11.26.2014
39
40
Bio-Oil
Rating
2 fl. oz. for $11.99
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Bio-Oil is a product we're asked about regularly, mostly because it claims to tackle scars, stretch marks, and uneven skin tone, something many people are dealing with. The company maintains that it uses a “breakthrough ingredient” known as PurCellin oil. As it turns out, this oil is derived from ducks (it is the substance ducks secrete from their skin to keep their feathers waterproof), but it has absolutely no research proving it affects the skin concerns that Bio-Oil is touted as being able to treat. In fact, PurCellin oil isn’t even included on Bio-Oil’s ingredient list. Instead, you’re applying a mix of mineral oil and emollients to your skin, along with commonplace vitamins and some irritating fragrant plant oils (which is at best confusing and strangely misleading). Several irritating fragrance ingredients are included, too, all of which adds up to an unabashedly poor product that should not be taken seriously because it simply doesn’t make scars and stretch marks less apparent. All this can realistically do (beyond irritating skin) is provide some moisturizing benefit. That can help minimally if your skin is dry, but it won’t change any other aspect of scarring, nor will it improve an uneven skin tone.

Of particular concern is the lavender oil, which smells great but causes havoc on skin. Research indicates that components of lavender, specifically linalool, can be cytotoxic, which means that topical application causes skin-cell death (Source: Cell Proliferation, June 2004, pages 221–229). Lavender leaves contain camphor, which is a known skin irritant. Because the fragrance constituents in lavender oil oxidize when exposed to air, lavender oil is a pro-oxidant, and this enhanced oxidation increases its irritancy on skin (Source: Contact Dermatitis, September 2008, pages 143–150). Lavender oil is the most potent form, and even small amounts of it (0.25% or less) are problematic. Although it’s fine as an aromatherapy agent for inhalation or relaxation, it is a must to avoid in skin-care products. (Sources: Psychiatry Research, February 2007, pages 89–96; and www.naturaldatabase.com).

Claims

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare product that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. Its advanced formulation, which contains the breakthrough ingredient PurCellin Oil, also makes it highly effective for numerous other skin concerns, including aging skin and dehydrated skin.

Ingredients

Paraffinum Liquidum (Mineral Oil), Triisononanoin, Cetearyl Ethylhexanoate, Isopropyl Myristate, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, BHT, Bisabolol, Fragrance, Amyl Cinnamal, Benzyl Salicylate, Citronellol, Coumarin, Eugenol, Geraniol, Hydroxycitronellal, Hydroxyisohexyl 3-Cyclohexene Carboxaldehyde, Limonene, Linalool, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Red 17.

Brand Overview
For details on Bio-Oil, please see the review itself. Bio--Oil's Web site does not list a phone number, but you may contact them via email. Visit www.bio-oil.com for the contact form and for additional information about this product.
About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
Next »
08.31.2015
This is Snake Oil

I found this product to smell nice, and yes it made my skin seem softer, but overall I'm not impressed. Only spent 10$, thank goodness, but I think if you're trying to reduce scars than either using prescription strength creams or making your own from natural ingredients, like coconut oil and lemon juice, which are proven to be effective for such uses would be a wiser choice.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Hailey L.
08.31.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Thanks for your feedback!  We wouldn't agree with the lemon juice recommendation, but you're right -- coconut oil can be a great moisturizer!

—Admin
08.28.2015
Amazing results

I bought bio oil to try and reduce my stretch marks at the top of my thighs, I used it every day for about a week and I could already see a massive improvement. Now I can hardly notice them

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Jessica N
08.28.2015
Love it...

I love this product....my aging skin (65 years young) has never looked or felt better..After I put the product on,my skin feels nourished and the fine wrinkles do not appear and my skin looks radiant. If its only for the time I have it on, that is fine with me, there is no MAGICAL cream or lotion or oil that can make anything disappear forever. Anyone world wide can become allergic to any product, it happens...but it may work for others, that is why we have choices.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Beverly Burke
08.28.2015
Worked amazingly

My friend had some on her nightstand so I used some of hers on some self induced scars. Results shown as early as the next morning. Been using it daily since and has greatly reduced redness and even faded some year-old scars. No irritation, whatsoever and I have sensitive skin.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Mana, M
08.24.2015
Blisters and rash

My cheeks are covered in blisters and rashes that do not seem to go away. Medications are not working. I have NEVER reacted to ANY skin creams before. Has ANYONE ELSE experienced this reaction?

