Bio-Oil

by Bio-Oil  
Price:
$11.99 - 2 fl. oz.
Poor Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Specialty Products > Specialty Skin Care Products
Last Updated:
1/3/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

Bio-Oil is a product we're asked about regularly, mostly because it claims to tackle scars, stretch marks, and uneven skin tone, something many people are dealing with. The company maintains that it uses a “breakthrough ingredient” known as PurCellin oil. As it turns out, this oil is derived from ducks (it is the substance ducks secrete from their skin to keep their feathers waterproof), but it has absolutely no research proving it affects the skin concerns that Bio-Oil is touted as being able to treat. In fact, PurCellin oil isn’t even included on Bio-Oil’s ingredient list. Instead, you’re applying a mix of mineral oil and emollients to your skin, along with commonplace vitamins and some irritating fragrant plant oils (which is at best confusing and strangely misleading). Several irritating fragrance ingredients are included, too, all of which adds up to an unabashedly poor product that should not be taken seriously because it simply doesn’t make scars and stretch marks less apparent. All this can realistically do (beyond irritating skin) is provide some moisturizing benefit. That can help minimally if your skin is dry, but it won’t change any other aspect of scarring, nor will it improve an uneven skin tone.

Of particular concern is the lavender oil, which smells great but causes havoc on skin. Research indicates that components of lavender, specifically linalool, can be cytotoxic, which means that topical application causes skin-cell death (Source: Cell Proliferation, June 2004, pages 221–229). Lavender leaves contain camphor, which is a known skin irritant. Because the fragrance constituents in lavender oil oxidize when exposed to air, lavender oil is a pro-oxidant, and this enhanced oxidation increases its irritancy on skin (Source: Contact Dermatitis, September 2008, pages 143–150). Lavender oil is the most potent form, and even small amounts of it (0.25% or less) are problematic. Although it’s fine as an aromatherapy agent for inhalation or relaxation, it is a must to avoid in skin-care products. (Sources: Psychiatry Research, February 2007, pages 89–96; and www.naturaldatabase.com).

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare product that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. Its advanced formulation, which contains the breakthrough ingredient PurCellin Oil, also makes it highly effective for numerous other skin concerns, including aging skin and dehydrated skin.

Paraffinum Liquidum (Mineral Oil), Triisononanoin, Cetearyl Ethylhexanoate, Isopropyl Myristate, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, BHT, Bisabolol, Fragrance, Amyl Cinnamal, Benzyl Salicylate, Citronellol, Coumarin, Eugenol, Geraniol, Hydroxycitronellal, Hydroxyisohexyl 3-Cyclohexene Carboxaldehyde, Limonene, Linalool, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Red 17.

For details on Bio-Oil, please see the review itself. Bio--Oil's Web site does not list a phone number, but you may contact them via email. Visit www.bio-oil.com for the contact form and for additional information about this product.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
Page of 1
  1. Nathan T.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Strech Marks
    • I've tried this product for about 2 years for stretch marks on my waist; it never did a thing. Total waste of money. I wish I had known about Paula's Choice reviews before buying Bio-Oil (or any other product for that matter!). Best thing to do for stretch marks? Save your money and get a laser treatment; nothing else is going to work. My derm recommended the Fraxel laser which I will save up for and do!

  2. Amanda R.
    Reviewed on Friday, April 18, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Irritated my skin
    • I was given this product as a gift. My skin broke out and became red and irritated after a few uses. I stopped using it for a week and tried it again and the same thing happened.

  3. Jessica C
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 15, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Serious irritation! Not worth it
    • I used it all over my body because it seemed to be a fix all miracle treatment, but a few brushes against my neck and chest area resulted in long term damage in the form of discoloured bumps that itched and looked dreadful. I battled these bumps (looked like large Milia, but there was no white) for at least 6 or 7 months. I used Paula's AHA 10% exfoliator which healed the area in just a few treatments. It was a horrible experience and I'll never use Bio Oil ever again...on any body part!

  4. Jacquie
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 28, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Smothered my skin
    • I bought this hoping to soften and cure my very dry skin. For me, it did the opposite: I felt like my skin couldn't breathe. It was like a film of plastic sitting on my skin. Did nothing for the dryness. I stopped using it because it just felt unnatural and threw away the more than half full bottle.

  5. GS
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 03, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    great for scars on dry skin type
    • It is a great product for me, I got scars, five incisions, on my belly, and after just two, yes, two times applying a few drops of this bio oil, my scars are now fading. The best product I have ever tried for this particular purpose. I do not think it is good for oily skin type, especially for face because it does clod pores, but other than than it is worth to buy. Some people say it is an expensive item, but I got mine at Costco for less money.

  6. Jay P
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 29, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Great for scent- not for skincare...
    • I wouldn't use this on my face or expect any skincare miracles from it all... however, it does have a beautiful and rather long-lasting fragrance. I don't like to wear perfume, but prefer to wear scented body lotion or oil in lieu of perfume or cologne because I think it ends up being less overpowering. This product is great as a scented body oil. The fragrance is gorgeous- slighly floral and fresh & clean at the same time. It lasts quite awhile. Recommened as a fragrance product only.

  7. Amanda G.
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 23, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Doesn't do anything
    • I hate that this company can make so many false claims and sucker so many people into buying something that doesn't work. I fell for this scam and bought a bottle of this to use on the stretchmarks on my hips that I've had since puberty and saw absolutely no effect whatsoever... now I know why! Don't waste your money!

  8. Kate K.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 13, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Never had THIS experience before
    • I tried using this as a winter facial moisturizer, as I work outside in all weather. While my skin *appeared* fine (and actually seemed to clear up of dryness and acne), I noticed after a week or so of use that the nerves in my skin *felt* as if they had been rubbed with sandpaper. At first I though it was windburn, but it was never red or chapped, it just had what felt like raw nerves. As soon as I stopped using the Bio-Oil a week or so later, the sensation went away. Odd and not good.

  9. Adriana Rahma
    Reviewed on Friday, March 15, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Overhyped Product
    • I was constantly using it and waiting for the wonder, but it never came. I'm not wondering on "why" anymore...

  10. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 02, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • I bought this once and will never buy it again... after reading the cosmetics cop review! This product contains a significant amount of lavender oil which I heard is cytotoxic (causes cell death). Is the amount of lavender oil in this product likely to cause cell death?

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.315
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.