12.02.2014
9
3027
Spot Light Skin Lightener Fade Cream
Rating
0.85 fl. oz. for $9.99
Category:Skin Care > Retinol Products > Lighteners With Hydroquinone
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:No
pH:3.30
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Spot Light Targeted Skin Lightener is a well-formulated, skin-lightening product that combines 2% hydroquinone with 10% glycolic acid in a base with a pH of 3.3, all in packaging that will keep the hydroquinone stable.

The lightweight lotion base is suitable for normal to slightly dry or dry skin, and the only thing missing is a selection of state-of-the-art skin-identical ingredients and more antioxidants (vitamin E is included). Still, this remains one of the better options for those who want to lighten sun- or hormone-induced brown skin discolorations, and the glycolic acid works in tandem with the hydroquinone to improve skin’s appearance and texture.

Claims

Say goodbye to freckles, age and liver spots, changes in your skin pigmentation that occurred during pregnancy or when you began using oral contraceptives. This highly effective targeted skin lightener contains a unique combination 10% Glycolic Alpha Hydroxy Acid and Hydroquinone, which is proven to lighten skin discolorations. The special applicator tip provides easy application right on the spot so fading of unaffected areas won’t be a concern.

Ingredients

Active: Hydroquinone (2%), Other: Water, Glycolic Acid, Propylene Glycol, Isopropyl Palmitate, Mineral Oil, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Ozokerite, Sodium Hydroxide, Steareth-20, Laureth-23, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Dimethicone, Xanthan Gum, Sodium PVM/MA Decadiene Crosspolymer, Sorbic Acid, Sodium Metabisulfite, Imidazolidinyl Urea, Tetrasodium EDTA, Fragrance BHT

Brand Overview

Alpha Hydrox At-A-Glance

Strengths: A good selection of well-priced, effective AHA products utilizing glycolic acid; also excels with skin-lightening and retinol products; a small but workable selection of cleansers.

Weaknesses:A couple of moisturizers with oxygenating ingredients; reliance on jar packaging for some products with antioxidants.

Known primarily for their well-formulated AHA products, Alpha Hydrox got an impressive image update recently. Although the improvements were more visual and packaging-related than formulary-driven, the fact remains that Alpha Hydrox has a formidable range of effective AHA products, all with definitively researched glycolic acid. Kudos to the company for continuing to be direct about the AHA content (and pH) of their exfoliants, something most other lines selling AHA products prefer to keep a mystery. Should the folks behind this brand choose to go back to the drawing board once again, they would do well to reconsider their current jar packaging if they intend to keep adding antioxidants and other beneficial ingredients to their efficacious but still predominantly basic products. Until then, you can rely on Alpha Hydrox for supplying AHA products that really work, and a few other surprises too, all affordably priced and readily available.

For more information about Alpha Hydrox, call 1-800-447-1919 or visit www.alphahydrox.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.01.2015
Question

Since this priduct has 10% AHA would it be too much to use it everyday? So it's more like a weekly treatment?

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.15.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  AHAs in any concentration should be introduced into the skincare routine slowly and this one is no different. An AHA concentration at 10% could be used several times a week if you can tolerate it!  Try maybe twice a week at first and depending on your results, either increase or decrease usage from then.  And spot test, of course!  :)

—Admin
01.14.2015
Was skeptical...

I have medication induced melasma from cystic acne, plus I worked outside and I am already prone freckling. I have been debating on whether to get laser, IPL, fraxel, chemical peels etc... When I came across this rec. from Paula, I jumped on it. I have to admit that being diligent with it twice daily was not always easy, and I did get frustrated when I didn't see immediate results. But I kept at it. Six weeks later...voila. It really does work. Noticeably lighter. I'm impressed.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
M.E.
07.29.2014
Worked for me!

I've had some terrible dark spots on my cheeks for the past two years, and they've gotten worse. I tried several other more expensive products with only minimal improvement. This worked! After 3 days (using only at night) I saw fading, after two weeks the spots are gone!!! So cheap for such great results for me. I'm 31, normal skin, no sensitivity issues.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.24.2014
Harmful to skin!

If you have sensitive skin, or skin that is even slightly dry, AVOID this product. I used it for 3 days and I still can't clear up the dry patch that resulted from the use of it! I can't believe this gets a BEST rating from Paula's team. Maybe in the test tube it looks like it would be good, but in real use, it is horrible.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Poetrybug
01.13.2014
does what it says

I've been using this product for a month now. I definitely see an improvement: the freckles on my cheeks are SLOWLY disappearing. I will continue using the product until the tube is empty. It stings a bit at first, so start off with a minimal application. You don't need a lot of product, either. Twice a day is the recommended application. I usually leave it on for about 20-30 minutes, max, then I wash it off and continue with my regular face routine (depending on the time of the day.)

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Karla A.
11.25.2013
Amazing

This lightening cream is amazing. I started using it on my face and within about 4 days, the spots were starting to fade. I have very sensitive skin and have had no adverse effects so I was impressed with the product. I tried it on my hands as well and my sunspots are fading noticably. An excellent and effective product!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Margaret M.
07.08.2013
This didn't do a thing for me.

It's inexpensive, but it's not a good buy if it doesn't work. Usually, Alpha Hydrox products are great, so this is an anomaly in more ways than one. This one may make a good moisturizer for dry skin, as it's quite emollient. Otherwise, it's useless as a hatrack to a moose.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
BARBARA H.
07.07.2013
Best dark spot corrector?

I'm surprised to still see this under a "Best" listing. I purchased this a couple of years ago and it did absolutely nothing for me.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Noelle P
07.06.2013
Not effective for me

I was excited to use this product, I like this brand and the price. I used it faithfully everyday until I finished the tube. It didn't fade my sun spots in the least. I have a few on each side of my face that aren't too dark and cover well enough with makeup but that I see and know are there. I am 45, a professional makeup artist, and I am diligent in using my SPF 50+ on my face each day. warning: I used a fan to shield my face while driving, SPF wasn't enough, felt like a vampire in sun

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Michelle
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.394 5/29/2015 1:16:48 AM