12.02.2014
22
2607
Ultimate Restoring Skin Therapy Lotion, CoQ10
Rating
13 fl. oz. for $9.99
Category:Skin Care > Retinol Products > Body Lotions/Creams/Balms/Butters
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This body moisturizer is great for very dry skin because it contains a high amount of urea. Urea is an excellent moisture-binding ingredient and, in this amount (likely around 10%), has an exfoliating effect too due to urea being able to break down the protein structure of dead skin cells and encourage shedding. In that sense, Ultimate Restoring Skin Therapy Lotion CoQ10 is a boon for those with uncomfortably dry, flaky skin. Adding to this is the inclusion of an impressive mix of antioxidants, cell-communicating ingredients, and skin-identical substances. It is definitely one of the better body lotions at the drugstore, and the price makes it quite a value, too! Keep in mind that urea may cause a stinging sensation upon contact with skin. This sensation should be minor and fleeting. If it isn’t, discontinue use and consider other body lotions. One more comment: coenzyme Q10 is a good antioxidant, but it's not the "king of antioxidant" as Gold Bond claims. This ingredient is listed by its chemical name of ubiquinone.

Claims

The daily therapeutic lotion that helps restore and strengthen depleted, dull skin. That's because 7 nourishing moisturizers are combines with skin nurturing vitamins A, C and E plus CoQ10, the king of antioxidants. In addition, skin strengthening ceramides and lipids work to help restore elasticity, vitality and healthy skin texture.

Ingredients

Water, Hydroxyethyl Urea, Glycerin, Dimethicone, Jojoba Esters, Petrolatum, Glyceryl Stearate, Distearyldimonium Chloride, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Cetearyl Alcohol, Methyl Gluceth 20, Behentrimonium Methylsulfate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Butyrospermum (Shea Butter) Extract, Ubiquinone, Ceramide Complex 2, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Cocodimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Rice Protein, Niacinamide, Tocopheryl Acetate, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Retinyl Palmitate, PEG 10 Rapeseed Sterol, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Polysorbate 60, Stearamidopropyl PG Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Propylene Glycol, Steareth 21, Diazolidinyl Urea, Fragrance, Methylparaben, Hydrolyzed Jojoba Esters, EDTA (Ethylenediamine-Tetra-Acetic Acid), Propylparaben, Butylene Glycol, C12 15 Alkyl Benzoate, Tribehenin, Potassium Hydroxide

Brand Overview

Gold Bond At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive and widely available; some good body lotions including a few with urea, an excellent ingredient to smooth and soften dry, rough skin.

Weaknesses: Several products contain menthol, including a foot cream with an extremely high amount of this known irritant. Menthol is not anti-itch; it simply replaces one form of irritation (itching) with another.

There isn't a lot to write about Gold Bond despite the fact that the brand has been around for over 100 years. For the most part, Gold Bond is a staple at drugstores due to their small selection of body lotions, anti-itch products, and various foot-care products, including powders and anti-odor sprays. You can ignore any of their products with menthol. This is used in several Gold Bond products as a counter-iritant. What does that mean? Counter-irritants such as menthol are used to induce local inflammation for the purpose of relieving inflammation in deeper or adjacent tissues. In other words, they substitute one kind of inflammation for another, which is never good for skin. Irritation or inflammation, no matter what causes it or how it happens, impairs the skin's immune and healing response (Source: Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, November–December 2000, pages 358–371). And although your skin may not show it or doesn't react in an irritated fashion, if you apply irritants to your skin the damage is still taking place and is ongoing, so it adds up over time (Source: Skin Research and Technology, November 2001, pages 227–237). Gold Bond has some good body lotions to consider and they are fairly priced, too. But that's where the excitement for this longstanding brand starts and stops.

For more information about Gold Bond, call parent company Sanofi Aventis at (800) 981-2491 or visit www.goldbond.com.

Note: We did not review the foot odor sprays and powders from this brand due to Paula and the Cosmetics Cop team typically not reviewing these categories of body-care products.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
06.20.2015
Olfactory Assault

This product really would be excellent were it not for the fragrance which does smell like room freshner sprays and unfortunately becomes even more potent the longer it remains on your skin. I used some at a friend's house and had to take two showers at home before I could rid myself of the stench which left me feeling nauseated for the evening.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Rose J.
06.18.2015
% of Urea

I bought this a few days ago and found that Urea is the 3rd ingredient listed. It's diffrent from your review right? So I wonder It's still effective for exfoliating dull skin. (I guess it's likely around 5% now. U know, 3rd ingredient can't be like 10% or so..)

