RE9 Advanced Cellular Renewal Masque

by Arbonne  RE9 Advanced
Price:
$65 - 1.7 fl. oz.
Poor Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Facial Masks > Moisturizing/Firming Masks
Last Updated:
11/19/2013
Jar Packaging:
Yes
Tested On Animals:
No

This overpriced mask is a mixed bag that presents your skin with more problems than benefits. It is supposed to exfoliate gently, and it does contain ingredients that can do that (glycolic and salicylic acids) along with natural ingredients (sugar cane and citrus extracts) that are meant to exfoliate, but there is no research to support this.

Although the glycolic and salicylic acids are worthwhile exfoliants, their efficacy depends on the pH of the formula—and in this case the pH is too high for either to exfoliate skin. This also contains papaya and pineapple enzymes, also meant to exfoliate, but these ingredients are unstable, especially when packaged in a jar, which is how this product is packaged. See More Info to learn why jar packaging is a problem.

The biggest problem this mask presents is irritation. It contains several fragrant plant oils plus the potent skin irritant menthol. Together, these work against improving your skin by causing collagen breakdown and your impairing skin’s ability to heal. The irritants make this mask a bad choice for all skin types, and the high price is the icing on a risky cake. See the More Info section to learn why irritation is such a serious problem for skin.

Pros:
  • None.
Cons:
  • Expensive.
  • Cannot exfoliate as claimed.
  • Contains potent irritants that damage skin and keep it from looking younger.

More Info:

The fact that this mask is packaged in a jar means the beneficial ingredients won't remain stable once it is opened. All plant extracts, vitamins, antioxidants, and other state-of-the-art ingredients break down in the presence of air, so once a jar is opened and lets the air in, these important ingredients begin to deteriorate. Jars also are unsanitary because you're dipping your fingers into them with each use, adding bacteria, which further deteriorate the beneficial ingredients.

Irritation, whether you see it on the surface of your skin or not, causes inflammation and as a result impairs healing, damages collagen, and depletes vital substances your skin needs to stay young. For this reason, it is best to minimize or eliminate as much as possible your exposure to known skin irritants, especially when there are brilliant formulas available that do not include these types of problematic ingredients.

Enhanced formula with gentle cellular exfoliation visibly improves skin tone and texture, minimizes the appearance of pores, and provides skin with an immediate, radiant glow.

Water, Polyglyceryl-3 Laurate, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Squalane, Aminomethyl Propanol, Orange Peel Oil, Tangerine Peel Oil, Borago Officinalis Seed Oil, Pichia/Resveratrol Ferment Extract, Laminaria Digitata Extract, Lavandula Stoechas Extract, Lactobacillus/Papaya Fruit Ferment Extract, Pineapple Fruit Extract, Sugar Cane Extract, Apple Leaf Extract, Lemon Fruit Extract, Orange Fruit Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Glycolic Acid, Lactic Acid, Salicylic Acid, Stearamine, Menthol, Polysorbate 60, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Panthenol, Lecithin, Niacin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Xanthan Gum, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Phenoxyethanol, Limonene

Founded in 1975 with the goal of providing skin-care products with "unparalleled quality and effectiveness," Arbonne International is a direct-sales line many of my readers have an intense curiosity about. There must be lots of assertive Arbonne salespeople out there, because no other line with this type of business structure has generated the amount of email we receive, all asking if Arbonne products are worth it and whether or not many of the company's outlandish claims are true. More than many other lines, Arbonne is big on playing up the alleged evil of many benign cosmetic ingredients. Topping this list is mineral oil, which the company maintains interferes with skin functions and delivery systems. Cosmetics-grade mineral oil is not a problem for skin and is in fact one of the mildest and most effective ingredients for making dry skin look and feel better. It doesn't have the best texture or finish, but its effectiveness is indisputable (Sources: Journal of Burn Care Research, May-June 2006, pages 345–351; Contact Dermatitis, June 2003, pages 293–299; Cosmetics & Toiletries, January 2001, page 79; Cosmetic Dermatology, September 2000, pages 44–46; and Dermatitis, September 2004, pages 109–116).

