Foaming Face Wash, for Sensitive Skin

by Olay  
Price:
$4.99 - 7 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansers/Soaps
Last Updated:
4/1/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

Foaming Face Wash, for Sensitive Skin is is one of the best cleanser values at the drugstore, and is ideal for all skin types, including sensitive or rosacea-affected skin. It is an excellent water-soluble cleanser that removes makeup without leaving your skin feeling dry or tight.

Formulated specifically for sensitive skin, this foaming face wash has a rich lather that gently cleanses and refreshes skin.

Water, Glycerin, Sodium Myristoyl Sarcosinate, PEG-120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate, Sodium Lauroamphoacetate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Polyquaternium-10, PEG-150 Pentaerythrityl Tetrastearate, Glycol Distearate, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamide MEA, Laureth-10, Disodium Lauroamphodiacetate, Sodium Trideceth Sulfate, Citric Acid, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, DMDM Hydantoin

Olay offers a fairly large selection of skin-care products sold at drugstores and mass-market stores. Although Olay's products are not as diversified as Neutrogena's or as attractive as L'Oreal's, Olay has come a long way from its star product being a soft pink lotion designed to make skin younger (yet it was and is just a badly formulated product that was out of date almost from the moment it was launched). Today's Olay lineup for those concerned about staving off the effects of aging skin is impressive, comprising their Regenerist, and Total Effects lines. All of these (and several other Olay products) contain the B vitamin niacinamide. As you might expect, the claims made for it are inflated, but, as explained in the various reviews below, niacinamide is a very helpful ingredient for all skin types, capable of exerting multiple benefits. It isn't the best ingredient out there (no single ingredient has that title yet, and it's unlikely that just one ever will be) and as such doesn't deserve the prominence Olay gives it (a bit of variety would have been far better, such as a mix of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients).

Olay's sales are expected to reach $4 billion annually in the next few years, and given their global presence in stores and constant advertising in magazines and on television, that's not surprising. Much of this advertising is focused on their best products, which is attention well deserved. Just to give you an idea of the expenditure involved for these ubiquitous ads, Olay spent over $50 million to promote Regenerist in 2003. The good news is that each new range of Olay products generally improves on what came before it, offering results that, while not as impressive as the claims, are noticeable in the mirror.

For its ongoing commitment to understanding consumers and formulating products that, while not perfect, definitely offer more proof than puffery, Olay deserves consideration by any savvy skin-care shopper. And it also deserves mention that Olay is one of the few lines in this book whose entire collection of products with sunscreens provides sufficient UVA protection! (Sources for the financial figures above: The Rose Sheet, July 10, 2006, page 5; September 11, 2006, page 4; and January 1, 2007, page 5).

Olay began 2009 with the launch of Pro-X, their most expensive products to date. Not only are these products considerably more expensive than any others from Olay, the packaging, color scheme, advertising campaign, and claims have all been turned up to "max" on the cosmetics marketing dial. The amount of hype and budget thrown at these products easily explains why our Beautypedia product request e-mail inbox has been inundated with requests for me to review these products!

Whenever something this sleek-looking and pricey debuts in the mass market, lots of consumers wonder whether the extra expense is worth it. They also want to know if Olay's "Professional" designation makes these products a cut above the numerous other products they sell, including those with similar claims.

It turns out we had the same question after surveying the ingredient lists for all of the Pro-X products: How are they different from those available in Olay's Total Effects and Regenerist? Supposedly, all of those other sub-brands also have the answer to improving the telltale signs of aging, from dryness and wrinkles to loss of luminosity and unwanted discolorations. In fact, the claims on the label of these three lines are virtually identical.

It is clear from the get go that there are far more similarities than differences among Definity, Regenerist and Pro-X. All of them contain niacinamide, the B vitamin that has almost single-handedly re-energized Olay as a formidable skin-care brand. One of the Pro-X products contains acetyl glucosamine, just like several from Definity, and many Pro-X products contain peptides, just as Regenerist products do. Why should someone consider Pro-X over those other lines?

