the "best".

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
09.10.2014
Concerning ingredients

After reading that this product had a "Best" rating, I trusted that this would be a great product to purchase. I purchased it without even checking the ingredients, thinking it must be safe for me to use, as it was a "best" product. On a whim, I decided to read the ingredients, and found quite a few alarming ingredients including BHA, parabens, and sodium hydroxide (lye!). Although it seemed to feel alright on the skin, with these types of ingredients, I just can't say it's the "best".

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
08.03.2014
Almost As Good As Slip Into Silk

Almost as good as Paula's Choice Slip Into Silk Lotion although without as many beneficial ingredients. But it keeps my very dry, sensitive, prone to eczema hand and body skin in reasonable shape. And absolutely unscented. I recommend it if you need a drugstore-priced unscented and non-colored lotion for dry, sensitive skin. It it weren't for the price difference, I'd use Slip Into Silk, though.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Susan A.
02.25.2014
Decent definitely fragrance free

Great value, decent to blend...no weird chemical scent that even fragrance-free products can have. Nothing else worth mentioning one way or another.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
LL
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.392 5/5/2015 11:28:02 PM