03.17.2015
9
1878
Liquid Eyeliner
Rating
$7.29
Last Updated:03.17.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Liquid Eyeliner remains one of the very best liquid liners at any price. It goes on smoothly and easily, creating a dramatic line—thin or thick—without flaking, chipping, or looking crinkled. Two shades (classic brown and black) are available, both with all-day longevity.

Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Almay At-A-Glance

Strengths: An excellent assortment of mascaras; several exceptional foundation options to choose from; a phenomenal liquid eyeliner; a selection of good makeup removers.

Weaknesses: Some of the Intense i-color products do the exact opposite of enhancing eye color; mediocre blushes; “Smart Shade” products don’t automatically adapt to skin’s color as claimed.

Long a standby for those with sensitive skin seeking hypoallergenic products (though that term is unregulated and can be applied to any product, regardless of ingredients), Almay continues to refine its comprehensive makeup line. In early 2006 the company repackaged its old favorites, and also relaunched several new makeup items. Everything now has a sleek new look and color-coded packaging. We admit, the makeover is effective, not just product-wise but visually too.

Shopping this drugstore line is now much easier because of the clearly defined product and color family groupings. Lamentably, testers and trial sizes of the makeup are still scarce regardless of where you shop. Almay has always been a reliable line for foundations, powder, and mascara. Within its current lineup you'll find that remains true. Their foundations are better than ever, and still offer full, broad-spectrum sun protection and a mostly neutral palette. We also found their concealers and mascaras have improved, as have the pencil options. When it comes to shopping for makeup staples with state-of-the-art formulas, Almay has many winners, and some innovative surprises that its competitors would be wise to learn from.

For more information about Almay, owned by Revlon, call (800) 992-5629 or visit www.almay.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
02.17.2015
Great Color, Long Lasting, Easy to Use

I've been using this liquid eyeliner since my 20s and am now 40. I've only tried a couple of others but I always, always go back to this one. The felt tip is not stiff at all and I like how I can control the amount I want (unlike a pen). It doesn't smudge at all. Easy to use, easy to control (thin or thick line) and stays put. It's great overall!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Debbie
12.08.2014
Big disappointment

It's difficult to apply, and it doesn't last during the day - what a disappointment!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.10.2014
Great Product

This eyeliner is a great value... and I've been a faithful user of L'Oreal Lineur Intense Brush Tip for many years, and bought this on a whim based on this rating and the price. Well, it has been a bit of a learning curve for me to start using a felt tip instead of a brush tip, however, now that I've gotten a bit more comfortable with the felt tip, I LOVE this liner. can't beat the price, especially if it's on sale and it has great staying power.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Amelia
04.24.2014
Seriously?

I have still yet to find a good eyeliner. This one not only smudges but it's also difficult to apply and it has a bad smell. Will never buy this again. I'm glad I got it for $1 because I used a coupon. All of their eyeliners are horrible.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Giselle H.
02.16.2014
Applicator too stiff

Purchased this based on Beautypedia review. Fortunately, bought at store that will accept returns on opened products. The applicator is too stiff to get a smooth line, and the brown is more of a black brown. I prefer the more flexible applicator and brown color of Lineur Intense Felt Tip Liquid Eyeliner by L'Oreal Paris. Surprisingly, the L'Oreal is cheaper, too.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Janet M
01.12.2014
BAD "Good guide" rating

I haven't used this product and I wouldn't since the Good Guide gives it a very bad rating. You can see their evaluation here:http://www.goodguide.com/products/384343-almay-liquid-eyeliner I am currently trying to find products that the Good Guide, Beautypedia and Makeupalley all recommend. It's quite difficult. I bought the La Roche Posay Physiological Cleanser based on those websites but I wasn't that happy with the product. Tricky to find ethical, healthy and good products...:S

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Bornita Q
10.08.2013
Creeps into my eyes

Whenever I wear this liner, it creeps into my eyes and forms black residue at the inside corners. It doesn't hold up all that well throughout the day and I'm surprised at the high rating here.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Amy T.
10.08.2013
Beautypedia Team Response

Thanks for your review! This may be happening because you're applying the product to close to the tear duct or you're using emollient/slick products around your eyes. This can keep the eyeliner from setting or cause it to break down and move into the eye during wear. If neither of these situations apply, consider one of the long-wearing "gel" eyeliners that you apply with an eyeliner brush. Sonia Kashuk makes a great one!

—Admin
02.20.2013
Not Easy to Use

While this eyeliner is a good price, I have a terrible time trying to apply it. I don't have a steady enough hand to make it all the way across my eyelid in a smooth line. I try to go back across my eyelid to make sure I cover the edge well, and the eyeliner "sticks to itself" like a dry-erase marker going over top of itself. It removes what you've already put on. I'll be returning this product and trying something easier to apply.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Stacey M.
12.06.2012
It's o.k.

I tried this product in Nov 2012 in brown. I REALLY tried to like this product but ultimately in my opinion is not a keeper. The product is designed like an ink well & the applicator is a marker like fine tip design. I am fair skinned have 38 yr old slightly oily, wrinkly eyelids, crowsfeet w/sensitive eyes that don’t water. Product dries to a matte finish that does not move or flake unless you have eyes that water. The only selection of brown for my preference is too light (I am fair skinned), however if you like to have a daytime matte slightly lighter shade of brown this might work perfectly for you. My only dislikes are the product isn’t waterproof or a dark enough shade of brown. If you prefer a waterproof liquid eyeliner with an applicator that is a marker like fine tip design, in a rich semi gloss dark brown try instead L’Oreal’s Telescopic Precision Liquid Eyeliner available in brown or black, which received an Paula’s rating of Good.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
DANA M.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.411 9/1/2015 3:19:23 PM