Interestingly, the folks we spoke with at Procter & Gamble didn't have a clear answer either, which isn't surprising, at least not from a formula superiority standpoint. Rather, their explanation was all about a marketing decision. This "cosmeceutical" –oriented line is supposed to give women who think that a line that looks medical must be better even if it's available at the drugstore. Pro-X was also designed to appeal to women who typically seek professional skin-care products, meaning those that are sold or recommended by a dermatologist or cosmetic surgeon.

Of course there is no standardized definition for "professional skin care" and "cosmeceutical" is a bogus term. The dermatologists who consulted Olay about these new products are well-respected, but the formulas still come up short in terms of a cocktail of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients that can repair damaged skin. As it turns out, despite the Alliance for Skin Care Innovation that Olay speaks of in their promotional materials for Pro-X, its creation had more to do with marketing than with bringing anything new to the cosmetics table.

Don't get me wrong: the Pro-X products have some commendable attributes and certainly offer multiple benefits for aging skin, but the truth is they're not different enough from Olay Regenerist or Definity products to warrant the higher price.

Pro-X's packaging is indeed sexier, the claims are more enticing, and the prices speak to a high-end consumer, but, to borrow a popular catchphrase from the 1980s, we were left wondering "Where's the beef?" The beef, as it were, is merely Olay creating products whose differences are much stronger from a marketing standpoint than from a formulary standpoint. That's not breakthrough news for your skin, and it's a fact that anyone considering Pro-X should know that other Olay products offer comparable benefits for less money. The only significant difference between Pro-X and Olay's other sub-brands is that Pro-X is fragrance-free; that's great, but you would think that leaving out an ingredient as opposed to adding one would lead to a price decrease rather than an increase. It's up to you if that point is enough to make the higher prices worthwhile.

For more information about Olay, owned by Procter & Gamble, call (800) 285-5170 or visit www.olay.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 2 Next »
  1. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 07, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Great Nightly Face Wash
    • I have been using Olay Foaming Face Wash for Sensitive Skin every evening for about a year now. It is excellent at removing makeup and cleaning my skin without drying it out. If I happen to be wearing waterproof mascara, I simply go over my eyes with makeup remover, but regular mascara comes right off with this product. In the morning, I generally use a generic version of Cetaphil. This routine has proven to work perfectly for my sensitive skin!

  2. Susanne T.
    Reviewed on Monday, September 22, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    good!
    • I use this foaming face wash at night under the shower when I had a busy day and my face is sweaty, oily and dirty, otherwise I use a non-foaming cleanser because I have dry skin. I just use a dime size drop for my face and my skin feels soft and clean. Another plus is the price and I can buy it at my local grocery store.

  3. Kathleen R.
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 14, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Very disappointed
    • Nice and creamy, but stings when it gets in your eyes. Not what I expect for a "best of the best" recommendation.

  4. David V
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 09, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    No need to pay more
    • Best cleanser I've ever used. Dirt cheap. I don't even look at other options. Can't ask for more.

  5. Ifeoma I.
    Reviewed on Monday, July 14, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Amazing cleanser
    • After a thorough search on Beautypedia for the best cleanser I could easily get in my country, I found this and decided to give it a try. I fell in love with it on first usage. It removed my makeup completely and my skin didn't feel dry at all. Many people complained that it didn't rinse off well but it did for me. I went back to the store where I bought it from and got the remaining 2 tubes they had left. I will gladly recommend it to anyone.

  6. Shelley d.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 08, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Amazing!
    • This stuff is the best I've ever used! Typically, foaming cleansers tend to leave my face feeling a bit dry and tight, but not this one! The lather feels so soft and creamy, I'm not always sure when I've rinsed enough so I splash some more. It fully removes all of my makeup and my skin is left soft and smooth. And so wonderful that it is fragrance free too. Highly recommended!