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Paula
08.20.2015
Terrible.

This product didn't work at all on my stretch marks neither did it improve my scars. I hate it, waste of precious money and time.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
J.H
08.10.2015
Great Little Product

I think this a great and inexpensive product. I am 57 and I use this as a supplement to my night skin care routine. It definitely helps fine wrinkles and after a week is already lightening shadows under my eyes. It seems to work differently for each person.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Lesley F
08.05.2015
It's good if you have dry skin

It's works good for dry skin. As for my scar no changes. Love the smell. I only paid 10$ at GNC. So can't complain. A few drops can go a long ways.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jackie
07.31.2015
i love this stuff!! it worked for me

Used it during pregnancy on belly boobs butt and thighs and I didn't even get one stretch Mark this stuff works Iove it and I went from being 110 to 160 during my pregnancy so u can say it doesn't work all day long but u must not of been using it right cause it worked for me!!!!!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
maggin d
07.28.2015
Mr.

I have been using this Bio-Oil for months with no results. It was costly with no results. Don't waste your money on this product.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Hunter
07.22.2015
The worst ever

The worst product. Do not use on your face as it will break out faster than you know. Even if you have dry skin.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
AA
07.21.2015
terrible!!

Irritated my skin so bad... my stomach was itching after 2 days even after a shower..

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
mira
07.07.2015
Love it

It spreads so easily. A few drops goes along way. It makes your skin so silky and not at all greasy, oily, or smothered feeling. I can put it on at night and it's still feels good the next morning. As for the appeance of stretch marks, I've noticed a small change but nothing dramatic.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Heather
06.24.2015
Love it

Has reduced bags under my eyes and faded down the black rings, skin feels more supple. Fine lines around my eyes definitely improved. 53 years old and I wish I'd found this years ago. For the face two to three drops is enough so a bottle lasts a very long time, great value. To be completely honest I didn't expect it to do much more than hydrate the skin but I'm very pleasantly surprised with the results

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Jane W
06.11.2015
It could be for yo!!!!!.

My 3 year old had marks on his face & was recommended bio oil by his swimming instructor & worked miracle!!! My wife used it on her face & caused havoc...really bad! So maybe it doesn't work for every1!. Worth trying like anything else not big deal!!!.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
S
05.23.2015
Life saver for me.

I had a lot of fresh semi deep cuts on the inside of my wrist, and as you know skin is very thin and delicate there, so it often doesn't heal completely and you have raised, red scars there. well for me this worked miracles. it got rid of the scars completely. they were red, raised and painful but this flattened, and completely whitened it to my natural skin tone again and i applied this stuff at least 3 times a day and in a month my scars were completely gone. Completely, i swear. i was amazed.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Ivee S.
05.13.2015
TOTALLY WORKS

I only just started using this and my stretch marks lightened up so fast!!!! I love it can't wait to see the results by end of the month

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Ciara Elias
05.09.2015
white marks on face.

My white marks on face faded. Good product.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.24.2015
Bio Oil

I did see improvement in my stretch marks. And they have been there for a while. Mederma on the other hand is an over priced product. Nothing but a sunscreen. I looked at what's in it and ask the pharm. He said the same thing. Sunscreen nothing more.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.23.2015
i Dont Know !

Just barley bought it today yes it has an awful smell to me but i wish i had read this reviews before purchasing i payed $30 At Walgreens ????

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Karina Yac
04.19.2015
Best skin product ever!

I have used bio oil off and on for years. Here's why. It seemed to be a great body oil that didn't break me out when I had normal semi sensitive skin. But I now have very severe psoriasis. Its disgusting and has created huge deep scars and hurt my self esteem where beauty is concerned. I even get questions at stores as to what the horrible marks are. I've used many prescription creams which did nothing to help. But Bio Oil actually has worked wonders literally the first day I began applying!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Rachel
04.17.2015
this is crazy

Let all look at what stretch mark are.... It the skin tearing from the inside...yes inside! You can spread all the oil on the outside you want... That's not going to stop what is happening inside Think about it...sure it will soften you skin That is it

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Dee
04.13.2015
it must be different for everyone...

...because I absolutely love this stuff.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Devin M.
04.07.2015
Bio-Oil nope

bad news product

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Julie
03.26.2015
skin irritant!

This oil caused painfully dry skin on neck/chest.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Beth P.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.421 9/4/2015 8:25:06 PM