03.13.2015
5
0
Glycolic Facial Cleanser
Rating
8 fl. oz. for $21
Category:Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansers/Soaps
Last Updated:03.13.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Glycolic Facial Cleanser contains glycolic acid, an AHA that exfoliates and softens skin. However, like other cleansers with this ingredient the benefit is wasted because in a cleanser it's rinsed down the drain before it has a chance to work. Meanwhile, with as much glycolic acid as the cleanser contains you're risking irritation using it around the eyes. Moreover, this cleanser's low pH makes it even more irritating to use around the eyes.

Otherwise, this is an overpriced product whose water-soluble formula puts skin at risk of irritation due to the presence of fragrant citrus oils, which are, like the glycolic acid, a problem if used close to the eyes, which you're likely to do with a cleanser. This cleanser cannot exfoliate or control breakouts as claimed; breakouts require more than a cleanser to keep them under control!

Guys, there are LOTS of great cleansers that treat skin gently while removing dirt and excess oil, which also helps soften the beard area pre-shaving. You'll find them on our list of Best Cleansers.

Pros:
  • Water-soluble formula rinses completely.
  • Doesn't contain drying cleansing agents.
Cons:
  • Expensive.
  • Cannot control breakouts or exfoliate skin.
  • The citrus oils it contains are potent skin and eye irritants.
More Info:

Daily use of products that contain a high amount of fragrance, whether the fragrant ingredients are synthetic or natural, causes chronic irritation that can damage healthy collagen production, lead to or worsen dryness, and impair your skin's ability to heal. Fragrance-free is the best way to go for all skin types. If fragrance in your skin-care products is important to you, it should be a very low amount to minimize the risk to your skin (Sources: Inflammation Research, December 2008, pages 558–563; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 124–135, and November-December 2000, pages 358–371; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, April 2008, pages 15–19; Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, March 2008, pages 78–82; Mechanisms of Ageing and Development, January 2007, pages 92–105; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 2005, pages S13–S22).

Claims

Deep cleans without stripping skin; exfoliates and controls breakouts and lifts beard hairs for a closer shave.

Ingredients

Aqua (Water), Cocoamidopropyl Oxide, Glycolic Acid, Glycerin, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Potassium Hydroxide, Sodium Phytate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel Oil, Citrus Noblis (Mandarin Orange) Peel Oil, Ascorbic Acid, Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Acetate, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolione, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Anthemis Noblis Flower Extract.

Brand Overview

Anthony-At-A-Glance

Strengths: The self-tanner is a cut above the norm; good lip balm with sunscreen.

Weaknesses: Like most men’s lines, Anthony Logistics products often contain irritating ingredients that hurt rather than help skin; terrible shaving and post-shave products; expensive body washes with basic formulas; impossible to assemble a complete skin-care routine without exposing skin to several problematic ingredients.

There really is an Anthony behind the Anthony Logistics brand—Anthony Sosnick, who began this men's line in 2000. In some ways, the brand opened up a whole new world of skin care for guys, because it went beyond the soap/shave/aftershave routine that for years was the only widespread option for men's grooming.

Now sold at major retailers, such as Sephora, Ulta, and numerous men's salons throughout the United States, Anthony Logistics offers men's skin care from head to toe. As impressive as that is, there's a catch: Most of the products contain one or more irritating ingredients that won't lead a man to his best-looking, healthiest skin. In that sense, Anthony Logistics differs little from almost every other men's product line, and that's a shame because clearly this brand has some good potential (and good intentions).

According to the company, their products are formulated with ingredients specific to a man's skin, but that claim is completely bogus. The fact is there are no special ingredients men need that women don't and vice versa. Yes, there are some differences between men's and women's skin but those differences don't have anything to do with how you take care of your skin. Sun damage, wrinkles, acne, rosacea, dry skin, oily skin, large pores, and on and on should be treated the same way, regardless of your gender. Men's products don't need to be stronger, because all stronger typically means is more irritating, and no one's skin needs that!

As mentioned above, most of the Anthony Logistics products contain ingredients that are extremely problematic for anyone's skin. Ingredients like alcohol, peppermint, eucalyptus, and many of the other irritants strewn throughout this line are seriously bad for skin. (Guys, skin care isn't about portraying a tough "no pain, no gain" mentality.) The limited number of well-formulated products makes this a less than logical line for any man.

For more information about Anthony Logistics, call (866) 268-4669 or visit anthony.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.16.2014
I like this cleanser

I have been using this product for about 4 months or so and have not experienced any irritation. It makes my oily skin feel smooth. I have used a ton of high end cleansers and other products and this one is among one of my favorites so far.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Annette M.
10.28.2013
Irritating

Readers : Ingredient lists change all the time - without notice. It's not like Paula gets a personal phone call with the new ingredients! Just leave a comment indicating it needs an update, which I have done before myself. & Lots of companies lie about ingredients - look at Peter Thomas Roth Viz-1000 stating it has 75% hyaluronic acid, or Indeed Labs Hydraluron - when neither contain hyaluronic acid. Anyways - I still have the old bottle, no glycolic on list. New one does. Both too irritating.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Cathy R.
08.21.2013
Agree with Maura

As a 22-year-old male who has struggled with sensitive, acne-prone, combo/oily skin since adolescence, I can confidently state that this is one of the few cleansers that actually normalizes my skin. I've tried EVERYTHING, and my skin is always at its best when I revert to this cleanser. Now, I don't know what ingredients list Paula is reading, but my bottle clearly shows glycolic acid as the third ingredient. I also find her reviews of other AL products overly critical.Seems kinda fishy to me...

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Andi
08.21.2013
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi, and thanks for your comments! You'll notice in our review we mention that this product does contain glycolic acid. When we first reviewed it, Anthony Logistics did not list glycolic acid on the packaging in its ingredients. However, the packaging changed, and we amended our review to reflect the more accurate packaging.

—Paula's Choice Research Team
04.02.2013
What do you mean doesn't contain Gly. acid?

I'd also like to know how you concluded that this cleanser doesn't contain any glycolic acid because every description you'll find of the product clearly says it does in the first line. Are they flat out lying? If they are that's pretty terrible, and if they aren't then it brings to question the credibility of this site and proposes that maybe they bash everything in an effort to sell their own products. I'd like to know the truth either way. Seems very odd that they'd just blatantly lie.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
MK
04.05.2013
Beautypedia Team Response

Thank you for your comments! We checked the product itself, from several retail outlets including Sephora, and the ingredient list does not show glycolic acid as a component despite Anthony Logistics' claims. However, even if this cleanser did contain glycolic acid, it would be rinsed from skin before it had a chance to work.

 

 

—Paula's Choice Research Team
03.04.2013
This review is bogus

I find this review to be incorrect and misleading. The cleanser lasts 4 months at $21 and that is a great price. Glycolic Acid is the 3rd ingredient, and when left on the recommended amount of time, it does effectively remove the surface dead skin cells. It also tightens pores, balances oil and is non irritating. I have been a user of this cleanser for 4 years, tried other brands and I continually go back to it. I would triple check your gratis cleanser label on this product because I did myself

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Maura
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.394 5/23/2015 10:26:58 PM