Long-Wear Even Finish Foundation SPF 15
Last Updated:12.23.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Long-Wear Even Finish Foundation SPF 15 is a medium coverage liquid foundation with a satin finish that leaves skin looking smooth and hydrated. This foundation also provides broad spectrum sun protection, and is available in an extensive range of colors from alabaster to ebony.

With all those positives, why the poor rating? The nose knows! The pervasive lavender scent that wafts from this foundation's bottle is a sign of potential skin trouble, as we explain below.

Although lavender oil is often touted for its calming properties (and indeed, inhaling the scent can be therapeutic), as a cosmetic ingredient it's a problem. In fact, the use of lavender oil  prevents us from recommending this product. Even small amounts of lavender oil (0.25% or less) can be problematic. Lavender leaves contain camphor, which is a known skin irritant. Because the fragrance constituents in lavender oil oxidize when exposed to air, lavender oil pro-oxidant. This enhanced oxidation also increases its irritancy on skin (Source: Contact Dermatitis, September 2008, pages 143–150).

Like we always say: fragrance isn't skin care! We hope Bobbi Brown will make a fragrance-free version of Long-Wear Even Finish Foundation SPF 15, but in the meantime, check out our list of Best Foundations with Sunscreen for our current picks.

Note: Although the ingredient list for this foundation doesn't specify the form of lavender used, we confirmed with the company that it is, in fact, lavender oil.

  • Available in a remarkable range of shades for light to very dark skin tones.
  • Provides broad spectrum sun protection.
  • Smooth, easy-to-blend texture.
  • Satin finish leaves skin looking smooth and hydrated.
  • Includes lavender oil—a known skin irritant. 
  • Highly frangrant.
  • Pricey.

More Info:

Daily use of products that contain a high amount of fragrance, whether the fragrant ingredients are synthetic or natural, causes chronic irritation that can damage healthy collagen production, lead to or worsen dryness, and impair your skin’s ability to heal. Fragrance-free is the best way to go for all skin types. If fragrance in your skin-care products is important to you, it should be a very low amount to minimize the risk to your skin. (Sources: Inflammation Research, December 2008, pages 558–563; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 124–135 and November-December 2000, pages 358–371; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, April 2008, pages 15–19; Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, March 2008, pages 78–82; Mechanisms of Ageing and Development, January 2007, pages 92–105; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 2005, pages S13–S22.)


Octinoxate (2.9%), Titanium Dioxide (1.6%) Other: Water, Dimethicone, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Sodium Chloride, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavendar), Glyceryl Oleate, Lecithin, Methicone, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Tocopheryl Acetate, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Glyceryl Stearate, Alumina, Stearic Acid, Citric Acid, Talc, Disodium EDTA, Linalool, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, [+/- Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Mica, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)]

Brand Overview

Bobbi Brown At-A-Glance

Strengths: A good cleanser and eye makeup removers; some impressive foundations, with options for all skin types and preferences; very good blushes and eyeshadows (powder and cream); several top-notch mascaras; mostly excellent brushes.

Weaknesses: Multiple moisturizers in jar packaging, otherwise great products hindered with irritating fragrant oils or fragrance components.

It all began with lipsticks. In 1991, New York based makeup artist Bobbi Brown debuted a collection of ten lipsticks at Bergdorf Goodman, expecting to sell about one hundred units in a month. She sold more than that the first day. From there, it's been mostly success after success, as Brown launched her classic foundation stick, wrote her first book, Bobbi Brown Beauty The Ultimate Beauty Resource, and enjoyed continued attention as an in-demand makeup artist and beauty educator.

Today, Bobbi Brown's makeup that continues to excel with superior foundations, true matte blushes and eyeshadows, and with all of the other basics that are essential to anyone’s makeup wardrobe. It isn't the least bit surprising that this makeup collection continues to do so well, because for many it's one-stop shopping that combines classic makeup application techniques with enough fun-yet-functional products to keep customer's interest piqued season to season.

Turning to the skincare collection, there are a few excellent formulas, but unfortunately, many are packaged in a jar, which means their beneficial ingredients are rendered useless due to air exposure (and bacterial contamination from spatulas or fingers). In addition, some suffer from the inclusion of potent fragrant essential oils. Those that should be avoided are noted in their respective reviews. That aside, color is without a doubt Bobbi Brown's strong point—but you will find a few sleeper hits among the selection of skincare products.

For more information about Bobbi Brown, call (877) 310-9222 or visit www.bobbibrowncosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!

The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Sort by:
I wanted to like this

I really wanted to like this foundation, it's has a gorgeous range of colors and the texture is nice initially. However it noticeably shows up dry patches and it streaks horribly in any sort of humidity or a sweaty environment. I stopped using this foundation halfway through the bottle and moved onto the new Mac Pro long wear waterproof, it's a huge improvement!

Reviewed by
Bianca C.
Blogger with a favourite

It has taken me a while to find a foundation that I love. I have used expensive ones to cheapies and been mostly disappointed. Until I stumbled upon this product. Perfect colour match, light feel on the skin but not lacking coverage, and SPF 15. Sound good? I thought so too! Best recommended for normal to oily skin types. Contains shea butter, Vitamins C and E which leaves a nice moisturized feel.

Reviewed by
Breaks me out

I really like the coverage with this foundation, but it made me break out every time I wore it. I just read about the lavender oil on this website, so now I know! Hopefully Bobbi Brown can come out with a non-fragrant version of this- it would be great!

Reviewed by
Jillian W
Enter a title for your review
First Name, Last Initial
Email Address
How would you rate this product on the following:
500 characters left

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.431 10/4/2015 12:10:17 AM