  7. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 29, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Not good for my sensitive skin!
    • This cleanser was one of the worst for irritating my sensitive skin. My face is typically combination with some oil by mid day, but very sensitive. This dried out my skin, gave me redness and just generally was too strong for my skin. Not sure what ingredient or ingredients were the problem, but this is not for me at all!

  8. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 13, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    sodium laurel sulfate
    • This has sodium laurel sulfate in it so I don't know how it is a best. It left my face dry but I admit I love how it removes my make up so well.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, May 14, 2014

    Hello, and thanks for your comments! This is subject of which there is much confusion. This product contains sodium laureth sulfate, which is a good and gentle cleansing agent. Another very similar-sounding ingredient, sodium lauryl sulfate, is one of the most irritating cleansers used in skin care. We're happy to report this cleanser does not contain the latter!

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  9. Howard
    Reviewed on Friday, April 25, 2014
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Nice basic face wash, but nothing special...
    • I have normal to dry sensitive skin and in moderate to warm/hot weather this wash works great on my face, leaves in feeling clean and not stripped, hydrated. I don't find it burning to the eyes or stinging as other reviewers have stated (I have a feeling they are used to the low lathering or no lathering products associated with PC). However, in cooler or cold weather my skin feels a bit tight and flaky after use. In that regard, I think Paula is wrong to call it great for all skin types.

  10. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Best cleanser I've tried
    • My skin is combination (sometimes a little oily but with dry flakiness underneath) and very sensitive. It is very easily dried out by cleansers, and can take a long time to recover. After using Clinique's redness solutions cleanser, which was good but a little expensive and would leave a white film of product on my skin, I switched to Olay's cleanser. I love this product! Even though it foams, it doesn't over dry. It cleansers beautifully and now I rarely breakout. Better yet, it's much cheaper.

  11. Kelly M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 05, 2014
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Doesn't look good
    • I was excited to try this based on the good review. Have been using this for a week during the longest, coldest winter in Winnipeg, and it has stripped my skin and caused a breakout on my forehead. Interesting that PC criticizes other products for having sodium laurel sulfate (irritant) but not this product. It is too harsh for my very temperamental, acne-prone skin. Back to the drawing board.....

  12. Jen, R.
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 27, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Best value
    • I keep going back to this cleanser year after year for its ability to take my makeup off and its gentleness on my sensitive, acne prone, combo skin. It's a no-frills cleanser that has just enough suds, rinses clean, is non-irritating and doesn't leave skin overly tight. Plus, a little goes a long way and a tube will last me months. It's also great for cleaning makeup brushes!

  13. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 19, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Bad Allergic Reaction
    • I used it this past Friday evening to clean face. It stung my eyes and the foaming action was less than desirable. Saturday morning I noticed a few dry patches around mouth & forehead peeling. I used it to clean face after exercising and it burned a little. By Saturday night my whole face was itching and my neck had dry patches and itched terribly. I took Benadryl to try to calm the itching. Sunday resulted in droopy eyelid and dry patches over eyes, eyelids scaly, forehead dryer & itching.

  14. Tracy, t
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 15, 2014
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Not worth it
    • I bought the product based on PB review and my skin has been terrible ever since. Red, dry and sensitive, my skin is burning still and i used it last night. Its a product marketed for sensitive skin, so to me its an epic fail. Will never use this product again. Im going back to Cetaphil, it may be mild without bells and whistles but God it makes my skin feel wonderful.

  15. Ron, R
    Reviewed on Monday, January 13, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    What a bargain
    • I don't have any makeup to take off, so I can't speak to that, but if you want to save some money, this is the place to do it. I have oily skin and found that the cleanser did a good job doing what it's supposed to do...clean my skin. I don't like washing away expensive products, so this is a new keeper. Thanks beautypedia for saving me some cash!