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
young rok K.
06.19.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

UPDATE:  Hi again!  Gold Bond got back with us super quickly and confirmed that the ingredient listing is the same as it appears here on Beautypedia (with Hydroxyethyl Urea as the second ingredient).

Hi there!  Thanks for the heads up.  We've reached out to Chattem (Gold Bond's current provider) to see if the ingredient listing has officially changed.  Once we hear back from them, we will update the review to reflect the change if necessary :)

—Admin
06.18.2015
Can't stand the smell

I question Paula's team of reviewers and why they didn't mention the smell. Smells like sour milk on my skin. I don't care how good a product is, if it smells or is scented I can't wear it. Returning this for sure. Using St. Ives Collagen Elastin instead.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Janet P.
06.18.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  Thanks for your feedback.  We're sorry you didn't love this product.  Also, The Paula’s Choice Research Team no longer reviews products for Beautypedia, and while The Beautypedia Team is still a part of Paula’s Choice Skincare, what’s new—and you may not yet have known—is that now we have two teams working independently to bring you the best quality reviews, products, and  research-supported expert advice you know and love. One team is dedicated to Beautypedia and product reviews from other brands; the other is dedicated to Paula’s Choice skincare and its unique combination of expertly formulated products and advice on a wide range of beauty-related topics.

—Admin
06.16.2015
A disappointment

Many people commented about the smell of this product and I think genuinely it's something to be concerned about b/c it's not a light scent of fragrance, it's a dizzying scent that a quarter-sized amount on skin will smell like you're drenched in a floral chemical. It's disappointing b/c this lotion is great in every way, but they just had to add in that scent. Really disconcerting.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Sharranya V.
05.28.2015
Great Lotion & Great Value

I purchased this after reading the Paula's Choice Best of the Best list. This lotion is excellent - after I started using it my boyfriend of many years commented on how soft my skin was - TWICE! I do agree that I would prefer this to be fragrance free, but the scent doesn't bother me and I feel like it dissipates quickly. It's worth trying a bottle to see how you like it - and it's under $10.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.08.2015
Pump Container Review

Great product.if fact it's fantastic. BUT - the pump won't release about the bottom 10th so I have to remove the lid and pump and pound it out [like ketchup in a glass bottle] Finished my second bottle and just wish i could use all the product by pump.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Florence
05.07.2015
Not so great.

In Canada so far only able to get the cream rather than the lotion but while the price is right and it does work, the fragrance was such that I had to wash it off and will not use it again.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jennifer K.
02.07.2015
fragrance is nasty, works well

This lotion works very well for my chapped and dry hands. Really one of the best I've ever used. The smell is rather gross though. Another reviewer got it perfectly. This smells like cheap air freshener. I still use it because it works, but I really wish they had an unscented version or at least a different scent to choose from.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
amanda
01.13.2015
Worked like a charm, BUT....the SMELL!

I read all the other reviews so was forewarned that the scent might be a problem. It smelled delicate & pleasant enough in the store, BUT: I applied the lotion after a pre-bedtime shower. Initially, the scent seemed fine & light, but it never dissipated & bothered me all night long. I think body warmth intensified the fragrance. I woke up with soft hands and a headache. I had to scrub my hands repeatedly to get rid of the smell, which I was now thoroughly sick of, leaving me with sore hands.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
CHRISTINA G.
01.10.2015
Absolutely Love it!

This is a great all over body lotion. It may be a it heavy to someone at first but it goes on smoothly and spreads nicely. In the summer, I use it just our of the shower before I am dry. The best attribute for me is tht my skin automatically appears smoother and consistent - especially the neck and chest!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.08.2015
Good for flaky dry skin

I don't find the fragrance objectionable at all. It smells good to me, although I do wish it was fragrance free because of what I've learned on PC. Anyhow, I have terribly flaky dry skin in the winter, and need to use an affordable exfoliating lotion. Every one I have loved in the past has been taken off the market. While I think that AHA's are better for my skin and leave it less flaky, this does a good job keeping my "alligator skin" at bay, for an affordable price.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jessica Y.
12.20.2014
STRONG smell!

