12.31.2014
6
1811
One Coat Triple Effect
Rating
$8.19
Category:Makeup > Mascaras (regular) > Regular Mascara
Last Updated:12.31.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

One Coat Nourishing Mascara Triple Effect is marvelous. It has a dual-sided brush that maximizes length, curl, and thickness, although if you get too enthusiastic while applying, it can go on somewhat heavy and uneven. The brush side with the longer bristles quickly lengthens and separates lashes, while the opposite side has short, closely packed bristles to add thickness and drama. The formula keeps lashes soft and makes it easy to remove with a water-soluble cleanser, making this a top choice and one that rivals the best mascaras from L'Oreal. Of course, there is nothing in it that is nourishing for your lashes.

Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Almay At-A-Glance

Strengths: An excellent assortment of mascaras; several exceptional foundation options to choose from; a phenomenal liquid eyeliner; a selection of good makeup removers.

Weaknesses: Some of the Intense i-color products do the exact opposite of enhancing eye color; mediocre blushes; “Smart Shade” products don’t automatically adapt to skin’s color as claimed.

Long a standby for those with sensitive skin seeking hypoallergenic products (though that term is unregulated and can be applied to any product, regardless of ingredients), Almay continues to refine its comprehensive makeup line. In early 2006 the company repackaged its old favorites, and also relaunched several new makeup items. Everything now has a sleek new look and color-coded packaging. We admit, the makeover is effective, not just product-wise but visually too.

Shopping this drugstore line is now much easier because of the clearly defined product and color family groupings. Lamentably, testers and trial sizes of the makeup are still scarce regardless of where you shop. Almay has always been a reliable line for foundations, powder, and mascara. Within its current lineup you'll find that remains true. Their foundations are better than ever, and still offer full, broad-spectrum sun protection and a mostly neutral palette. We also found their concealers and mascaras have improved, as have the pencil options. When it comes to shopping for makeup staples with state-of-the-art formulas, Almay has many winners, and some innovative surprises that its competitors would be wise to learn from.

For more information about Almay, owned by Revlon, call (800) 992-5629 or visit www.almay.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment that Paula Begoun, founder of Beautypedia and Paula's Choice Skincare made over 30 years ago-to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
03.10.2015
doesn't stay well

This mascara looks good initially (doesn't clump, separates the lashes, lengthens, and gives a natural look). However, it doesn't stay put. By the afternoon I have mascara flakes under my eyes and all over my face. I have to wipe them off constantly, which is not cool. I don't get it why this mascara is rated so high. It is like they tried it on for a few minutes, liked the effect and washed it off. If they would have worn it for one full day, I am confident they would not have given it 4 stars

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Julia N.
12.23.2014
Just ok, for sensitive eyes

I have sensitive eyes, so my main criteria for a successful mascara is one that doesn't make my eyes itch. While Almay mascaras succeed for me on that point, this particular type is a fail. The One Coat Triple Effect gives me bad raccoon eyes by the end of the day, even though my skin is on the dry side. I also have a hard time with the brush on my fine lashes.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Carina K.
04.06.2014
Not for sensitive eyes

I switched to this brand because of the supposed hypoallergenic properties. I've been using this for at least 5 months now and have developed a sensitivity. Started getting itchy near the tear ducts like when I previously used Maybelline's Great Lash mascara. Prior to the sensitivity, this product was great! No clumps, lasts all day, no smudging and comes off reasonably well with makeup remover. Sigh. Moving on...

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Karen A
07.10.2013
a drug store favorite

My experiences are very consistent with the Beautypedia review. This is one of the best value products at the drug store, in my opinion. 2 coats with the long bristle side, no clumps and I'm ready to go. Fabulous! one of my favorite mascaras.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Ilia
04.12.2013
Don't buy

Hate this mascara. Had smudges after an hour. I loved the Almay Nourishing triple effect but the discontinued it. Why would they do that and leave us with this inferior mascara?

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
RITA C.
02.26.2013
Don't buy it!

This mascara runs! By 9:00 a.m. I was shocked to find dark smudges under my eyes and I have not switched eyeliners, so it's definitely the mascara... I'm surprised that this is rated a "best" product, it's the only mascara I've ever used that runs! Don't buy it ladies :-(

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.389 4/27/2015 5:42:19 PM