  16. Kaitlin h
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 09, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Love this! Dupe for bareminerals/sheseido
    • Got it as BOGO 1/2 off Ulta online so 2.50$!!!! This works just as well and has the same rich luminescent consistency as the bare minerals cleansing foam (20$) and shiseido ibuki cleansing foam (30$) at sephora!!! Dupe overall love it

  17. Sharon K
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 07, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Great product, great deal!
    • Age 54, sensitive skin, mild rosacea- This product gets high marks from both Beautypedia AND Allure- an extremely rare event in itself- and it was on sale at ULTA- so I took the plunge. I use a separate dual phase eye makeup remover, but this removes the rest of my makeup better than anything else I've tried recently, and is neither drying nor greasy. I bought the tube- product is liquidy so tube leaks a little- I will get the pump next time. 4 stars from me for this effective bargain product!!!

  18. Helene L
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Great Makeup Remover
    • I had been a Philosophy Purity user for about 7 years. Recently, I decided it was time to cut back on things where I wouldn't miss the splurge. I tried the Olay for Sensitive Skin on the recommendation from this site's Best Product list. It takes off all my longwearing makeup, makes my skin feel soft, not tight and for me rinses just fine. The only complaint is that if you do get it in your eyes, it will sting. Lastly, you can't beat the price.

  19. Tield
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 04, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    I will buy it again
    • I've normal and sensitive skin, and I'm at the moment using AHA, tretinoin and hydroquinone. I've been using Olay's "Foaming Face Wash, for Sensitive Skin" twice a day for 2 weeks now. I disagree with a lot of the other reviews. First, it doesn't sting my skin or eyes. Second, it rinse well. Third, it removes all makeup. Fourth, it leaves my skin clean and hydrated. Fifth, it's been 2 weeks and the bottle is still full = will not hurt my wallet! I do recommend it.

  20. nennycakes
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 11, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    I love it
    • I love this cleanser, despite the faults. It stings my eyes (so I keep it away from them) & it doesn't rinse very well (but I use a Clairsonic & that takes care of it), but I adore it. I'm 43 years old and have had cleansers that rinse off better, remove my eye makeup better & don't sting my eyes, but they always fall short in the actual performance: they either leave my skin dry or they leave it feeling ill-cleansed. This doesn't dry, but cleans my skin efficiently. This is a winner, says me.

  21. Howard D
    Reviewed on Friday, August 09, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Best inexpensive cleanser out there
    • This cleanser leaves my 52 year old sensitive dry skin clean and supple without over drying at a great price. The only time I cannot use it is if the temperature drops down to say below 30, but now that I am in FL, we know that rarely happens.

  22. Patti P
    Reviewed on Friday, May 24, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Too difficult to rinse off
    • Have to agree with reviewer Stef regarding slimy residue. This cleansed my face okay, but my face wasn't too happy after having to rinse and rinse and rinse to get it off. I'd rather pay more for a product that rinses cleanly and easily. Can't recommend.

  23. SUSAN A.
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 19, 2013
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Agree with Paula's Choice review, but...
    • I have very dry, sensitive skin with rosacea, and this cleanser doesn't irritate or dry out my skin. But, if I get it in my eyes, it stings, and it doesn't remove makeup very well. I use it to wash my face when I don't need to remove makeup, and it works well for that purpose. I use the Paula's Choice Skin Recovery Cleanser to remove makeup, and I'd use it exclusively if I weren't on a tight budget. The Olay product is good, just not as good as Paula's product.

  24. Serena H
    Reviewed on Friday, April 12, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Not Like Reviewed
    • I agree with another reviewer. I have combination skin and it dried my face out a ton every time! Plus, it doesn't remove makeup well that has any kind of oil in it. Not a fan. Returning....

  25. Stef
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 20, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Not in Love
    • I bought this product based on Paula’s and member reviews. My results were completely opposite. It did not remove makeup on the first go (and I don't wear heavy makeup) and mascara took 2-3 washes to remove. It also leaves a slimy residue and I don't know why. My face felt tight afterwards - probably due to washing 3 times - but my skin felt as tight as if I used bar soap. I like that it has no fragrance and foamed up nicely when you add a little warm water, but that's about it.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.344 10/20/2014 9:34:24 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.