11.26.2014
24
36
Bio-Oil
Rating
2 fl. oz. for $11.99
Category:Skin Care > Specialty Products > Specialty Skin Care Products
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Bio-Oil is a product we're asked about regularly, mostly because it claims to tackle scars, stretch marks, and uneven skin tone, something many people are dealing with. The company maintains that it uses a “breakthrough ingredient” known as PurCellin oil. As it turns out, this oil is derived from ducks (it is the substance ducks secrete from their skin to keep their feathers waterproof), but it has absolutely no research proving it affects the skin concerns that Bio-Oil is touted as being able to treat. In fact, PurCellin oil isn’t even included on Bio-Oil’s ingredient list. Instead, you’re applying a mix of mineral oil and emollients to your skin, along with commonplace vitamins and some irritating fragrant plant oils (which is at best confusing and strangely misleading). Several irritating fragrance ingredients are included, too, all of which adds up to an unabashedly poor product that should not be taken seriously because it simply doesn’t make scars and stretch marks less apparent. All this can realistically do (beyond irritating skin) is provide some moisturizing benefit. That can help minimally if your skin is dry, but it won’t change any other aspect of scarring, nor will it improve an uneven skin tone.

Of particular concern is the lavender oil, which smells great but causes havoc on skin. Research indicates that components of lavender, specifically linalool, can be cytotoxic, which means that topical application causes skin-cell death (Source: Cell Proliferation, June 2004, pages 221–229). Lavender leaves contain camphor, which is a known skin irritant. Because the fragrance constituents in lavender oil oxidize when exposed to air, lavender oil is a pro-oxidant, and this enhanced oxidation increases its irritancy on skin (Source: Contact Dermatitis, September 2008, pages 143–150). Lavender oil is the most potent form, and even small amounts of it (0.25% or less) are problematic. Although it’s fine as an aromatherapy agent for inhalation or relaxation, it is a must to avoid in skin-care products. (Sources: Psychiatry Research, February 2007, pages 89–96; and www.naturaldatabase.com).

Claims

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare product that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. Its advanced formulation, which contains the breakthrough ingredient PurCellin Oil, also makes it highly effective for numerous other skin concerns, including aging skin and dehydrated skin.

Ingredients

Paraffinum Liquidum (Mineral Oil), Triisononanoin, Cetearyl Ethylhexanoate, Isopropyl Myristate, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, BHT, Bisabolol, Fragrance, Amyl Cinnamal, Benzyl Salicylate, Citronellol, Coumarin, Eugenol, Geraniol, Hydroxycitronellal, Hydroxyisohexyl 3-Cyclohexene Carboxaldehyde, Limonene, Linalool, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Red 17.

Brand Overview
For details on Bio-Oil, please see the review itself. Bio--Oil's Web site does not list a phone number, but you may contact them via email. Visit www.bio-oil.com for the contact form and for additional information about this product.
About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.23.2015
Life saver for me.

I had a lot of fresh semi deep cuts on the inside of my wrist, and as you know skin is very thin and delicate there, so it often doesn't heal completely and you have raised, red scars there. well for me this worked miracles. it got rid of the scars completely. they were red, raised and painful but this flattened, and completely whitened it to my natural skin tone again and i applied this stuff at least 3 times a day and in a month my scars were completely gone. Completely, i swear. i was amazed.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Ivee S.
05.13.2015
TOTALLY WORKS

I only just started using this and my stretch marks lightened up so fast!!!! I love it can't wait to see the results by end of the month

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Ciara Elias
05.09.2015
white marks on face.

My white marks on face faded. Good product.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.24.2015
Bio Oil

I did see improvement in my stretch marks. And they have been there for a while. Mederma on the other hand is an over priced product. Nothing but a sunscreen. I looked at what's in it and ask the pharm. He said the same thing. Sunscreen nothing more.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.23.2015
i Dont Know !

Just barley bought it today yes it has an awful smell to me but i wish i had read this reviews before purchasing i payed $30 At Walgreens ????

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Karina Yac
04.19.2015
Best skin product ever!

I have used bio oil off and on for years. Here's why. It seemed to be a great body oil that didn't break me out when I had normal semi sensitive skin. But I now have very severe psoriasis. Its disgusting and has created huge deep scars and hurt my self esteem where beauty is concerned. I even get questions at stores as to what the horrible marks are. I've used many prescription creams which did nothing to help. But Bio Oil actually has worked wonders literally the first day I began applying!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Rachel
04.17.2015
this is crazy

Let all look at what stretch mark are.... It the skin tearing from the inside...yes inside! You can spread all the oil on the outside you want... That's not going to stop what is happening inside Think about it...sure it will soften you skin That is it

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Dee
04.13.2015
it must be different for everyone...

...because I absolutely love this stuff.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Devin M.
04.07.2015
Bio-Oil nope

bad news product

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Julie
03.26.2015
skin irritant!

