12.17.2014
12
1030
Protect & Perfect Hand Cream SPF 15
Rating
2.5 fl. oz. for $14.69
Last Updated:12.17.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

It is always good news to find a hand cream that not only includes sunscreen (many do not and hands need to be protected from the sun), but also provides sufficient UVA protection. The UVA shielding is courtesy of avobenzone, and this hand cream has a soft, emollient texture that feels silky without being greasy. Unlike many hand creams with or without sunscreen, this also contains a range of anti-aging ingredients, including some ingredients that (along with daily sun protection) can help lighten brown spots. Although those ingredients aren't present in super-impressive amounts, the fact that they're included at all automatically makes this inexpensive hand creams one of the better options to consider!

Claims

Quickly and easily absorbed, it vanishes in to leave hands looking beautifully young, reducing the appearance of fine lines and evening out skin tone in just 2 weeks. In 4 weeks, age spots start to fade. Intensive moisturisers continue to replenish and condition even after you've washed your hands, while SPF 15 helps protect from damaging, ageing UV rays.

Ingredients

Active: Octinoxate (7.5%), Avobenzone (3%), Octisalate (2%), Other: Water, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Glycerin, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), C18-36 Acid Glycol Ester, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetyl Alcohol, PEG-100 Stearate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Polyacrylamide, Cyclohexasiloxane, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopherol Acetate, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Butylene Glycol, Panthenol, Methylparaben, Fragrance, Dimethiconol, Ethylparaben, Laureth 7, Acrylate/Vinyl Isodecanoate Crosspolymer, Phytantriol, Undecylenoyl Phenylalanine, Dipropylene Glycol, Potassium Sorbate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Potassium Hydroxide, Lipnum Albus Seed Extract, Carbomer, Agarum Cribosum, Polysorbate 20, BHT, Butylparaben, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Propylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide 7

Brand Overview

Boots At-A-Glance

Originating in England, Boots is named after founder John Boot, and it already had a worldwide presence before its 2004 pilot launch in the U.S. retail market through select Target and CVS drugstore. (Note: Boots is no longer available at CVS.) Its success in these stores led to a full-scale launch in spring 2007. Boots has been part of England's cosmetic history since 1839, and now over 1,500 freestanding Boots stores dot the British landscape. Of course, history has its place, but Boots, on the basis of their longevity, believes that it offers consumers the best products full of quality ingredients and also at a value price. Although it's true that Boots' price point is lower than many drugstore lines (at least those whose products make similar claims and have the same target audience), their line consists of some impressive options, but also contains some areas that left us wanting for more.

Boots’ sunscreens tend to be good, but be aware that some have SPF ratings below the benchmark SPF 30+. Although there are dozens of moisturizers available, you’ll find that many are indistinguishable from one another in terms of their formulas. While there are many great options for sensitive skin among the Boots’ line, there are much fewer choices for those seeking impressive anti-aging formulas due to the lack of beneficial ingredients.

Boots does feature antioxidants, peptides, and retinyl palmitate (a form of vitamin A not to be confused with pure retinol) in many of its products, but they tend to be present at less than impressive, or jar packaging compromises their benefits to skin due to light & air exposure.

You'll find some great options for cleansers, scrubs, sunless tanners, and treatments for dry, chapped lips, all at fair prices, and that's good news. (There are also quite a few impressive makeup products at surprisingly inexpensive prices.) Check our reviews for the products that shouldn’t be missed (as well as the less-than-impressive options).

For more information about Boots, call (866) 752-6687 or visit www.boots.com.

Note: Boots No7 and Botanics brands (only) are sold in Canada at Shoppers Drug Mart stores. In the U.S., most of the lines can be found at Target, Walgreens, and Ulta. As of August 2015, Boots has been acquired by Walgreens.

Strengths: Inexpensive; outstanding options for sensitive skin; good sunscreens; some impressive makeup products.

