02.25.2013
6
1
Vitamin C Renewal Balancing Toner
Rating
8.5 fl. oz. for $12.50
Category:Skin Care > Toners > Toners
Last Updated:02.25.2013
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This toner is a huge irritation waiting to happen, and is not recommended for anyone’s skin. Yes, it contains vitamin C and some soothing plant extracts, but those good ingredients are outweighed by an overwhelming amount of fragrant oils, including high amounts of several citrus oils known to be irritating. Please, for the health and long-term appearance of your skin, steer clear of this toner!

Daily use of products that contain a high amount of fragrance, whether the fragrant ingredients are synthetic or natural, causes chronic irritation that can damage healthy collagen production, lead to or worsen dryness, and impair your skin’s ability to heal. Fragrance-free is the best way to go for all skin types. If fragrance in your skin-care products is important to you, it should be a very low amount to minimize the risk to your skin (Sources: Inflammation Research, December 2008, pages 558–563; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 124–135, and November-December 2000, pages 358–371; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, April 2008, pages 15–19; Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, March 2008, pages 78–82; Mechanisms of Ageing and Development, January 2007, pages 92–105; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 2005, pages S13–S22).

Claims

To rebalance skin tone and moisture levels, our pore perfecting combination of Aloe, Cucumber and Papaya Extracts purifies and hydrates while targeting areas of hyperpigmentation. Plant-derived Vitamin C, a powerful antioxidant and cell energizer, helps eliminate free radical damage caused by daily sun exposure to help fight the visible signs of photo-aging.

Ingredients

Aqua (Water), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Glycerin, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil, Citrus Limon (Lemon) Peel Oil, Arnica Montana Flower Extract, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Citrus Limon (Lemon) Peel Extract*, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Echinacea Angustifolia Extract, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Olea Europaea (Olive) Leaf Extract, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Caprylyl/Capryl Wheat Bran/Straw Glycosides, Fusel Wheat Bran/Straw Glycosides, Glyceryl Caprylate, Polyglyceryl-5 Oleate, Salicylic Acid, Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Alcohol, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Anisate, Sodium Levulinate, Citral, Limonene, Linalool

Brand Overview

Avalon Organics At-A-Glance

Strengths: Avalon Organics provides complete ingredient lists on their Web site; excellent lip balm; a few well-formulated moisturizers and serums.

Weaknesses: Several products contain irritating plant extracts and/or fragrant oils; moisturizers contain only a tiny amount of state-of-the-art ingredients; none of the sunscreens have UVA-protecting ingredients; there are repetitive formulas within the sub-brands (and the only differences between them won't make any difference to your skin); average to poor cleansers and toners; no AHA or BHA options; no anti-acne or skin-lightening options; jar packaging, which leaves the air-sensitive ingredients unprotected and subject to deterioration after opening.

Avalon Organics is one of many companies owned by Hain-Celestial, a company that specializes in marketing "natural" products. Along with various food and beverage brands you often see lining the shelves of health food stores, Hain-Celestial is also behind several other cosmetics lines, including Alba Botanica, Jason Natural, and Zia Natural (and just to be clear, none of these are all natural in the least).

Avalon Organics is most similar to Alba Botanica, but strangely enough, Avalon in many ways is the inferior line. Relative to the Alba Botanica line, Avalon Organics products cost more and their formulas aren't nearly as state of the art. A major thumbs down for Avalon Organics is the fact that none of their sunscreens contains sufficient UVA-protecting ingredients. In addition, many more of the Avalon Organics products contain irritating plant oils (lavender, orange), and almost all also feature a plant tea concoction that includes not only lavender but also arnica, a problematic plant if ever there was one (Sources: American Journal of Contact Dermatitis, June 1996, pages 94–99; and www.naturaldatabase.com). It is these natural ingredients that sabotage many of the Avalon Organics products.

Avalon does include several helpful natural ingredients (among them willow herb, licorice, borage oil, and aloe), but their benefit is diminished when they must overcome the potential skin problems presented by the not-so-helpful plants. Moreover, several Avalon Organics products contain a blend of unidentified essential oils. These are used for fragrance, but Avalon opted to list the generic term "fragrance" as "other essential oils," which means that consumers do not know exactly what oils they're applying to their skin. This goes directly against FDA regulatory requirements: "other essential oils" is not a legitimate ingredient term.

It is indeed admirable that Avalon Organics is dedicated to organic farming and to sustainable agricultural practices that improve the environment, but such a mission doesn’t translate into great skin-care: farming is one issue, but brilliantly formulated products is another. In this case you can't rely on Avalon products to take care of your skin without some careful consideration. There are a handful of recommended products to consider, especially if you prefer a ratio of ingredients that favors natural over synthetic. (Note, however, this is not an all-natural line, any more than munching on Skittles candy is like eating real fruit.) But taking "the time to honor yourself" (Avalon's statement) by using products only from their line, or being swayed by this brand's "Consciousness in Cosmetics" for the sake of your skin, would be a mistake.

For more information about Avalon Organics, call (888) 659-7730 or visit www.avalonorganics.com.

Note: Avalon uses the term "other essential oils" on their ingredient lists, which does not comply with FDA or international regulations. These regulations state that you must list by name ALL the individual ingredients you include in your product for this category of ingredients.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
06.04.2015
Wish I would have read this before...

I wish I would have researched this before I bought it. I have been using the oil cleansing method to wash my face for about a month now and wanted a fairly-natural toner to help with my pores. I should know better than to assume a product is "organic" just according to the label. It burned SO bad and when I watched my face turn red in the mirror. I rinsed my face immediately but the damage was already done...this is an awful product.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Courtney O
06.01.2015
Don't use this toner!

Don't use this!!! I bought this thinking natural, organic, blah blah blah...all of the other claims on the label. Used it once and had a bad reaction. My face burned, turned bright red, and was hot to the touch. After washing it off and holding a cool rag to my face for nearly half an hour, I threw the bottle out.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.22.2015
Avalon organic vit c renewal toner

Even using it for a week seems to be working on toning, but has anyone experienced the foaming when you apply it? Wonder why it does that?

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
kathi d
09.17.2014
actually like it

Actually I like this product, my husband uses it too. We have very different completions. But, both like it! It gives warm up feeling indeed (not every time though)! But common guys, Alpha Hydroxy acid also tingles....and it improves skin stricture.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
tiana
03.24.2014
Orange juice texture = red face

Smelled and felt like orange juice; it didn't feel like it stung my face, then the warming started. Then my face was red for a few days and hurt. I returned it.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.06.2013
totally agree

I bought one bottle last summer. My skin is not sensitive at all and this toner was the first one making my skin irritating and sting... Smells like orange soda and looks like it too...

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Maggie T.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.399 6/29/2015 6:12:56 PM