Extremely heavy floral smell. I gave it a sniff before I bought it and it didn't smell that strong. Once applied though, it is overpowering. I have washed my hands twice with dish soap and the smell is still there! As for the lotion, it feels greasy and sticky. No amount of rubbing is making it absorb. Wondering why was this is recommended? Just terrible.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Natalie S
10.06.2014
Pass

It has a very strong, lingering fragrance with a consistency that remained greasy no matter how hard I rubbed. I could have used it on my feet at night but the smell is intolerable. Know the store return policy just in case you find it objectionable.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Maria E
05.30.2014
Not For Me

I originally bought the gold bond with aloe which Paula only rated as good. The results and feel were great for me However, when I found this Gold bond with CoQ10 I switched. I was up all night with itchy legs. I had a bad reaction to it. Alternatively, the exfoliator content was too irritating for me. However, using the gold bond with aloe made the skin on my terribly dry legs feel heavenly and I was able to shave them for the first time in 40 years without drawing out big red welts.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
LAUREN K.
05.06.2014
Fragrance

The fragrance is way too strong. I wish they would make the very same lotion but fragrance free. But I am wondering why is it recommended by the cosmetic cops if it has so much fragrance? Isn't fragrance an irritant?

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.06.2014
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi, and thanks for your comments! It's quite possible the formula has changed since we last evaluated this, and at that time it didn't contain fragrance. Based upon your concerns, however, we are going to check this out again, see if it has been reformulated, and adjust our review accordingly. Thanks for the heads up!

—Paula's Choice Research Team
04.19.2014
Very moisturizing, very fragrant

I love how my skin feels after applying it. The fragrance is a miss though because it's so strong and floral.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
JENNIFER G.
04.14.2014
The BEST Body Lotion!!! I LOVE the scent!

If the staff at Gold Bond happen to ever read these reviews...PLEASE keep this lotion just as it is. I LOVE the light fragrance it contains. Such a soft and pretty scent to me. I do respect the fact that people do have sensitivities to scent, so I understand it would be nice to have a fragrance free version but PLEASE keep the original scent in the Goldbond Ultimate Restoring Lotion with CoQ10. The CoQ10 version of all the Golbonds is my absolute favorite: This lotion keeps my skin healthy.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Upstate NY
04.03.2014
LOVE/HATE RELATIONSHIP

This is the best lotion for dry skin I've ever used. I put it on my hands and loved how soft my skin felt but the so called "clean" fragrance was so unbearable that it literally gave me a headache and I had to wait 2 hours to wash it off. I really wanted to be able to use it so I tried putting it on my feet at night with socks on. Nope. I could still smell it. I know it doesn't bother some people but I would suggest unscrewing the cap to smell before you buy it. So bummed its not fragrance free.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Tasha P.
03.07.2014
AMAZING-I found my match

I love, love, love this lotion. I didn't even realize how much I didn't like my old ones until I tried this one. It not only absorbs quickly into my skin, but it lasts for days. Seriously! I do not shower everyday, but I can still feel the hydrating affects of this lotion on the second day. I don't mind the smell either. It's not strong or unpleasant in my opinion and I usually have a sensitive nose. I will never return to other lotions again.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Annie W
09.29.2013
Febreze fragrance

This works well and contains urea and petrolatum as well as other effective moisturizers. If fragrance doesn't bother you, buy it, because it does work really well for dry skin. However, the Febreze fragrance they added is a deal breaker for me. I won't purchase it again.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
NonMerci
03.18.2013
Love It

I absolutely agree with Dustin. I read about this lotion on Beautypedia and it has been my favorite body lotion for a year now. My skin no longer continues to feel parched, and I don't have to continuously reapply like I used to with other products. I used Cere Ve for a long time, and I like this one much, much better. I just wish it didn't have fragrance. It's a mild scent, but I would still prefer fragrance free.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.25.2013
Excellent

I just want to add: this is an AMAZING body lotion for dry skin -- one that I would have never tried or found were it not for Beautypedia. This lotion is elegant, smells nice (and I am usually averse to fragranced products, but this one truly does leave a nice scent behind) and it completely eliminates dry, bothersome skin. I am a huge fan of the products Paula Begoun formulates and have been a customer for more than a decade, but I prefer this lotion to the usually superior products she formulates -- only because her body moisturizers are all too light for really dry skin. This stuff really is a "best" product.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
DUSTIN R.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.401 7/6/2015 3:36:24 PM