Smart Shade CC Cream Complexion Corrector SPF 35 Broad Spectrum

by Almay  
Price:
$9.99 - 1 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Makeup > Tinted Moisturizers/BB Creams > CC Cream
Last Updated:
12/2/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

Almay has been stepping up their makeup game with some noteworthy additions, and we're happy to report their CC cream is no exception! Before we get down to business, if you're wondering what the difference is between CC creams and BB creams, here's the answer: It's all about marketing language, nothing more. Generally, a BB cream from U.S. cosmetics brands is similar to a tinted moisturizer, while a CC cream is more like a liquid foundation, but not always. BB and CC creams typically provide sun protection and may or may not include beneficial ingredients like antioxidants or skin-lightening agents. Neither BB nor CC creams are as revolutionary as they are made out to be, and there is certainly no consistency among products from different brands.

Almay's CC cream is a worthwhile option if you're looking for a lightweight foundation for normal to dry skin. It provides great broad-spectrum sun protection with both synthetic and mineral active ingredients. It also contains an impressive array of skin-beneficial ingredients.

The liquid formula applies easily and sets quickly, providing medium coverage for redness and other imperfections. The result is a natural finish that doesn't look "made up" at all, although it is a bit dewy, and so is not recommended for people with oily skin or with combination skin that tends to be more oily.

This CC Cream wears well most of the day, with some fading after about seven hours of wear. It comes in only three shades, but all three are natural looking for their intended skin tones.

Overall, if you're looking for a lightweight foundation that has some sun-protection benefits, this CC Cream is worth a look the next time you're at the drugstore!

Pros:
  • Provides broad-spectrum sun protection as advertised.
  • Has a natural, dewy finish that wears well for several hours.
  • Provides effective lightweight coverage for redness and other imperfections.
  • Shades are well-suited for their intended skin tones.
  • Fragrance-free.
Cons:
  • Finish is too dewy for oily skin or for combination skin that's more oily.

Active Ingredients: Octinoxate 7.5%, Octisalate 5.0%, Titanium Dioxide 5.1%. Inactive Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Dimethicone, Neopentyl Glycol Diheptanoate, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Phenyl Trimethicone, Glyceryl Stearate, Tridecyl Trimellitate, Isotridecyl Isononanoate, Isostearic Acid, Boron Nitride, Alumina, Niacinamide, Sodium Hyaluronate, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Lecithin, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizrate, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Fruit Extract, Saxifraga Sarmentosa (Strawberry Saxifrage) Extract, Hydrolyzed Glycosaminoglycans, Scutellaria Baicalensis (Baikal Skullcap) Root Extract, Morus Bombycis (Chinese Mulberry) Root Extract, Stearic Acid, Steareth-2, Tromethamine, Polyacrylamide, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Steareth-21, Methucone, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Xanthan Gum, Simethicone, Laureth-7, Sorbitan Laurate, Polysorbate 20, Propylene Glycol Laurate, Propylene Glycol Stearate, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparben, Ethylparaben. May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides.

Long a standby for those with sensitive skin seeking hypoallergenic products (though that term is unregulated and can be applied to any product, regardless of ingredients), Almay continues to refine its comprehensive makeup line. In early 2006 the company repackaged its old favorites, and also relaunched several new makeup items. Everything now has a sleek new look and color-coded packaging. We admit, the makeover is effective, not just product-wise but visually too.

Shopping this drugstore line is now much easier because of the clearly defined product and color family groupings. Lamentably, testers and trial sizes of the makeup are still scarce regardless of where you shop. Almay has always been a reliable line for foundations, powder, and mascara. Within its current lineup you'll find that remains true. Their foundations are better than ever, and still offer full, broad-spectrum sun protection and a mostly neutral palette. We also found their concealers and mascaras have improved, as have the pencil options. When it comes to shopping for makeup staples with state-of-the-art formulas, Almay has many winners, and some innovative surprises that its competitors would be wise to learn from.

For more information about Almay, owned by Revlon, call (800) 992-5629 or visit www.almay.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. georgia
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 07, 2014
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Light Coverage
    • I bought this highly rated makeup because Paula said it provided medium coverage. In my experience, the coverage is light to very light. Other than that, it's moisturizing enough for my dry skinand and doesn't irritate.

  2. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 02, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Love turned sour
    • This started out great, especially in drier weather, as it has a more oily consistency than other BB and CC creams I've tried. Halfway through the bottle, it separated. It would appear on my hand as a lavender swirl. Despite many attempts to shake it back to life, it continued to be a purple mess. Going back to the Physicians' Formula creams, which are thicker but have never separated on me.

