Liquid Eyeliner

by Almay  
Price:
$7.29 
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Makeup > Eyeliners > Liquid/Gel/Cream/Cake
Last Updated:
4/14/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

Liquid Eyeliner remains one of the very best liquid liners at any price. It goes on smoothly and easily, creating a dramatic line—thin or thick—without flaking, chipping, or looking crinkled. Two shades (classic brown and black) are available, both with all-day longevity.

Long a standby for those with sensitive skin seeking hypoallergenic products (though that term is unregulated and can be applied to any product, regardless of ingredients), Almay continues to refine its comprehensive makeup line. In early 2006 the company repackaged its old favorites, and also relaunched several new makeup items. Everything now has a sleek new look and color-coded packaging. We admit, the makeover is effective, not just product-wise but visually too.

Shopping this drugstore line is now much easier because of the clearly defined product and color family groupings. Lamentably, testers and trial sizes of the makeup are still scarce regardless of where you shop. Almay has always been a reliable line for foundations, powder, and mascara. Within its current lineup you'll find that remains true. Their foundations are better than ever, and still offer full, broad-spectrum sun protection and a mostly neutral palette. We also found their concealers and mascaras have improved, as have the pencil options. When it comes to shopping for makeup staples with state-of-the-art formulas, Almay has many winners, and some innovative surprises that its competitors would be wise to learn from.

For more information about Almay, owned by Revlon, call (800) 992-5629 or visit www.almay.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
Page of 1
  1. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, December 08, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Big disappointment
    • It's difficult to apply, and it doesn't last during the day - what a disappointment!

  2. Amelia
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Great Product
    • This eyeliner is a great value... and I've been a faithful user of L'Oreal Lineur Intense Brush Tip for many years, and bought this on a whim based on this rating and the price. Well, it has been a bit of a learning curve for me to start using a felt tip instead of a brush tip, however, now that I've gotten a bit more comfortable with the felt tip, I LOVE this liner. can't beat the price, especially if it's on sale and it has great staying power.

  3. Giselle H.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 24, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Seriously?
    • I have still yet to find a good eyeliner. This one not only smudges but it's also difficult to apply and it has a bad smell. Will never buy this again. I'm glad I got it for $1 because I used a coupon. All of their eyeliners are horrible.

  4. Janet M
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 16, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Applicator too stiff
    • Purchased this based on Beautypedia review. Fortunately, bought at store that will accept returns on opened products. The applicator is too stiff to get a smooth line, and the brown is more of a black brown. I prefer the more flexible applicator and brown color of Lineur Intense Felt Tip Liquid Eyeliner by L'Oreal Paris. Surprisingly, the L'Oreal is cheaper, too.

  5. Bornita Q
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 12, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    BAD "Good guide" rating
    • I haven't used this product and I wouldn't since the Good Guide gives it a very bad rating. You can see their evaluation here:http://www.goodguide.com/products/384343-almay-liquid-eyeliner I am currently trying to find products that the Good Guide, Beautypedia and Makeupalley all recommend. It's quite difficult. I bought the La Roche Posay Physiological Cleanser based on those websites but I wasn't that happy with the product. Tricky to find ethical, healthy and good products...:S

  6. Amy T.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 08, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Creeps into my eyes
    • Whenever I wear this liner, it creeps into my eyes and forms black residue at the inside corners. It doesn't hold up all that well throughout the day and I'm surprised at the high rating here.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, October 08, 2013

    Thanks for your review! This may be happening because you're applying the product to close to the tear duct or you're using emollient/slick products around your eyes. This can keep the eyeliner from setting or cause it to break down and move into the eye during wear. If neither of these situations apply, consider one of the long-wearing "gel" eyeliners that you apply with an eyeliner brush. Sonia Kashuk makes a great one!

    —Admin
  7. Stacey M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 20, 2013
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Not Easy to Use
    • While this eyeliner is a good price, I have a terrible time trying to apply it. I don't have a steady enough hand to make it all the way across my eyelid in a smooth line. I try to go back across my eyelid to make sure I cover the edge well, and the eyeliner "sticks to itself" like a dry-erase marker going over top of itself. It removes what you've already put on. I'll be returning this product and trying something easier to apply.

  8. DANA M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 06, 2012
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    It's o.k.
    • I tried this product in Nov 2012 in brown. I REALLY tried to like this product but ultimately in my opinion is not a keeper. The product is designed like an ink well & the applicator is a marker like fine tip design. I am fair skinned have 38 yr old slightly oily, wrinkly eyelids, crowsfeet w/sensitive eyes that don’t water. Product dries to a matte finish that does not move or flake unless you have eyes that water. The only selection of brown for my preference is too light (I am fair skinned), however if you like to have a daytime matte slightly lighter shade of brown this might work perfectly for you. My only dislikes are the product isn’t waterproof or a dark enough shade of brown. If you prefer a waterproof liquid eyeliner with an applicator that is a marker like fine tip design, in a rich semi gloss dark brown try instead L’Oreal’s Telescopic Precision Liquid Eyeliner available in brown or black, which received an Paula’s rating of Good.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.358 12/21/2014 11:38:20 PM
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off Retinol Products | FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Eyeshadow Palette on $65+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.