11.26.2014
11
1869
AHA Souffle 12% Glycolic AHA
Rating
1.6 fl. oz. for $14.99
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
pH:4.00
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

AHA Souffle includes 12% glycolic acid formulated at a pH of 4, which makes this effective for exfoliation. The lightweight but substantial-feeling cream base is basic, although a few antioxidants are included, which is a nice touch (and since this product now comes packaged in a tube rather than a jar they will remain stable during use). This is an effective, fragrance-free AHA option for normal to dry skin.

Claims

A lightweight, non-greasy formula; the ultimate in powerful, natural exfoliation. Reduces the appearance of fine lines & wrinkles, smoothes, softens & restores skin. Preserves firmness and prevent free radicals from breaking skin down. In a matter of days, your skin will begin to look younger & more radiant.

Ingredients

Water, Glycolic Acid, Ammonium Hydroxide, Cetyl Alcohol, Propylene Glycol, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Stearic Acid, PEG-40 Stearate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Polysorbate 60, Steareth 2, Hydrolyzed Lupine Protein, Green Tea Extract, Panthanol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Xanthan Gum, PVM/MA Decadiene Crosspolymer, Imidazolidinyl Urea,BHT

Brand Overview

Alpha Hydrox At-A-Glance

Strengths: A good selection of well-priced, effective AHA products utilizing glycolic acid; also excels with skin-lightening and retinol products; a small but workable selection of cleansers.

Weaknesses:A couple of moisturizers with oxygenating ingredients; reliance on jar packaging for some products with antioxidants.

Known primarily for their well-formulated AHA products, Alpha Hydrox got an impressive image update recently. Although the improvements were more visual and packaging-related than formulary-driven, the fact remains that Alpha Hydrox has a formidable range of effective AHA products, all with definitively researched glycolic acid. Kudos to the company for continuing to be direct about the AHA content (and pH) of their exfoliants, something most other lines selling AHA products prefer to keep a mystery. Should the folks behind this brand choose to go back to the drawing board once again, they would do well to reconsider their current jar packaging if they intend to keep adding antioxidants and other beneficial ingredients to their efficacious but still predominantly basic products. Until then, you can rely on Alpha Hydrox for supplying AHA products that really work, and a few other surprises too, all affordably priced and readily available.

For more information about Alpha Hydrox, call 1-800-447-1919 or visit www.alphahydrox.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.21.2015
Good cream

Can I use vitamin c serum under this cream, or over it ,or because it's aha should be the first product goes on the skin ,thank you

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
awatif L.
07.21.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  If you've already been using both an AHA and a vitamin C serum, you should be okay to use this AHA product and then your serum after.  If you are new to either treatment, we'd suggest seperating them -- trying the AHA in the day and the Vitamin C at night (or vice versa) to slowly introduce them to your routine.

—Admin
07.10.2015
beauty in a tube

I have oily acne prone skin. I have tried retin a, an pc bha. With retin a my skin broke out for 8 mths an plus my skin looked grey. With PC bha I broke out for months as well. Then I remembered that proactiv toner uses a aha in its formula and my skin was beautiful when I was using that line. But I wanted a stronger aha and looked to PC for the best aha an this was recommended. Been using for this for 3wks an my skin is absolutley beautiful. My fine lines an tiny bumps on my 4head are gone.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
cecilia s
07.08.2015
favorite..and i've tried it all

I'm 31, but constantly am mistaken for being in my early to mid 20's. Love this product...use it day and night and my skin is smooth, clear, and lineless. Will continue to use as long as they continue to make this stuff.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.10.2015
Wow!

I bought this after seeing such a great review on Beautypedia and it really is an amazing product! It has evened out my skin so much in the few weeks since I started using this. I don't find it to be drying on my normal-dry skin (but I still do add moisturizer). I wasn't sure how this would work for me as I'd never tried AHA before and I was starting with a rather high concentration, but it didn't irritate my somewhat sensitive skin at all. Love it!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Morgan S.
01.31.2015
Works for my sensitive skin

I have very picky, combination skin with the beginnings of rosacea. BHA and I do not get along at all, but I love this exfoliant. My skin feels smoother and looks less flaky and congested after using.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
kristin f
01.15.2015
works. but can be drying

very good product and is effective, skin is noticeable softer however it can be drying so i additionally use another moisturizer on top for its value i will buy again

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
rainey
09.16.2014
the best

I just found out about this product and am so glad I did. I have been using Clinique Dark Spot Corrector along with other expensive brands to get rid of dark acne marks. I also have large pores. I have only been using this for 3 days and the spots I've been trying to get ride of is almost gone. I can't believe how clear my face is. I only use it at night and in the morning my face definitely glows. I am going to recommend this to my mom.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
shirley
01.19.2014
Great and affordable to boot

I picked up this product for my mom. She loves it. Just one use has made a noticeable difference in her face. We both noticed her skin looks more even and is glowing. Because it is 12% AHA, it's probably best to use this once a week especially when first using this product. I recommend anyone who's interested in an AHA to check out this great product.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
12.06.2013
Noteable improvement!

I have been using AHA Soufflé daily in the AM under an SPF 30 moisturizer, and another highly rated retinol product in the PM for approaching 3 months now, and I am so pleased with the results. My skin is much softer and noticeably brighter than before I began using it. It is not a magic eraser of fine lines, but the lines on my face, particularly my forehead where they are deepest, have a much softer look to them and are less noticeable. Good stuff!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Jen
10.07.2013
Radiant Skin

I have been using this for years. I didn't know that it was okay to use everyday until recently. I found that my skin looked SO much better the morning after I used it. It appeared so much less "dull", and even seemed radiant. My skin is not in the best condition, but this makes it look and feel so much better. I'm using it every day now, and it is even better. I don't like the smell, but it doesn't linger. I highly recommend!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Robin H
03.09.2013
Good exfoliant - updated packaging!

This is a good AHA exfoliant that has a few extra goodies. BTW, this is no longer in jar packaging, it's been changed to an opaque tube!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Nathan R
03.11.2013
Beautypedia Team Response

Thank you for the information! We will update our review accordingly.

—Paula's Choice Research Team
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.411 8/27/2015 4:25:30 PM