12.17.2014
9
152
bareMinerals Foundation SPF 15
Rating
$27
Last Updated:12.17.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

bareMinerals Foundation SPF 15 is the loose-powder foundation that put Bare Escentuals on the map and it is the backbone of this makeup line. This talc-free, mica-based powder has a soft, almost creamy texture and an undeniably shiny finish (not a good look for someone with oily skin).

The titanium dioxide and bismuth oxychloride lend this powder its opacity, medium to full coverage, and slightly thick finish. The formula includes broad-spectrum sun protection, but because most women won't apply this liberally enough, it is best paired with another form of SPF .

This foundation can be tricky to blend, and is best applied with a powder brush. The best options shade-wise are for fair to light skin, though there are a few exceptions. In fact, there are plenty of shades for women of color, but the high amount of titanium dioxide causes them to look or turn ashy on darker skin.

Claims
Ingredients

Active: Titanium Dioxide 12.6%, Zinc Oxide 21%. Other: Bismuth Oxychloride, Mica, Iron Oxides, Zinc Oxide, Titanium Dioxide

Brand Overview

Bare Escentuals At-a-Glance

Makeup is what this San Francisco-based cosmetics line is primarily about, and they use the pure and natural marketing angle to entice consumers. Founded in 1976 by Diane Ranger, who left the company in the early '90s Bare Escentuals was one of the first brands to introduce the concept of loose powder foundation. Since then, they have moved beyond it to include liquid foundations and tinted moisturizers and an ever expanding line of color cosmetics as well as skincare products.

The products are sold in most Sephora boutiques and Ulta stores, though the full selection of skincare products is most often found at the Bare Escentuals freestanding stores scattered throughout the United States.

We should note that loose powder makeup does take some practice to get the hang of—yet there is no denying that this type of foundation has its fan base. There is a lot to love about Bare Escentuals, even if mineral makeup isn’t your thing (especially their price ranges, which have remained affordable in comparison to many of their neighbors at Sephora).

Strengths: Good makeup removers; a few well-formulated powders with SPF; some nice eyeshadows and impressive mascaras; some impressive foundations; several elegant brush options; not too expensive.

Weaknesses: Some of the loose powder products have texture and finish concerns; some of the skincare contain potentially problematic ingredients.

For more information about Bare Escentuals, call 1.888.795.4747 or visit www.bareescentuals.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
04.20.2015
Why did I wait so long?

Saw this many times and never thought to use it until I got a sample. I have super dry sensitive rosacea skin and this gives me a nice satin (I don't like matte) finish with light to medium coverage that feels like nothing on. Feeling gross and heavy on my face is the #1 reason why I didn't use foundation daily, until now. I was skeptical but golden tan is the perfect match for my caramel brown skin.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Lisa
02.12.2015
Skeptical

This foundation looks beautiful on the skin but it clogs my pores and gives me tiny little bumps! And I get soo oily! I wish it would have worked for me because it looks beautiful and natural

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Adriana R
09.14.2014
A truly porcelain foundation

Fair is perfect if you too have glow-in-the-dark (aka ghost) skin tone. Sure it's messy to apply, expensive (in Australia), and fairly flat/matte in finish if applied too heavily. A great SPF tool for your arsenal, it works really well applied over a moisturiser with an SPF. Ideal for travellers - it won't slide off on the hottest driest days and also fantastic in humidity (tropics). Not sure its really SPF 15 given FAIR's active ingredients comprise 25% titanium dioxide and 19.6% zinc oxide

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Steph C
06.03.2014
With passing hours, looks oily

I used it for several years actually, but i finally got tiered of the oiliness that it causes after sever hours of wear. I have normal to dry skin , yet, it make face oily and shine too much. It also made my face itch, now i know why. By the way , I am 27 and started using it since i was 23. But now i have switch to another Mineral makeup foundation loose powder, WAY !, better for me , at least. Would never buy this one again.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Sara
05.31.2014
Wanted to love it

My skin type: Oily, acne-prone Pros: Weightless feel on skin, buildable coverage, glow-y finish Cons: Looks greasy after couple hours, made my skin itch (bismuth oxychloride was the culprit), expensive for me considering coverage desired The Matte version of this foundation doesn't have that ingredient, but it just doesn't look as good as this one upon initial application. Might be ideal for drier skin types.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Wendy R
02.27.2014
Won't apply even

When I have my sunblock on this product won't apply evenly. There are some areas on my face where it won't go no matter how many times I go over it. It does look nice in the areas that I have been able to get it to stick though and the color matches well so the unevenness is not real obvious. This happens even when I apply mineral veil under the foundation. I have started just using the mineral veil alone over my sunblock.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
brenda s
11.10.2013
Probably not best for oily skin

This does leave my skin with a really lovely light finish, but after a few hours I am left looking very shiny and greasy. I tried using a primer underneath which helped cut out the shine, but really I was looking for something that would cut the fuss out of my make-up routine. (Which the product itself does do, it is very easy to apply and blend.) Also, it congregates in my forehead creases which can look pretty unpleasant by the end of the day. If only I didn't have pesky oily/dry skin!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Emily K
11.01.2013
Love this, keep going back to it year after year

I keep returning to this foundation because it doesn't irritate my sensitive acne prone skin. I found the itching was caused by the goat hair kabuki brushes they sell, not the foundation itself. Once I started using a synthetic hair brush, this became my go to again. It does help to have well moisturized skin before "buffing" this foundation in.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Joy
01.29.2013
Great if you are young!!

I bought this when you bought it on an infomercial. When I first used it I loved it, it gave me the matte finish that I like and using it cut a step in the morning. After using it for several years I noticed my face itching and it was settling in the creases under my eyes, not good!!! After doing some research I found that the itching was common. So, for those young people with no creases it is a great product as long as you don't react to the ingredient that causes the itching; but, for us that are more mature stay away from this product unless you are fortunate enough to not have any lines around your eyes or elsewhere on your face.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Marti Q.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.411 8/28/2015 12:58:48 AM