12.31.2014
16
37
Corrector
Rating
$23
Last Updated:12.31.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Corrector has the same texture, application, and level of coverage as Bobbi Brown's Creamy Concealer, but this version is meant for those with very dark circles. The shades are almost all strongly peach or pink, but the logic from Brown is that such hues cancel the purple tinge dark circles have. They do cancel it, but the effect is not nearly as flattering or neutral as it is from a neutral- to yellow-toned concealer.

If anything, using a noticeably pink or peach-toned concealer over purple skin discolorations just replaces one discoloration with another. Regardless of what you need to conceal, no one’s skin is this pink or peach.

By the way, when we asked about this product at the Bobbi Brown counter, we were told women with dark circles should apply the Corrector followed by the Creamy Concealer and then powder. That's product overkill for the eye area because the Corrector and Creamy Concealer are so thick and heavy.

Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Bobbi Brown At-A-Glance

Strengths: A good cleanser and eye makeup removers; some impressive foundations, with options for all skin types and preferences; very good blushes and eyeshadows (powder and cream); several top-notch mascaras; mostly excellent brushes.

Weaknesses: Multiple moisturizers in jar packaging, otherwise great products hindered with irritating fragrant oils or fragrance components.

It all began with lipsticks. In 1991, New York based makeup artist Bobbi Brown debuted a collection of ten lipsticks at Bergdorf Goodman, expecting to sell about one hundred units in a month. She sold more than that the first day. From there, it's been mostly success after success, as Brown launched her classic foundation stick, wrote her first book, Bobbi Brown Beauty The Ultimate Beauty Resource, and enjoyed continued attention as an in-demand makeup artist and beauty educator.

Today, Bobbi Brown's makeup that continues to excel with superior foundations, true matte blushes and eyeshadows, and with all of the other basics that are essential to anyone’s makeup wardrobe. It isn't the least bit surprising that this makeup collection continues to do so well, because for many it's one-stop shopping that combines classic makeup application techniques with enough fun-yet-functional products to keep customer's interest piqued season to season.

Turning to the skincare collection, there are a few excellent formulas, but unfortunately, many are packaged in a jar, which means their beneficial ingredients are rendered useless due to air exposure (and bacterial contamination from spatulas or fingers). In addition, some suffer from the inclusion of potent fragrant essential oils. Those that should be avoided are noted in their respective reviews. That aside, color is without a doubt Bobbi Brown's strong point—but you will find a few sleeper hits among the selection of skincare products.

For more information about Bobbi Brown, call (877) 310-9222 or visit www.bobbibrowncosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.27.2015
This corrector is holygrail.

This is by far the best color corrector out there. I am Deep Bisque and It immediately brightens my under eye area. You do not need a lot as the product is really creamy and if you dont want to use another cream concealer, just use your foundation as you no longer need concealer. And yellow based concealers do not work For Bluish dark under eye you need orange, bisque or salmon. However with the concealer it is not over kill and it does look natural. I took a nap and it didnt crease.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Daniela
07.22.2015
Wonderful product

This corrector in the bisque shade is the only product that has ever completely covered my dark purplish/blue/brownish circles. Even though BB recommends you use their concealer on top of it, I've never needed to. I completely disagree with the Beautypedia review that a yellow toned concealer works better! As a makeup artist, I can attest that peachy & pinky toned correctors work much better at concealing very dark circles, & orange toned correctors work great for dark skinned individuals.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Christi D.
05.11.2015
Best product ever

This is the only product of the many I've tried over the years that works for under-eye circles. You have to experiment, but once you get it, you have it. I don't use extra moisturiser, concealer over, or powder (have tried all of those). I pat it on around the whole eye, and it gives me a natural, RESTED look. I'm dismayed at the bad PC review, because I generally trust her reviews. But not this one.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Ann J
04.21.2015
Best corrector ever

I'm actually really surprised at such a negative review and I feel so passionate about this product that I had to write a review about it. This corrector is amazing and has done wonders in neutralizing my dark undereye circles. I use the light to medium bisque shade and apply the product with my finger. After blending it in it looks perfectly seamless and just seems do disappear without any sign of wearing concealer but still having neutralized the undereye circles. By far one of my HG products.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.11.2014
I so wanted to like this product but...

