Spot Light Skin Lightener Fade Cream

Price:
$9.99 - 0.85 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Retinol Products > Lighteners With Hydroquinone
Last Updated:
6/30/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
pH:
3.30
Tested On Animals:
No

Spot Light Targeted Skin Lightener is a well-formulated, skin-lightening product that combines 2% hydroquinone with 10% glycolic acid in a base with a pH of 3.3, all in packaging that will keep the hydroquinone stable.

The lightweight lotion base is suitable for normal to slightly dry or dry skin, and the only thing missing is a selection of state-of-the-art skin-identical ingredients and more antioxidants (vitamin E is included). Still, this remains one of the better options for those who want to lighten sun- or hormone-induced brown skin discolorations, and the glycolic acid works in tandem with the hydroquinone to improve skin’s appearance and texture.

Say goodbye to freckles, age and liver spots, changes in your skin pigmentation that occurred during pregnancy or when you began using oral contraceptives. This highly effective targeted skin lightener contains a unique combination 10% Glycolic Alpha Hydroxy Acid and Hydroquinone, which is proven to lighten skin discolorations. The special applicator tip provides easy application right on the spot so fading of unaffected areas won’t be a concern.

Active: Hydroquinone (2%), Other: Water, Glycolic Acid, Propylene Glycol, Isopropyl Palmitate, Mineral Oil, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Ozokerite, Sodium Hydroxide, Steareth-20, Laureth-23, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Dimethicone, Xanthan Gum, Sodium PVM/MA Decadiene Crosspolymer, Sorbic Acid, Sodium Metabisulfite, Imidazolidinyl Urea, Tetrasodium EDTA, Fragrance BHT

Known primarily for their well-formulated AHA products, Alpha Hydrox got an impressive image update recently. Although the improvements were more visual and packaging-related than formulary-driven, the fact remains that Alpha Hydrox has a formidable range of effective AHA products, all with definitively researched glycolic acid. Kudos to the company for continuing to be direct about the AHA content (and pH) of their exfoliants, something most other lines selling AHA products prefer to keep a mystery. Should the folks behind this brand choose to go back to the drawing board once again, they would do well to reconsider their current jar packaging if they intend to keep adding antioxidants and other beneficial ingredients to their efficacious but still predominantly basic products. Until then, you can rely on Alpha Hydrox for supplying AHA products that really work, and a few other surprises too, all affordably priced and readily available.

For more information about Alpha Hydrox, call 1-800-447-1919 or visit www.alphahydrox.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 29, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Worked for me!
    • I've had some terrible dark spots on my cheeks for the past two years, and they've gotten worse. I tried several other more expensive products with only minimal improvement. This worked! After 3 days (using only at night) I saw fading, after two weeks the spots are gone!!! So cheap for such great results for me. I'm 31, normal skin, no sensitivity issues.

  2. Poetrybug
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 24, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Harmful to skin!
    • If you have sensitive skin, or skin that is even slightly dry, AVOID this product. I used it for 3 days and I still can't clear up the dry patch that resulted from the use of it! I can't believe this gets a BEST rating from Paula's team. Maybe in the test tube it looks like it would be good, but in real use, it is horrible.

  3. Karla A.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 13, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    does what it says
    • I've been using this product for a month now. I definitely see an improvement: the freckles on my cheeks are SLOWLY disappearing. I will continue using the product until the tube is empty. It stings a bit at first, so start off with a minimal application. You don't need a lot of product, either. Twice a day is the recommended application. I usually leave it on for about 20-30 minutes, max, then I wash it off and continue with my regular face routine (depending on the time of the day.)

  4. Margaret M.
    Reviewed on Monday, November 25, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Amazing
    • This lightening cream is amazing. I started using it on my face and within about 4 days, the spots were starting to fade. I have very sensitive skin and have had no adverse effects so I was impressed with the product. I tried it on my hands as well and my sunspots are fading noticably. An excellent and effective product!

  5. BARBARA H.
    Reviewed on Monday, July 08, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    This didn't do a thing for me.
    • It's inexpensive, but it's not a good buy if it doesn't work. Usually, Alpha Hydrox products are great, so this is an anomaly in more ways than one. This one may make a good moisturizer for dry skin, as it's quite emollient. Otherwise, it's useless as a hatrack to a moose.

  6. Noelle P
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 07, 2013
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Best dark spot corrector?
    • I'm surprised to still see this under a "Best" listing. I purchased this a couple of years ago and it did absolutely nothing for me.

  7. Michelle
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 06, 2013
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Not effective for me
    • I was excited to use this product, I like this brand and the price. I used it faithfully everyday until I finished the tube. It didn't fade my sun spots in the least. I have a few on each side of my face that aren't too dark and cover well enough with makeup but that I see and know are there. I am 45, a professional makeup artist, and I am diligent in using my SPF 50+ on my face each day. warning: I used a fan to shield my face while driving, SPF wasn't enough, felt like a vampire in sun

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.344 10/22/2014 6:30:52 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.