Essentials Foaming Facial Cleanser, Sensitive Skin

Price:
$5.29 - 8 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansers/Soaps
Last Updated:
4/1/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

Essentials Foaming Facial Cleanser, Sensitive Skin is not only Clean & Clear’s best cleanser, thanks to its gentle yet very effective water-soluble formula, but is also one of the best beauty buys at the drugstore. It would be even better without fragrance, but that’s a minor concern. This cleanser removes makeup easily and is suitable for all skin types except very dry.

This sensitive skin formula is formulated not to overdry or irritate sensitive skin. It gently cleans your skin by removing oil, dirt, and make up - impurities that can cause breakouts. And, this oil - free formula rinses clean, leaving no residue that may irritate sensitive skin.

Water, PEG-80 Sorbitan Laurate, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, PEG-150 Distearate, Sodium Lauroampho PG Acetate Phosphate, Fragrance, Tetrasodium EDTA, C12-15 Pareth-2, Quaternium-15

The name of this Johnson & Johnson–owned brand clearly communicates what it attempts to provide, and may seem to be a beacon of hope for consumers struggling with acne. The products are heavily marketed toward teens, with commercials and print ads featuring attractive young models with nary a blemish in sight, presumably because these fresh-faced teens adhere to a routine consisting of these attractively packaged products.

Although there are some great, inexpensive cleansers available, blemishes have nothing to do with how clean your skin is; the two issues are completely unrelated. The other failing is that unlike sister company Neutrogena (also owned by J&J), almost all of Clean & Clear's anti-acne products contain irritating ingredients that won't improve skin problems and end up making matters worse. Even a couple of the pH-correct BHA options are marred by troublesome ingredients that only make blemished skin more inflamed and impede the healing process. Moreover, the issue of sun protection is inadequately addressed, with the only option failing to provide sun protection without added irritants. What kind of message is that for teens trying to put together an effective skin-care routine? Clean skin is attainable from these products, but the company's road to "beautifully clear" skin has too many speed bumps to make this a one-stop destination for the blemish-prone.

For more information about Clean & Clear, call (877) 754-6411 or visit www.cleanandclear.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Joan N.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 13, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Excellent Cleanser
    • This cleanser does do a good job of cleansing the skin without being over-drying. Also, it does a good job of removing makeup. One question....Although this is apparently identical to Purpose Gentle Cleanser I prefer Clean & Clear to Purpose....I read the ingredients and it seems that Clean & Clear has a few extra ingredients....C&C seems to due a better job of cleansing oily/combo skin...is this true or am I imagining this?

  2. marissa d.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Totally agree!
    • I have to agree with this. I was looking for an affordable cleanser that really felt like it was accomplishing a good cleanse. Not irritating at all and can practically go right over the eyes. I love the extra foam too.

  3. Mel
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 10, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Great but Not the Best
    • I bought this product because of the low price and the Beautypedia review saying that it was suitable for all skin types. I have combination skin, and this product cleans it effectively, but causes inflammation on my jawline. My skin gets less inflamed each time I use it, but it remains a discouraging side-effect for face-washing.

  4. S. B.
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 19, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    fragrance bothersome
    • This product might be okay for some folks, but the fragrance made it necessary for me to wash it off with something else right away. For those who aren't so sensitive to fragrances, it might work.

  5. Natalie S
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 27, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Best deal at the drugstore!
    • What can I say that hasn't already been said? Cleans very well, rinses easily, not drying; all at a great price!. This is the perfect cleanser.

  6. Ashley K.
    Reviewed on Monday, July 29, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Foaming Facial Cleanser, Sensitive Skin Works! It is a great product for the price!
    • I have sensitive combination skin with an oily T-zone. I bought it as a good, gentle cleanser for 2x a day use because of the Best rating and I haven't regretted it! I had previously been using Cetaphil Daily Cleanser, which too drying on my skin and left it very flakey with an oily layer on top. This cleanser leaves my skin fresh and clean without flaking! And what's more, it even helps to control my oily T-zone! It does leave me a little tight right after washing, but moisturizer solves that!

  7. Carol B.
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 23, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Great value!
    • Cleans off all makeup beautifully without drying or irritation. And the large bottle lasts forever. I do hope they continue to make this for years to come.

  8. JulieP
    Reviewed on Friday, February 01, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Awesome stuff!
    • Fantastic price point and great cleansing properties. I only use this cleanser religiously. It removes makeup and does not leave skin dry. It's awesome stuff.

  9. Zade
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 18, 2012
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Great Buy
    • My skin goes crazy in the NY winters, and finding a good cleanser is usually difficult. I have often spent 5 times as much money at the department store for a cleanser that does not perform well. Not the case with this, it is very gentle, takes all the makeup off and doesn't dry out my skin.

  10. Rae
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 09, 2012
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Clean and clear foaming cleanser, sensitive
    • I use this on my normal but sensitive skin. I find it cleans well, isn't overly drying and handy in the pump bottle. I like that it doesn't make my eyes sting and the the fragrance is very slight and not irritating for me.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.344 10/25/2014 8:53:14 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.