11.26.2014
7
Alpha Hydrox
AHA Souffle 12% Glycolic AHA
Rating
1.6 fl. oz. for $14.99
Category:Skin Care > AHA Exfoliants > AHA
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:False
pH:4.00
Tested on animals:No
Overview

AHA Souffle includes 12% glycolic acid formulated at a pH of 4, which makes this effective for exfoliation. The lightweight but substantial-feeling cream base is basic, although a few antioxidants are included, which is a nice touch (and since this product now comes packaged in a tube rather than a jar they will remain stable during use). This is an effective, fragrance-free AHA option for normal to dry skin.

Claims

A lightweight, non-greasy formula; the ultimate in powerful, natural exfoliation. Reduces the appearance of fine lines & wrinkles, smoothes, softens & restores skin. Preserves firmness and prevent free radicals from breaking skin down. In a matter of days, your skin will begin to look younger & more radiant.

Ingredients

Water, Glycolic Acid, Ammonium Hydroxide, Cetyl Alcohol, Propylene Glycol, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Stearic Acid, PEG-40 Stearate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Polysorbate 60, Steareth 2, Hydrolyzed Lupine Protein, Green Tea Extract, Panthanol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Xanthan Gum, PVM/MA Decadiene Crosspolymer, Imidazolidinyl Urea,BHT

Brand Overview

Alpha Hydrox At-A-Glance

Strengths: A good selection of well-priced, effective AHA products utilizing glycolic acid; also excels with skin-lightening and retinol products; a small but workable selection of cleansers.

Weaknesses:A couple of moisturizers with oxygenating ingredients; reliance on jar packaging for some products with antioxidants.

Known primarily for their well-formulated AHA products, Alpha Hydrox got an impressive image update recently. Although the improvements were more visual and packaging-related than formulary-driven, the fact remains that Alpha Hydrox has a formidable range of effective AHA products, all with definitively researched glycolic acid. Kudos to the company for continuing to be direct about the AHA content (and pH) of their exfoliants, something most other lines selling AHA products prefer to keep a mystery. Should the folks behind this brand choose to go back to the drawing board once again, they would do well to reconsider their current jar packaging if they intend to keep adding antioxidants and other beneficial ingredients to their efficacious but still predominantly basic products. Until then, you can rely on Alpha Hydrox for supplying AHA products that really work, and a few other surprises too, all affordably priced and readily available.

For more information about Alpha Hydrox, call 1-800-447-1919 or visit www.alphahydrox.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page
Saturday, January 31, 2015
Works for my sensitive skin

I have very picky, combination skin with the beginnings of rosacea. BHA and I do not get along at all, but I love this exfoliant. My skin feels smoother and looks less flaky and congested after using.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
kristin f
Thursday, January 15, 2015
works. but can be drying

very good product and is effective, skin is noticeable softer however it can be drying so i additionally use another moisturizer on top for its value i will buy again

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
rainey
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
the best

I just found out about this product and am so glad I did. I have been using Clinique Dark Spot Corrector along with other expensive brands to get rid of dark acne marks. I also have large pores. I have only been using this for 3 days and the spots I've been trying to get ride of is almost gone. I can't believe how clear my face is. I only use it at night and in the morning my face definitely glows. I am going to recommend this to my mom.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
shirley
Sunday, January 19, 2014
Great and affordable to boot

I picked up this product for my mom. She loves it. Just one use has made a noticeable difference in her face. We both noticed her skin looks more even and is glowing. Because it is 12% AHA, it's probably best to use this once a week especially when first using this product. I recommend anyone who's interested in an AHA to check out this great product.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
Friday, December 06, 2013
Noteable improvement!

I have been using AHA Soufflé daily in the AM under an SPF 30 moisturizer, and another highly rated retinol product in the PM for approaching 3 months now, and I am so pleased with the results. My skin is much softer and noticeably brighter than before I began using it. It is not a magic eraser of fine lines, but the lines on my face, particularly my forehead where they are deepest, have a much softer look to them and are less noticeable. Good stuff!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Jen
Monday, October 07, 2013
Radiant Skin

I have been using this for years. I didn't know that it was okay to use everyday until recently. I found that my skin looked SO much better the morning after I used it. It appeared so much less "dull", and even seemed radiant. My skin is not in the best condition, but this makes it look and feel so much better. I'm using it every day now, and it is even better. I don't like the smell, but it doesn't linger. I highly recommend!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Robin H
Saturday, March 09, 2013
Good exfoliant - updated packaging!

This is a good AHA exfoliant that has a few extra goodies. BTW, this is no longer in jar packaging, it's been changed to an opaque tube!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Nathan R
Paula's Choice Research Team Response
Replied on: Monday, March 11, 2013

Thank you for the information! We will update our review accordingly.

—Paula's Choice Research Team
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.369 2/26/2015 4:58:27 PM