12.19.2014
11
147
READY SPF 20 Foundation
Rating
$29
Last Updated:12.19.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

READY SPF 20 Foundation is the fragrance-free pressed-powder foundation alternative to bareMinerals' original loose-powder foundation. Right off the bat, this pressed format is much easier to use than the company's original mineral makeup.

Housed in a sleek black mirrored compact, and advertised as providing a "108% increase in skin hydration," it's no wonder that this foundation is getting so much attention—but is this foundation all that it's chalked up to be? Not quite, but it's still worthwhile for some.

Despite the claims, this is not a suitable option for those with dry skin because absorbent (read "drying") ingredients comprise the majority of the formula, and simply overpower the few emollient (read "hydrating") ingredients that are included. A dry-finish powder foundation like this is about as hydrating as sand in the desert!

On the plus side, those with oily to very oily skin will do best with this powder foundation. It keeps excess oil at bay while providing broad-spectrum, mineral-based sun protection and sheer to medium coverage. The generous shade selection has workable options for very light to very dark skin in both neutral and warm tones—and the darker shades don't look ashy.

Note:Although this foundation provides broad-spectrum sun protection on its own, you must apply it liberally and evenly to get the stated level of protection. A sheer or spot application will not provide the amount of sun protection the label indicates. If you’re not likely to apply this foundation liberally, we recommend applying it over a moisturizer with sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater and setting your foundation with a pressed powder rated SPF 15 or greater.

Pros:
  • Broad-spectrum sun protection from gentle mineral actives.
  • Absorbent finish helps keep oily shine in check.
  • Shade range complements most skin tones.
  • Fragrance-free
Cons:
  • Not hydrating as claimed; too drying except for those with oily to very oily skin.
Claims
Ingredients

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 11%; Zinc Oxide 18%. Inactive Ingredients: Boron Nitride, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glycerin, Magnesium Silicate, Silica, Nylon-12, Humic Acids, Rosa Canina Fruit Oil, Jojoba Esters, Corallina Officinalis Extract, Lecithin, Betaine, Algae Extract.

May Contain: Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides.

Brand Overview

Bare Escentuals At-a-Glance

Makeup is what this San Francisco-based cosmetics line is primarily about, and they use the pure and natural marketing angle to entice consumers. Founded in 1976 by Diane Ranger, who left the company in the early '90s Bare Escentuals was one of the first brands to introduce the concept of loose powder foundation. Since then, they have moved beyond it to include liquid foundations and tinted moisturizers and an ever expanding line of color cosmetics as well as skincare products.

The products are sold in most Sephora boutiques and Ulta stores, though the full selection of skincare products is most often found at the Bare Escentuals freestanding stores scattered throughout the United States.

We should note that loose powder makeup does take some practice to get the hang of—yet there is no denying that this type of foundation has its fan base. There is a lot to love about Bare Escentuals, even if mineral makeup isn’t your thing (especially their price ranges, which have remained affordable in comparison to many of their neighbors at Sephora).

Strengths: Good makeup removers; a few well-formulated powders with SPF; some nice eyeshadows and impressive mascaras; some impressive foundations; several elegant brush options; not too expensive.

Weaknesses: Some of the loose powder products have texture and finish concerns; some of the skincare contain potentially problematic ingredients.

For more information about Bare Escentuals, call 1.888.795.4747 or visit www.bareescentuals.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
08.29.2015
Jody17

I love this powder Ready Foundation a lot! I am 61 with dry skin and this works for me. I do not feel it's drying at all when I use a moisturizer under it. I disagree that dry skins shouldn't use it. It looks so natural yet covers everything and doesn't settle into my fine lines. Give it a try, you can always return it if it doesn't work for you.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jody R.
08.20.2015
Great Alternative to Loose Mineral Foundation

When I was younger, I used Bare Minerals ' loose mineral foundation, and I loved it. I have a difficult-to-match skin tone, and this was the only brand that had a perfect match for my skin. However, as I got older and developed some fine lines, the loose foundation didn't work as well for me. The Ready foundation doesn't settle into my lines and covers very well. I live in a very humid climate, and it lasts all day if I use a primer first. Application does take some practice.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
08.09.2015
chalky

This foundation accentuated every wrinkle in my face. I've never had this experience before with a foundation. It made me look 10 years older. I'm returning it.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
MM
08.02.2015
Great foundation, but be careful with application and shade selection!

This is a great foundation, but it took me some time to find the right shade and figure out the application. I have very pale skin, but because of the amount of sunscreen in this powder my skin looked pasty in my normal shades. I had to go with a pretty dark one (Medium Beige) to look natural. I apply it with a round, dense foundation brush in circular motions and I get full coverage and almost an air brushed effect. Do not use it if you have dry or flaky skin, because it will be accentuated.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Aneta D.
12.07.2014
Tricky, but still holy grail foundation

This foundation is both perfect & tricky. On one hand, when applied lightly, it gives incredible coverage that looks natural & doesn't wear off. On the other, if too much is added in an attempt to cover imperfections, it looks chalky. It is absorbent enough for my combination skin, but not too drying. I have to give BareMinerals a hand for the color selection. Hardly anything matches my fair skin, but this does & it doesn't turn orange. It looks far more realistic than other foundations.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Holly A
07.20.2014
not for skin with lines

I have bought a whole kit to try bare escentuals and it is definately for people with perfect skin. Lines show deeper than without it. Terrible purchase

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.06.2014
Pore clogging potential

Why hasn't it been said that algae extract can clog pores and cause acne? With my sensitive acne prone skin I have been too scared to try the ready line.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Krystal S
03.06.2014
Wonderful

I have combination skin with some dryness, so I was reluctant to try a powder-based foundation. But now that I have, I will never go back. This foundation feels wonderfully light and looks incredibly natural. Miraculously, it even looks less noticeable over dry skin than my previous approach, which was liquid foundation with loose powder. This also has the added bonus of SPF. I use it both as a foundation and as a blemish concealer (just use a concealer brush).

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
12.17.2013
A completely different foundation -- THE BEST!

Stays on for hours, doesn't change color. Doesn't settle into pores and lines. Looks and feels as though you have nothing on. Doesn't contain toxic chemicals and irritants, and is not tested on animals. With a little skill, it's easy to apply. Lasts a long time as a little goes a loooong way. In short: Everything I have been looking for in a foundation has finally come true! I had given up on finding the right one for my changing, 36 year old, sun damaged skin -- and there it is. :-)

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
12.06.2013
A Good Foundation For My "Maturing" Combination Skin

I am 49 and have combination skin that gets drier in the winter. I also have fine lines. I first apply a serum, then a moisturizer, eye primer, and then a tinted face primer with spf 30. I apply this foundation and the rest of my makeup except mascara. I lightly spritz my face with Wen Replenishing Treatment Mist and then blend out around my hairline, around my nose, etc., with a moistened beauty blender from Avon. I then apply my mascara, and my makeup is good for the day.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Regina M.
10.06.2013
In High Humidity this works for me

I am 55+, live in Florida and am a Realtor so I am in and out of the humidity every day. I completely agree with Paul's review and agree this foundation "could" be drying. However, for me this foundation works beautifully regarding coverage and staying power. I have several areas of discoloration from sun exposure in my youth. This foundation covers everything very well and stays all day with little need for touch up. Just use plenty of moisturizer and primer first.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Cathy A
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.411 9/1/2015 9:29:05 AM