03.16.2015
3
10
RE9 Advanced Smoothing Facial Cleanser
Rating
3 fl. oz. for $40
Category:Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths)
Last Updated:03.16.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This is an extremely standard, and we mean astonishingly standard, cleanser that is obscenely overpriced for what you get. It is merely a water-soluble, detergent-based foaming cleanser for normal to oily skin.

It works well to remove excess oil and makeup, but it doesn’t have a smoothing effect; if anything, applying some of the ingredients, such as orange peel oil and sodium C14-16 olefin sulfonate, on skin is irritating and, therefore, anything but smoothing. As far as the standard cleansing agents, countless other cleansers share the same base, and we're talking about cleansers that cost about $10 for three times as much product, and those products leave out the problematic ingredients.

Arbonne did add a few interesting ingredients, such as vitamins and plant extracts that can be anti-irritants, but their benefit is merely rinsed down the drain. The only thing advanced about this cleanser is the price and Arbonne’s nerve to pawn this off to their loyal consumers.

Claims

Provides effective smoothing and renewing of the skin surface for soft, supple skin.

Ingredients

Water, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Stearic Acid, PEG-80 Sorbitan Laurate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Lauroamphoacetate, Glycol Stearate, Sodium C14-16 Olefin Sulfonate, Laminaria Digitata Extract, Hippophae Rhamnoides (Sea Buckthorn) Oil, Borago Officinalis Seed Oil, Orange Peel Oil, Panthenol, Disodium Lauroamphodiacetate, Sodium Trideceth Sulfate, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Thioctic Acid, Polysorbate 20, Butylene Glycol, Lecithin, Caprylic/Capric Triglycerides, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Stearamine Oxide, Glycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Glyceryl Undecylenate, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol

Brand Overview

Arbonne At-A-Glance

Strengths: A small selection of basic but effective cleansers and masks; good brush set; lip balm with reliable sun protection.

Weaknesses: Consistent and pervasive use of volatile fragrant oils that are irritating, allergenic, and/or photosensitizing for skin; disappointing toners and masks; no effective AHA or BHA products; no skin-lightening or effective anti-acne products; several sun-care products contain problematic ingredients.

Founded in 1975 with the goal of providing skin-care products with "unparalleled quality and effectiveness," Arbonne International is a direct-sales line many of my readers have an intense curiosity about. There must be lots of assertive Arbonne salespeople out there, because no other line with this type of business structure has generated the amount of email we receive, all asking if Arbonne products are worth it and whether or not many of the company's outlandish claims are true. More than many other lines, Arbonne is big on playing up the alleged evil of many benign cosmetic ingredients. Topping this list is mineral oil, which the company maintains interferes with skin functions and delivery systems. Cosmetics-grade mineral oil is not a problem for skin and is in fact one of the mildest and most effective ingredients for making dry skin look and feel better. It doesn't have the best texture or finish, but its effectiveness is indisputable (Sources: Journal of Burn Care Research, May-June 2006, pages 345–351; Contact Dermatitis, June 2003, pages 293–299; Cosmetics & Toiletries, January 2001, page 79; Cosmetic Dermatology, September 2000, pages 44–46; and Dermatitis, September 2004, pages 109–116).

We have also been asked about whether it is true that all mascaras except Arbonne's contain bat excrement. Yes, you read that correctly. It seems many Arbonne salespeople are telling potential customers that all mascaras (except for Arbonne's, of course) contain this substance. We also found that many of the Arbonne representatives we spoke to love sharing the false rumor about lipsticks containing road-kill remnants (except for Arbonne's, of course). We wouldn't mention these tall tales if these were a few isolated incidents, but dozens upon dozens of women have contacted us asking for the truth behind these ludicrous claims. Just to be clear, cosmetic chemists are not venturing into dark caves to collect bat excrement or picking up carcasses of animals on the side of the road all in an effort to save money and create harmful cosmetics. And you have to wonder: If Arbonne products are so wonderfully effective, why do they need to sell themselves using scare tactics about what every other company's products supposedly contain?