  3. Kim H
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 10, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    BEST !!
    • I love the sheerness of the product and that it's so lightweight. But mostly, I LOVE how it evens out my skin tone, and has even helped my "age" and sun damaged skin spots, FADE !! Great value....!! I was given a sample of a similar product at Macy's......the cost was 7 times what the Almay product was, and it was WAY to heavy and thick. I just pray you keep making this!!!

  4. KJRGFND
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 24, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Not for the truly fair-skinned
    • My skin is very light but not truly fair like Nicole Kidman's. This Almay product in the lightest shade is still too dark for me. I have mature/normal to slightly dry skin & this product gives me a shiny finish which I have to powder over. For me, the Cover Girl CGSmoothers BB cream SPR 21 Tinted Moisturizer in the #805 Fair to Light shade is a dream come true. The tint is light enough & the finish gives me a dewy glow that is a plus in itself. No powder needed or wanted.

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 06, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Light, natural coverage
    • I love that this has SPF 35. It provides light, natural coverage. The finish is dewy and makes my skin glow. I have to top this off with my Physician's Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Airbrushing Pressed Powder SPF 30 to set this CC cream and add a little extra SPF protection. My skin is normal to combo. This product is like a tinted moisturizer, so the coverage is light. If you need full coverage foundation, this is not be the product for you.

  6. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 08, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    too shiny
    • I have fair skin and finding a match can be challenging, but this CC cream was pretty good in that department. But when the description is "dewy", take it seriously. The shiny finish highlights any imperfection in your skin's texture. You have to use considerable powder to combat this, and then end up looking cake and fake, not what you are looking for in a CC cream.

  7. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, March 07, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Raging Fire
    • I purchased this product today because of the great review here. I already love the Smart Shade Anti Aging Makeup and now expected even greater things out of the CC cream. Unfortunately, it did not work out. I have mature, sensitive dehydrated skin with a lot of redness. Shortly after I applied the product it started burning like fire. My eyes were watering like crazy. Just came back from CVS returning it. I blame the chemical sunscreens. Definately not for sensitive skin.

  8. Annette D.
    Reviewed on Friday, January 10, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Comparable to amazing foundation by too faced
    • It was an ok foundation. I feel like it wouldn't last as long as as a foundation packaged in a bottle. I'm sure the SPF will cause me to break out if used regularly. I've had better foundations. I do like it when they contain peptides.

  9. Jill H.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 09, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Love it!
    • Just bought this yesterday. I wanted a lightweight foundation for everyday, thought I would give this a try based on Paula's recommendation and so far I love it. Feel is silky smooth, covers great, I bought medium and it is a very good match for my skin. Highly recommend!

  10. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 28, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Good product
    • Nice finish. Medium/light coverage; I have to use concealer and finishing powder to hide redness. I really enjoy wearing this to work as it looks natural but helps even out my skin. My skin is sensitive, and I haven't had any issues with this product. The price is excellent and I will repurchase.

  11. Jennifer K.
    Reviewed on Monday, November 25, 2013
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Unfortunate
    • The lightest option color available was a good match for my winter time skin. The thin consistency easily spread to a light - medium coverage that was ever so slightly blowy finish. Quite nice and I was pleased with the results. For about a week. Then the scent changed to something quite foul. This was a very similar to my experience to the revlon color stay BB cream. Now I wonder if it is an ingredient within the product?

  12. Sandra P.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 30, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Allergic.
    • Overall i felt the product was great, i read the review on beautypedia and figured i had to try it. I have dry, sensitive, acne prone skin (horrible combination). Well i finally learned and now i do patch testing with all the products i put on my skin. I put this on the back of my wrist and a little on my under chin and almost in no time i began to feel it sting and burn kind of like the maybelline bb cream i decided to try a couple years back and it made my whole face red, stingy and itchy.Sad.

  13. Sally L.
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 08, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    My new favorite foundation!
    • I have dry skin with rosacea and it is hard to find a foundation that meets my needs. After checking Paula's reviews I thought I'd try Almay's Smart Shade CC Cream. I am so pleased with it! It is my new favorite foundation! I got the light/medium shade and it is a perfect match. :)

  14. Jessie R.
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 28, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Great Product!
    • I picked up Almay's new SmartShade CC Cream because I wanted a product with sun protection that also provided some redness coverage. I was skeptical about the SmartShade technology because I have very fair skin and some makeup lines do not carry shades that are light enough for my skin tone. I bought the lightest shade and it matched perfectly! I'm very satisfied with the coverage that it provides and it has even helped with my dry patches. I would give it five stars if I could!

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.358 12/22/2014 3:17:51 AM
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off Retinol Products | FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Eyeshadow Palette on $65+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.