Weaknesses: Occasional use of jar packaging; some formulas with limited amounts of beneficial ingredients.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.31.2015
Bad smell and feel

I have this hand lotion in my purse because it has sunscreen. But everytime I use it, I can't bear the smell (it does not dissipate either), the gritty / tacky feeling and extreme shine. It makes my hands look 10 years older and they feel so parched. Still looking for a handcream that protects but is comfortable to wear. After all, sunscreen is no good if you can't stand the product and don't use it!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Selina S
07.06.2015
Greasy and heavily fragranced.

While I love the fact that this has a decent SPF in it, I completely concur with some of the other reviews here: this cream is heavily fragranced (flowery) which can be off-putting, especially on hands. The other issue is the greasiness. It coats hands in a slippy layer that will leave hand- and fingerprints on anything you touch for a good while after use.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.01.2015
so disappointed!

Cannot believe that i paid £16 and more for this hand cream. I had such high expectations!! What a let down. I have t9 apply it constantly and still don't feel any protection. Garnier intensive ,priced under a fiver protects even whenwashing. Know what I will be buying fromnow on, come on boots how do I get my money back on an inferior product?

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
magi nelson
04.23.2015
Sunscreen scented

I have two of these, one in my bathroom and the other I keep in my car for regular applications. I have noticed a scent but I think it's the normal sunscreen scent. I could wish it didn't have it as I think it conflicts with any perfume I wear but at least it fades away after a bit. I feel that the SPF and the anti-aging ingredients that help lighten sun spots outweigh the scent problem.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Karen B.
10.26.2014
Best hand cream with sunscreen I've tried

This hand cream is the best hand cream with sunscreen I've tried, including PC. I don't love the fragrance, as I've grown used to fragrance free products and realize how strong everything is now, but it's not super noticeable after a while and it masks the sunscreen smell other hand creams w/ sunscreen have that keeps me from using them. It's not greasy and gives my hands an attractive appearance.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Joslyn A.
09.26.2014
Heavy Scented Fragrance

Protect & Not-so-Perfect Hand Cream SPF 15 would get full scores across the board if it didn't have such a heavily scented fragrance. If you don't mind the (stingy floral) smell, I would recommend this product. I'm suprised the Beautypedia review didn't mention anything about fragrance.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Wendy L.
09.05.2014
Excellent Results

This is not only an excellent hand cream, but there really was a noticeable difference after a week or so of using this product daily. I love it. As for the 'smell' other reviewers mentioned, I don't notice any 'smell' (and I am usually sensitive to scents) other than a very light and typical one for hand cream. I love it so much, I have one on my bathroom counter to use before I leave in the morning and one in my purse to use when leaving work. Excellent product, great buy.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
07.20.2014
Wanted to like it but bad smell

I liked the moisturizing feel, the fact that it had a good SPF and the good rating from PC, but the smell is terrible! I used it twice, trying to adjust to the smell but had to wash it off. I threw the nearly-new tube out!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
07.17.2014
Can't get past the smell to use it

I'm normally not bothered by scents in products, but the other reviewers are right--it is a REAL turnoff. And, the smell does hang around, and almost get...worse. I won't use this product again. I don't care to find out if it fades the spots on my hands or not.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Kathleen F.
06.20.2014
Leaves hands looking softer

I bought this for the SPF, not expecting fantastic moisture, but it provided good moisture for my usually dry hands. (I get some ashiness & a dry feeling throughout the day if I don't reapply, but my hands are not super dry, so if this is a problem, you may want to follow up with something else.) What I really like about this, is that there was a noticeably softer look to the back of my hands, which are starting to get crêpe-y. There's a noticeable smell, but it wasn't off-putting.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.12.2014
Compromise

It definitely has an old-ladyish scent, which would be okay, but your hands are left with an odd 'after-smell' that is hard to ignore. It does it's job inexpensively, though, so I might just put up with it. Or stop smelling my hands...

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
MELISSA L.
05.24.2014
Bad smell

I couldn't get past the bad smell of this hand cream, so don't know if it works or not.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Kay
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.421 9/4/2015 2:11:16 PM