03.24.2014
13
730
Intense i-Color Volumizing Mascara
Rating
$7.99
Category:Makeup > Mascaras (regular) > Regular Mascara
Last Updated:03.24.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Wow! Almay's revamped Intense I-Color Mascara is an excellent addition to the company's lineup of mascaras, with great performance all the way around.

First things first: Ignore Almay's claim about the color-coded aspect of this mascara, which says people with brown eyes should wear the plum shade, and people with blue eyes should wear the blue shade, etc.. From a fashion perspective, that is not true (ever see plum or blue false eyelashes?)—but, either way, all the shades are dark enough that you don't notice any difference on the lashes, and any of them should work, no matter what color your eyes are!

All that aside, this mascara does a fantastic job of lengthening and volumizing lashes, while adding curl as well. There's no clumping, even after several coats, or smudging all day long. (We confess: We unintentionally fell asleep while wearing this mascara, and the next morning it still hadn't smudged!). Best of all, the price is right, making this one to check out the next time you hit the drugstore!

Pros:
  • Mascara provides significant length and volume, with some curl.
  • No clumping.
  • No smudging, even after several hours of wear.
Cons:
  • None.
Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Almay At-A-Glance

Strengths: An excellent assortment of mascaras; several exceptional foundation options to choose from; a phenomenal liquid eyeliner; a selection of good makeup removers.

Weaknesses: Some of the Intense i-color products do the exact opposite of enhancing eye color; mediocre blushes; “Smart Shade” products don’t automatically adapt to skin’s color as claimed.

Long a standby for those with sensitive skin seeking hypoallergenic products (though that term is unregulated and can be applied to any product, regardless of ingredients), Almay continues to refine its comprehensive makeup line. In early 2006 the company repackaged its old favorites, and also relaunched several new makeup items. Everything now has a sleek new look and color-coded packaging. We admit, the makeover is effective, not just product-wise but visually too.

Shopping this drugstore line is now much easier because of the clearly defined product and color family groupings. Lamentably, testers and trial sizes of the makeup are still scarce regardless of where you shop. Almay has always been a reliable line for foundations, powder, and mascara. Within its current lineup you'll find that remains true. Their foundations are better than ever, and still offer full, broad-spectrum sun protection and a mostly neutral palette. We also found their concealers and mascaras have improved, as have the pencil options. When it comes to shopping for makeup staples with state-of-the-art formulas, Almay has many winners, and some innovative surprises that its competitors would be wise to learn from.

For more information about Almay, owned by Revlon, call (800) 992-5629 or visit www.almay.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.13.2015
clump clump

good in the beginning but very soon after purchase, clump clump your testers should not write a review after first application. They should try it for a few days

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Dale S.
04.04.2015
no good

very clumpy, goes on thick,too much glitter in it

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Ashley
03.18.2015
Very clumpy

Very clumpy. you have to use a lash brush after.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Cindy H.
10.12.2014
A One Use Wonder

I agree with the earlier comments that Almay's Intense I-Color mascara is fine on the first application. The more one uses it, however, the more it clumps and flakes. I could only recommend it if it is bought on sale, with a coupon and discarded after one use.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.30.2014
Disappointing Product

I purchased this because it was rated as one of the best mascaras and it was inexpensive. It turned out not to be a good product at all. After only two uses, it started clumping and flaking. With this mascara, most of the time in my make up routine involves getting rid of the flakes and clumps that appear ever time I use this. I'm really surprised it has such a good rating here, and I won't be repurchasing.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Lorell R.
01.31.2014
Flaky

This does not having the staying power I wish it would. Application was fine but it flaked half-way through the day

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Vicki
12.18.2013
A best pick?

Bought because it was a best pick. Put it on in the morning, looked in the mirror at noon and cheeks and eyelids were covered in flakes of mascara (not a few flakes either!). Unwearable product for me...

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
12.10.2013
Flaky and thin

I bought this based on the "Best" rating...however, I was extremely disappointed with this mascara. I don't know if the formula changed since the Paula's Choice review, but the mascara that I bought did not add any volume whatsoever, and made my lashes look thin and dry, and it flaked under my eyes. I bought the "midnight" colour, and it had sliver glitter in it that made my lashes look like they had dandruff. Needless to say, I threw this in the garbage after one use, so not a good value.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
SAMANTHA M.
11.23.2013
Not a success

Not much volume but fabulous length until about mid-morning when it starts to flake all over.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
10.27.2013
Short term success

It's a great mascara - for exactly 2 weeks. After 2 weeks it starts clumping and shedding.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Alexa E.
10.04.2013
Very disappointed

I purchased this on Paula's recommendation and was left disappointed in the mascara and bewildered by the "Best" rating. This mascara provided very little in the way of length or volume; it was completely underwhelming.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
09.23.2013
Not best at all!

The only thing "Best" about this mascara is the mocha color. The brush has too much mascara on it. Even after cleaning the globs from the brush tips, the mascara applied so heavily that my lashes clumped together and were difficult to separate even using fine forceps. It does remove easily with just cleanser but leaves tiny glitter specks around my lids. All-in-all, very disappointing!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Cindi
06.07.2013
Great Mascara

This is a great mascara. I got the mocha color and Paula is right, nothing mocha about it. Just a nice light black/dark brown. Get very good separation. Not sticky at all. I even used my eyelash curler for an extra boost after application, something I usually don't do. Can be found for much less than the $7.99 MSRP.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.394 5/30/2015 7:34:47 AM