01.02.2015
11
1328
Long-Wear Gel Eyeliner
Rating
$23
Category:Makeup > Eyeliners > Liquid/Gel/Cream/Cake
Last Updated:01.02.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Long-Wear Gel Eyeliner is a cream-gel eyeliner that is applied with a brush. It goes on like a liquid liner, and quickly sets to a long-wearing, budge-proof finish. It’s truly an extraordinary product for lining the eyes, especially for anyone who finds powders or pencils fade or smear by the end of the day (or sooner). Brown’s selection of shades often sees high-shine options rotated in seasonally, but the core assortment of blacks, charcoal brown, and steely grays are perfect.

Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Bobbi Brown At-A-Glance

Strengths: A good cleanser and eye makeup removers; some impressive foundations, with options for all skin types and preferences; very good blushes and eyeshadows (powder and cream); several top-notch mascaras; mostly excellent brushes.

Weaknesses: Multiple moisturizers in jar packaging, otherwise great products hindered with irritating fragrant oils or fragrance components.

It all began with lipsticks. In 1991, New York based makeup artist Bobbi Brown debuted a collection of ten lipsticks at Bergdorf Goodman, expecting to sell about one hundred units in a month. She sold more than that the first day. From there, it's been mostly success after success, as Brown launched her classic foundation stick, wrote her first book, Bobbi Brown Beauty The Ultimate Beauty Resource, and enjoyed continued attention as an in-demand makeup artist and beauty educator.

Today, Bobbi Brown's makeup that continues to excel with superior foundations, true matte blushes and eyeshadows, and with all of the other basics that are essential to anyone’s makeup wardrobe. It isn't the least bit surprising that this makeup collection continues to do so well, because for many it's one-stop shopping that combines classic makeup application techniques with enough fun-yet-functional products to keep customer's interest piqued season to season.

Turning to the skincare collection, there are a few excellent formulas, but unfortunately, many are packaged in a jar, which means their beneficial ingredients are rendered useless due to air exposure (and bacterial contamination from spatulas or fingers). In addition, some suffer from the inclusion of potent fragrant essential oils. Those that should be avoided are noted in their respective reviews. That aside, color is without a doubt Bobbi Brown's strong point—but you will find a few sleeper hits among the selection of skincare products.

For more information about Bobbi Brown, call (877) 310-9222 or visit www.bobbibrowncosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
02.22.2015
Ok

I wanted to love this product but it doesn't live up to hype. Have had mine for months and has not dried out at all. I love how it applies but you need to do it with a quality brush. Good smooth line and gorgeous colours. A word of warning - if you have eyelids that even slightly droop it will transfer if you use cream or foundation on your eyelids so you MUST avoid this. Did not stay put as well as claimed.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Ange
02.08.2015
Dislike

I find it does not go on evenly, even with the brush provided or my own. Some area had good coverage but was hard to get it to look consistently smooth. It seems to look dried out. Not the effect I was looking for, ended up throwing it it out.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Patty P.
09.15.2014
Dries out!

Now I know it's not me! I purchased this gel eyeliner and it dried out immediately. I went back to the store and complained and they told me to dip my brush in water. That didn't work either. I should have returned it right away, but thought I was doing something wrong since people have raved about this eyeliner.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Peggy
03.31.2014
New formulation = horrible product

I happily used the gel liner for at least eight years, and loved the creamy way it went on and stayed put. I thought perhaps I had gotten a bad pot last year because it was dried out when I opened it the first time. Sadly, this happened twice more before I figured out that the product was reformulated. I am out $50 for the bad makeup, plus an expensive BB brush that was ruined trying to dig into that rock-like gel. Thankfully, the last jar came from Nordstrom and I was able to exchange it.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Janet S
03.12.2014
Dries out in jar

I have used this eyeliner since its debut years ago. Something has changed. It now seems to dry out after just a few weeks and then it is impossible to apply a smooth well-defined line. I will definitely not be buying this again.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Sandra H.
02.16.2014
gel hardens

After a few weeks, the gel is hard as a rock in the container. Not worth it.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
MARGARET M.
10.20.2013
LIner Looks Just Applied for >12 hrs

Finally, a liner that doesn't melt off my eye or smudge leaving me with racoon eyes ! This gel liner, applied with a fine brush has saturated color that looks freshly applied at 9 pm. Only bad thing is it dries up within ~3 wks even capping quickly & tightly after each use. Just discovered Maybelline gel eyeliner that is more creamy than BB product and costs only $8/pot, but only comes in brown, black, charcol, and purple. If it performs like BB then I'm switching to Mabyelline to save $$

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Laura C
06.29.2013
lovely...but it dries in the pot

lovely to use but it soon dries hard in the pot and can no longer be used.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
ejck
05.10.2013
Yes, but . .

Worked great the first few weeks but gel quickly dried up. Have heard others complain about same problem.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Bethany A.
04.27.2013
great eyeliner

Learning curve but once you get it down. Wow. Perfect. Will not budge until I take it off. Kudo's for more spot on recommendations. Love the chocolate brown color. Works great with my eye color.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Sandi J.
04.27.2013
great eyeliner

Learning curve but once you get it down. Wow. Perfect. Will not budge until I take it off. Kudo's for more spot on recommendations. Love the chocolate brown color. Works great with my eye color.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Sandi J.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to Macys.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.401 7/6/2015 6:34:17 AM