Regenerist Regenerating Lotion with Sunscreen Broad Spectrum SPF 50

by Olay  Regenerist
Price:
$25.99 - 1.7 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer with Sunscreen
Last Updated:
3/28/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

With this product, Olay's goal was to create a daytime moisturizer with a high level of sun protection that felt like a silky, lightweight moisturizer rather than a heavy, occlusive sunscreen. They succeeded brilliantly. This in-part avobenzone sunscreen (the avobenzone is stabilized with octocrylene) feels wonderfully light yet makes skin feel smooth, moisturized, and protected.

Yes, there are lighter products out there that carry lower SPF ratings, and many of those are excellent, too. However, people with normal to oily or combination skin who desire or need a high SPF rating should check this product out. It contains an impressive blend of cell-communicating ingredients and antioxidants and works beautifully under makeup. It really does set quickly and won’t leave skin feeling greasy. We hope Olay launches a fragrance-free version, too; it would make an already great product that much better.

Works to renew skin’s surface cells and hydrate the skin for visible anti-aging results. Broad-spectrum SPF 50 sun protection protects skin from the sun’s harmful UV rays, helping to prevent premature aging while rejuvenating skin’s appearance. The light, non-greasy formula won’t clog pores and absorbs quickly into skin.

Active: Homosalate (15%), Oxybenzone (6%), Octisalate (5%), Avobenzone (3%), Octocrylene (2.7%), Other: Water, Glycerin, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Niacinamide, Polyethylene, Pentylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Panthenol, Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4, Carnosine, Ascorbic acid, Tocopheryl acetate, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Isohexadecane, Allantoin, Cetearyl Glucoside, Dimethiconol, PEG-100 Stearate, Polysorbate 60, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, PEG-4 Laurate, PEG-4 Dilaurate, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, PEG-4, Behenyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Cetearyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Benzyl Alcohol, Stearic Acid, Ethylparaben, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Fragrance

Olay offers a fairly large selection of skin-care products sold at drugstores and mass-market stores. Although Olay's products are not as diversified as Neutrogena's or as attractive as L'Oreal's, Olay has come a long way from its star product being a soft pink lotion designed to make skin younger (yet it was and is just a badly formulated product that was out of date almost from the moment it was launched). Today's Olay lineup for those concerned about staving off the effects of aging skin is impressive, comprising their Regenerist, and Total Effects lines. All of these (and several other Olay products) contain the B vitamin niacinamide. As you might expect, the claims made for it are inflated, but, as explained in the various reviews below, niacinamide is a very helpful ingredient for all skin types, capable of exerting multiple benefits. It isn't the best ingredient out there (no single ingredient has that title yet, and it's unlikely that just one ever will be) and as such doesn't deserve the prominence Olay gives it (a bit of variety would have been far better, such as a mix of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients).

Olay's sales are expected to reach $4 billion annually in the next few years, and given their global presence in stores and constant advertising in magazines and on television, that's not surprising. Much of this advertising is focused on their best products, which is attention well deserved. Just to give you an idea of the expenditure involved for these ubiquitous ads, Olay spent over $50 million to promote Regenerist in 2003. The good news is that each new range of Olay products generally improves on what came before it, offering results that, while not as impressive as the claims, are noticeable in the mirror.

For its ongoing commitment to understanding consumers and formulating products that, while not perfect, definitely offer more proof than puffery, Olay deserves consideration by any savvy skin-care shopper. And it also deserves mention that Olay is one of the few lines in this book whose entire collection of products with sunscreens provides sufficient UVA protection! (Sources for the financial figures above: The Rose Sheet, July 10, 2006, page 5; September 11, 2006, page 4; and January 1, 2007, page 5).

Olay began 2009 with the launch of Pro-X, their most expensive products to date. Not only are these products considerably more expensive than any others from Olay, the packaging, color scheme, advertising campaign, and claims have all been turned up to "max" on the cosmetics marketing dial. The amount of hype and budget thrown at these products easily explains why our Beautypedia product request e-mail inbox has been inundated with requests for me to review these products!

Whenever something this sleek-looking and pricey debuts in the mass market, lots of consumers wonder whether the extra expense is worth it. They also want to know if Olay's "Professional" designation makes these products a cut above the numerous other products they sell, including those with similar claims.

It turns out we had the same question after surveying the ingredient lists for all of the Pro-X products: How are they different from those available in Olay's Total Effects and Regenerist? Supposedly, all of those other sub-brands also have the answer to improving the telltale signs of aging, from dryness and wrinkles to loss of luminosity and unwanted discolorations. In fact, the claims on the label of these three lines are virtually identical.

It is clear from the get go that there are far more similarities than differences among Definity, Regenerist and Pro-X. All of them contain niacinamide, the B vitamin that has almost single-handedly re-energized Olay as a formidable skin-care brand. One of the Pro-X products contains acetyl glucosamine, just like several from Definity, and many Pro-X products contain peptides, just as Regenerist products do. Why should someone consider Pro-X over those other lines?

