10.18.2013
2
9
Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Rating
$52
Category:Makeup > Sensitive Skin Products
Last Updated:10.18.2013
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

This Nordstrom-Exclusive foundation has replaced Bobby Brown's original Luminous Moisturizing Foundation (rated GOOD). Unfortunately, the reformulation includes lavender oil, which prevents us from giving this foundation a higher rating.

Although lavender oil is often touted for its calming properties (and indeed, inhaling the scent can be therapeutic), as a skin-care ingredient it's a problem. Even small amounts of lavender oil (0.25% or less) can be problematic because lavender leaves contain camphor, a known skin irritant. Because the fragrance constituents in lavender oil oxidize when exposed to air, lavender oil is a pro-oxidant. This enhanced oxidation also increases its irritancy on the skin (Source: Contact Dermatitis, September 2008, pages 143–150).

If lavender oil weren't such a problematic ingredient, we'd rate this foundation better based on its fabulously lightweight yet moisturizing texture that blends easily and sets to an attractive, dewy finish. Although the shades do tend to run slightly warm (yellow to golden peach and copper), there are still workable options for very light to deep skin tones.

Pros:
  • Lightweight texture.
  • Hydrating formula for dry skin.
  • Attractive dewy finish.
  • Workable shades for very light to deep skin tones.
Cons:
  • Includes lavender oil, which is very problematic for skin.
  • Entire shade range is warmer than what Brown's foundations typically offer.
Claims
Ingredients

Water, Phenyl Trimethicone, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Glycerin, Dimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Wheat Germ Glycerides, Silybum Marianum (Lady’s Thistle) Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Triethyl Citrate, Butylene Glycol, Lavendula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Acetyl Glucosamine, Lecithin, Acetyl Hexapeptide-8, Ethylhexylglycerin, Laureth-7, Xanthan Gum, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Astrocaryum Murmuru Seed Butter, Cholesterol, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-di-t-butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Dipropylene Glycol, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Linalool, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica.

Brand Overview

Bobbi Brown At-A-Glance

Strengths: A good cleanser and eye makeup removers; some impressive foundations, with options for all skin types and preferences; very good blushes and eyeshadows (powder and cream); several top-notch mascaras; mostly excellent brushes.

Weaknesses: Multiple moisturizers in jar packaging, otherwise great products hindered with irritating fragrant oils or fragrance components.

It all began with lipsticks. In 1991, New York based makeup artist Bobbi Brown debuted a collection of ten lipsticks at Bergdorf Goodman, expecting to sell about one hundred units in a month. She sold more than that the first day. From there, it's been mostly success after success, as Brown launched her classic foundation stick, wrote her first book, Bobbi Brown Beauty The Ultimate Beauty Resource, and enjoyed continued attention as an in-demand makeup artist and beauty educator.

Today, Bobbi Brown's makeup that continues to excel with superior foundations, true matte blushes and eyeshadows, and with all of the other basics that are essential to anyone’s makeup wardrobe. It isn't the least bit surprising that this makeup collection continues to do so well, because for many it's one-stop shopping that combines classic makeup application techniques with enough fun-yet-functional products to keep customer's interest piqued season to season.

Turning to the skincare collection, there are a few excellent formulas, but unfortunately, many are packaged in a jar, which means their beneficial ingredients are rendered useless due to air exposure (and bacterial contamination from spatulas or fingers). In addition, some suffer from the inclusion of potent fragrant essential oils. Those that should be avoided are noted in their respective reviews. That aside, color is without a doubt Bobbi Brown's strong point—but you will find a few sleeper hits among the selection of skincare products.

For more information about Bobbi Brown, call (877) 310-9222 or visit www.bobbibrowncosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
12.09.2013
I Love This Foundation!

This is the first foundation I have purchased that I use and want to use everyday! I love it! It gives my face a smooth, beautiful glow that is not heavy or mask-like. A little goes a long way, which is good, because it is pricey. This is a moisturizing formula and it is best for normal/dry skin. I have combination skin with an oily t-zone, and this foundation did leave me shiny after a few hours, but my Paula's Choice Resist Super-Light DWD SPF 30 moisturizer serves as a good mattifier.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
SALEEMAH M.
10.27.2013
Bobbie Brown Foundation

I purchased this foundation at Bloomingdales in September 2013. I was told it was a replacement for the previous version out on the market. It does go on nicely but now that Paula mentions the irritant, I might have to agree. I have been having cystic bumps on my face and thought it was my moisturizer. I plan to eliminate it for a while to see if my skin calms down. For $52 i want dewy, healthy looking skin with no painful bumps.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Kathie
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.405 7/28/2015 10:47:35 AM