11.26.2014
16
485
Sensibio H2O
Rating
250 ml for $19.95
Category:Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths)
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

This is a standard, fragrance-free liquid makeup remover whose basic formula is fine for sensitive skin or any other skin type. The gentleness of its formula is why we rated it a BEST, plus it works to remove most types of makeup, although it struggles a bit with waterproof mascara.

Because this is a thin liquid, it must be applied with a cotton pad or ball; you can use a cotton swab around the eyes.

What about Bioderma's claim of pioneering something called "micellar solutions"? It's more marketing hype than a unique type of formulary. Micellar involves micelles, which are a type of electrically charged particle. Micelle technology is simply one way of explaining how any detergent cleansing agent (which this product and thousands of other cleansers contain) combines with water and interacts with oils to clean any surface, including skin. Micelle technology is not by any means unique to this product

Note: The price we list is for the 250 ml size; it's also available in a 500 ml size.

Pros:
  • Removes just about all types of makeup easily.
  • Gentle, fragrance-free formula.
  • Doesn't leave a residue that requires rinsing.
Cons:
  • None.
Claims
At the cutting edge of innovation, BIODERMA has pioneered micellar solutions. Specially formulated for sensitive, normal to dry skins, the Sensibio H2O micelle solution gently cleanses face and eyes. It removes water-resistant make-up.
Ingredients
Water (Aqua), PEG-6 Caprylic/Capric Glycerides, Propylene Glycol, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Mannitol, Xylitol, Rhamnose, Fructooligosaccharides, Disodium EDTA, Cetrimonium Bromide.
Brand Overview

Strengths: Bioderma provides complete product ingredient lists on their site; some very good, fragrance-free facial cleansers; every sunscreen provides sufficient broad-spectrum protection, and most are fragrance-free; a few good mattifying products for oily skin; great prices.

Weaknesses: The endless array of moisturizers are ordinary; the claims don’t match what the formulas can actually do; repetitive sunscreen formulas; many of the sunscreens contain a potentially problematic amount of denatured alcohol; disappointing lightening products lacking ingredients that can lighten brown spots; the bronzing SPF products encourage tanning.

Bioderma is a European brand based in France and sold in 70 countries around the world, which explains why we get so many requests to review the brand!

According to information on their website, the team at Bioderma has been collaborating with dermatologists and “renowned international research centers” for over 20 years, all to bring you products that are “the most frequently prescribed by French dermatologists.” Sounds impressive, but the proof is in the products, not the posturing!

Because Bioderma sells skin-care products, not pharmaceutical drug products, there’s no “prescribing” involved—anyone can easily obtain Bioderma products, in stores or online, no doctor visit needed. The fact that French dermatologists recommend these products isn’t proof of anything; lots of dermatologists around the world recommend products with problematic ingredients, sometimes because they simply don’t know any better or are just as susceptible to the hype as anyone else, and sometimes because they are paid by the company to promote their products.

The Bioderma range is huge, but also hugely repetitive. Few brands offer as many cleansers, moisturizers, and sunscreens as Bioderma, yet the onslaught creates a lot of confusion, and the differences between many of these formulas are subtle to indistinguishable. There are some good products, but overall the formulas are lackluster. When shopping this line, you really have to choose carefully and not get too hung up on the various names and claims because often virtually the same product formula comes with different benefits on the label, again and again. And again.

Many people with sensitive skin ask us about Bioderma, perhaps because the company frequently mentions that their products are hypoallergenic. That term—“hypoallergenic”— is misleading, as explained below.

There are no accepted testing methods, ingredient restrictions, regulations, guidelines, rules, or procedures of any kind, anywhere in the world, for determining whether or not a product qualifies as being hypoallergenic. So, any company can label any product “hypoallergenic” because there is no regulation that says they can’t, no matter what so-called evidence they may use to make their point—and what proof can they provide given there is no standard against which to measure?

Given that there are no regulations governing hypoallergenic products, we know there are plenty of products labeled “hypoallergenic” that actually contain problematic ingredients and that can indeed trigger allergic reactions, even for those with no previous history of skin sensitivity—and that’s certainly true for many Bioderma products. We wish that weren’t the case, but the word “hypoallergenic” gives you no reliable understanding of what you are or aren’t putting on your skin (Sources: www.fda.gov; Clinical and Experimental Dermatology, May 2004, pages 325–327; and Ostomy and Wound Management, March 2003, pages 20–21).

That being said, we applaud Bioderma for avoiding the use of known sensitizing ingredients like peppermint, lavender, menthol, and all types of citrus, which unfortunately are rampant in the world of skin care. Many Bioderma products are also fragrance-free and in that sense are absolutely worth a look, whether sensitive skin is an issue or not. (Fragrance-free is best for all skin types.)

Despite the huge number of products, there are some surprising holes in the Bioderma line. For example, this isn’t a line to shop if you’re struggling with breakouts, there are no effective AHA or BHA exfoliants, the skin-lightening products have drawbacks that don’t make them worth considering over better options, and you won’t find advanced anti-aging formulations of any kind. You’re in luck if you want lots of choices in cleansers, moisturizers, and sunscreens, but as mentioned above, there’s a lot to wade through, and much of it is repetitive. We’re all for brands offering choices for different skin types, concerns, and textures (such as gel versus lotion), but Bioderma’s range simply isn’t as varied as it is large. A large mix of relatively wishy-washy formulations is really not a plus for your skin.

For more information about Bioderma, visit www.bioderma.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
06.23.2015
Love at first swipe!

