Corrector

Price:
$23 
Poor Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Makeup > Concealers & Highlighters > Cream Concealer
Last Updated:
5/10/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

Corrector has the same texture, application, and level of coverage as Bobbi Brown's Creamy Concealer, but this version is meant for those with very dark circles. The shades are almost all strongly peach or pink, but the logic from Brown is that such hues cancel the purple tinge dark circles have. They do cancel it, but the effect is not nearly as flattering or neutral as it is from a neutral- to yellow-toned concealer.

If anything, using a noticeably pink or peach-toned concealer over purple skin discolorations just replaces one discoloration with another. Regardless of what you need to conceal, no one’s skin is this pink or peach.

By the way, when we asked about this product at the Bobbi Brown counter, we were told women with dark circles should apply the Corrector followed by the Creamy Concealer and then powder. That's product overkill for the eye area because the Corrector and Creamy Concealer are so thick and heavy.

It all began with lipsticks. In 1991, New York based makeup artist Bobbi Brown debuted a collection of ten lipsticks at Bergdorf Goodman, expecting to sell about one hundred units in a month. She sold more than that the first day. From there, it's been mostly success after success, as Brown launched her classic foundation stick, wrote her first book, Bobbi Brown Beauty The Ultimate Beauty Resource, and enjoyed continued attention as an in-demand makeup artist and beauty educator.

The popularity of the line, particularly the makeup, did not go unnoticed by Estee Lauder, who acquired Bobbi Brown Cosmetics in 1995. Since Lauder has been at the helm the line has expanded well beyond what Brown likely envisioned back in the early 1990s, and it now includes fragrance and baby-care products, among others. Yet it is Brown's makeup that continues to excel with superior foundations (though the ones without sufficient UVA protection disappoint), true matte blushes and eyeshadows, and with all of the other basics that are essential to a woman's classic makeup wardrobe. It isn't the least bit surprising that this makeup collection continues to do so well, because for many women, it's one-stop shopping that combines classic makeup application techniques with enough fun-yet-functional products to keep customer's interest piqued season to season.

Turning to the skin-care collection, there isn't a great deal to say or extol. The prices are rather steep, especially when you consider how many well-intentioned products use jar packaging, and fragrant irritants are a common thread, including in most of the sunscreens, which is a shame. Color is Bobbi Brown's strong point, but you will find a few sleeper hits among the selection of mostly inadequate or problematic skin-care products.

For more information about Bobbi Brown, owned by Estee Lauder, call (877) 310-9222 or visit www.bobbibrowncosmetics.com.

Bobbi Brown Makeup

We admire Brown's latest philosophy on beauty. She says, "The secret to beauty is simple—be who you are." No arguments here! However, it's clear from promotional materials for this line that Brown believes being who you are should involve some amount of makeup, a concept many women may disagree with. Still, there's no question that the right makeup, applied and blended correctly, can make a world of positive difference to a woman, and in this regard Brown's counter staff is well-prepared. It was nice to overhear the makeup artists explaining step-by-step application tips to customers, rather than just pushing products. With just a few exceptions, this is a makeup collection its namesake creator should be proud of—not only for the products, but also for the level of service and education provided.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Lynne
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 11, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    I so wanted to like this product but...
    • Several years ago I started using corrector with concealer on top and powder. By midday most of the product had slid or smeared. So, I stopped applying eye cream first -- didn't help much. I gave up using the product altogether and started using a different brand of concealer which had great coverage and stayed in place. The only problem was the color wasn't exactly right for extremely dark circles. I really like the corrector but having to reapply it twice a day does not work for me.

  2. toni h
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 04, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Would never use anything else :)
    • I have been using this for years. I am not big on reviews but I was shocked to see a bad review. Like the other person said, you have to apply it right. Using the finger to dab and then setting it with the translucent powder is best. You can use the creamy concealer if you have crazy, dark circles but I skip it. I was skeptical about this product at first and then the girl did one eye with the corrector and one without. WHOA! I haven't been without it since. I use light bisque- perfect!