We have also been asked about whether it is true that all mascaras except Arbonne's contain bat excrement. Yes, you read that correctly. It seems many Arbonne salespeople are telling potential customers that all mascaras (except for Arbonne's, of course) contain this substance. We also found that many of the Arbonne representatives we spoke to love sharing the false rumor about lipsticks containing road-kill remnants (except for Arbonne's, of course). We wouldn't mention these tall tales if these were a few isolated incidents, but dozens upon dozens of women have contacted us asking for the truth behind these ludicrous claims. Just to be clear, cosmetic chemists are not venturing into dark caves to collect bat excrement or picking up carcasses of animals on the side of the road all in an effort to save money and create harmful cosmetics. And you have to wonder: If Arbonne products are so wonderfully effective, why do they need to sell themselves using scare tactics about what every other company's products supposedly contain?

Arbonne also advertises the fact that their products don't contain chemical fragrances because of their potential for causing allergic contact dermatitis. We agree with that stance, but it would give Arbonne more credibility if they didn't replace "chemical" fragrances with a slew of irritating plant extracts and volatile oils, several of which are well-known for their potential to cause skin problems. It is their overreliance on such ingredients that makes a disproportionate number of their products impossible to recommend.

we could go on, but to sum it up, despite my reservations, Arbonne has some good products to consider. However, the rather misleading marketing language is not convincing. None of the natural-sounding ingredients in the world can keep you from reacting to an irritating preservative or fragrance, or from breaking out due to cosmetic waxes such as stearic acid or myristyl myristate.

For more information about Arbonne International, call (800) 272-6663 or visit www.arbonne.com.

Arbonne Makeup

Arbonne's makeup is known is divided into two main groups, About Face and Virtual Illusion, and in contrast to its skin-care products, the claims are somewhat tempered. The color palette presented is divided into warms, cools, and neutrals. Although we don't agree with all of Arbonne's classifications, this system can be helpful for making your selection. Regrettably, this collection has seen very little change over the years. Instead, Arbonne focuses heavily on skin care while their latest makeup fails to approach the benchmark standards being set by dozens upon dozens of other companies. The average to poor products are particularly distressing because, for the most part, Arbonne's makeup is overpriced.

Despite this, there is some good news. The makeup categories to focus are blush, eyeshadow, lipstick, gloss, and brushes. You should know that contacting an Arbonne representative to purchase makeup (you cannot purchase it via the company's Web site without having being assigned a representative) will result in more than just a monetary transaction. The Arbonne representatives we encountered were on a mission to recruit anyone who buys (or expresses interest in) their products. Dealing with this company demands patience or a strong resolve. You will need to refute not only the employees' fervent belief that Arbonne products and philosophies are superior to all others, but also the assertion that joining the company is a life-altering experience on par with the most profound spiritual journey you can imagine. Speaking as a consumer, this sort of selling is not appealing, but we are sure there are others looking for just the financial opportunity and lifestyle change Arbonne offers. Those who agree with me should know that the About Face and Virtual Illusion collections include nothing that can’t be found elsewhere, from companies that make it much easier to obtain products than Arbonne does. One more point: Returning products to Arbonne is incredibly frustrating. You must contact your consultant to obtain her information, and then call the company to obtain a return merchandise authorization number. If your consultant doesn't step up, you're stuck with the products unless you want to deal with the company directly, which is about as pleasant as a root canal.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    4 / 4 Best
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    4 / 4 Best
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    4 / 4 Best
Page of 1
  1. Em j
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 31, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Obvious biased reviews of Arbonne
    • Arbonne is THE BEST stuff I've ever used and my skin and complexion is better than ever. Don't take the reviews on this site as unbiased. They obviously are!

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Thursday, July 31, 2014

    Thanks for your comments! We're glad Arbonne is working well for you. We'd also like to assure you and our readers that are reviews are based on published scientific research and years of experiencing covering the cosmetics industry, not bias. Clearly there are LOTS of products we rate highly, and some of those are from Arbonne.

    —Admin
  2. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, March 01, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    RE9 Advanced Cellular Renewal Masque
    • I have a friend who is an Arbonne consultant; I purchased some products through her. This mask was one of the products I purchased. I have had it for a year and I use it monthly. I like it a lot. My skin feels smoother and softer after using it and people notice a change in the quality of my skin. It is expensive, but inexpensive if you think about how expensive it is to have this sort of treatment done at a skin clinic. Tip: Use it at night before bed (10-15 min), as it will redden your skin.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.351 11/24/2014 9:35:33 AM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging   |   FREE Shipping on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.