Arbonne also advertises the fact that their products don't contain chemical fragrances because of their potential for causing allergic contact dermatitis. We agree with that stance, but it would give Arbonne more credibility if they didn't replace "chemical" fragrances with a slew of irritating plant extracts and volatile oils, several of which are well-known for their potential to cause skin problems. It is their overreliance on such ingredients that makes a disproportionate number of their products impossible to recommend.

we could go on, but to sum it up, despite my reservations, Arbonne has some good products to consider. However, the rather misleading marketing language is not convincing. None of the natural-sounding ingredients in the world can keep you from reacting to an irritating preservative or fragrance, or from breaking out due to cosmetic waxes such as stearic acid or myristyl myristate.

For more information about Arbonne International, call (800) 272-6663 or visit www.arbonne.com.

Arbonne Makeup

Arbonne's makeup is known is divided into two main groups, About Face and Virtual Illusion, and in contrast to its skin-care products, the claims are somewhat tempered. The color palette presented is divided into warms, cools, and neutrals. Although we don't agree with all of Arbonne's classifications, this system can be helpful for making your selection. Regrettably, this collection has seen very little change over the years. Instead, Arbonne focuses heavily on skin care while their latest makeup fails to approach the benchmark standards being set by dozens upon dozens of other companies. The average to poor products are particularly distressing because, for the most part, Arbonne's makeup is overpriced.

Despite this, there is some good news. The makeup categories to focus are blush, eyeshadow, lipstick, gloss, and brushes. You should know that contacting an Arbonne representative to purchase makeup (you cannot purchase it via the company's Web site without having being assigned a representative) will result in more than just a monetary transaction. The Arbonne representatives we encountered were on a mission to recruit anyone who buys (or expresses interest in) their products. Dealing with this company demands patience or a strong resolve. You will need to refute not only the employees' fervent belief that Arbonne products and philosophies are superior to all others, but also the assertion that joining the company is a life-altering experience on par with the most profound spiritual journey you can imagine. Speaking as a consumer, this sort of selling is not appealing, but we are sure there are others looking for just the financial opportunity and lifestyle change Arbonne offers. Those who agree with me should know that the About Face and Virtual Illusion collections include nothing that can’t be found elsewhere, from companies that make it much easier to obtain products than Arbonne does. One more point: Returning products to Arbonne is incredibly frustrating. You must contact your consultant to obtain her information, and then call the company to obtain a return merchandise authorization number. If your consultant doesn't step up, you're stuck with the products unless you want to deal with the company directly, which is about as pleasant as a root canal.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
06.03.2015
this wash is amazing

I'd have to agree with reviewer from 5-18-2015..I have looked at close to every arbonne product and so far there has been poor reviews from "The Beautypedia team". I completely disagree with every bad review. Every product I've tried has proven results and this one in particular does in fact give my face a smooth texture, and though some say the price is "high" but it's priced just as any other phony beauty product out there and unlike those, with arbonne, you get what the product promises.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.18.2015
Favorite cleanser out there..

I just joined Paula's choice and purchased eye shadow....I am checking out Beautypedia for the first time...I started checking out some of my favorite products and for some reason, they all have 1 star possibly 2 stars..which is completely crazy..I know alot of people that love their products..It does seem to be targeted rating system for arbonne..Now I have to take all reviews here with a grain of salt which is upsetting since I just downloaded the app to check beauty reviews.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
susan l.
01.07.2013
best wash I have ever used

I love this facewash. This is teh only facewash I have ever used that I have noticed a difference in the way my face feels and looks. Even my estitician told me that there was a significant difference in my skin during my last facial. However, I came to this website because I was searching for the ingredients in it. Recently, I was talking to another esthitican who told me that Arbonne products could have hormones in them, which is something undesireable to me. Since it is a swedish company, they are not required to share their ingredient list. I am wondering how this website got a hold of the ingredient list, if its real, and if Arbonne really does use hormones in it. Until I find something significant, I will continue to use and recommend this product. It really is something else for my skin type -- oily, and acne prone. The reason I gave it a 3 in value is because it is a little pricey, but I am willing to pay for the results.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Chrissy
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.405 8/1/2015 11:24:39 PM