12.09.2014
9
Peter Thomas Roth
Glycolic Acid 10% Moisturizer
Rating
2.2 fl. oz. for $45
Category:Skin Care > AHA Exfoliants > AHA
Last Updated:12.09.2014
Jar Packaging:False
pH:3.80
Tested on animals:Yes
Overview

Glycolic Acid 10% Moisturizer is an ideal AHA moisturizer for normal to dry skin. Glycolic acid at a pH of 3.8 ensures exfoliation, while emollients and antioxidants help dry skin look and feel better, all without added fragrance.

The company claims the glycolic acid is time-released, and the formula bears that out: It contains arginine, an amino acid that binds to the glycolic acid, a process which creates a slow, steady release over time (think of a hospital's IV drip) which minimizes irritation without diminishing effectiveness.

Claims

Helps reduce the appearance of fine lines, wrinkles and other signs of aging. Helps clarify the skin and smooth out a rough texture. This blend harnesses a patented, time-released form of glycolic acid for a beautiful, fresh, youthful-looking complexion.

Ingredients

Water, Glycolic Acid, Arginine, Whole Leaf Aloe Vera, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Safflower Seed Oil, Emulsifying Wax, Dimethicone, Squalane, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Retinyl Palmitate (Micellized Vitamin A), Tocopheryl Acetate (Micellized Vitamin E), Oleth-2, Polysorbate-20, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Disodium EDTA, Diazolidinyl Urea

Brand Overview

Peter Thomas Roth At-A-Glance

Strengths: Provides complete ingredient lists on Web site; most products are fragrance-free; very good AHA products; wide selection of water-soluble cleansers and scrubs; some excellent sunscreens, benzoyl peroxide products, and many antioxidant-rich formulas.

Weaknesses: Expensive; mostly lackluster toners; mostly boring to potentially irritating masks; no BHA products that do not include at least one needless irritant; jar packaging.

Unique in the world of spa and salon specialty lines, Peter Thomas Roth is a large but straightforward line with mostly uncomplicated formulations that, for the most part, are quite good and state-of-the-art. Unlike many product lines, most of the acne, AHA, BHA, sunscreen, and moisturizing products contain what they should to be effective and helpful for skin.

A novel aspect of this line is that there are few (if any) nonsense ingredients. Roth products conspicuously lack the exotic, potentially irritating, sensitizing, and often unnecessary plant extracts and the irritating, fragrant plant oils that show up in most pricey skin-care lines, especially spa lines. Many of these products don't have fragrance, and they lack the long lists of ingredients that are often unnecessarily complicated. Even more impressive are the well-formulated cleansers, sunscreens, AHA products, and skin lighteners. The moisturizers have improved somewhat, and most are now packaged so that the light- and air-sensitive ingredients remain stable. In fact, Roth's packaging deserves special mention because it is exceptionally utilitarian and gender-friendly. No pretty pink bottles, sexy curved jars, or bejeweled caps—all of which reinforce the clinical nature of Peter Thomas Roth. Overall, this line should be admired for its simplicity and, for the most part, for its well-thought-out formulations.

After all that glowing praise there are a few embarrassing missteps to avoid, such as products that contain hydrogen peroxide, which can cause free-radical damage and hurt skin; irritating acne products that contain sulfur; unimpressive masks (odd for a spa-oriented line); and a bumper crop of products claiming to affect expression lines and wrinkles in a manner similar to cosmetic corrective procedures.

For more information about Peter Thomas Roth, call (800) PTR-SKIN or visit www.peterthomasroth.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page
Monday, February 23, 2015
Thanks

Thank you for your review

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Patti c
Saturday, January 17, 2015
Question for Dry Skin

I really want to use this product, but I have such dry skin, is it okay to use this every single day as a moisturiser?

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Tiffany S.
Saturday, January 17, 2015
How to use with PC serum?

How do I use this product with PC serum? I've been using it before applying my PC Resist Super Antioxidant serum because the articles say to apply exfoliant first. But this product is also a moisturizer, will applying it first reduce the effectiveness of my serum? In terms of reviews, I've been using this product for under a week and see a noticeable difference in the texture of my skin. Trying to figure out if it can be incorporated into my routine.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Aly A
Paula's Choice Research Team Response
Replied on: Monday, January 19, 2015

Hello, and thank you for your question! Applying this product first should have no impact on the effectiveness of your serum. We hope this helps!

—Paula's Choice Research Team
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
When in my routine do I use this?

I love this product! I have used this product for about a year and love how my skin looks and feels. Should I use this product at the end of my routine as a moisturizer or as an AHA exfoliant after toning? Help!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Amanda T.
Friday, August 01, 2014
Glycolic and vit A together?

I haven't used this yet but have a question. I've read that glycolic acid and vitamin A can't be used together because they interact to chemically neutralize each other so both effects are negated. The review didn't even mention this. Will this even be effective?

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Jade, T
Paula's Choice Research Team Response
Replied on: Monday, August 04, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. This can be tricky, but we have an explantation of this under Myth #2 from our 6 Retinol Myths Busted article that you can find here: http://www.paulaschoice.com/expert-advice/myths/_/six-retinol-myths-busted#effective

—Admin
Tuesday, November 26, 2013
Time release?

What really does time-release mean? How long does it take for this to exfoliate my skin? Minutes, hours or days? I read that this would help reduce acne scars and blemishes, however I haven't noticed a change in these areas and nothing has changed with my rough skin structure. Is this because I am a man and therefore have "thicker" skin?

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Charles Y
Monday, October 07, 2013
Ingredient concern..

I tried this product and really liked it however it does contain propylparaben and methylparaben. The former is one of the more damaging parabens out there. As parabens can mimic hormones in the body and disrupt functions of the endocrine system (increase breast cancer odds; early puberty), I am surprised the team would give a best rating to any product that contains this ingredient. I don't plan to purchase this one again. I am sure there are other safer options.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Kari W.
Paula's Choice Research Team Response
Replied on: Monday, October 07, 2013

Hi, and thanks for your comments. The reason we rate this a "BEST" is because we have done extensive research on the matter of parabens, and have found many of the claims surrounding them and their connection to cancer to be unfounded. We've addressed this issue at length in the past in our article "Parabens: Are They Really A Problem?" You can read the article in its entirety here: http://www.paulaschoice.com/expert-advice/myths/_/parabens-are-they-really-a-problem. We hope this clears up any confusion!

—Paula's Choice Research Team
Thursday, June 13, 2013
question for the team?

i havent used this product, i'm just wondering-- is this a best in terms of moisturizers as well as AHAs?

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
Paula's Choice Research Team Response
Replied on: Friday, June 14, 2013

It is! It has a good mixture of emollients and antioxidants that make it a great moisturizer.

—Paula's Choice Research Team
Monday, December 10, 2012
Time released glycolic acid?

Product claim from the Sephora website: "This blend harnesses a patented, time-released form of glycolic acid for a beautiful, fresh, youthful-looking complexion." The cosmetics cop review did not comment on this product's time release formula. How do we know if this is true?

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.369 2/27/2015 3:09:34 PM