Interestingly, the folks we spoke with at Procter & Gamble didn't have a clear answer either, which isn't surprising, at least not from a formula superiority standpoint. Rather, their explanation was all about a marketing decision. This "cosmeceutical" –oriented line is supposed to give women who think that a line that looks medical must be better even if it's available at the drugstore. Pro-X was also designed to appeal to women who typically seek professional skin-care products, meaning those that are sold or recommended by a dermatologist or cosmetic surgeon.

Of course there is no standardized definition for "professional skin care" and "cosmeceutical" is a bogus term. The dermatologists who consulted Olay about these new products are well-respected, but the formulas still come up short in terms of a cocktail of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients that can repair damaged skin. As it turns out, despite the Alliance for Skin Care Innovation that Olay speaks of in their promotional materials for Pro-X, its creation had more to do with marketing than with bringing anything new to the cosmetics table.

Don't get me wrong: the Pro-X products have some commendable attributes and certainly offer multiple benefits for aging skin, but the truth is they're not different enough from Olay Regenerist or Definity products to warrant the higher price.

Pro-X's packaging is indeed sexier, the claims are more enticing, and the prices speak to a high-end consumer, but, to borrow a popular catchphrase from the 1980s, we were left wondering "Where's the beef?" The beef, as it were, is merely Olay creating products whose differences are much stronger from a marketing standpoint than from a formulary standpoint. That's not breakthrough news for your skin, and it's a fact that anyone considering Pro-X should know that other Olay products offer comparable benefits for less money. The only significant difference between Pro-X and Olay's other sub-brands is that Pro-X is fragrance-free; that's great, but you would think that leaving out an ingredient as opposed to adding one would lead to a price decrease rather than an increase. It's up to you if that point is enough to make the higher prices worthwhile.

For more information about Olay, owned by Procter & Gamble, call (800) 285-5170 or visit www.olay.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. Christina J.
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 28, 2014
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Extremely Disappointed It Made Best List
    • My skin is naturally slightly oily and somewhat sensitive as well so it seems this would be a good fit, it was not. It never set and left my face not only a greasy mess but it burned my skin as well. It is very rare for Paula's ratings to be so off for me but I certainly wore less sunsceen after I bought it than before. I now use one of Paula's excellently formulated SPF 30 lotions.

  2. Nadine P.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 24, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Great moisturizer
    • I am totally surprised by this moisturizer. I have combination skin with a t-zone that gets oily very easily, it's hard for me to find the "perfect" moisturizer with antioxidants plus sun protection. Enter Olay Regenerist Regenerating Lotion SPF 50. I bought it because it was another "best of" product here on Paula's website and, it didn't let me down. Contrary to other reviewers I have to say, it doesn't leave me greasy at all. No touch-ups ALL day!! I think I found my HG moisturizer.

  3. Cat lover
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 22, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Love the high SPF
    • I don't know if they are discontinuing this, but I can't find it anymore where I got it. They make a larger bottle of it, with only SPF15 now! Fragrance a bit strong and it tingled a bit, but it worked really well under foundation. Light texture that absorbed quickly. I'd get it again, if I find it. But I only found SPF15 version I'm 52, and I have dry skin. I felt good knowing the product has a high SPF; I wish more companies would do this with makeup. SPF 15 is the minimum only.

  4. alex
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Love it
    • Very nice product especially considering I'm always abet to spend a lot on skincare but i do think especially considering its olay i could be a little cheaper. doesnt sting my face although it does a little bit around my eyes nothing to serious though.

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, January 03, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Love it!
    • I have used this for years with wonderful results. Skin protected, moisturized. No clogged pores. I am 54 and look sun protection and wrinkle protection.

  6. ChristineL
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 11, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Horrible
    • This is a very harsh chemical sunscreen. It burns my skin so badly that it peels, especially around the eyes. This should definitely NOT be rated a best product!

  7. Nan
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 04, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    I really like this even with a fragrance
    • I have combination skin and find this an easy-to-use moisturizer with a high SPF. It goes on easily and doesn't create any problems with the Paula's Choice products I have on under it. I generally buy fragrance-free products and am usually sensitive to perfumes and fragrances, but despite what the others have said, I think this has a light, clean fragrance that dissipates quickly. It doesn't bother me at all.

  8. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 04, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Burning skin
    • Terrible. Burns skin

  9. Rory C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 27, 2013
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Not the one for me
    • I want to love this product. I really do. I have sensitive, combination skin and it leaves me a bit greasy, even if I wear it alone. After 2-3 days in a row, my skin gets a pink flush, which I worried might be a bit of sunburn, but after a few instances, I realized it was the lotion. I still use it in the winter, when my skin is drier, but never 2 days in a row. As other reviewers have noted, the smell is strong. I would not call it a scent - it is a chemical smell rather than a nice scent

  10. Jackie W
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 06, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    get rid of the fragrance
    • Great product - goes on light and has high SPF. But the fragrance gagged me. And I'm not usually sensitive to fragrance (though prefer unscented product when available). I threw an almost full bottle away as I could not get past the smell.

  11. Elizabeth M.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 08, 2013
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Love t his but wish it were fragrance free
    • I loved that this product has a high SPF, and it went on very light and non-greasy. I would give it an excellent rating if it weren't for the fragrance. It would be so great if they had one without the fragrance.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.344 10/22/2014 5:23:16 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.