12.02.2014
8
21
Moisturizing Body Lotion
Rating
7.9 fl. oz. for $15.99
Category:Skin Care > Retinol Products > Body Lotions/Creams/Balms/Butters
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:No
pH:5.00
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

AmLactin Moisturizing Body Lotion is a boring body lotion that uses a high amount of the AHA lactic acid to soften dry, rough skin. You’d think that the 12% amount of ammonium lactate would promote exfoliation, but the pH of this product (it consistently measures 5 or above) is too high for that to occur. This form of lactic acid has benefit as a water-binding agent for skin, but in this particular formula you will not get the exfoliation it could’ve provided. That’s a shame, because there are so few well formulated AHA body lotions available.

If you have dry skin and are considering this product, know that there are much better formulas that contain a wide complement of ingredients dry skin needs to repair itself and become healthier.

NOTE: We've had some readers ask us to update the review for this product because the ingredient list has changed. We've contacted the company and have confirmed that the ingredient list we post on this site (and AmLactin posts on their site, as of March 3, 2014) is, in fact, the current and correct ingredient list. Sample packets for this product also match the ingredient list we've provided.

Claims

An ideal body lotion for rough, dry skin. Recommended use is twice daily on hands, cuticles, arms, elbows, legs, knees, back, and neck.

Ingredients

Water, Ammonium Lactate, Mineral Oil, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, PEG-100 Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Laureth-4, PEG-40 Stearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Methylcellulose

Brand Overview

AmLactin At-A-Glance

Strengths: None.

Weaknesses: Expensive; the pH on all products is too high for exfoliation to occur.

For more information on this brand, please call 1-800-654-2299 or visit amlactin.com
About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
03.09.2015
Cheryl

I have never used action or cream that is as effective. We are talking in two days. I had leathery patches from some meds I was taking and my feet were so dry the cracked and had callouses. This stuff is amazing. It smells bad but goes away quickly. I put a drop of essential oil and it's fine.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Cheryl
02.19.2015
Recommend to me after a long illness

I had seriously dry, flakey skin, the result of almost 6 months in the Mayo Clinic with a serious illness. Not one of the literally dozens and dozens of body moisturizers I tried made a dent. One hour after application, massive lizard skin. I used this cream with Vanicream with great success. Both were recommended to me by my dermatologist at the clinic.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Karen,B
06.10.2014
Sticky!

I bought this hoping to relieve severely dry & flaky skin on my arms & legs. My skin likes lactic acid. This moisturized as well as any other drug store lotion & didn't stink like some of the glycolic lotions do, but it stayed unpleasantly sticky. I could use it only at bedtime & eventually threw it away. Lactic acid can't help if I can't stand the "feel" of the lotion.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
CAROL B.
05.14.2014
the best body lotion

this is the best body lotion I have ever used. I have (had) very dry scaly skin and have used everything from Palmer's coca butter to other store brand lotions and nothing worked on my dry skin until this. I also had bumps on the back of my legs and arms and this has cleared it up. My skin is sooo smooth now. The price is a little steep, but its worth it for smooth skin. I have been using it for two years now and will continue since nothing else has worked for me.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
shirley
09.27.2013
new analysis?

hello, noticed this product was to be "re reviewed" by Paula's staff, and that is almost a year ago now...is there going to be a new review completed? thanks

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
laura m.
09.30.2013
Paula's Choice Research Team Response

Hello, The company confirmed that the ingredient list we have for this product (which matches what AmLactin has on their own site) is accurate. Therefore, no review update is needed.

—Admin
09.07.2013
Sticky and only so so effective

Tried this lotion for atopic dermatitis on my legs causing deeper layers of skin to itch severely. This product was sticky, a bit stinky, and not ultimately moisturizing. Tried this to replace a prescription AHA lotion. Stopped itching for only a few hours and didn't have lasting benefit. A much better choice is Paula's Choice 10% AHA body treatment. Stops itching, moisturizes and has long lasting results.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Erin G.
06.26.2013
Dermatologist Recommended

This is what my dermatologist has recommended to me to use for my overly dry winter hands.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Peggy F.
12.10.2012
AmLactin changes ingredients

I personally have always liked this product and I know many who do. It does get rid of the ugly dry patches. However, the packaging and also ingredient list has changed. Please respond to the formula changes! I love product with lactic acid.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Betty
12.10.2012
Paula's Choice Research Team Response

Thank you for letting us know. We will review the new formula shortly.

—Admin
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.379 3/29/2015 2:40:19 PM