Several years ago I started using corrector with concealer on top and powder. By midday most of the product had slid or smeared. So, I stopped applying eye cream first -- didn't help much. I gave up using the product altogether and started using a different brand of concealer which had great coverage and stayed in place. The only problem was the color wasn't exactly right for extremely dark circles. I really like the corrector but having to reapply it twice a day does not work for me.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Lynne
06.04.2014
Would never use anything else :)

I have been using this for years. I am not big on reviews but I was shocked to see a bad review. Like the other person said, you have to apply it right. Using the finger to dab and then setting it with the translucent powder is best. You can use the creamy concealer if you have crazy, dark circles but I skip it. I was skeptical about this product at first and then the girl did one eye with the corrector and one without. WHOA! I haven't been without it since. I use light bisque- perfect!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
toni h
05.17.2014
Light in a pot

This is an excellent product...like applying light to the face. I love this product - it is easy to apply, creamy and covers under eye shadows. I have very pale skin and yellow based concealers look very strange on my skin so the Peach shade I chose is perfect on my skin. I love the way any shadows disappeared instantly and so effortlessly just by patting it on. I have tried so many concealers with varying textures but this one is the best. It is fragrance free, as a welcome bonus.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Margaret M.
05.06.2014
Great

Works very well for dark circles. Use it with BB concealer and powder for fabulous all day coverage that stays put, no creasing. I like a brush better than fingers to apply. Very happy with the results

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
zizzie
11.25.2013
It Works for Brightening Dark Circles

I received the corrector in Light Bisque as part of a kit. I was skeptical about the product when I saw how pink it was, but it turned out to work really well over my very dark circles. This product really brightened the under eye area a bunch. I use Bobbi's concealer in Sand or Beige on top of the corrector. Then, I apply a light amount of the her yellow powder. Note: begin with a small amt of moisturizer. Sounds crazy, but the combination really does work well. It is worth trying.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Andrea
10.14.2013
Great for undereye circles/discolouration

I think this is an amazing product if you know how to use it. It looks natural. Normal concealers tend to look too pale or give you reverse dark can circles and that can look crazy. I mix a small amount of this and I believe that's the key - use a SMALL amount. Do not glob this on otherwise of course it will be fake and greasy looking. Personally, all my friends are always trying to borrow this (no, would be unsanitary!) and I haven't heard a bad review from a person who actually uses it.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
CR
10.15.2013
Beautypedia Team Response

Hello! Thanks for your review. We actually used this product, too, and didn't care for it. Clearly your experience differed and that's fine; you don't need to agree with all of our reviews to get value from them. Corrector is tricky to work with and the colors make it even more of a challenge. There are better, easier concealers available for those who don't want to do the extra work.

—Admin
06.30.2013
Does not replace one discoloration with another

This product covers my undereye circles better than anything else. I don't even need to top it with a skin-toned foundation because it does not create any unsightly discoloration. Instead it brightens my dark circles and the inner corners of my eyes. This used to crease on me, but I've improved my application technique and that's no longer a problem. This is truly one of the best products to cover my dark circles.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Jessica T
06.12.2013
I disagree...

I disagree because I am a makeup artist at Sephora, and I use this all the time on clients. I use the Corrector by itself with the lightly dot a GOOD creamy concealer around the eye area. Then I take a good concealer airbrush (#57 at Sephora which is AMAZING) and blend the products together. It looks amazing. So I wouldn't say this doesn't work. It is how you apply it and make sure you use the correct tools. BUT, I never use powder. This silly

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
sara stop
06.10.2013
I disagree

The salmon color doesn't match the foundation, but it covers DARK circles like mine. This is the first product in my entire life that has done so! It gets my under eye to the place it should be before using regular concealer. When I'm out I just mix orange liquid blush with my regular concealer to get the same salmon color I need. I'd rather not do that, though. Erase paste can be used in the same way and has more product in the tub, but I prefer the consistency of this product.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Alisha Adkison
05.30.2013
i stand by this product

I have very dark under eye circles and this is the only product I have ever used that helps at all. It is very creamy and it blends well. I use it before my foundation and somethimes it's all I use. I love this product, it really works for me.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Tanya
05.20.2013
very good coverage

I have Asian skin with yellow undertone and I tan easily. I also have dark circles from years of allergies. I tried Light Peach and Light to Medium Bisque. Both shades worked for me and the coverage was very good. The Light to Medium Bisque was very close to my skin tone. I don't use a concealer on top of the corrector. I just apply a little powder on top to set it and it looks perfectly natural. The darker shades seem very orange. But the light and medium shades are great.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Sarah C.
12.22.2012
Best for Allergies

I have allergies which cause dark circles under my eyes. This corrector is one of the few items that actually cover up the dark circles without making me look made up. This product got poor reviews on Beautypedia but for someone with a lot of yellow in their skin along with dark circles, it is THE best!!!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Paula M.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.411 8/28/2015 3:01:24 AM