RE9 Advanced Regenerating Toner

by Arbonne  RE9 Advanced
Price:
$35 - 1.7 fl. oz.
Average Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Toners > Toners
Last Updated:
11/19/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

The second ingredient in this poorly formulated toner is witch hazel water, which contains alcohol, and that is never a good ingredient for skin. It is frustrating that the mix of plant extracts and antioxidants present are both beneficial (vitamin C) and problematic (orange peel oil). That means the good ones spend their time fighting the effects of the irritating plants instead of devoting their energy toward improving your skin.

Not only is the formula questionable, the price tag is outlandish for such a tiny amount of product that has very little going for it. Used daily, you’d be buying more toner each month, which adds up to $420 a year, plus it’s a toner that isn’t half of what it’s claimed to be.

Anti-oxidant-rich, pH-balanced mist with Vitamins A, C and E regenerates skin tone and firmness to deliver younger-looking skin.

Water, Witch Hazel Water, Glycerin, Isoceteth-20, Polysorbate 80, Laminaria Digitata Extract, Betula Alba Leaf Extract, Cucumber, Hypericum Perforatum Extract, Nasturtium Officinale Extract, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Clover Flower Extract, Hippophae Rhamnoides Oil, Borago Officinalis Seed Oil, Orange Peel Oil, Panthenol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Thioctic Acid, Butylene Glycol, Hydrogenate Lecithin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Polyamino Sugar Condensate, Stearamine, Urea, Lecithin, Sodium PCA, Disodium EDTA, Citric Acid, Sodium Hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol, Potassium Sorbate

Founded in 1975 with the goal of providing skin-care products with "unparalleled quality and effectiveness," Arbonne International is a direct-sales line many of my readers have an intense curiosity about. There must be lots of assertive Arbonne salespeople out there, because no other line with this type of business structure has generated the amount of email we receive, all asking if Arbonne products are worth it and whether or not many of the company's outlandish claims are true. More than many other lines, Arbonne is big on playing up the alleged evil of many benign cosmetic ingredients. Topping this list is mineral oil, which the company maintains interferes with skin functions and delivery systems. Cosmetics-grade mineral oil is not a problem for skin and is in fact one of the mildest and most effective ingredients for making dry skin look and feel better. It doesn't have the best texture or finish, but its effectiveness is indisputable (Sources: Journal of Burn Care Research, May-June 2006, pages 345–351; Contact Dermatitis, June 2003, pages 293–299; Cosmetics & Toiletries, January 2001, page 79; Cosmetic Dermatology, September 2000, pages 44–46; and Dermatitis, September 2004, pages 109–116).

We have also been asked about whether it is true that all mascaras except Arbonne's contain bat excrement. Yes, you read that correctly. It seems many Arbonne salespeople are telling potential customers that all mascaras (except for Arbonne's, of course) contain this substance. We also found that many of the Arbonne representatives we spoke to love sharing the false rumor about lipsticks containing road-kill remnants (except for Arbonne's, of course). We wouldn't mention these tall tales if these were a few isolated incidents, but dozens upon dozens of women have contacted us asking for the truth behind these ludicrous claims. Just to be clear, cosmetic chemists are not venturing into dark caves to collect bat excrement or picking up carcasses of animals on the side of the road all in an effort to save money and create harmful cosmetics. And you have to wonder: If Arbonne products are so wonderfully effective, why do they need to sell themselves using scare tactics about what every other company's products supposedly contain?

Arbonne also advertises the fact that their products don't contain chemical fragrances because of their potential for causing allergic contact dermatitis. We agree with that stance, but it would give Arbonne more credibility if they didn't replace "chemical" fragrances with a slew of irritating plant extracts and volatile oils, several of which are well-known for their potential to cause skin problems. It is their overreliance on such ingredients that makes a disproportionate number of their products impossible to recommend.

we could go on, but to sum it up, despite my reservations, Arbonne has some good products to consider. However, the rather misleading marketing language is not convincing. None of the natural-sounding ingredients in the world can keep you from reacting to an irritating preservative or fragrance, or from breaking out due to cosmetic waxes such as stearic acid or myristyl myristate.

For more information about Arbonne International, call (800) 272-6663 or visit www.arbonne.com.

Arbonne Makeup

Arbonne's makeup is known is divided into two main groups, About Face and Virtual Illusion, and in contrast to its skin-care products, the claims are somewhat tempered. The color palette presented is divided into warms, cools, and neutrals. Although we don't agree with all of Arbonne's classifications, this system can be helpful for making your selection. Regrettably, this collection has seen very little change over the years. Instead, Arbonne focuses heavily on skin care while their latest makeup fails to approach the benchmark standards being set by dozens upon dozens of other companies. The average to poor products are particularly distressing because, for the most part, Arbonne's makeup is overpriced.

Despite this, there is some good news. The makeup categories to focus are blush, eyeshadow, lipstick, gloss, and brushes. You should know that contacting an Arbonne representative to purchase makeup (you cannot purchase it via the company's Web site without having being assigned a representative) will result in more than just a monetary transaction. The Arbonne representatives we encountered were on a mission to recruit anyone who buys (or expresses interest in) their products. Dealing with this company demands patience or a strong resolve. You will need to refute not only the employees' fervent belief that Arbonne products and philosophies are superior to all others, but also the assertion that joining the company is a life-altering experience on par with the most profound spiritual journey you can imagine. Speaking as a consumer, this sort of selling is not appealing, but we are sure there are others looking for just the financial opportunity and lifestyle change Arbonne offers. Those who agree with me should know that the About Face and Virtual Illusion collections include nothing that can’t be found elsewhere, from companies that make it much easier to obtain products than Arbonne does. One more point: Returning products to Arbonne is incredibly frustrating. You must contact your consultant to obtain her information, and then call the company to obtain a return merchandise authorization number. If your consultant doesn't step up, you're stuck with the products unless you want to deal with the company directly, which is about as pleasant as a root canal.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
Page of 1
  1. Stephanie, S
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 24, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    First time try
    • Recommended by a friend, I decided to purchase several of these RE9 products, after using the RE9 regenerating toner about 3 weeks I noticed an ever growing rash of pus-filled bumps on the lower half of my face and jawline with several on my neck. It has been more than twenty years since I've had acne! Now my face looks as though I am having an adolescent acne break out. must admit I didn't check for ingredients and in hindsight, I found very few.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.358 12/18/2014 11:34:52 AM
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off Retinol Products | FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Eyeshadow Palette on $65+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.