This oil caused painfully dry skin on neck/chest.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Beth P.
03.09.2015
sucks

hate it, bought it in the UK, i have scars from breast implants and also was pregnant, helped nothing, i was naive paying for paraben 100x more, its just scented baby oil... for me a natural pregnancy creme helped enriched with vitamin e, dont remember the name i guess its called pregnacare, that creme had simple package did not have various fragrances but helped, my tummy has no marks and my scars under the breast 50% imporved, this bio oil is not bio its a scam

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
hate it
02.14.2015
olalass

I love BioOil.If my face is feeling too dry in one spot I apply it and it totally resolves itself.And worse if my skin feels Mixed and I apply the oil my entire face seems to ajust.You guys on this site need to welcome some new reviews this product works for me and my skin is fussy- sensitive!! thx

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
olalass
11.06.2014
Ineffective

I don't understand the hype surrounding this product. I have been using this religiously on my face to help heal my acne scars and redness and although I haven't experienced any negative side effects, I haven't seen any differences in my skin. Wouldn't recommend to someone who is trying to heal any scars but I did find that it made my skin look radiant under my makeup as a highlighter, and worked ok as a moisturising serum.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Maddy E
07.30.2014
Has it's benefits

I have to say i way a bit skeptical, most of the consumers that have tried this were divided between hating it and liking it. It is pretty good, it took a few weeks for me to see the difference. I used to feel really self conscience about my legs because they were covered in scars from my child hood however Bio-oil helped them fade away quite nicely. I 6-12 drops with my lotion and massage my skin, I mix it so that it is no too oily and my skin can absorb it better.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Victoria, L.
05.07.2014
Strech Marks

I've tried this product for about 2 years for stretch marks on my waist; it never did a thing. Total waste of money. I wish I had known about Paula's Choice reviews before buying Bio-Oil (or any other product for that matter!). Best thing to do for stretch marks? Save your money and get a laser treatment; nothing else is going to work. My derm recommended the Fraxel laser which I will save up for and do!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Nathan T.
04.18.2014
Irritated my skin

I was given this product as a gift. My skin broke out and became red and irritated after a few uses. I stopped using it for a week and tried it again and the same thing happened.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Amanda R.
02.15.2014
Serious irritation! Not worth it

I used it all over my body because it seemed to be a fix all miracle treatment, but a few brushes against my neck and chest area resulted in long term damage in the form of discoloured bumps that itched and looked dreadful. I battled these bumps (looked like large Milia, but there was no white) for at least 6 or 7 months. I used Paula's AHA 10% exfoliator which healed the area in just a few treatments. It was a horrible experience and I'll never use Bio Oil ever again...on any body part!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Jessica C
12.28.2013
Smothered my skin

I bought this hoping to soften and cure my very dry skin. For me, it did the opposite: I felt like my skin couldn't breathe. It was like a film of plastic sitting on my skin. Did nothing for the dryness. I stopped using it because it just felt unnatural and threw away the more than half full bottle.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Jacquie
11.03.2013
great for scars on dry skin type

It is a great product for me, I got scars, five incisions, on my belly, and after just two, yes, two times applying a few drops of this bio oil, my scars are now fading. The best product I have ever tried for this particular purpose. I do not think it is good for oily skin type, especially for face because it does clod pores, but other than than it is worth to buy. Some people say it is an expensive item, but I got mine at Costco for less money.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
GS
05.29.2013
Great for scent- not for skincare...

I wouldn't use this on my face or expect any skincare miracles from it all... however, it does have a beautiful and rather long-lasting fragrance. I don't like to wear perfume, but prefer to wear scented body lotion or oil in lieu of perfume or cologne because I think it ends up being less overpowering. This product is great as a scented body oil. The fragrance is gorgeous- slighly floral and fresh & clean at the same time. It lasts quite awhile. Recommened as a fragrance product only.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jay P
05.23.2013
Doesn't do anything

I hate that this company can make so many false claims and sucker so many people into buying something that doesn't work. I fell for this scam and bought a bottle of this to use on the stretchmarks on my hips that I've had since puberty and saw absolutely no effect whatsoever... now I know why! Don't waste your money!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Amanda G.
05.13.2013
Never had THIS experience before

I tried using this as a winter facial moisturizer, as I work outside in all weather. While my skin *appeared* fine (and actually seemed to clear up of dryness and acne), I noticed after a week or so of use that the nerves in my skin *felt* as if they had been rubbed with sandpaper. At first I though it was windburn, but it was never red or chapped, it just had what felt like raw nerves. As soon as I stopped using the Bio-Oil a week or so later, the sensation went away. Odd and not good.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Kate K.
03.15.2013
Overhyped Product

I was constantly using it and waiting for the wonder, but it never came. I'm not wondering on "why" anymore...

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Adriana Rahma
01.02.2013

I bought this once and will never buy it again... after reading the cosmetics cop review! This product contains a significant amount of lavender oil which I heard is cytotoxic (causes cell death). Is the amount of lavender oil in this product likely to cause cell death?

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.394 5/29/2015 7:37:09 AM