03.13.2015
13
925
Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm
Rating
$5.99
Category:Makeup > Lip Glosses > Lip Gloss
Last Updated:03.13.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Almay's a brand mostly known for its foundations, concealers, and eye products – but its Liquid Lip Balm is something that should get mouths talking! The name's a little bit deceptive, as this is more of a sheer moisturizing gloss than a balm, but the misnomer doesn't take away from its performance.

Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm comes with a doe-foot applicator and glides on easily and evenly. The color is sheer, but definitely noticeable, and it has a soft shine that's very attractive. This gloss is moisturizing without being too sticky or too slick, and feels very comfortable the whole time you're wearing it. Better still, lips feel softer even after the gloss has worn off!

Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm comes in a small but well-edited range of shades, including some great brights. It does have a faint scent of vanilla when it's first applied, but that fades quickly. All in all, this is a great gloss and a winner from Almay with a price that's just right!

Pros:
  • Sheer but noticeable color that applies evenly.
  • Attractive, soft-shine finish.
  • Moisturizing formula that isn't too slick or too sticky.
  • Lips feel softer even after the gloss has worn off.
  • A beauty bargain!
Cons:
  • None.
Claims
Ingredients

Polybutene, Petrolatum, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Tribehenin, C10 30 Cholesterol/Lanosterol Esters, Hydrogentated Polyisobutene, Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Polyglyceryl 4 Isostearate, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Cera Alba (Beeswax), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Wax, Tocopheryl Acetate, Pentaerythrityl Tetraethylhexanoate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Palmitic Acid, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Synthetic Wax, Aroma (Flavor), Benzoic Acid, BHT. May Contain (+/-):, Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Red 6 Lake (CI 15850), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Carmine (CI 75470), Blue 1 Lake (CI 47090), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Red 33 (CI 17200), Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985).

NOTE: Ingredients may vary by shade from the above listing.

Brand Overview

Almay At-A-Glance

Strengths: An excellent assortment of mascaras; several exceptional foundation options to choose from; a phenomenal liquid eyeliner; a selection of good makeup removers.

Weaknesses: Some of the Intense i-color products do the exact opposite of enhancing eye color; mediocre blushes; “Smart Shade” products don’t automatically adapt to skin’s color as claimed.

Long a standby for those with sensitive skin seeking hypoallergenic products (though that term is unregulated and can be applied to any product, regardless of ingredients), Almay continues to refine its comprehensive makeup line. In early 2006 the company repackaged its old favorites, and also relaunched several new makeup items. Everything now has a sleek new look and color-coded packaging. We admit, the makeover is effective, not just product-wise but visually too.

Shopping this drugstore line is now much easier because of the clearly defined product and color family groupings. Lamentably, testers and trial sizes of the makeup are still scarce regardless of where you shop. Almay has always been a reliable line for foundations, powder, and mascara. Within its current lineup you'll find that remains true. Their foundations are better than ever, and still offer full, broad-spectrum sun protection and a mostly neutral palette. We also found their concealers and mascaras have improved, as have the pencil options. When it comes to shopping for makeup staples with state-of-the-art formulas, Almay has many winners, and some innovative surprises that its competitors would be wise to learn from.

For more information about Almay, owned by Revlon, call (800) 992-5629 or visit www.almay.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
04.29.2015
Best Gloss EVER

I live in Canada, so during the winter my lips are in awful condition. I'll avoid using lipsticks and stick to chap-sticks. This gloss provides awesome moisture, AND it looks pretty! So yea, I'm a fan. Also I do use it all year round, just because I love it. The shades are a tad misleading (most look darker than they actually are), but they end up looking great!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Li
12.31.2014
Best MLBB gloss ever!

I have this gloss in the Truffle Kiss shade which is a perfect MLBB for me (fair, blonde) .. not too dark, not too light, just perfect! It's smooth, moisturizing, softly shiny, comfortable and leaves color on lips when the gloss wears off. When I find a winner I buy 3, one for purse, desk and car, which is exactly what I did with this one!!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Shelly
11.28.2014
Not a good pick for me.

It isn't too sticky, and the colour I bought (blooming balm) offers sheer coverage, and wonderful shine. It smells sweet- like a pastry. Ulta's website says it contains 'aroma (flavour)' so I think it has added fragrance. This might explain why it makes my lips tingle (which is irritation). I would have kept using it and repurchased in a darker shade if it wasn't for this issue. Wouldn't recommend for those with easily irritated lips.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Vanessa
09.11.2014
Great lip balm

This is a great feeling lip balm with just a hint of color for everyday wear. I agree that the colors on look nothing like the colors in the tube, but that's a good thing in my opinion. They are much more sheer and lighter than they appear in the tube. My lips do feel better even after it wears off, which it does do easily. I have rosy-lipped, which has no flavor or aroma to it at all.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Lauren
07.27.2014
strong flavor

The vanilla flavor/scent is way too strong for me. I had to throw it out.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
07.25.2014
Excellent

Absolutely LOVE this Balm! It has plenty of color and smells light and fresh. Will totally continue to buy this it is so smoothing and my lips feel great afterwards. Tons of colors too! GO ALMAY!!!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
L O.
05.17.2014
Excellent!!

One of the best i have ever used, I would put this at the top of my list for any lip product, IT IS that good. :)

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Beeyes
02.09.2014
love it!

Natural, yet pretty results. Smells great, good colors, and feels refreshing - not oily!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
susan r.
01.27.2014
Feels great, lousy colors

Consistency, texture, and hydration are great but the color selection leaves a lot to be desired. Colors do not look anything like the tube or color description once applied. The colors as to bright and juvenile. I would buy it again of they offered more sophisticated colors.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Erin G.
01.22.2014
A beauty deal

Paula is so great for sharing this beauty secret. This is a great deal for a great product Walgreens out these on sale all the time (buy one get one). Just bought some for 3.99! A nice gloss you can keep in the car and have one in purse, one in desk, etc. If it rolls away you aren't out fifteen bucks! I highly recommend this and woukd never have bought almay without Paula's review!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Elaine c
10.17.2013
best gloss/balm product

I adore this and bought every shade! It's so flattering, leaves a sheer hint of color and keeps lips soft and natural looking. I hate thick goopy glosses that have so much color - it only ends up making me looking cheap, bleeding all over the lips, getting stuck on teeth etc. This is the perfect hint of color thats not high shine but rather sophisticated, subtle and perfect for every day. I always have at least 2 in my purse, about 10 in my bathroom, wouldn't want to be without this.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Bethany
07.14.2013
I returned this

I returned this and did not care for it. Seems slightly sticky.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Vanessa C.
06.24.2013
great balm-gloss

This is great gloss for the money, I have many of the colos. Like them all! It seems to be a small wee bit drying.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Lori
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.401 7/3/2015 7:24:39 AM