  3. Margaret M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 17, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Light in a pot
    • This is an excellent product...like applying light to the face. I love this product - it is easy to apply, creamy and covers under eye shadows. I have very pale skin and yellow based concealers look very strange on my skin so the Peach shade I chose is perfect on my skin. I love the way any shadows disappeared instantly and so effortlessly just by patting it on. I have tried so many concealers with varying textures but this one is the best. It is fragrance free, as a welcome bonus.

  4. zizzie
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 06, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Great
    • Works very well for dark circles. Use it with BB concealer and powder for fabulous all day coverage that stays put, no creasing. I like a brush better than fingers to apply. Very happy with the results

  5. Andrea
    Reviewed on Monday, November 25, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    It Works for Brightening Dark Circles
    • I received the corrector in Light Bisque as part of a kit. I was skeptical about the product when I saw how pink it was, but it turned out to work really well over my very dark circles. This product really brightened the under eye area a bunch. I use Bobbi's concealer in Sand or Beige on top of the corrector. Then, I apply a light amount of the her yellow powder. Note: begin with a small amt of moisturizer. Sounds crazy, but the combination really does work well. It is worth trying.

  6. CR
    Reviewed on Monday, October 14, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Great for undereye circles/discolouration
    • I think this is an amazing product if you know how to use it. It looks natural. Normal concealers tend to look too pale or give you reverse dark can circles and that can look crazy. I mix a small amount of this and I believe that's the key - use a SMALL amount. Do not glob this on otherwise of course it will be fake and greasy looking. Personally, all my friends are always trying to borrow this (no, would be unsanitary!) and I haven't heard a bad review from a person who actually uses it.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, October 15, 2013

    Hello! Thanks for your review. We actually used this product, too, and didn't care for it. Clearly your experience differed and that's fine; you don't need to agree with all of our reviews to get value from them. Corrector is tricky to work with and the colors make it even more of a challenge. There are better, easier concealers available for those who don't want to do the extra work.

    —Admin
  7. Jessica T
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 30, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Does not replace one discoloration with another
    • This product covers my undereye circles better than anything else. I don't even need to top it with a skin-toned foundation because it does not create any unsightly discoloration. Instead it brightens my dark circles and the inner corners of my eyes. This used to crease on me, but I've improved my application technique and that's no longer a problem. This is truly one of the best products to cover my dark circles.

  8. sara stop
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 12, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    I disagree...
    • I disagree because I am a makeup artist at Sephora, and I use this all the time on clients. I use the Corrector by itself with the lightly dot a GOOD creamy concealer around the eye area. Then I take a good concealer airbrush (#57 at Sephora which is AMAZING) and blend the products together. It looks amazing. So I wouldn't say this doesn't work. It is how you apply it and make sure you use the correct tools. BUT, I never use powder. This silly

  9. Alisha Adkison
    Reviewed on Monday, June 10, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    I disagree
    • The salmon color doesn't match the foundation, but it covers DARK circles like mine. This is the first product in my entire life that has done so! It gets my under eye to the place it should be before using regular concealer. When I'm out I just mix orange liquid blush with my regular concealer to get the same salmon color I need. I'd rather not do that, though. Erase paste can be used in the same way and has more product in the tub, but I prefer the consistency of this product.

  10. Tanya
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 30, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    i stand by this product
    • I have very dark under eye circles and this is the only product I have ever used that helps at all. It is very creamy and it blends well. I use it before my foundation and somethimes it's all I use. I love this product, it really works for me.

  11. Sarah C.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 20, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    very good coverage
    • I have Asian skin with yellow undertone and I tan easily. I also have dark circles from years of allergies. I tried Light Peach and Light to Medium Bisque. Both shades worked for me and the coverage was very good. The Light to Medium Bisque was very close to my skin tone. I don't use a concealer on top of the corrector. I just apply a little powder on top to set it and it looks perfectly natural. The darker shades seem very orange. But the light and medium shades are great.

  12. Paula M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 22, 2012
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Best for Allergies
    • I have allergies which cause dark circles under my eyes. This corrector is one of the few items that actually cover up the dark circles without making me look made up. This product got poor reviews on Beautypedia but for someone with a lot of yellow in their skin along with dark circles, it is THE best!!!

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.344 10/25/2014 10:54:48 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.