11.26.2014
12
214
Revitalash Advanced Eyelash Conditioner
Rating
0.06 fl. oz. for $98
Category:Skin Care > Specialty Products
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Revitalash Advanced Eyelash Conditioner is a pricey, but effective, lash growth product available without a prescription. Although you may recognize some of the plant ingredients this contains, they have no impact on how this water-based, brush-on product performs—at least not in terms of making lashes longer, fuller, or darker. The same is true for the peptides in this product. There's no substantiated research proving they impact lash growth.

Instead, the ingredient in this fragrance-free formula that is most likely responsible for the results is known as dechloro dihydroxy difluoro ethylcloprostenolamide. This long ingredient is a synthetic prostaglandin analogue that seems to be unique to Athena Cosmetics, the company behind Revitalash.

Prostaglandin analogues are synthetic ingredients designed to bind to specific prostaglandin receptor sites on cells. When it comes to the potential for prostaglandin analogues to stimulate eyelash growth, the three most well- known options are bimatoprost, travoprost, and latanoprost. Among these, bimatoprost (the active ingredient in prescription Latisse) is the most well-researched for eyelash growth, though all have the same potential benefits and side effects (Sources: European Journal of Dermatology, November-December 2009, pages 586–587; Experimental Eye Research, April 2009, pages 786–791; Survey of Ophthalmology, November 2008, pages S93–S105; Expert Opinion on Drug Safety, January 2007, pages 45–52; Clinical and Experimental Ophthalmology, November 2006, pages 755–764; and Drugs in Aging, Volume 19, 2002, pages 231–248). We suspect, though there's no solid research to prove it, that the prostaglandin analogue in Revitalash is responsible for its results on lash growth.

Is Revitalash better than Latisse? Not necessarily. For certain, the active ingredient in Latisse has more research (including about its safety) than Revitalash Advanced, but the ingredients in Revitalash seem to be well tolerated and none of the plant extracts are known to be problematic. Price-wise, Latisse costs a bit more but results may be more impressive. Our advice: Experiment with both and see which one works best for you. If you find they work equally well, decide with your pocketbook, though keep in mind many doctor's offices selling prescription Latisse offer deals that can make it less expensive than Revitalash Advanced.

Pros:
  • Contains an ingredient very likely to stimulate lash growth, leading to fuller, longer, healthier-looking lashes.
  • Fragrance-free.
  • Easy to apply: Brush on once nightly and see results in three to six weeks.
Cons:
  • Price is close to prescription Latisse, a product required to prove its effectiveness and safety before being sold.
Claims

A remarkable cosmetic innovation that will dramatically enhance the beauty of your natural lashes.

Ingredients

Water (Aqua), Serenoa Serrulata Fruit Extract, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Dechloro Dihydroxy Difluoro Ethylcloprostenolamide, Biotin, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract, Swertia Japonica Extract, Biotinoyl Tripeptide 1, Octapeptide 2, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Protein, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenisen, Glycerin, Cellulose Gum, Butylene Glycol, Phosphoric Acid, Disodium Phosphate, Pentylene Glycol.

Brand Overview

Please click the product review link below for the complete review of this specialty lash growth product. For more information about Revitalash, call (877) 909-5274 or visit www.revitalash-usa.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.08.2015
Works on short Asian lashes

I have very short lashes and after a month, they were 25% longer. The only problem was that I developed discoloration on my upper eyelids. It didn't bother me too much because I looked like I was wearing eyeshadow. Stopped using it and the discoloration went away. But will start again because I don't want to go through the hassle of going to the doc's office to get Latisse.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Quynh T.
02.27.2015
Strange lashes

It took more than a few weeks, but I finally saw results with longer, and somewhat thicker lashes. At the same time, I realized some mutant lashes that were never meant to grow, were growing too. That meant several lashes that were at weird angles or higher than the lash line and needed to be pulled out. Still probably worth it if you a) don't pay retail and b) have really weak lashes.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Andrea E.
02.26.2015
Am I the only one who is not having results????

Well,after at least 2 months I don't see a noticeable difference in my lashes. Maybe there are thicker, or darker, but just maybe... Any difference regarding their length... At least, I didn't have either side effects, something I was very worried about... Bad luck :(

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Chris
02.09.2015
Amazing! Works For Me!!!

This is truly an amazing product! I've used a 1 fl oz tube for almost 3 mos and still have some left. My lashes have grown noticeably longer, thicker and darker! Just last October they were short and sparse. I was on panic mode. Must've been the eye makeup remover. Now I use olive or vit e oil to remove eye makeup. I've used it sparingly every night and I haven't experienced any negative side effects except for slight itching which goes away fast. Best of all, I got it on Ebay for only $24.99!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Bee R.
02.07.2015
This works...and I'm proof of it

I was on the panel for the trial version of this product and I can attest to the fact that it works. After 3 weeks of use, or a bit before that, I started to notice my lashes were thicker. What I mean by that is there is more growth so it thickened my lash line. They are so long that I've had to trim them because they hit my glasses. And guess what...I no longer wear mascara because I don't have to. I just put a lighter shade on my lids and my lashes are very prominent and so soft.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Christine
02.07.2015
me red

I was not sure this product would work. It did give me great results including fuller eyebrows. Well tolerated and the 3.5ml tube lasts 6 mos or more. I am older and was experiencing scanty lashes, but no longer I love buying new mascaras to use on my long lashes

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
michael R
02.07.2015
Brilliant product

I love this & have had no adverse reactions. I've been using it for a year now (& recently bought some more) I saw results within 2-3 weeks (I had blonde shortish lashes) & noticed my lashes & brows were also getting darker lol (I'm a natural strawberry blonde) I now have mid brown lashes & lt brown brows. I started using this every night then after about 3 months just used it every other day for 6 months & now use it 2-3 times a week to keep my lashes long & thick. It's brilliant x

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Natasha
06.27.2014
Amazing

I bought this serum based on PC research team review and comment. It truly works for me. I have been using it for 3 weeks. My eyelash significantly grows longer. Thanks for PC research team experts advice.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Alice
04.26.2014
Wonderful

I know this causes redness on the upper lid but for the amount of lash growth it stimulates, I think it is worth it. I use it every other night and see results within a couple of weeks. I wear L'oreal double extend mascara and people swear I have fake lashes, which I don't!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
joanne b.
03.03.2014
eh... not so good

I've tried Revitalash but these hurt and burn my eyes. After applying it... I'd get all sorts of reactions to it and its to the point I can't use it. I'd rather go with I Max Eyelash conditioner as it worked for me and didn't make me want to gauge out my eyes.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Jina
12.04.2013
Revitalash advanced

I have used Revitalash and LiLash for a few years now. I have gotten great results from both. I learned about these products from your website, (my bible). I experienced itchiness along lash line, the only negative side effect. This last review was a bit confusing because of a typo. Please check. Your reviewer compares revitalash to revitalash. Instead of revitalash/rapidlash. As a result, we do not know which caused the red line at the lash line. I assume it is the Revitalash.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
GEMMA M.
11.06.2013
Revitalash? Rapidlash? Latisse?

I am unclear which products the staffer used (paragraph 4). Revitalash? Rapidlash? Latisse? This review would make more sense if you could edit the review and clarify this, please. Thanks

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Bunny Z
11.07.2013
Beautypedia Team Response

The reviewer used all of them.

—Admin
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to Nordstrom.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.405 7/30/2015 6:02:44 PM