Moisturizing Body Lotion

by AmLactin  
Price:
$15.99 - 7.9 fl. oz.
Average Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Retinol Products > Body Lotions/Creams/Balms/Butters
Last Updated:
3/10/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
pH:
5.00
Tested On Animals:
No

AmLactin Moisturizing Body Lotion is a boring body lotion that uses a high amount of the AHA lactic acid to soften dry, rough skin. You’d think that the 12% amount of ammonium lactate would promote exfoliation, but the pH of this product (it consistently measures 5 or above) is too high for that to occur. This form of lactic acid has benefit as a water-binding agent for skin, but in this particular formula you will not get the exfoliation it could’ve provided. That’s a shame, because there are so few well formulated AHA body lotions available.

If you have dry skin and are considering this product, know that there are much better formulas that contain a wide complement of ingredients dry skin needs to repair itself and become healthier.

NOTE: We've had some readers ask us to update the review for this product because the ingredient list has changed. We've contacted the company and have confirmed that the ingredient list we post on this site (and AmLactin posts on their site, as of March 3, 2014) is, in fact, the current and correct ingredient list. Sample packets for this product also match the ingredient list we've provided.

An ideal body lotion for rough, dry skin. Recommended use is twice daily on hands, cuticles, arms, elbows, legs, knees, back, and neck.

Water, Ammonium Lactate, Mineral Oil, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, PEG-100 Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Laureth-4, PEG-40 Stearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Methylcellulose

For more information on this brand, please call 1-800-654-2299 or visit amlactin.com

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. CAROL B.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Sticky!
    • I bought this hoping to relieve severely dry & flaky skin on my arms & legs. My skin likes lactic acid. This moisturized as well as any other drug store lotion & didn't stink like some of the glycolic lotions do, but it stayed unpleasantly sticky. I could use it only at bedtime & eventually threw it away. Lactic acid can't help if I can't stand the "feel" of the lotion.

  2. shirley
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 14, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    the best body lotion
    • this is the best body lotion I have ever used. I have (had) very dry scaly skin and have used everything from Palmer's coca butter to other store brand lotions and nothing worked on my dry skin until this. I also had bumps on the back of my legs and arms and this has cleared it up. My skin is sooo smooth now. The price is a little steep, but its worth it for smooth skin. I have been using it for two years now and will continue since nothing else has worked for me.

  3. laura m.
    Reviewed on Friday, September 27, 2013
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    new analysis?
    • hello, noticed this product was to be "re reviewed" by Paula's staff, and that is almost a year ago now...is there going to be a new review completed? thanks

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Monday, September 30, 2013

    Hello, The company confirmed that the ingredient list we have for this product (which matches what AmLactin has on their own site) is accurate. Therefore, no review update is needed.

    —Admin
  4. Erin G.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Sticky and only so so effective
    • Tried this lotion for atopic dermatitis on my legs causing deeper layers of skin to itch severely. This product was sticky, a bit stinky, and not ultimately moisturizing. Tried this to replace a prescription AHA lotion. Stopped itching for only a few hours and didn't have lasting benefit. A much better choice is Paula's Choice 10% AHA body treatment. Stops itching, moisturizes and has long lasting results.

  5. Peggy F.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 26, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Dermatologist Recommended
    • This is what my dermatologist has recommended to me to use for my overly dry winter hands.

  6. Betty
    Reviewed on Monday, December 10, 2012
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    AmLactin changes ingredients
    • I personally have always liked this product and I know many who do. It does get rid of the ugly dry patches. However, the packaging and also ingredient list has changed. Please respond to the formula changes! I love product with lactic acid.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Monday, December 10, 2012

    Thank you for letting us know. We will review the new formula shortly.

    —Admin

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.351 11/24/2014 2:18:28 AM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging   |   FREE Shipping on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.