12.02.2014
10
3064
Daily Pore Cleanser, Oil-Free
Rating
5.5 fl. oz. for $5.49
Category:Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths)
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Daily Pore Cleanser, Oil-Free a very good, water-soluble cleanser/scrub hybrid for oily to very oily skin. It removes makeup easily and rinses cleanly. This is definitely one of Clean & Clear's better cleansers!

Claims

Gently scrubs with smooth, round micro-scrubbers that remove excess dirt, oil and dead skin cells that can lead to breakouts. Completely oil-free.

Ingredients

Water, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Disodium Lauroamphoacetate, Propylene Glycol, Lauryl Methyl Gluceth-10, Hydroxypropyldimonium Chloride, PEG-120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Polyethylene, Fragrance, Glycol Distearate, Laureth-4, Polysorbate 20, Sodium Carbomer, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Lactic Acid

Brand Overview

Clean & Clear At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive; an excellent 10% benzoyl peroxide product; some very good cleansers.

Weaknesses: The majority of products contain irritating fragrant extracts, alcohol, menthol, menthyl lactate, or other problematic ingredients; below-average moisturizers; poor options for those struggling with breakouts or blackheads (at least if your goal is assembling a helpful skin-care routine using only Clean & Clear's products).

The name of this Johnson & Johnson–owned brand clearly communicates what it attempts to provide, and may seem to be a beacon of hope for consumers struggling with acne. The products are heavily marketed toward teens, with commercials and print ads featuring attractive young models with nary a blemish in sight, presumably because these fresh-faced teens adhere to a routine consisting of these attractively packaged products.

Although there are some great, inexpensive cleansers available, blemishes have nothing to do with how clean your skin is; the two issues are completely unrelated. The other failing is that unlike sister company Neutrogena (also owned by J&J), almost all of Clean & Clear's anti-acne products contain irritating ingredients that won't improve skin problems and end up making matters worse. Even a couple of the pH-correct BHA options are marred by troublesome ingredients that only make blemished skin more inflamed and impede the healing process. Moreover, the issue of sun protection is inadequately addressed, with the only option failing to provide sun protection without added irritants. What kind of message is that for teens trying to put together an effective skin-care routine? Clean skin is attainable from these products, but the company's road to "beautifully clear" skin has too many speed bumps to make this a one-stop destination for the blemish-prone.

For more information about Clean & Clear, call (877) 754-6411 or visit www.cleanandclear.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
06.26.2015
A great cleanser!!!

I have very bad acne prone skin. I've tried every product under the sun..literally and then I found this and I really like it after a while it did dry my skin out a little but I got lotion. Yes I would recommend for you to try this!!! But everybody's skin is different so keep that in mind.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
alli g
06.23.2015
Great for sensitive skin!

This is a fantastic gentle cleanser! I have combination sensitive skin (oily T-zone with the rest being normal and occasional dry patches), and this cleanser has not dried me out or caused any issues. Removes makeup very well, except for waterproof, that does leave a residue that needs a separate remover. The only thing I would change is I would put it in a pump dispenser, you really need a small amount for the whole face but the tube tends to give out more product thus wasting it.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Andy
06.16.2015
Not for me

It has a smell!! It has a strong perfume in it, reminding a fragrance for men,though in the last place in the list.It is very drying for my combination sensitive skin even in summer.No result for acne. Don't recomend,won't repurchase

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Aleksandra S.
04.25.2015
It's ok.

it hasn't made my acne any better.... But it hasn't made it worse.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Kelsey M.
07.15.2014
My favorite cleanser

This is the first product that led me to PC. I got my 1st tube, used it up & since then I haven't been able to find it anywhere else to buy. I love the micro-scrubbers, they help with cleansing and are not too scratchy. It also lathers and rinses well too. The product would"ve been better off in a pump top bottle bcos the content is too fluid. So when the cap is opened it runs a lot and as such product maybe wasted if not careful. Asides that, it's still my favorite face wash.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Ifeoma I.
06.19.2014
Plastic Microbeads !!!

Product Review should mention that cleaner has PLASTIC MICROBEADS, Ingredient POLYETHYLENE. Clean and Clear is working on removing ingredient from products due to new movement against plastic micro beads which can cause tears in skin... Its a shame because cleaner actually removes dirt and makeup but the beads are a bit rough.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Mari, E
06.26.2013
Great all-around cleanser

I really like this product because of the microbeads that help "scrub" my facial skin without irritating it. I like that I can put more pressure or less pressure depending on how much I want to scrub in different areas. Also, I love the fact that I can cleanse my eyes without irritation and burning to them. Removes all my makeup and does not strip my face.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Stacey M.
04.15.2013
Tried It

This product has a gentle use, considering the beads. However, it does not remove my makeup. The first ingredient in my foundation is dimethicone- it is the Revlon New Complexion. I think the Review by Paula staff needs to be more specific in the type of makeup this product removes. Ont the search for a new cleanser as I love this makeup!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Claudia, G
04.06.2013
I liked this cleanser quite a bit.

I gave this a shot even though Paula recommends it for oily skin. I have normal skin with sensitive cheeks from keratosis pilaris rubra faceii. At first I thought it felt thin and cheap, but once I started using it, it really did do the job quite nicely. Some foam, not too much. I barely noticed the microbeads and they didn't irritate my skin. Rinsed away great. Skin felt great afterwords. Yeah. It was pretty nice! I'll probably buy it again.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Lauren C.
03.03.2013
Great cleanser

Leaves my oily acne-prone skin clean and refreshed. The little microbeads gently scrub away any little flakes of skin from dry patches that I sometimes get. My only issue is with the packaging. The product is not thick enough for a stand up tube (though I think the microbeads would clog a pump) You have to open the cap carefully to keep it from flowing out., Also, make SURE the cap is closed all the way when storing. I've lost quite a bit after it not snapping completely shut

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Natalie S
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.405 7/31/2015 6:20:57 AM