Intense I-Color Volumizing Mascara

by Almay  
Price:
$7.99 
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Makeup > Mascaras (regular) > Regular Mascara
Last Updated:
3/24/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

Wow! Almay's revamped Intense I-Color Mascara is an excellent addition to the company's lineup of mascaras, with great performance all the way around.

First things first: Ignore Almay's claim about the color-coded aspect of this mascara, which says people with brown eyes should wear the plum shade, and people with blue eyes should wear the blue shade, etc.. From a fashion perspective, that is not true (ever see plum or blue false eyelashes?)—but, either way, all the shades are dark enough that you don't notice any difference on the lashes, and any of them should work, no matter what color your eyes are!

All that aside, this mascara does a fantastic job of lengthening and volumizing lashes, while adding curl as well. There's no clumping, even after several coats, or smudging all day long. (We confess: We unintentionally fell asleep while wearing this mascara, and the next morning it still hadn't smudged!). Best of all, the price is right, making this one to check out the next time you hit the drugstore!

Pros:
  • Mascara provides significant length and volume, with some curl.
  • No clumping.
  • No smudging, even after several hours of wear.
Cons:
  • None.

Long a standby for those with sensitive skin seeking hypoallergenic products (though that term is unregulated and can be applied to any product, regardless of ingredients), Almay continues to refine its comprehensive makeup line. In early 2006 the company repackaged its old favorites, and also relaunched several new makeup items. Everything now has a sleek new look and color-coded packaging. We admit, the makeover is effective, not just product-wise but visually too.

Shopping this drugstore line is now much easier because of the clearly defined product and color family groupings. Lamentably, testers and trial sizes of the makeup are still scarce regardless of where you shop. Almay has always been a reliable line for foundations, powder, and mascara. Within its current lineup you'll find that remains true. Their foundations are better than ever, and still offer full, broad-spectrum sun protection and a mostly neutral palette. We also found their concealers and mascaras have improved, as have the pencil options. When it comes to shopping for makeup staples with state-of-the-art formulas, Almay has many winners, and some innovative surprises that its competitors would be wise to learn from.

For more information about Almay, owned by Revlon, call (800) 992-5629 or visit www.almay.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
Page of 1
  1. Lorell R.
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 30, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Disappointing Product
    • I purchased this because it was rated as one of the best mascaras and it was inexpensive. It turned out not to be a good product at all. After only two uses, it started clumping and flaking. With this mascara, most of the time in my make up routine involves getting rid of the flakes and clumps that appear ever time I use this. I'm really surprised it has such a good rating here, and I won't be repurchasing.

  2. Vicki
    Reviewed on Friday, January 31, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Flaky
    • This does not having the staying power I wish it would. Application was fine but it flaked half-way through the day

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    A best pick?
    • Bought because it was a best pick. Put it on in the morning, looked in the mirror at noon and cheeks and eyelids were covered in flakes of mascara (not a few flakes either!). Unwearable product for me...

  4. SAMANTHA M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Flaky and thin
    • I bought this based on the "Best" rating...however, I was extremely disappointed with this mascara. I don't know if the formula changed since the Paula's Choice review, but the mascara that I bought did not add any volume whatsoever, and made my lashes look thin and dry, and it flaked under my eyes. I bought the "midnight" colour, and it had sliver glitter in it that made my lashes look like they had dandruff. Needless to say, I threw this in the garbage after one use, so not a good value.

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 23, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Not a success
    • Not much volume but fabulous length until about mid-morning when it starts to flake all over.

  6. Alexa E.
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 27, 2013
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Short term success
    • It's a great mascara - for exactly 2 weeks. After 2 weeks it starts clumping and shedding.

  7. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, October 04, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Very disappointed
    • I purchased this on Paula's recommendation and was left disappointed in the mascara and bewildered by the "Best" rating. This mascara provided very little in the way of length or volume; it was completely underwhelming.

  8. Cindi
    Reviewed on Monday, September 23, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Not best at all!
    • The only thing "Best" about this mascara is the mocha color. The brush has too much mascara on it. Even after cleaning the globs from the brush tips, the mascara applied so heavily that my lashes clumped together and were difficult to separate even using fine forceps. It does remove easily with just cleanser but leaves tiny glitter specks around my lids. All-in-all, very disappointing!

  9. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, June 07, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Great Mascara
    • This is a great mascara. I got the mocha color and Paula is right, nothing mocha about it. Just a nice light black/dark brown. Get very good separation. Not sticky at all. I even used my eyelash curler for an extra boost after application, something I usually don't do. Can be found for much less than the $7.99 MSRP.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.326
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.