03.17.2015
6
6
Active Cell Renewal Night Serum
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $50
Category:Skin Care > Serums
Last Updated:03.17.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This water-based serum contains some good water-binding ingredients to help hydrate normal to slightly dry skin, but in terms of anti-aging ingredients with solid research behind them, it falls short. There is nothing special about the soil minerals in this serum. More of a fancy way to describe dirt, soil minerals most likely cannot penetrate skin as the molecular structure of the minerals is simply too large. But even if they could penetrate, what good would that do? Minerals require enzymes and other substances in the body in order to work—just adding them to a serum isn’t going to bring skin to its “ideal renewed state”.

The chief problem with this serum is the inclusion of lavender oil and, to a lesser extent, orange extract and fragrance ingredients known to cause irritation. Research indicates that components of lavender, specifically linalool, can be cytotoxic, which means that topical application causes skin-cell death (Source: Cell Proliferation, June 2004, pages 221–229). Lavender leaves contain camphor, which is a known skin irritant. Because the fragrance constituents in lavender oil oxidize when exposed to air, lavender oil is a pro-oxidant, and this enhanced oxidation increases its irritancy on skin (Source: Contact Dermatitis, September 2008, pages 143–150). Lavender oil is the most potent form, and even small amounts of it (0.25% or less) are problematic. It is a must to avoid in skin-care products, but is fine as an aromatherapy agent for inhalation or relaxation (Sources: Psychiatry Research, February 2007, pages 89–96; and www.naturaldatabase.com).

Nothing in this serum can "maximize cell renewal". In order to do that, you need to be using a well formulated AHA or BHA exfoliant.

Note: This serum is dispensed via a dropper applicator. Although not the ideal method to dispense a serum that contains light- and air-sensitive ingredients, sometimes this type of packaging is necessary due to formulary requirements. When that’s the case, the goal is to keep the bottle opening as small as possible, the bottle should be opaque or specially coated to protect the contents from light, and you should use the serum up within three months of opening. However, given the considerable problems with this serum, we'd recommend skipping it altogether.

Claims

Our intensive night serum helps restore your skin's ability to reach its ideal renewal state. Powered by our proprietary ActiveSoil Complex–combined with a unique moisture boost technology–this formula maximizes cellular renewal and hydrates skin overnight. The result? Cells that are supercharged to protect you during the day and skin that looks firmer, healthier and younger.

Ingredients

Water, Butylene Glycol, Propanediol, Glycerin, Xylitol, Saccharomyces/Xylinum/Black Tea Ferment, Glycyl Glycine, Methyl Gluceth-10, 3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid, Soil Minerals, Syringa Vulgaris (Lilac) Leaf Cell Culture Extract, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-5, Zizyphus Jujuba Seed , Phytoecdysteroids Extract, Maltodextrin, PPG-13-Decyltetradeceth-24, Ethylhexylglycerin, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, PEG/PPG-14/7 Dimethyl Ether, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Trisodium EDTA, Lavandula Hybrida Oil, Limonene, Citric Acid, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Tocopherol, Citronellol, Geraniol, Phenoxyethanol, Xanthan Gum

Brand Overview

Bare Escentuals At-a-Glance

Makeup is what this San Francisco-based cosmetics line is primarily about, and they use the pure and natural marketing angle to entice consumers. Founded in 1976 by Diane Ranger, who left the company in the early '90s Bare Escentuals was one of the first brands to introduce the concept of loose powder foundation. Since then, they have moved beyond it to include liquid foundations and tinted moisturizers and an ever expanding line of color cosmetics as well as skincare products.

The products are sold in most Sephora boutiques and Ulta stores, though the full selection of skincare products is most often found at the Bare Escentuals freestanding stores scattered throughout the United States.

We should note that loose powder makeup does take some practice to get the hang of—yet there is no denying that this type of foundation has its fan base. There is a lot to love about Bare Escentuals, even if mineral makeup isn’t your thing (especially their price ranges, which have remained affordable in comparison to many of their neighbors at Sephora).

Strengths: Good makeup removers; a few well-formulated powders with SPF; some nice eyeshadows and impressive mascaras; some impressive foundations; several elegant brush options; not too expensive.

Weaknesses: Some of the loose powder products have texture and finish concerns; some of the skincare contain potentially problematic ingredients.

For more information about Bare Escentuals, call 1.888.795.4747 or visit www.bareescentuals.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
04.20.2015
Amazing !!

Amazing ! My skin was kind of in a crisis because for some reason my skin was getting so dry and making wrinkles under my eyes, and after 2 uses they quickly vanished and I feel back to normal! So happy. And my skin even looks better then before, it has a glow to it and is much prettier! Great investment in this and is totally worth the money.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Jane B
11.29.2014
Great for my sensitive skin

I started using this product soon after its launch a few years ago. My skin is quite oily despite being 54 years old and this is one of the few treatments I can use on my face that does not leave me sticky or even oilier than I started out. It leaves my skin soft with a slight glow....and none of the irritation mentioned in the product evaluation. It is a little on the expensive side, but a bottle lasts about 6 months for me so it's not a bad investment.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Janis A.
09.25.2014
Makes my skin feel great

I have very dry skin and fine lines. I have been using this serum at night for about a week and my skin feels baby soft in the morning now and the lines seem diminished. It is pricey -- but it's been worth it so far.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Maggie I
01.27.2014
Not worth it!

I did want to try this product out of desperation. But as soon as I read the ingredients I just knew this product would get a poor review. I was never convinced that bare minerals ever did what they promised. It's my opinion and suggestion that a person could do do just as well and be better off with Olay Regenerist micro-sculpting serum and you get about double the size 1.7 oz. for about half the price.and you'd actually have healthy skin. Moisture, peptides, and antioxidants for less money.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Annette D.
12.08.2013
Nice serum

I use this light serum every morning under a primer and it works beautifully at keeping my skin hydrated without clogging my pores. Since I started using this a month ago my pores look smaller too. I am not concerned about the tiny amount of lavender oil that it contains since I cannot even detect any scent of it at all and I have not experienced any irritation whatsoever, only better looking skin.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Alice T.
03.03.2013
I love it!

I love this product. I have sensitive and acneic skin and it doesmt make me break out, it doesnt irritate my skin, and when I wake up in the morning my face feels extra hydrated and firm. It is expensove but they sell a 30 $ kit that is half the size of a full bottle and you get a cleanser and moristurizer. Ive beem using the serum for about 2 weeks and its fantastic! Im trying the cleanser and moisturizer tonight and I cant wait!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.405 8/2/2015 3:35:58 AM