04.06.2015
2
6
Buxom Full-On Lip Polish
Rating
$19
Last Updated:04.06.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This lip gloss comes in a variety of beautiful shades and finishes (sparkly, shimmery, sheer, nearly opaque), all of which deliver shine and a velvety smooth texture. Unfortunately, the formula contains irritating fragrance and menthone glycerin acetyl, which, with continued use,can make lips chapped and dry. These ingredients can temporarily plump lips due to the irritation, but even at that, the effect is hard to see, and it isn’t good for your lips in the long run. See More Info to learn why these ingredients are so problematic for your lips. Note: This lip gloss used to be known as Buxom Big & Healthy Lip Polish.

Pros:
  • Beautiful shades in a wide variety of colors and finishes.
  • Velvety smooth texture.
Cons:
  • Contains fragrance and menthone glycerin acetyl, which are highly irritating to lips (see More Info).
  • Stinging/tingling sensation upon application signifies damage is taking place.
  • Pricey.

More Info:

Irritation from Fragrance:
Daily use of products that contain a high amount of fragrance, whether the fragrant ingredients are synthetic or natural, causes chronic irritation that can damage healthy collagen production, lead to or worsen dryness, and impair your skin’s ability to heal. Fragrance-free is the best way to go for all skin types. If fragrance in your skin-care products is important to you, it should be a very low amount to minimize the risk to your skin (Sources: Inflammation Research, December 2008, pages 558–563; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 124–135, and November-December 2000, pages 358–371; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, April 2008, pages 15–19; Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, March 2008, pages 78–82; Mechanisms of Ageing and Development, January 2007, pages 92–105; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 2005, pages S13–S22).

Inclusion of menthone glycerin acetyl:
Menthone glycerin acetyl is a well-known irritant. Irritation, whether you see it on the surface of your skin or not, causes inflammation, and as a result impairs healing, damages collagen, and depletes the vital substances your skin needs to stay young. For this reason, it is best to eliminate, or minimize as much as possible, your exposure to known skin irritants, especially when there are brilliant formulas available that do not include these types of problematic ingredients (Sources: Inflammation Research, December 2008, pages 558–563; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 124–135, and November-December 2000, pages 358–371; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, April 2008, pages 15–19; Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, March 2008, pages 78–82; Mechanisms of Ageing and Development, January 2007, pages 92–105; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 2005, pages S13–S22).

Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Bare Escentuals At-a-Glance

Makeup is what this San Francisco-based cosmetics line is primarily about, and they use the pure and natural marketing angle to entice consumers. Founded in 1976 by Diane Ranger, who left the company in the early '90s Bare Escentuals was one of the first brands to introduce the concept of loose powder foundation. Since then, they have moved beyond it to include liquid foundations and tinted moisturizers and an ever expanding line of color cosmetics as well as skincare products.

The products are sold in most Sephora boutiques and Ulta stores, though the full selection of skincare products is most often found at the Bare Escentuals freestanding stores scattered throughout the United States.

We should note that loose powder makeup does take some practice to get the hang of—yet there is no denying that this type of foundation has its fan base. There is a lot to love about Bare Escentuals, even if mineral makeup isn’t your thing (especially their price ranges, which have remained affordable in comparison to many of their neighbors at Sephora).

Strengths: Good makeup removers; a few well-formulated powders with SPF; some nice eyeshadows and impressive mascaras; some impressive foundations; several elegant brush options; not too expensive.

Weaknesses: Some of the loose powder products have texture and finish concerns; some of the skincare contain potentially problematic ingredients.

For more information about Bare Escentuals, call 1.888.795.4747 or visit www.bareescentuals.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
02.09.2015
Wish I would have researched first

Saw this in the store, heard it was a great lip gloss. Wrong! After about two weeks of daily use I developed the worse chapped, cracked lips I've ever had in my life. My lips bleed and it's been over 10 days. I may be scheduling a trip to the dermatologist if this continues. There should be a warning label on this product.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Jo
12.30.2014
Allergy to menthone

I loooooove both the lipsticks and glosses from this line. Unfortunately, Paula and her team are right. Menthone glycerin acetyl is a nightmare, it has taken me months to figure out which of my products were causing a reaction that gave me blisters and irritation. I am super bummed because these are among my faves. The stinging on your lips is you body telling you to take this crap off!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Leigh Marikian
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.411 8/28/2015 12:25:58 PM