A bit too pricey for what it actually is, but fantastic for all skin types! It really does remove makeup easily, doesn't irritate eyes or dries out skin, this is my holy grail makeup remover and I recommend it to anyone and everyone!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Andy
06.07.2015
best cleanser ever

I love this cleanser, its my favorite, my skin is sensitive and oily, and its perfect, its good when in a rush to work, and removing makeup, sometimes use it as a soothing toner, it calms sensitive skin, Best way to get is order online from uk or france, or go to city pharma on rue de four in paris

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
tamara
06.07.2015
Gentle and Effective

This is very gentle and nondrying removing almost all types of makeup. For my eyes, I still use a cotton swab and dual phase eye makeup remover as Bioderma is not so effective for my gel eyeliner and mascara. It truly leaves the skin clean but not dry with absolutely no residue. I highly reccomend this to anyone regardless of skintype.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Kim T.
06.02.2015
My skin turns sensitive

My skin turned red and burned when I tryed this water.Tryed several times and always hapened.Tryed a diferente bottle, the same happened.It's not for all skins.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Alda M
05.02.2015
Great for lazy skincare moments

I've gone through 2 big bottles of this awesome stuff and got my friends hooked on it. Bioderma Sensibio is a godsend when you've come home after maybe too many drinks and are too lazy to do your normal skincare routine.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Elizabeth M
04.18.2015
Miracle Worker

I have rosacea/sensitive skin. This cleanser feels great on my skin. My skin feels smoother and less irritated after using this. I do have to use a lot of it to remove my make up and I don't wear very much. That's the one big downside for me. I'm shocked some people have had some weird skin reactions to this. I have super duper sensitive dry skin and this has been one of the first make up removers/cleansers that hasn't left my skin feeling burned or dry. And I've been through a lot.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
LC
02.26.2015
i love it

i tried Eucerin's Dermato Clean (aka Micellar water), it's not as effective as this one. The price is cheaper comparing with Eucerin's. I love this product. It cleans my make up effectively.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Christine Kong
02.02.2015
Great for eyes and the rest of your face

Great formula, doesn't sting your eyes and removes make-up (but not waterproof mascara). Compared to other fragrance-free micellar lotions, this does good by my rosacea combination skin.I love using it as an eye makeup remover: I apply it on a cotton pad, gently press (and hold it) for 10'. I always rinse it off my face -- it is a cleanser in the end not a toner. Though pricey, you will alw. find a drugstore (in EU) that has it on discount so it's worthy your pennies.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
F.
12.15.2014
Terrible Product

I recently purchased Sensibio H2O make-up remover for sensitive skin from Shoppers Drug Mart. I had a SEVERE allergic reaction to this product. I have used many make-up removers and have NEVER once reacted to a product before. I DO NOT have sensitive skin either. This product burned my eyes for almost two hours! I was crying non-stop. Worst of all, it didn't even remove the mascara (which was NOT even waterproof!). Do not buy. Waste of money. I LIKE WRITING IN CAPS.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Kay, C
08.17.2014
So mad

Plain and to the point hate this stuff it does not work!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
07.28.2014
The BEST!

I love love love this stuff. Its probably on the pricey side, but It is worth it. It feels like water, not oily like most make up removers. It just takes every bit of make up off. It does not sting your eyes. Your skin just feels so good after you use it. I have tried so many others but will never use another. I heard about it from famed m/u artist Lisa Eldridge. I do not have sensitive skin, but I am finding out that we do so much to our skin, its nice to treat it to something lovely and gentle.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Barbie l
04.17.2014
Huge dissappointment

This cleanser irritated my skin worse than any product I have EVER used in my 30+ years. After only a few days of use, the skin around my lips became really dry and the corners of my mouth became chapped. No amount of lip balm, creams, etc. made any difference. Then I developed dry patches under my eyes and nose area. It's been a week since I've stopped using it, and while my lips are back to normal, the skin around my eyes is still red, itchy and swollen. Avoid it if you have sensitive skin.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.10.2014
Best, will use forever

I've used this for years, i'm on my 4th or 5th bottle and will continue to buy. I do not feel the urge to try out any other new makeup removers since discovering this one. Enough said. Everybody needs to try this now, the hg of all makeup removers.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Xena X.
12.20.2013
Such a great liquid make up remover!

Love it! This really works to remove all kinds of make up and be gentle to your skin!! The only exception is waterproof mascara, but hey, everyone know waterproof mascara require special remover and you wouldn't anticipate any regular make up remover to do so. And the best is it will NOT sting your eyes! Not at all. (I have tried the A-Derma Sensifluid Micellar Water, which is similar and work as great to remove make up but the only draw back is when it get into the eyes it hurts.)

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
HY C
10.22.2013
Best liquid cleanser I have ever tried.

I love it . I have incredibly sensitive, very redness prone skin and it does mot irritate at all. It has no fragrance and leaves no sticky residue. Removes every trace of makeup easily. It is a bit pricey. It may have no exceptional ingredients, but the formulation is still woks brilliantly. My holy grail liquid cleanser.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
HELEN D.
10.21.2013
Sensibio H2o

I love Bioderma H2O Sensibio. It is one of my staple cleansers/make-up removers. It is very gentle and literally removes everything. Bioderma range is huge, but if you know your skin concerns, you very quickly learn which range/products are best for you. Sunscreens sold in Europe are generally better formulated that the ones sold in the US. Bioderma does have 2 anti-aging ranges. They are Matricane and Matricium and are sold in most European countries.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
J
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.405 7/30/2015 10:18:23 PM